Buying Toys/Model Kits Online, Share experiences, shipping tips, etc.
raptor_cZn
Mar 31 2008, 09:29 PM
How long would a parcel take to arrive through SAL if I order through HLJ? I ordered an item from HLJ using EMS and it was super fast believe me... The item was shipped from Japan on 27 Mar and it arrived at the customs on the 29 of Mar. Just received the item from Pos Laju today.
I plan to order a shirt so I don't think it will be damaged in any way through rough handling if i opt for SAL.
raptor_cZn
Apr 1 2008, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:59 PM) but you might encounter loss of product.... Hmm... is SAL method of shipping really that unreliable? SAL is cheaper than EMS so I wanna know what is the delivery time to reach our shores? Btw, I dont think that the item will be lost provided that the right address is printed on the parcel
raptor_cZn
Apr 1 2008, 07:39 PM
A month....? That long?
raptor_cZn
Apr 1 2008, 10:40 PM
wow... 12 days for SAL is kinda fast... even registered mail takes around 15 days+ to arrive (when i bought some items through Ebay)
raptor_cZn
Apr 1 2008, 11:03 PM
Something seems weird with that.. FedEx is faster than EMS but yet its cheaper?? o.O
raptor_cZn
Apr 5 2008, 12:28 AM
well.. I think HLJ's shipping prices are quite reasonable compared to like Play Asia or other shops. The shipping costs depends on the weight of the item. Light or smaller stuff will usually cost RM 40 or less through EMS. So far from my experience, its much better than some Ebay sellers who charge like USD 26 for shipping and its not even EMS.. normal registered mail which is much slower.
raptor_cZn
Apr 5 2008, 06:53 PM
the HK site does not sell PVC figures or anime related merchandise?
raptor_cZn
Apr 26 2008, 11:28 AM
Any suggestions for other online stores besides HLJ? The customer account page on HLJ is almost frequently unavailable as they keep on performing some sort of maintenance on it. That is the only drawback I found with HLJ, other than that their pricing and shipping costs are quite reasonable?
Anyone here bought stuff from HobbySearch before? They have this points system when you buy things from them but their shipping is quite costly as they only ship through EMS.
Play-Asia seems to have free shipping for certain things but I find that their figures always seem to be out of stock.
Added on April 26, 2008, 11:32 amForgot to mention that Hobby Search does not accept PayPal.
I have never bought anything off Hobby Search and Play Asia before so I dont know whether their service is good.
This post has been edited by raptor_cZn: Apr 26 2008, 11:32 AM
raptor_cZn
Apr 28 2008, 09:15 PM
Just curious to know, if I order stuff through SAL which is not trackable... How does the merchant know that the item has been delivered to me or not?
raptor_cZn
May 5 2008, 06:20 PM
Does Hobby Search confirm the shipping costs with you after placing a order or do they straight away charge you for the total cost? Cuz if you provide them with your credit card info, they can charge you anytime unlike PayPal...
raptor_cZn
May 5 2008, 08:55 PM
The thing is.... they do not provide the weight of the product or at least an estimate on the product page >.<
Some stuff might be heavier even though they may look small..
raptor_cZn
May 5 2008, 10:51 PM
Thx for the tip.. but there s still not much info on weight for pre-order products
raptor_cZn
May 17 2008, 10:54 AM
5k??!!! Shipped through EMS?
raptor_cZn
Jun 17 2008, 10:49 PM
If you pre-order something on PA and choose Paypal as your method of payment, they will charge you immediately where else they will only charge your CC when the item becomes availabe (in stock) when you choose credit card as your method of payment. IMO, I prefer Paypal since it is safer and they have some buyer protection stuff.
Anyways chances of customs holding your items are rather low of you make purchases which are below a certain value (around RM 500 me thinks)
raptor_cZn
Jun 20 2008, 12:09 AM
It depends. I think PayPal's conversion rates are slower to update compared to CC which is converted directly from the bank. PayPal charges a little bit more too.
raptor_cZn
Jun 20 2008, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 20 2008, 08:22 AM)  U memang never use paypal to order one... Paypal no extra charges Paypal is safer Foreign exchange? Well, if u know the tricks, you could save up to 10 to 20 bucks What kinda tricks are those? Forex trading?
raptor_cZn
Jul 20 2008, 09:12 PM
I thought for SAL, HLJ just sticks a small sticker on the box.
raptor_cZn
Jul 21 2008, 07:56 PM
O.o. But they don't usually provide any sort of tracking code when you choose SAL. Well, at least I have never experienced them providing it before.
raptor_cZn
Sep 11 2008, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(mcsiaw @ Sep 11 2008, 05:25 PM) ok guys, this is a RARE case. bought something from hlj. as i m moving interstate, i have the address changed to 'Not confirm, moving interstate'. However, the hlj staff charge my credit card, n EMS the items to the 'Not confirm, moving interstate'... word of advice: always leave the credit card info blank to avoid MISHAP from happening. p/s: a sign tat japanese english is WORSE than malaysian.  MALAYSIA BOLEH!!! I thought Mat Salehs work at HLJ?