Buying Toys/Model Kits Online, Share experiences, shipping tips, etc.

TSkuman
post Nov 18 2005, 04:48 PM, updated 14y ago

1,654 posts

hi all...

as the topic suggested..

maybe some of us bought their toys/model kits/replica/hobby stuff from online due to the "hard-to-get" nature of those thing... so we turn to online for sourcing...

so can anyone share your experience in dealing with these online store.

i know that some of use here prefer to get from Hobby Link Japan maybe due to their many stock and collection. or maybe due to the cheaper shipping rates? or currency rates (now RM1 = Y0.0329) smile.gif

while other maybe prefer to get from a USA based retailer.

and others maybe prefer to get from Singapore (for example www.timemachine-studio.com)

or maybe your toys got stuck at Kastam.. how do you get settle it etc.. our forumer Kastam experience

what are the DO's and DONT's etc...

so can anyone share your experience because some of us here maybe (me raise my hand smile.gif ) thinking of getting from online shop but just a bit paranoid about it.

thanks.. hopefully this can be helpful to all of us

kuman smile.gif

This post has been edited by jhcj: Jul 3 2006, 03:10 PM
TSkuman
post Nov 21 2005, 03:54 PM

1,654 posts

luck you la judge-the.. its good to have someone abroad that can get a lot of those cool toys for you...

i regret not getting a lot of toys when i was there...

now i wish i have someone in Japan that can help me getting those model-kits at a much cheaper price... smile.gif

this is a quotation i got from an online Japan retailer...
for a Gunze-Sanyo Mr Linear Airbrush set (regulator, compressor & handpiece)

Delivery method & cost(estimated):
A) SAL - 4300yen
cool.gif AIR - 5700yen
C) EMS - 4500yen

---------------Copy & Paste End-----------------

A) SAL usually takes 2-6 weeks. (Not insured)
cool.gif AIR takes 1-2 weeks. (Not insured)
C) EMS takes around 5 days.(Insured, Restricted delivery, Tracking Web

i dunno how much all of those item combined weight.. but will that be a possible approximation?
and will there be anymore increase in the cost?
hidden cost maybe?

if everything is ok... i might try to order something from HLJ.com and see how it turn out.. smile.gif

whats the best shipping rate from Japan to here?

thanks..

kuman
TSkuman
post Nov 22 2005, 08:18 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(SPRINTA @ Nov 21 2005, 10:43 PM)
I deal with HobbyLink Japan frequently....
Just purchased 3 more warships models from them....
Well, so far theres no issues dealing with them using credit card payment....
About the customs tax? They arent taxable items unless u bring it into this country in bulk....
Anyway, everytime when my package reached, the plastic sheeting in which wrapped the model kit boxe will surely been opened up and inspected by customs. ( using SAL mail )
good to hear the good experience from a customer of HLJ.. smile.gif
i'm thinking of getting some aircraft model from them since i calculated the total is cheaper then getting it here....

below is the calculation i made(since the HLJ provide us with the basic weight of each model)

HLJ Shipping Info Page

Calculation:
4 items (1:72 scale aircraft model kits)..

Total weight (item only): 1270g
Weight of the shipping material: 600g
Total Weight for shipment: 1870g (still less then 2Kg, can use SAL smile.gif )
Total item cost: YEN 7300
Total cost for shipment: YEN 1780 (estimate to the max of 2Kg for using SAL)
TOTAL cost: YEN 7300 + 1780 = 9080 * 0.0329 = RM298.73

maybe will add in a couple more items... smile.gif a marker maybe.. smile.gif

i guess this is going to be cheap.. will that be all the charges will be incured for the above transaction.. since the item is not taxable?

They can open the shipment just as long as they didnt take the decals for their kids.. smile.gif but the feeling of not being the first to open a package sure is dissappointing.. sad.gif

anymore experience guys.. smile.gif

kuman

This post has been edited by kuman: Nov 22 2005, 08:20 AM
TSkuman
post Nov 22 2005, 01:34 PM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(SPRINTA @ Nov 22 2005, 01:12 PM)
Kuman, i would suggest that you dont calculate the actual figure as if you are purchasing through credit card. This is because your merchant / credit card bank will do the conversion for you. (it might be higher or lower than the actual cost) Anyway, those prices stated in HLJ are only meant for reference only. For instance, i calculated my 3 ships that i bought from HLJ was about RM150++ but in actual fact, i was only charged RM143++ by my credit card bank.
Jackygwh, about sharing the shipping cost together, i think its a good idea but im afraid that the customs might not release our shipment because they would say we bring it in bulk.
Perhaps, they would tax us.
maybe the credit car is using an updated currency exchange but at least we can have an estimated cost then can compare with the credit card.. smile.gif in your case then its good for you since the cost charged is lower then expected.. smile.gif

Jackygwh
Ya.. i also heard about Kastam not really like the bulk thing.. and will tax us for it.. sad.gif another thing is that.. if we're living in the same are then ok laa.. if we're far apart... then have to courier through Poslaju would incur some additional charges...

as for the local shop.. yup the stock and selection is a lil limited.. but we certainly save on the shipping cost though.. smile.gif

my 0.0329 YEN --> current currency exchange for YEN
kuman
TSkuman
post Nov 24 2005, 12:19 PM

1,654 posts

hmmm..

smile.gif so far it seems that most of the ppl here having a great experience with Hobby Link Japan (HLJ).. so i guess i'm goint o get some stuff from them and hoep that everything is smooth sailiing for my order.. smile.gif

as for Kastam, they didnt tax toys.. as long as it's not in bulk..
and if ANYTHING might go wrong with kastam, i guess Kastam Penang is the place to go since i'm my address would be in Kedah... and Penang Airport will be the entry point.... right?

off to HLJ.. smile.gif

kuman
TSkuman
post Dec 2 2005, 04:25 PM

1,654 posts

UPDATES
HLJ already shipped my order via SAL yesterday... the shipping charges is around RM35... and see how long i have to wait for it to arrive in my sweaty hand.. smile.gif

i placed another order... but unfortunately they didnt manage to include it in this shipment.. sad.gif.... maybe i'll instruct them to on-hold it first...

tak sabar already....

[quote]aduh after married hav to giv up our hobby edi... so dun married so early [/quote
smile.gif if your wife is supporting your hobby, then why not marry early....
luck me.. my wife support my hobby as well.. smile.gif

and we'll be going to that Toy Museum in Penang this weekend.. smile.gif (if everything is ok.)

kuman
TSkuman
post Dec 6 2005, 08:25 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(SPRINTA @ Dec 2 2005, 10:29 PM)
Mine shipped on yesterday as well.... LoL~~~~
Hehehe.....
It should take 8-9 days to reach.....

let us wait "together-gether" see who's package reach us first.. smile.gif
maybe next week.... waiting....waiting.. yawn.gif

on the other note....

other then the HLJ where else do you guys buy models from online?

i found a couple Japan online store (since i think their price is quite reasonable compared to others) namely Hobby World and 1999

those 2 have a cheaper kits but always no stock... maybe because their price is cheap.. a lot of people buy from them.. thats why always no stock.. smile.gif

maybe my next purchase i'll try from them and see... smile.gif
anyone have experience getting from those 2 shops?

kuman
TSkuman
post Dec 18 2005, 10:15 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(SPRINTA @ Dec 17 2005, 11:15 AM)
My parcel just arrived today and everything were intact. I'm not sure why this time it took about 2 weeks to arrive and it might due to the ASEAN Summit Convention and the authorities just taking precaution measures I suppose. About 1999 Hobby Search Kits site, I like them because it shows you the contents in the box and we would actually see and examine the quality of each respective kits from their manufacturers. Unfortunately, 1999 doesnt ship those items by 'SAL' but instead they use 'EMS' and it would be a little bit expensive although they offer lower pricings compare to HLJ.
i'm still waiting for mine... maybe later next week.. since i'm way up here in Kedah... smile.gif
hopefully the item arrived intact...
yea.. maybe the summit indeed contribute to a lil bit of delay i suppose.. smile.gif

kuman
TSkuman
post Dec 21 2005, 11:15 AM

1,654 posts

yay!!!

i received my items as well yesterday morning.. intact.. but the box a bit crushed... but luckily yhe inside content just nice...

now.. need to find sometime to put it together.. smile.gif

and it seems that all the parcel have to go through KLIA Kastam... as mine wa chopped with KLIA Kastam in Sepang... becuase at first i thought for the northern g=region the parcel would come through Kastam Penang.. hmmmm... maybe KLIA is the main place for collection... smile.gif

kuman

kuman
TSkuman
post Dec 22 2005, 10:28 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(SPRINTA @ Dec 21 2005, 10:54 PM)
kuman, glad to hear that your parcel arrived safely. About the box thing, mine also affected but luckily that the contents are intact. So what did you purchased?
I've just purchased some ships and books from HLJ as well. Anyway, when is your next purchase? Hehehe......

u purchased more ships after you just received the last shipment of ships? drool.gif wow... you must be HLJ Prefered Customer.. smile.gif

i purchased..
1. Macross Zero VF-0S

2. Macross Plus YF-19

3. Also a set of Gundam Marker Basic smile.gif

i think this will be my last purchase from HLJ for a while.... since i got tons of model-kits already...

all i can say it... my experience with HLJ is GREAT thumbup.gif notworthy.gif wub.gif

i'll definetely buy again from them in any given time in the future... smile.gif
although their price is a lil bit expensive compared to www.1999.co.jp, but the always have stock.. smile.gif

RECOMMENDED

kuman

This post has been edited by kuman: Dec 22 2005, 12:52 PM
TSkuman
post Jan 11 2006, 04:33 PM

1,654 posts

i ordered from HLJ before.. if i understand correctly.. BULK meaning have a couple of same items.. for example.. item A got 2 units.. itemB got 4 units... smile.gif

so far i havent got taxed on my shipment.. yet....

just to inform... I'm from Northern region.... initially i thought my shipment would come to me via Kastam Bayan Lepas but i noticed that they all came from Kastam KLIA... so i guess any dispute on the taxed item need to be resolved at Kastam KLIA.. sad.gif

3AAA
I've ordered a Nitro RC car from US for over RM1000, and have to pick up myself at Butterworth from custom. Fortunately didn't have to pay tax, just have to pay a small processing fee. Actually, it's my dad who always picks up items from custom. I think he knows the person that's in charge of custom. I used to always order items onine from overseas. For big items, I usually have to pick up myself, but small items alway arrived at my doorstep.

i guess the only get inspected by Kastam KLIA... but not by the local Kastam.. so anyone care to comment?

Jackygwh
i didnt have any plan to get anything from the internet... yet... if i do.. will let you know.. smile.gif

kuman

This post has been edited by kuman: Jan 11 2006, 04:37 PM
TSkuman
post Feb 10 2006, 09:34 AM

1,654 posts

for me .. last time i order from HLJ it took me 1 week to receive my stuff..

i choose to ship with EMS smile.gif

kuman

TSkuman
post Feb 11 2006, 11:38 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Feb 10 2006, 02:05 PM)
So u guys din't have any problem buy from HLj right?
so far so good... but so far i only made 2 purchases from HLJ.. so maybe someone else out there have make more transaction to justify or clarify these.. smile.gif

QUOTE(lwwong @ Feb 11 2006, 02:01 AM)
Anyone has any experience buying from www.hobbyeasy.com? Their prices are cheaper..
what about their shipping charges??.. and the service..
some other option can try luckymodel... there are from Hong Kong..

kuman

TSkuman
post Apr 21 2006, 09:06 AM

1,654 posts

me & my friend did bought some AFV & aircrft from LuckyModel... all them were intact....

my experience from HLJ also good..

kuman
TSkuman
post Aug 2 2007, 11:56 AM

1,654 posts

so far it took me less then 1 week for me to get the stuff i ordered from HongKong hobbyshop.... that is pretty fast....

and i haven order anything from US/UK since i prefer to keep the deal on the APAC region.. cheaper shipping..

kuman
TSkuman
post Oct 30 2007, 02:18 PM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(striderozy @ Oct 27 2007, 06:33 PM)
Thanks for the reply......
Well, I guess I will only know when in the custom office.......
Damn, I am afraid I will argue with them and they wil turn up detaining my item and send back to the sender.......
cry.gif
err... strider...

at which Kastam Office/Depot does your shipment being detained?
KLIA? or Penang?

wondering only..

kuman
TSkuman
post Feb 5 2008, 04:47 PM

1,654 posts

can i add...

i usually order my model/kit from Luckymodel, they have an option of "declare low-value on invoice", so far so good... none of my kits have been detained by Kastam before...

just to add.. biggrin.gif

kuman
TSkuman
post Sep 12 2008, 09:36 AM

1,654 posts

i've been waitin for my model kits mailed from USA via USPS for weeks now....

maybe it got detained at kastam KLIA... any possibilities where or how we can check if this is the case?
a Kastam helpdesk phone number maybe?

BTW the item cost only RM90..

kuman
TSkuman
post Jul 23 2009, 04:29 PM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(Sey @ Jul 23 2009, 04:08 PM)
Jesus , how long exactly does HLJ take to ship your items ?
I ordered something from them last friday and till today my order is still "Being Processed" sleep.gif;.
i usually didnt have any problem ordering from them... usually it would take up to 2 weeks for them to ship ur order...

well at least for me biggrin.gif

kuman
TSkuman
post Aug 4 2012, 06:38 AM

1,654 posts

QUOTE(thenoname @ Jul 12 2012, 03:07 AM)
why hlj.com website became like that? difficult to find toy
agreed... i prefer the old design... easy to navigate..
or maybe i'm just old-fashioned.. biggrin.gif

i usually get my model from Luckymodel & Hobbyeasy of HK... and maybe sometimes from Hannants UK...

kuman

0.0359sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:53 AM