Buying Toys/Model Kits Online, Share experiences, shipping tips, etc.
SPRINTA
Nov 21 2005, 10:43 PM
I deal with HobbyLink Japan frequently.... Just purchased 3 more warships models from them.... Well, so far theres no issues dealing with them using credit card payment.... About the customs tax? They arent taxable items unless u bring it into this country in bulk.... Anyway, everytime when my package reached, the plastic sheeting in which wrapped the model kit boxe will surely been opened up and inspected by customs. ( using SAL mail )
SPRINTA
Nov 22 2005, 01:12 PM
Kuman, i would suggest that you dont calculate the actual figure as if you are purchasing through credit card. This is because your merchant / credit card bank will do the conversion for you. (it might be higher or lower than the actual cost) Anyway, those prices stated in HLJ are only meant for reference only. For instance, i calculated my 3 ships that i bought from HLJ was about RM150++ but in actual fact, i was only charged RM143++ by my credit card bank.
Jackygwh, about sharing the shipping cost together, i think its a good idea but im afraid that the customs might not release our shipment because they would say we bring it in bulk. Perhaps, they would tax us.
SPRINTA
Dec 2 2005, 10:29 PM
Mine shipped on yesterday as well.... LoL~~~~ Hehehe..... It should take 8-9 days to reach.....
SPRINTA
Dec 17 2005, 11:15 AM
My parcel just arrived today and everything were intact. I'm not sure why this time it took about 2 weeks to arrive and it might due to the ASEAN Summit Convention and the authorities just taking precaution measures I suppose. About 1999 Hobby Search Kits site, I like them because it shows you the contents in the box and we would actually see and examine the quality of each respective kits from their manufacturers. Unfortunately, 1999 doesnt ship those items by 'SAL' but instead they use 'EMS' and it would be a little bit expensive although they offer lower pricings compare to HLJ.
SPRINTA
Dec 21 2005, 10:54 PM
kuman, glad to hear that your parcel arrived safely. About the box thing, mine also affected but luckily that the contents are intact. So what did you purchased? I've just purchased some ships and books from HLJ as well. Anyway, when is your next purchase? Hehehe......
SPRINTA
Dec 22 2005, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(kuman @ Dec 22 2005, 10:28 AM)  u purchased more ships after you just received the last shipment of ships?  wow... you must be HLJ Prefered Customer..  i purchased.. 1. Macross Zero VF-0S[attachmentid=84171] 2. Macross Plus YF-19[attachmentid=84172] 3. Also a set of Gundam Marker Basic  i think this will be my last purchase from HLJ for a while.... since i got tons of model-kits already... all i can say it... my experience with HLJ is GREAT i'll definetely buy again from them in any given time in the future...  although their price is a lil bit expensive compared to www.1999.co.jp, but the always have stock.. RECOMMENDED kuman Kuman, the reason i kept purchasing is because i'm still building my entire japanese fleet. I dont have time to start assembling those that i've purchased yet cos very bz with work lately.
SPRINTA
Dec 22 2005, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Dec 22 2005, 03:35 PM) yea if u hav money to buy also dun hav time to assemble it .....  so i kinda giv up buying model kit... i change to die cast collector liau but i will oni buy super high quality die cast haha btw sprinta ....... if u got buy toys from japan .... i wan tumpang cna ah ?? i wan buy F 16 haha Well Jackygwh, its not that i dont want to assemble it, its just that my mind must be free. Or else the assembled model wont be nice. LoL ~ Btw, where's your location? Kuching ? I'm going to stop my purchase for a while until i assemble some of my ships first.
SPRINTA
Jan 2 2006, 12:09 AM
What model are you searching for? F-16 ? I'm a fan of F-16 and F/A-18.. Hehehe.....
SPRINTA
Jan 9 2006, 04:42 PM
LoL~ So many people wanna tumpang buy...... Later if ffk, then the bearer susah...... I think Hobby HQ in Plaza Ampang does custom orders but of cos you need to wait for a period of time. They are more specialized with Hasegawa's model. Anyway, other brands is not an issue as well if you order through them. The drawback is that, their prices are much higher than ordering through the internet.
SPRINTA
Jan 10 2006, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(AssKicker @ Jan 10 2006, 03:32 PM) Hey guys, base on what i've understand in this thread, the models ordered from hlj wouldn't be taxed by the customs unless i order bulk right?? what do u guys mean by bulk. If i order more than 3 models, is it consider as bulk? Yeah, the customs will not tax you unless u bring it in bulk. Bulk means u bring in in large volumes. For instance, 10 boxes. 3 models isnt considered a bulk. To be precise, i think better not bring in more than 5. That's why i always purchase the max 3 items at one time.
SPRINTA
Jan 10 2006, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(AssKicker @ Jan 10 2006, 05:36 PM) thanks for the tip, have u ever face any problem when ordering ur models from hlj?? I'm planning to order a couple of models soon. So far everything were very smooth. No doubt about it. I'm using credit card cos its fast in time processing.
SPRINTA
Mar 2 2006, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(AssKicker @ Mar 2 2006, 10:29 AM) This is the total amount which i paid for the package import duty = 18.57 sales tax = 39.00 bayaran pelepasan pos = 1.00 bayaran pengenalian agen = 30.00 cukai perhidmatan = 1.50 bayaran EDI = 18.00 Is it normal? Y do i have to pay for all that? and what's EDI and pengenalian agen? Did you purchase a lot from HLJ in one shipment? If that's the case then they would tax you. So far I've never been taxed cause the most i bought in 1 shipment was just 3 boxes......