The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

loon1983
post May 28 2012, 11:59 PM

1,205 posts

Hi, wanna ask what is the wide lens u guys use on nex?
I considering bring my d700+ 16-35mm or buy a nex for my next new zealand trip..
loon1983
post May 29 2012, 02:05 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ May 29 2012, 12:09 AM)
shocking.gif 

just bring your D700 ok lah tongue.gif
but UWA lens only.. enough ?

wide lens we only got 16mm which is 24mm after conversion.
but i use 19mm which  is 28mm in ff
i thinking if NEX can replace my D700...
only 16mm as 24mm? no wider lens for NEX? sweat.gif
i used to 16mm in FF...
loon1983
post May 29 2012, 08:42 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ May 29 2012, 02:25 PM)
The 16mm F2.8 pancake has 2 different accessories which clip onto the 16mm's bayonet mount on the front of the lens:
VCL-ECF1 fisheye adapter - converts the 16mm to a diagonal fisheye, similiar to the Nikkor 16mm F2.8 AF-D
VCL-ECU1 ultrawide adapter - converts the 16mm to a 18mm on full-frame

Both of these are much smaller than an actual 16-35mm. biggrin.gif

You can also use Sweep Panorama in case you forget to bring the VCL-ECU1.

Another alternative is to get a Samyang 8mm F3.5 diagonal fisheye, and put it on a NEX-7, and de-fish the picture to get a rectilinear shot. However you lose resolution when de-fishing.
Okay, thank a lot... Wanna try out the nex first...
loon1983
post Aug 19 2012, 09:36 AM

1,205 posts

Hi, i m thinking to let go my D700 n get a nex camera. How u guys think?
Btw, anyone try compare use adaptor+ normal dslr lens compare with nex kit? Do they a lot different? I means if like nikkor 18-55vr compare with thhe nex 18-55?
Thank for sharing...

Cause i considering to stick with my all nikkor lens by adaptor or just use the nex kit.
loon1983
post Aug 19 2012, 12:51 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 19 2012, 11:04 AM)
You're letting go a Full Frame for a APS-c??? 

Yes, i'm using an adapter. Can say that coming from a D700 you will feel shortchanged, cause manual focusing can be frustratingly slow and your subjects could lose patience. You also lose the VR VRII functions, no aperture control on some Nikkors and some EXIF data would not be available.

Makes more sense to keep your D700 and get the Nex just as a backup or when the situation is more suitable for it.
I see, cause my d700 is heavy for daily use... btw, i thought the new adaptor got auto focus?
Thinking to use with nikkor 12-24 n 70-300vr...

loon1983
post Aug 19 2012, 09:51 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Aug 19 2012, 02:02 PM)
Adaptor no auto focus. It will be very front heavy also. Controls of D700 score 10 points. Control on NEX (except Nex 7) score 2 points only. Please don't simply sell before you play well with the NEX!!! There is also no wide angle options on NEX.
Huh, i thought LA-EA2 from sony can auto focus? Nikkor on it still manual focus? blush.gif
Btw, here no ppl using dslr lens or prime lens with nex? I thinking get the kit or body only with the adaptor icon_question.gif

Added on August 19, 2012, 10:33 pm
QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Aug 19 2012, 02:02 PM)
Adaptor no auto focus. It will be very front heavy also. Controls of D700 score 10 points. Control on NEX (except Nex 7) score 2 points only. Please don't simply sell before you play well with the NEX!!! There is also no wide angle options on NEX.
I heard nex 16mm f2.8 can add adaptor to 12mm, the performance nice?

This post has been edited by loon1983: Aug 19 2012, 10:33 PM
loon1983
post Aug 20 2012, 08:49 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 20 2012, 12:42 AM)
So far I guess it's only the Sony E-mount to canon EOS EF-mount, and Sony E-mount to Sony Amount adapters which are electronically connected. I haven't heard of an electronic one for Nikkor yet, so it's manual focus/manual aperture but i'm also hoping for an electronic one haha.
There are many that use manual lenses on the NEX. Leica lenses even.

Your 12-24 should work fine with the NEX+Adapter because it has an aperture lever behind the lens. VR is i guess not an issue at this focal length.  So you must find an adapter that has an aperture ring as well.
Ok, understand already...
Tq

Added on August 20, 2012, 8:50 am
QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Aug 20 2012, 01:45 AM)
The electronic adapter only support the change of aperture. All lenses still need to be focused manually. Have not seen any adapter that can AF. I guess probably won't have one due to the difficulties.
Em, like that i should sell all the nikkor lens already...
Thanksss. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by loon1983: Aug 20 2012, 08:50 AM
loon1983
post Aug 21 2012, 12:33 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 20 2012, 04:33 PM)
Loon1983, not sure how serious you are about photography, but since you own a D700 and 2 other mentioned FF lenses, I believe you're not in this just for fun, so I'd recommend that you keep your D700 and get a backup from a NEX if you need one. Both are 2 different worlds apart. Even if you die die also want to change, get a NEX7. Tats your best bet. You can mount a proper flash at the very least.

At the end it's still up to you if you're to sell your entire system and jump mirrorless.
thanks for ur remind, i used to be fulltime photographer last few years... work in some models trainning center n agency... under some beauty n slimming center... also take part in wedding shoot...
but since last year, i no more taking job, doing my own business... now just shoot for fun, so thinking of let go my sysytem n get a smaller camera... blush.gif

Added on August 21, 2012, 12:34 amagain, do u think i should take nex 5n or f3? i heard new model launching end of this month, should i wait?

This post has been edited by loon1983: Aug 21 2012, 12:34 AM
loon1983
post Aug 21 2012, 01:13 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 21 2012, 12:59 AM)
My dua sen.... I don't own either and experience with them is via collegues cameras. Usefulness may vary

NEX-5N got:
- Shoots faster @ 10fps vs 5.5fps on the F3.
- Magnesium body vs plastic on F3
- Downwards tilt LCD for overhead shot.... F3's down tilt more limited but it tilts 180degrees for camwh0ring  rclxms.gif
- IR receiver for remote control and can plug remote cable while F3 don't have both and bulb mode's gonna be painful.

NEX-F3 got:
- Build in flash for fill flashing
- Accessory port supports electronic viewfinder just like 5N but 5N cannot use both fill flash and EVF together... so bright sunny day= not too great.
- Bigger body that's more balanced (weee bit) with the kit 18-55
- Better grip (personal opinion).

The rumours can be found in sonyalpharumors.com but rumor summary are:

- 5N replacement model out soon with Wifi, App support and faster hybrid autofocus.
- there's a NEX-6 coming which is like the diet coke cheaper version of NEX-7.. with lower res but build in electronic viewfinder but with 5N replacement's feature set.
- Full frame NEX that takes both Alpha A-mount and E-mount (dunno how) in crop mode just like FX / DX.
thank for ur info... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
i think wait for newer models better.. no rush no rush... rclxm9.gif
loon1983
post Aug 22 2012, 12:37 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 21 2012, 09:50 AM)
Fuh... NEX-5R and NEX-6 pictar out jor.

Moar here

http://www.sonyalpharumors.com/sr5-hot-son...-images-leaked/

NEX-6 -> Fulamak stim...Got EVF, ISO hot shoe, mode dial + what looked like another dial underneath it and AEL button wei  drool.gif  drool.gif

NEX-5R --> a bit bleh after NEX-6 but got extra control dial la. No poppy up flash  doh.gif

Aiyor.. my bank account die la like this.
Yeah... just sold my D700 today...
Now wait for nex 6 or 5r with 11-18 thumbup.gif
loon1983
post Aug 30 2012, 09:20 AM

1,205 posts

waiting to get nex 5r or nex 6...
faster release pls... duno nex6 got the 180 flip screen or not? i need it n the buit in view finder...
loon1983
post Aug 30 2012, 06:58 PM

1,205 posts

then i should say bye bye to nex 6 n choose 5r.
i need 188 flip screen more than the viewfinder n hotshoe...
loon1983
post Aug 31 2012, 12:53 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Aug 30 2012, 08:33 PM)
Don't forget nex 6 got the pop up flash,which is so much more convenient...

A question: nex 7 can set to use viewfinder only ? means the screen will not response, in order to have better battery life...
em, unless nex 6 got 180 flip screen..
hotshoe no use, i wont buy extra flash for it, n viewfinder i will buy the external one... tongue.gif
faster come out pls, ready to buy... tongue.gif
loon1983
post Sep 3 2012, 08:21 PM

1,205 posts

yeah... hope to get my nex 5R pair with 10-18 soon... faster come...
loon1983
post Sep 6 2012, 09:41 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(sukhri @ Sep 5 2012, 02:15 AM)
i also dunno what exact price nowdays.. just survey few s shop and the just buy it.. tired aldy to surveyyyy hihihihi sweat.gif

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:53 amany recomended filter?? giv me the link n price pleaseeeeeee
for me, tis range of lens no point to use filter..
unless those expensive lens blush.gif
loon1983
post Sep 8 2012, 12:56 AM

1,205 posts

waiting for 5r or nex 6.. sold my d700.. haha...
loon1983
post Sep 8 2012, 08:28 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Sep 8 2012, 01:54 AM)
I think mirrorless can definitely take over the APS-C SLR. Fuji and Sony is doing very well. Fuji will have complete zooms and primes in 2013!!!
duno the performance can beat my FF or not? hope so...
but now i prefer lighter cam for daily use, so let go my d700... tongue.gif

Added on September 8, 2012, 9:36 am
QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Sep 8 2012, 01:54 AM)
I think mirrorless can definitely take over the APS-C SLR. Fuji and Sony is doing very well. Fuji will have complete zooms and primes in 2013!!!
actually i also consider fuji rather nex...
but i love nex 180 flip screen n wifi.... blush.gif

This post has been edited by loon1983: Sep 8 2012, 09:36 AM
loon1983
post Sep 8 2012, 09:12 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Sep 8 2012, 05:59 PM)
I think Fuji is very smart to choose APS-C instead of Full Frame so their body and lenses can be smaller. The sensor technology keep evolving. Now sensor found in Nikon D7000 and Pentax K5 is almost the same as the one found in full frame 5D classic few years back. I think the quality is really good enough for most people.
yup, i tried out olympus today... color very nice...
but seldom see fuji camera, wana try it out soon...
i love fuji white balance performance on potrait... damm nice rclxms.gif
loon1983
post Sep 13 2012, 01:16 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(hlteh @ Sep 12 2012, 03:13 PM)
1 vote for 5R 180 flip screen and touch screen
same here, i waiting for 5R n stick with 10-18mm...
i need the flip screen n touch screen more...

flash can always use hot shoe n external, evf can add on also...
but nex6 never got 180 flip n touch screen... tongue.gif
loon1983
post Sep 15 2012, 08:23 PM

1,205 posts

anyone know when the 5r got stock, with 16-50 bundle?
i need a small camera before december =="

0.0484sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:26 AM