Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

gnome
post Mar 20 2012, 12:25 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 20 2012, 12:13 AM)
i'm gonna attend a paintball photoshot session soon and i need protection for my dslr, i will be using 55-300 f4.5-5.6 shot from outside of the field

and i'm being poor, no money to buy good protection gear for my dslr, is there any other method to protect against stray bullets from damage my dslr + lens or give it a new paint?
Avoid getting shot in the first place, thats what i do laugh.gif
gnome
post Mar 22 2012, 01:36 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 20 2012, 09:40 AM)
but you still need some protection gear right?
Sorry for the late reply, been busy. Well all you need is a mask and you're good to go! owh and a bright color shirt helps too laugh.gif

Yes that's me laugh.gif. I use the small towel to wrap around my lens cause there was a bit of drizzle that day tongue.gif

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 20 2012, 10:06 AM)
A read from one of the paintball photographers.

If you're shoting from outside the chances of your equipments getting hit is like super low unless the person really doesnt like you and is aiming for you

but if you are like the photographer above who is in the field while taking action shots its a whole different story!
I've been taking photos of paintball games few times since 2010 and so far never get hit on my camera+lenses, only my body cry.gif . Just move a way when you think you're in the danger zone aka crossfire. Dont try to be like solomon, he was paid to cover the events so its necessary for him to have all those protection smile.gif . IIRC after the last event in Langkawi he had to send his gear to nikon for service and cost him like 24k or so.
gnome
post Mar 22 2012, 02:46 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Never tried those paintball gloves before. Usually hand strain is not my biggest issues when taking photos of paintball, its the heat sweat.gif. In the jungle i'll be very very humid especially with the mask on compared to open fields. Its advisable to bring along a bottle of water whenever you're in the game area. If you have those hydration pack even better!

EDIT: old pic from Battlefield Putrajaya 2011

Orange seems to be the best color, you'll stand out like a sore thumb laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gnome: Mar 22 2012, 02:49 PM
gnome
post Mar 22 2012, 03:32 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 22 2012, 03:03 PM)
are you using the pro spyder system?
lol you have to ask solomon himself boss sweat.gif

QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 22 2012, 03:18 PM)
i wonder if the paintball facility will provide the protection suit for us as well hmm.gif

24k for service shakehead.gif can buy D4 already
QUOTE(0163119779 @ Mar 22 2012, 03:21 PM)
24k service what???? Who did lens service before???????????
Well you can rent one of those "body armor" vest but tbh i only use it once then never again. First because its hot and second the paintballer all call it "sissy vest" laugh.gif

He sent it back to nikon of course, here's the fb link : sauce
gnome
post Mar 23 2012, 12:23 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Beanie2304 @ Mar 22 2012, 05:19 PM)
Yup, I do shoot for concerts/showcases. I have been exposed to concerts for about 2 years under the wings of Kaggregate Media and some from my personal blog. =)

This year gonna have more audiences than last year as the big heat, Girls' Generation will be there tomorrow.
Cool! Im somewhat related to events.photographer myself. This weekend will be working at F1 party. Organize by the big P tongue.gif
gnome
post Mar 26 2012, 01:19 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Didnt get to go sepang for F1, only manage to go cover a private party yesterday night

sad.gif
gnome
post Mar 26 2012, 04:27 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 26 2012, 04:22 PM)
This is what I did last weekend! biggrin.gif

Studio shoot?

what i did on saturday laugh.gif
gnome
post Mar 26 2012, 08:35 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 26 2012, 07:44 PM)

Its some studio workshop haha Was thinking of getting speedlights or studio lights
Ahhh icic..thinking of going to studio aswell. Got an offer to do a profile shoot for modeling portfolio. Will be my first time though sweat.gif
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 11:17 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

On a sidenote (cheap stuff talk)

Im impress with tamron 1750mm non motor version. The lens quite sharp and focusing not bad too hmm.gif smile.gif

Okay resume with the expensive discussion tongue.gif
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 03:17 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

You guys and all your high ISO monster while i still stuck with D90 cry.gif

Taken at ISO 1600 also can see alot of noise ady, seriously considering upgrading to a newer body since my work usually involve function at night one sweat.gif
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 03:21 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Riggo @ Mar 27 2012, 03:18 PM)
time to get D700?
If i have the cash no need to tell me boss laugh.gif
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 03:57 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

atm im working as an intern with an event company (not so big one la) so cant do much about the pay laugh.gif
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 04:32 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Yeap already have sb900 and 50mm 1.8G at my disposal. For long range sniping got a 80200 two touch. Only left UWA lens that i need to get (i think) lol

owh and the picture above taken with tamron 17-50mm non motor version, belongs to my friend. I like the sharpness biggrin.gif
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 08:35 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 27 2012, 07:44 PM)
the D800 is really tickling my hands now sweat.gif

and reviews shows that the iso performance is almost on par with the D700. which makes it great considering it has got 36MP drool.gif
Beli jangan tak beli bro laugh.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0556sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:56 PM