Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

Calvin Seak
post Feb 18 2012, 05:57 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 18 2012, 05:45 PM)
Hi guys! I'm currently having dilemma on which lens should I buy. The Nikkor 35mm 1.8G or the Nikkor 50mm 1.8G? I'm more to portraiture photography but I also do some street photography. Any of you gurus out there mind to help?

I'm using D90 & D7000.
Since you're using both d90 and d7000 I believe you have the kit lens 18-105, why don't you try to view it through your view finder both 35 and 50mm see which suits you

Since you do street I think the 35 would suit you best, but if mainly potraits I believe the 50mm is better due to longer focal length!

Do take in to acc that 35 is a dx lens n 50 is an fx, so if you do change to a full frame camera most likely you will sell the 35mm!

Added on February 18, 2012, 6:03 pmSee this website for better understanding of focal length

http://www.picturecorrect.com/tips/focal-l...it-photography/

Hope it helps!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Feb 18 2012, 06:03 PM
Calvin Seak
post Feb 18 2012, 06:21 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 18 2012, 06:07 PM)
hmmm. yes i do have the 18-105 and also the 18-200. but i dont see those performing good in low light conditions. and the bokeh isn't that impressive. so yeah. do these 1.8g lenses capture fast and bright image? and also, is the bokeh good? what is the maximum focusing range?
Bokeh is always due to personal Preference you can always see images in the web! Try googling pixel peeper and from there choose the lens type and the images will appear wink.gif

The prime lens will be much better due to bigger aperture , maximum distance is infinity wink.gif
Calvin Seak
post Feb 18 2012, 09:26 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 18 2012, 09:17 PM)
When you're shooting such a big group... you want bokeh? You probably need something like a 200mm f/2 and standing far enough to put everyone in the frame tongue.gif. You might be able to get everyone in focus and bokeh perhaps.
Hahaha yea!
I think for your group shots, your lens line up will do great! Now you need a flash to light them up wink.gif

What kind or environment are you shooting the group?? Outside would be a great tho

Calvin Seak
post Feb 19 2012, 11:02 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(reddevilchoo @ Feb 19 2012, 10:32 PM)
He's the Nikon agent who organize all Nikon event and in charge for those booth design for Nikon retail shop and service centre. =)
when your turn =p haha then you can share with ALL of us next time wink.gif Gl!

Btw what do you do in fotokem??
Calvin Seak
post Feb 21 2012, 01:02 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Anyone from Sarawak here? Flying off soon at 7am happy.gif

Ill be going kuching 1st later on miri wink.gif

TT session anyone?
Calvin Seak
post Feb 21 2012, 10:00 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Feb 21 2012, 09:21 AM)
I'm in kch. PM me ur contact if u get time to meet up

Added on February 21, 2012, 9:24 amuser posted image

focus carefully
Nice!!! Pm soon!! just touch down!
Calvin Seak
post Feb 21 2012, 11:27 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Waaa she carry so many things lol! Wife material man when go market lol!

Now waiting for hotel to check in TT
Calvin Seak
post Feb 21 2012, 12:11 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 21 2012, 11:54 AM)
Full set? blink.gif

You mean includes box, hood and pouch?
Why la sell yours? Moved to FF?
He want to do macro photography with the 105 lol wink.gif

Poisoning him to get the 16-35!
Calvin Seak
post Feb 21 2012, 05:16 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 21 2012, 02:03 PM)
you are in korea?  drool.gif
No no in Sarawak Kuching hehe..

But will be in Korea for 3 weeks! That time really need your help wink.gif
Calvin Seak
post Feb 22 2012, 07:47 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Feb 22 2012, 06:36 PM)
I want to bai si. Can I be your apprentice?
Can hahaha just come nikon shooting star
Calvin Seak
post Feb 23 2012, 11:07 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

Haha when is this TT session?? I want to come too ^^

Praying bro steven can pick me up from LRT hehe.. Not very familiar with the area :/

Btw met up with Gerald at Kuching.. Friendly chap! Haha anyone who drops by Kuching can disturb him wink.gif

Now I'm at the airport flying to Miri d sad.gif Kuching was so much fun, hopefully the same in Miri!

I wonder if there's a case in Malaysia when wedding/event photographers get sued if they can't meet the clients expectations.. Stress! Haha
Calvin Seak
post Feb 23 2012, 03:38 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 23 2012, 02:11 PM)
Who wanna grab some Nikon Stuff at cheap prices do click the link below lolz. Just sharing smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2238476

Btw, the gathering ajaklah Canon kaki as well biggrin.gif
Wow so touched with your post, I hope your God Mother will have a speedy recovery!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Feb 23 2012, 03:39 PM
Calvin Seak
post Feb 24 2012, 05:57 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 23 2012, 11:14 AM)
Calvin always fly here and there wan
Because of uncle tony I can fly kekeke!

I just shot an akad nikah, omg I feel doing wedding pre-shoots and potraits are much more fun compared to the wedding day itself lol! What do you guys think?

Added on February 24, 2012, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Feb 24 2012, 01:25 AM)
LOL nice to meet ya. Hope u have more seafood in Miri wakakaka

you missed this just now

Aiseh if only I stayed longer, no seafood in Miri sad.gif

I'll drop by Kuching more often haha it's a nice place for a holiday!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Feb 24 2012, 06:01 PM
Calvin Seak
post Feb 25 2012, 07:59 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Feb 25 2012, 04:52 AM)

Wheeee...my first official work biggrin.gif
Congratulations! wink.gif

Hope you enjoy it! And make new photographer friends!
Calvin Seak
post Feb 27 2012, 09:30 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 26 2012, 09:39 PM)
anyone going to the bmw malaysian open?
http://www.bmwmalaysianopen.com/

i should be there from 12pm onwards tmr.
you will be by yourself?
Calvin Seak
post Feb 27 2012, 11:42 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 27 2012, 10:29 AM)
yup.
Nice! Haha too bad I just got back from Sarawak and Gota work later today sad.gif

Maybe I'll go or te Wednesday session

Added on February 27, 2012, 11:43 am
QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 27 2012, 10:29 AM)
yup.
Nice! Haha too bad I just got back from Sarawak and Gota work later today sad.gif

Maybe I'll go or te Wednesday session

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Feb 27 2012, 11:43 AM
Calvin Seak
post Feb 29 2012, 10:14 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 29 2012, 10:09 PM)
today the bigboys come out to play at the tennis open...
saw a 300mm f/2.8, 400mm f/2.8, 200-400 f/4...
Woah are you there everyday? Do you cover sport events for a living?? It's a pretty cool Job!
Calvin Seak
post Mar 1 2012, 01:36 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(xXDeaDXR3dDXx @ Mar 1 2012, 01:22 PM)
Anyone knows if this is repairable? How much the cost? I dropped my camera and the hot shoe broke off from the body.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2247815
Ouch!! So sorry for your lost, maybe you could email them and ask to quote the repair price

Woo hoo just received some money from EPF lol! Just in time for d800 happy day for me lol
Calvin Seak
post Mar 1 2012, 03:44 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 1 2012, 01:49 PM)
Shoot with your Nokia N8 tongue.gif
EPF? How you withdraw them? blink.gif
Bought a house last year so can withdraw haha! Sigh problem now is cannot compare prices because Malaysia doesnt have the price yet
Calvin Seak
post Mar 1 2012, 03:47 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 1 2012, 03:34 PM)
ya hor....oh wait...remember that time i sit at corner lol...so i cant backward liao unless i can merge with wall XD

but that time i put on my camera bag , bag was on my lap /... XD

Added on March 1, 2012, 3:42 pm

i duno, i found the pork chop covered with cheese looks not so nice...instead of that i found the potato looks nicer...but pork chop is main dish leh...
For the sharpest point of most lenses is at 1-2 stops I think or was it 2-3? so for ur 24-70 is f2.8, for its sharpest is at f4 or f5.6 wink.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0447sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:35 AM