Sometime too detail make you cannot sleep. I learn during renovation, perfection is an expensive things.
My New House Journey- Defects Checking>Reno>Hurray, Living room ready~
Feb 7 2012, 05:01 PM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sometime too detail make you cannot sleep. I learn during renovation, perfection is an expensive things.
Feb 7 2012, 05:04 PM
885 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Feb 7 2012, 05:41 PM
272 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: malacca |
teobros. yea. the workmanship getting lousier. wondering because of they has lots of projects to do...so cincai do..
mine too...submitted the complaint letter before cny. dont know if they already rectified or not as i also dont chase them. where is your location ?? i see teobros nowadays punya design is all the same for few location. hahaha.. i am now also planning for renovation....but not extensive one la. interior structure will remain the same. |
Feb 7 2012, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Feb 7 2012, 05:41 PM) teobros. yea. the workmanship getting lousier. wondering because of they has lots of projects to do...so cincai do.. Near bukit katil mine too...submitted the complaint letter before cny. dont know if they already rectified or not as i also dont chase them. where is your location ?? i see teobros nowadays punya design is all the same for few location. hahaha.. i am now also planning for renovation....but not extensive one la. interior structure will remain the same. where is ur location hellokitty82? I also thinking to do extension and end up give up because of budget issue and also land structure, I prefer to have some land behind my house |
Feb 8 2012, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(leeyung @ Feb 7 2012, 05:49 PM) Near bukit katil mine at taman merbok. hehe.. now i see teladan setia one also not bad and also giving good quality material, my fren bought a house from teladan setia, location cheng setia. she only do simple renovation and maintain most of the thing. even the room door is better than teobros. where is ur location hellokitty82? I also thinking to do extension and end up give up because of budget issue and also land structure, I prefer to have some land behind my house i have 15'' empty "land" at the back. it is too big for me. thought of extend a bit for wet kitchen maybe. as the kitchen inside the house not that big. so you have started planning your renovation, looking for suppliers, etc??? after i read people here giving comments, only I know planning renovation also needs so much knowledge and time. |
Feb 8 2012, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Feb 8 2012, 09:15 AM) mine at taman merbok. hehe.. now i see teladan setia one also not bad and also giving good quality material, my fren bought a house from teladan setia, location cheng setia. she only do simple renovation and maintain most of the thing. even the room door is better than teobros. i have 15'' empty "land" at the back. it is too big for me. thought of extend a bit for wet kitchen maybe. as the kitchen inside the house not that big. so you have started planning your renovation, looking for suppliers, etc??? after i read people here giving comments, only I know planning renovation also needs so much knowledge and time. This post has been edited by leeyung: Feb 8 2012, 10:30 AM |
Feb 8 2012, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(leeyung @ Feb 8 2012, 10:27 AM) yup...2 storey one. slot if view from outside? my kitchen layout very difficult to design actually, as it is located beside the staircase. wow..ur reno is 90% completed? why no photos post here?? so ur contractors all good? if good maybe can recommend me? |
Feb 8 2012, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Feb 8 2012, 10:43 AM) yours also taman merbok??? yup...2 storey one. slot if view from outside? my kitchen layout very difficult to design actually, as it is located beside the staircase. wow..ur reno is 90% completed? why no photos post here?? so ur contractors all good? if good maybe can recommend me? haha the photos slowly post ma, I captured few thousands of photo during the reno whole process from empty until landscaping This post has been edited by leeyung: Feb 8 2012, 10:52 AM |
Feb 10 2012, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(leeyung @ Feb 8 2012, 10:49 AM) haha the photos slowly post ma, I captured few thousands of photo during the reno whole process from empty until landscaping so u have not move in to your new house? when moving in? how much u spend total cost on your renovation, and all the bed, electrical, furnitures, etc?? |
Feb 10 2012, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Feb 10 2012, 10:45 AM) har...then i am an old lady lor??? moved in d so u have not move in to your new house? when moving in? how much u spend total cost on your renovation, and all the bed, electrical, furnitures, etc?? This post has been edited by leeyung: Feb 14 2012, 11:27 PM |
Feb 12 2012, 11:46 AM
Reno Update:
After all wiring hacking done, then proceed to plaster ceiling works as below ![]() Same as per wiring, canvas remain for protection, plaster ceiling work damage the tiles most for me because they never ever bother to take care the house, just wan to complete the work fast and easy, so when they setup the steel frame, just very kasar to drag the steel frame around, luckily still got some protection of canvas to minimize the damages ![]() ![]() Just have a chance to snap some photos before they start the work next day, the right hand side one is Chou Gan (草根)that the contractor called, used to hold the plaster ceiling to make it stronger and harder, it is a must for all plaster ceilings as claimed by the contractor ![]() Plaster powder and also selected cornice ![]() Thousands of screws ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by leeyung: Feb 14 2012, 11:27 PM |
Feb 14 2012, 09:28 PM
Non reno update:
Purchased Fotile hood and hob from zheilwane, builders hardware, although I am from Melaka but still manage to get FREE delivery and even at better offer as compared to Melaka market, thanks for the fast delivery and arrangement. Logistic company reach my home and deliver the hob and hood to me, of course comes with the superb nice cutlery set. Nice offer prices & packages zheilwane offers ![]() After Delivery , temporary put at my old house ![]() Fotile Range hood, EH10BQ ![]() Fotile Hob, HB1D ![]() Measurement of the box size, pretty large, 38" width, a small car maybe cant fit to bring to new house LoL ![]() 24" height for hood only ![]() The free cutlery set, quite nice quality from outlook, also with nice weight ![]() 6 Units in package, several sizes of knifes, scissor, etc.. ![]() Also with a nice holder The cutlery set is a free gift on top of my purchase of EH10BQ, wish to purchase this for another set as this is really superb nice to use and very good quality according to my friend who is using it |
Feb 15 2012, 04:33 PM
Added on February 15, 2012, 4:35 pmwow...you got free gift! nice!!!! This post has been edited by hellokitty82: Feb 15 2012, 04:35 PM |
Feb 15 2012, 10:45 PM
1,304 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
finally, a fellow malaccan sharing reno journey!
do you know the clearance from your old ceiling to the new plaster ceiling? doesn't have to be so big clearance right? was wondering if i can put plaster ceiling at my ground floor without having the ceiling pulled down too low.. ![]() |
Feb 15 2012, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Feb 15 2012, 04:33 PM) Added on February 15, 2012, 4:35 pmwow...you got free gift! nice!!!! QUOTE(pokchik @ Feb 15 2012, 10:45 PM) finally, a fellow malaccan sharing reno journey! yeah bro, nice to meet you, I didnt remove my existing old ceiling, just add on the plaster ceiling from the existing one, your house will be cooler if you are doing such way, as double heat insulation. It is too hassle and no point to remove the existing one because I didnt see any advantages by removing it except ceiling height concern. Secondly, if you are using downlight with cover, insects are lesser as well (still have of course). do you know the clearance from your old ceiling to the new plaster ceiling? doesn't have to be so big clearance right? was wondering if i can put plaster ceiling at my ground floor without having the ceiling pulled down too low.. ![]() what is ur ceiling height? |
Feb 16 2012, 09:59 PM
1,304 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Feb 16 2012, 10:15 PM
96 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Is plaster ceiling a kind of gypsum board? Kind of heavy?
Anyone has a different kind of ceiling installed... like a wooden kind? |
Feb 17 2012, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(pokchik @ Feb 16 2012, 09:59 PM) just a mere 10ft.. 10 ft still consider high bro, typically plaster ceiling will eat up 6inch or more, my ceiling is 11ft, after plaster ceiling is about 10 ft 5inch, for my living room, it will be lower because I wan cover some beam with cornice, so it is about 9ft 8inch like thati imagine if i pull down lower with plaster ceiling, my living room might look constrained/small.. *sigh* QUOTE(manemaren @ Feb 16 2012, 10:15 PM) Is plaster ceiling a kind of gypsum board? Kind of heavy? Nope, gypsum board is gypsum board, plaster ceiling board is mixture of chou gan + plaster powder. Anyone has a different kind of ceiling installed... like a wooden kind? |
Feb 17 2012, 10:11 AM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(leeyung @ Feb 17 2012, 08:48 AM) 10 ft still consider high bro, typically plaster ceiling will eat up 6inch or more, my ceiling is 11ft, after plaster ceiling is about 10 ft 5inch, for my living room, it will be lower because I wan cover some beam with cornice, so it is about 9ft 8inch like that Plaster ceiling is also made of plaster(plaster of Paris/calcium sulphate), but mixed with glass fibre.Nope, gypsum board is gypsum board, plaster ceiling board is mixture of chou gan + plaster powder. Timber ceiling is nice only if you have a high ceiling. But it is expensive. Plaster ceiling is the cheapest. White ceiling makes a room appear more spacious. |
Feb 17 2012, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Feb 17 2012, 10:11 AM) Plaster ceiling is also made of plaster(plaster of Paris/calcium sulphate), but mixed with glass fibre. Yeap, Chou Gan(cantonese) AKA fibre in english, as photo belowTimber ceiling is nice only if you have a high ceiling. But it is expensive. Plaster ceiling is the cheapest. White ceiling makes a room appear more spacious. ![]() This post has been edited by leeyung: Feb 17 2012, 09:44 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0843sec
5 queries
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:32 AM |