Portable Players Please Recommend a portable media player please, version 3

phillip88
post Jun 10 2012, 10:22 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

Using Ipod Classic. A marvelous rubbish bin! tongue.gif

Sold Creative x-fi2 because it was not what i think it was. Apparently the crystallization function in x-fi (in my ears) is the same as HTC smartphones with "beats" audio option enabled. Just tuning the EQ to "powerful", ie the V-shaped curve. Lagipun, I really dislike waiting for the micro-sd card to load everytime I wanna play songs from there.
phillip88
post Nov 7 2012, 07:54 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(shaohui @ Sep 13 2012, 11:39 PM)
hey peeps,

I am new in this. I just wanna ask whether the media players makes alot of difference in music quality?

I thought the music quality is only determined by the kbps of the music file itself?

If so, are media players such as sony walkman series or ipod considered good?

thanks!
Kbps is a very very general guideline. Normally music quality cannot just be determined by the specs like file format (mp3/flac/aac) or bitrate (1411kbps) or bit depth (16 bits/24 bits). Those are general indication, but mainly the most important thing is the mastering. Meaning how good the song is recorded and processed from the studio.

If you're going to casually listen to songs, like on the train, in the bus, walking, exercising, then there's no need to emphasize on sound quality as your brain doesn't really focus on the song. But if you are going to listen to good songs in a quiet environment and a relaxed mood, then maybe you can get a better quality player. But truth is, most players sound almost the same in a certain price range. Not really night and day difference.

Sony is famous for producing cheap quality players. Ipod sound quality is very good also
phillip88
post Jan 2 2013, 06:46 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

Anyone knows where can I find Cowon Mp4 players in Malaysia? Is really looking forward to buying a high-end below 1k player. Hopefully rm500 left right.

FLAC-able.
Clean sound. Folder option available.

Thanks!
phillip88
post Jan 14 2013, 03:37 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jan 14 2013, 03:21 PM)
do you mean cheap and good  hmm.gif
brader, u really... haha. yaya, cheap la. I still think 1k is very much, until i saw the news release of HM901 shocking.gif

Btw, if possible, I don't want to line out to external amp liao. very bulky and high cost. thinking of getting a super portable player. Not sure go which way. HM801, or C4, or DX100, or i dono... Primary mission: Drive IEM or portable headphones. Full size reserved to home desktop.
phillip88
post Jan 14 2013, 03:57 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

hellfire8888 brader, if u got say earlier, I might jump ship liao...

E1 - AKG Got people demo it already? How's the impression?
phillip88
post Jan 18 2013, 11:07 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jan 18 2013, 09:40 PM)
the new HiSound Nova 1 had just arrived  nod.gif
><!
Waiting for payday cry.gif
phillip88
post Apr 12 2013, 04:09 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Mar 23 2013, 05:57 PM)
hello,im looking for new mp3 player ..
one that easily connect by usb
and drag and drop music .. not like ipod ..
can suggest me one ?
and also a headphone to pair with this mp3
tq
Please state price. And your prior mp3 player (if any) so that we would not recommend "downgraded" mp3 icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 12 2013, 12:31 AM)
anyone knows which sound quality is better for mp3 players? Sony NW-S series or Ipod Nano 7th gen?
Many factors beside SQ. Basically, Sony mp3 player allows more DSP features like bass boost, etc.
Ipod Nano is on-the-go player. Doesn't really sacrifice SQ.

However, if you wanna play "Line-Out" feature from mp3 player to amp (by passing internal amplifier of the mp3 player), sorry, latest gen ipod nano does not offer it anymore. Sony mp3 still can.
phillip88
post Apr 12 2013, 08:24 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 12 2013, 07:14 PM)
Does that mean Sony sacrifice SQ for the EQ? I don't really play with EQ settings for every song, prefer if the sound is closest to lossless quality? I'm not really an audiophile, so what i'm saying might not make sense >_<
but from what i've read on the net, reviews lean more towards Sony for sound quality over ipod?
I totally understand your fear of not "listening" to everything, fearing that what you got is not true to the music.

Well, lemme give you some encouragement by saying, there is no IDEAL sound for everyone. While most people I know prefers neutral sound, there are people who prefer more bass, or more treble (brighter, feels like more detail), or more anything. It's totally up to you to say which one you like, and nobody has the right to say you are wrong. Heck, even my brother like +5 bass -5 treble the way he likes his Beats mad.gif LOL

Anyway, i checked your Sony S Series, and Sony does offer several DSP which may enhance your listening experience if you're using less than stellar headphones/earphones. Well, for starters, you have Clear Stereo, Clear Bass, and DSEE DSPs to make your songs more pleasure to listen. Compared to Apple IPods, it has fixed EQ choices, which may or may not be your cup of tea.

Well, if you're the kind of person who prefers to leave the settings to default, actually you can leave those Sony DSPs "ON" and still able to rock most of your songs, if not all, and if you don't really nitpicking. Besides, the latest Ipod Nano has lost its unique feature, the Line-Out port, which most audiophiles would love to have in order to let their external amplifiers in total control of the music player. Sony still has it, however, I can't tell you if it's true Line-Out or otherwise as I don't have that kind of data with me currently.

Anyway, it all comes down to personal preferences. If for me, maybe I save up for iPod Classic (which is going to be discontinued soon), or going for Sony F-Series which can be found in the garage sales (Sony Stores have them too, albeit more expensive by Rm400+/-)
phillip88
post Apr 12 2013, 11:30 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 12 2013, 11:26 PM)
Thanks alot for the info! I actually bought the Sony NW-S766 yesterday and will be waiting for shipping. It's a Japanese variant, so i couldn't find any reviews on it though. I mainly wanted it for the bluetooth feature especially that it could be used with FM radio together. Most mini size mp3 players requires the wired earphones to act as an antenna, but i think this model doesn't require that.
I'm not a true/pure audiophile like everyone here, so i probably won't nitpick much. But i do appreciate quality sound. I hope i bought the correct model, since i'm like shooting in the dark without any reviews about it. And i know i overpaid for it too (rm450), but can't be help since it's only sold in Japan...
And i wanted a mini sized mp3 so it'll be alot easier and convenient if i go jogging or something too  smile.gif
Then i don't see any problem with that. So far it's a good deal for the features you wanted.
Remember that since it's portable, the SQ won't matter so much. It's not night and day difference, especially you're listening to music outside, which greatly handicapped the SQ of any player/gear unless it is tightly sealing your ears. Anyway, you won't be critically listening also, which makes the SQ of any player "quite" redundant as your ears ain't having so much time to focus on the music itself.
phillip88
post Apr 20 2013, 11:56 AM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 20 2013, 10:43 AM)

sony got line out, the thing works.
cable accessory is available at garage sales
I know it works. I just don't know if it is true line-out or just pseudo line-out like previous versions of iPod.
phillip88
post Apr 30 2013, 10:35 AM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 30 2013, 08:35 AM)
sandisk clip zip will sound similar or better compare with c30?
Clip Zip when rockbox has lots of features which normal MP3 player doesn't.
For eg. Bass boost, treble boost, parametric EQ...
It's like android platform, where you can customize a lot of stuffs to suit your taste.
And of coz, it can support almost all common audio file.
phillip88
post Apr 30 2013, 10:49 AM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 30 2013, 10:38 AM)
oh kk.. features is not main point, for me SQ=everything haha.. but if got features then is a plus la.. i plan to try tis novasound but see ppl say got bug i also kecut back abit liao..
I don't know about other players la.
If you too lazy don't wanna customize, go hippo biscuit or sony DAP. They provide instant "special" sound.

W/o customize, sansa clip zip is just average. After rockbox, you can unlease a lot of potential on this player. Main weakness is not enough power for full size headphones. IEM/earphones okay.

0.0349sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:49 AM