Portable Players Please Recommend a portable media player please, version 3

Lego Warfare
post Dec 16 2015, 12:20 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Dec 16 2015, 08:17 AM)
Hi guys. Currently I have the Havi B3 Pro and 64 Audio V8 in-ear monitors as my daily IEMs. My budget can stretch to RM5,000 but preferably RM4,500. Oh, refer to #7 below. tongue.gif

The main question is whether if I actually need a portable amp WITH the portable player or not for the current IEMs I have. What I am currently aiming for is Fiio X5ii + Chord Mojo, with the IEMs mentioned above. Unless you guys know a standalone DAP that can diminish the need for a portable AMP, then fire away.

What I am looking for is
1) Of course, storage capacity (higher GBs : better, currently have 2 64GB MicroSD)
2) Smooth UI (Something that does not lag with total of 3k musics in it)
3) Good battery life, enough for travelling
4) Nothing enormous. As long as it doesn't get bigger than the portable stack mentioned above then I am happy    (because I might add a portable amp in the future)
5) Balanced OR Analytical sound signature, as my V8 screams BASS BASS BASS BASS. So nothing warm or bassy.
6) A volume knob/button that is not too sensitive to avoid accidentally destroying my ears!!!!
7) Last resort is the AK240 (fml)  doh.gif (try to avoid this last option Hahaha)

I am planning to upgrade at the end of 2016 or hopefully mid 2016.  Thank you all in advance!
You don't need a separate amp for IEMs as they are easy to drive. You can look at ZX2 as a standalone DAP unless you are planning to use with harder to drive headphones then you'll need a separate amp for that. Don't bother spending too much on DAPs as their returns diminishes significantly more than IEMs/headphones.
shin2l
post Dec 16 2015, 12:23 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Dec 16 2015, 11:17 AM)
hahaha true that.

Do you know the price of the Questyle QP1R?
RM4.9k rclxms.gif

http://shop.amplifiedhead.com/products/Questyle-QP1R/767
shin2l
post Dec 16 2015, 12:28 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 16 2015, 12:20 PM)
You don't need a separate amp for IEMs as they are easy to drive. You can look at ZX2 as a standalone DAP unless you are planning to use with harder to drive headphones then you'll need a separate amp for that. Don't bother spending too much on DAPs as their returns diminishes significantly more than IEMs/headphones.
Actually I tried the combo of AKT1p balanced + AK380 + docking amp, still not powerful enough to drive headphone sweat.gif

while you are here, any difference of CIEM Adel A12 and universal A12?

Lego Warfare
post Dec 16 2015, 01:03 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Dec 16 2015, 12:28 PM)
Actually I tried the combo of AKT1p balanced + AK380 + docking amp, still not powerful enough to drive headphone sweat.gif

while you are here, any difference of CIEM Adel A12 and universal A12?
lol perhaps AK is planning to release a MK2 docking amp which cost 2x more their current dock amp tongue.gif

sorry haven't tried the universal version, but i was told that the universal might have slightly less bass and slightly raised high-mid (depending on the seal)
kahtsin
post Dec 16 2015, 01:16 PM

524 posts

Guys, what about the AK240? I left the AK240 there in the list is because I see it as an endgame DAP. To me, at least, since I am not planning to get any powerful headphones. Only into IEMs as of now. But will definitely look into the ZX2 and AK100II. And of course, thank you guys for the swift reply!

QUOTE(shin2l @ Dec 16 2015, 10:18 AM)
Finally, your budget is enough for me to do recommendation brows.gif

Lets just talk about DAP first, your RM4500 budget can get AK100II (RM3.3k), Calyx M (RM4k), Sony ZX2 (RM3.2k~4.9k), Cowon P1 (RM3.6k~4.5k)

AK100II - Balanced, Soft, bit of Analytical, Iphone 4 size, moderate battery life
ZX2 - Slight improvement against 100II, more effects for music listening, long battery life, Iphone 5 size
SO, basically from your recommendations, only the AK100II and ZX2 seems worthy. What about the QP1R? Seems within my 5k budget haha also, refer above. I am rather new to this hobby in the sense that I have not auditioned many many many DAPs like you sifus biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Dec 16 2015, 11:23 AM)
That being said, Mojo is a revelation, the clean sound is better than my AK100ii. But the downside is you have to stack. I'd recommend the DX80 (sound and UI better than X5ii, price still less than 2k), stacked with the Mojo once you have the funds to upgrade. The added plus is Mojo can drive full-sized headphones very well so it's an all-in-one solution for cheapos like me.
As an X1 owner I can say that I have been avoiding using the wheel lol. Press the next/back button alot easier. Bought the X1 because I was interested in the R70x last time. Now........... I am trying to avoid the Mojo stack because now I only use IEMs mainly and as stated by Lego Warfare, I am aware of the fact that IEMs don't need a fancy extra AMP. That's why I wrote down point #4 on my post for FUTURE upgrades hehe.. Hardly uses bigass headphones.
Also, refer to above.

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 16 2015, 12:20 PM)
You don't need a separate amp for IEMs as they are easy to drive. Don't bother spending too much on DAPs as their returns diminishes significantly more than IEMs/headphones.
THAT. But your last sentence really caught my attention. What do you think about the AK240?

This post has been edited by kahtsin: Dec 16 2015, 01:19 PM
ezekiel_77
post Dec 16 2015, 01:29 PM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

The best DAPs that get mentioned in the same breath these days are the QP1R, Cowon Plenue 1, not to mention the ready standbys AK240 and 380. That said, very few people have actually heard them here so it's hard to recommend them based off reviews alone.

AK240 sounds good but I read that AK120ii sounds almost identical to it and I prefer the 120ii's form factor. So you'll have to read up more on that. If you're driving IEMs mostly, I agree with you just to get an endgame DAP and be done with it.
Lego Warfare
post Dec 16 2015, 01:31 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Dec 16 2015, 01:16 PM)
Guys, what about the AK240? I left the AK240 there in the list is because I see it as an endgame DAP. To me, at least, since I am not planning to get any powerful headphones. Only into IEMs as of now. But will definitely look into the ZX2 and AK100II. And of course, thank you guys for the swift reply!

THAT. But your last sentence really caught my attention. What do you think about the AK240?
Massdrop is having a deal on AK240 at $1659 if you are interested -> https://www.massdrop.com/buy/astell-kern-ak240

AK products are basically luxury products in hype-fi, their price do not reflect their value to me. In fact ZX2 pricing in Malaysia at launch was also quite ridiculous, but their pricing now at around RM3k isn't as bad as before now.
That said, if you are using IEMs the differences btw AK240 and ZX2 is quite minimal. Sound signature preference and features will always be the key difference between DAPs above $500 range.
ezekiel_77
post Dec 16 2015, 01:32 PM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Dec 16 2015, 12:23 PM)
Well, that's another product I wouldn't pay that much for. Can still talk if it's in the 3k region, but I haven't been doing my homework.
shin2l
post Dec 16 2015, 01:35 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Dec 16 2015, 01:16 PM)
SO, basically from your recommendations, only the AK100II and ZX2 seems worthy. What about the QP1R? Seems within my 5k budget haha also, refer above. I am rather new to this hobby in the sense that I have not auditioned many many many DAPs like you sifus biggrin.gif
I only tried once during KLIAV 2015, that was display unit, sound quality is good, but UI wise....no comment.

If you need to choose in between AK100II and ZX2, I will recommend ZX2 especially the price has dropped significantly, you even can find RM3k in garage sale. Like I mention just now, AK100II, 120II and 240 all have smooth and soft sound, you may not like it and think that it is no difference with hifi phone. So, if you were to buy AK240, I will suggest you go for AK320, bcs it has improvement in sound impact compared to previous generations.

You can try ZX2, AK100II, AK120II, AK240, AK320, AK380 at E1 Personal Audio @ SUngei Wang

Actually you can buy Mojo + any DAP with 64GB & above storage < RM4.5k

you may not enjoy DSD files but at least can enjoy music files with sampling rate up to 192/24

Btw, Mojo is not suitable for stacking like Fiio series.... sweat.gif

ezekiel_77
post Dec 16 2015, 01:35 PM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 16 2015, 01:31 PM)
Massdrop is having a deal on AK240 at $1659 if you are interested -> https://www.massdrop.com/buy/astell-kern-ak240
At that price I'd rather get endgame cans like the Audeze LCDX but that's just me.

AK, not to say it's not good, it's hard to justify their price tags. Their sig is neutral and transparent so detailheads love them. For me I love the UI, but would never buy them new.
shin2l
post Dec 16 2015, 01:39 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Dec 16 2015, 01:32 PM)
Well, that's another product I wouldn't pay that much for. Can still talk if it's in the 3k region, but I haven't been doing my homework.
Amplified Head Audio is quite okay, they are quite friendly and ready to answer any query. thumbup.gif

I bought my Nocturnal Audio Hydra v2 cable for my SE846 from there, recently asking whether they have stock for Italy BUTTERO premium leather case for AK100II brows.gif

But I am skeptical about QP1R, sound quality no problem, just the UI...... sweat.gif
shin2l
post Dec 16 2015, 01:43 PM

1,032 posts

AK products are basically luxury products in hype-fi, their price do not reflect their value to me. In fact ZX2 pricing in Malaysia at launch was also quite ridiculous, but their pricing now at around RM3k isn't as bad as before now.
That said, if you are using IEMs the differences btw AK240 and ZX2 is quite minimal. Sound signature preference and features will always be the key difference between DAPs above $500 range.
I should have just buy 2nd hand from you that time cry.gif

AK price is still very expensive doh.gif

you should tell author that you must have Adel A12 to feel the difference between ZX2 and AK240 brows.gif
shin2l
post Dec 16 2015, 01:46 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Dec 16 2015, 01:29 PM)
The best DAPs that get mentioned in the same breath these days are the QP1R, Cowon Plenue 1, not to mention the ready standbys AK240 and 380. That said, very few people have actually heard them here so it's hard to recommend them based off reviews alone.

AK240 sounds good but I read that AK120ii sounds almost identical to it and I prefer the 120ii's form factor. So you'll have to read up more on that. If you're driving IEMs mostly, I agree with you just to get an endgame DAP and be done with it.
Actually, Cowon P1 is not longer flagship brows.gif

check Cowon Plenue S brows.gif brows.gif

http://www.head-fi.org/t/790462/new-cowon-plenue-s

And AK240 soon to be replaced by AK320 (my prediction, due to price similar, sound 320 more punchy, unless goes for RWAK240)
Lego Warfare
post Dec 16 2015, 01:47 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Dec 16 2015, 01:35 PM)
At that price I'd rather get endgame cans like the Audeze LCDX but that's just me.

AK, not to say it's not good, it's hard to justify their price tags. Their sig is neutral and transparent so detailheads love them. For me I love the UI, but would never buy them new.
lol hence i mentioned not to bother spending so much on DAP (learned the hard way tongue.gif). Like you i'd rather invest in headphones instead.
I only like AK products for their build quality and design (from AK100 up to AK240), but other than that there's nothing really special about them.

I'm more interested in the X7 though, changeable amp modules is interesting.
Lego Warfare
post Dec 16 2015, 01:55 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Dec 16 2015, 01:43 PM)
I should have just buy 2nd hand from you that time cry.gif

AK price is still very expensive doh.gif

you should tell author that you must have Adel A12 to feel the difference between ZX2 and AK240 brows.gif
lol 2nd hand for which one? AK240?
yea especially now with USD jumping to 4.3, US sales doesn't seem that appealing to me anymore. Even the recent BF sales i only bought 1 item, and quite surprised i even bought anything... but the price was that appealing even for a lower end headphone lol

haha i know after author gets the AK240/ZX2 his next step would be to upgrade his V8.. the curse of audiophiliacs biggrin.gif

I'm curious on JH coming CIEMs though. Hopefully they depart from the Siren series...
kahtsin
post Dec 16 2015, 02:03 PM

524 posts

That's what the boss at E1 told me or someone I can't remember; its a luxury product. But nevertheless, they are definitely good DAPs despite the Apple pricing. Aiya by 2016 the promo gone already. See maybe if I can find a good valued 2nd hand or just go with the ZX2.

QUOTE(shin2l @ Dec 16 2015, 01:35 PM)
I only tried once during KLIAV 2015, that was display unit, sound quality is good, but UI wise....no comment.

If you need to choose in between AK100II and ZX2, I will recommend ZX2 especially the price has dropped significantly, you even can find RM3k in garage sale. Like I mention just now, AK100II, 120II and 240 all have smooth and soft sound, you may not like it and think that it is no difference with hifi phone. So, if you were to buy AK240, I will suggest you go for AK320, bcs it has improvement in sound impact compared to previous generations.

You can try ZX2, AK100II, AK120II, AK240, AK320, AK380 at E1 Personal Audio @ SUngei Wang

Actually you can buy Mojo + any DAP with 64GB & above storage < RM4.5k

you may not enjoy DSD files but at least can enjoy music files with sampling rate up to 192/24

Btw, Mojo is not suitable for stacking like Fiio series.... sweat.gif

And AK240 soon to be replaced by AK320 (my prediction, due to price similar, sound 320 more punchy, unless goes for RWAK240)
Quite surprisingly the 320's internal memory is inferior to the 240's. Last time when I was at E1, William was there and that guy is really good. He's extremely helpful and know his stuffs. But definitely would give E1 another visit for the DAP list you provided above! Maybe just the ZX2 and AK240 tongue.gif (or maybe the 320 but who knows)

Seeing how I am only driving IEMs, external amp won't be necessary la. so ENDGAME DAP AND FITEAR/NOBLE!
ezekiel_77
post Dec 16 2015, 02:32 PM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Dec 16 2015, 01:46 PM)
Actually, Cowon P1 is not longer flagship brows.gif

check Cowon Plenue S brows.gif  brows.gif

http://www.head-fi.org/t/790462/new-cowon-plenue-s

Dang! Behind the curve again! tongue.gif

Seriously their model names give no indication of their ranking in the line.
shin2l
post Dec 16 2015, 02:34 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Dec 16 2015, 02:03 PM)
Quite surprisingly the 320's internal memory is inferior to the 240's. Last time when I was at E1, William was there and that guy is really good. He's extremely helpful and know his stuffs. But definitely would give E1 another visit for the DAP list you provided above! Maybe just the ZX2 and AK240 tongue.gif (or maybe the 320 but who knows)

Seeing how I am only driving IEMs, external amp won't be necessary la. so ENDGAME DAP AND FITEAR/NOBLE!
Afterall it is 2nd gen flagship vs 3rd gen second flagship

It is quite hard to make decision, especially native DSD vs DSD to PCM, 256GB etc.

there is no endgame for AK DAP, who knows? Maybe CHord next year comes out with DAP with its own signature DAC brows.gif

And Fitear also not endgame for IEM yet, try VE6xc brows.gif brows.gif and Adel A12 brows.gif brows.gif

ezekiel_77
post Dec 16 2015, 02:35 PM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Dec 16 2015, 02:03 PM)
That's only for now haha. The curse of this hobby... you'll start reading about over-ears later on. I swore I wouldn't but now I'm 3 cans deep. tongue.gif

Ooh Fitear? Looking at MH335 or other unicorns?
ezekiel_77
post Dec 16 2015, 02:44 PM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

QUOTE(shin2l @ Dec 16 2015, 02:34 PM)
Afterall it is 2nd gen flagship vs 3rd gen second flagship

It is quite hard to make decision, especially native DSD vs DSD to PCM, 256GB etc.

there is no endgame for AK DAP, who knows? Maybe CHord next year comes out with DAP with its own signature DAC brows.gif

And Fitear also not endgame for IEM yet, try VE6xc brows.gif  brows.gif and Adel A12 brows.gif  brows.gif
My wish is exactly that... Mojo with a touchscreen and UI. That will be all the win in the world.

Plenty of endgame CIEMs... just PLENTY!

You could go for the 14-driver Empire Ears Zeus, the 5-figure Layla, silicon champion SE 5-way ultimate, or throw a curveball and go for the Shure electrostat KSE1500. The IEM game is nuts right now.

61 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:39 AM