laptop respray and recondition, Update: Finished pictures Uploaded

TSdan137
post Jan 22 2012, 03:49 AM, updated 14y ago

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

I was thinking to respray my laptop case since it already rusty, but keep on delaying it from month-to-month. Until one day, my cat wee wee on in blink.gif .
So, there you go, i have to strip the laptop and washed it.

Let it dry on my exhaust fan

Try to power in on after few weeks leave it to dry. walla..it works. bad news, HDD died.

So i begin my work since it still can be use.

Part that need re-touch

The rush and the scratch

The orange peeled

This post has been edited by dan137: Feb 18 2012, 02:06 AM
TSdan137
post Jan 22 2012, 03:52 AM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

The base will go orange.

The top will go black

this mouse clicking thing need major rework, because it can be took off

keyboard holder will be black and orange.

Last but no list, THE TOOLS

tomorrow will continue with some part that need paint removal.

This post has been edited by dan137: Jan 22 2012, 04:01 AM
TSdan137
post Jan 22 2012, 05:00 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(xboss182 @ Jan 22 2012, 02:40 PM)
sound fun buddy
Indeed it is fun. now doing paint removal.

update and pictures will be upload tonight.
TSdan137
post Jan 22 2012, 09:33 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Jan 22 2012, 05:23 PM)
nice!

Added on January 22, 2012, 9:50 pmupdate for today. done with removing paint at some parts.

with the help of this two power tools, it really make job easy

user posted imageuser posted image
Dremal MultiPro and Black and Decker grinder

remove the paint at keyboard holder. it kinda hard cz not all part are metal.

remove the paint at top case too.

broken track pad clicker that i mentioned before.

Lastly, prep for painting.

top case covered with news paper and masking tape.

bottom case, cover the label only.

Till then, will continue after CNY. Balik Kampung tomorrow morning.

This post has been edited by dan137: Jan 22 2012, 09:50 PM
TSdan137
post Jan 24 2012, 03:47 AM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(WWWYKI @ Jan 23 2012, 12:52 AM)
Can't wait want to see it succeed smile.gif
tongue.gif thanks

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Jan 23 2012, 01:27 PM)
Nice project
Really respect you for having the guts to actually strip down all the laptop hardware , not everyone can do it... wink.gif
Its nothing anyway, same as strip down desktop, just this, smaller in size and so much screws to take care and remember.

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Jan 23 2012, 07:59 PM)
Waa nice.. fast2 upload.. i want see the result smile.gif
will update after CNY. hope the weather is on my side. blush.gif
TSdan137
post Jan 25 2012, 02:09 AM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Jan 25 2012, 12:28 AM)
i don't think it is good to place ur laptop parts on ur desktop exhaust fans ><
Why? care to share ur knowledge.
TSdan137
post Jan 26 2012, 11:10 AM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Jan 26 2012, 07:41 AM)
um well...usually it's better to prevent dust to reach the pcb and other electronic components.. also how did u wash it anyway? or u just wipe the components with a partly wet cloth? just a normal blow would work well to dry compared to exhaust fumes from ur desktop >.<
wash it by using soap and water (like in the picture in the spoiler). the hot air from the exhaust fans let it dry completely since i leave it there about more than a week..well, jz to make sure it is 100% dried. dush can always be clean using brush or better yet, vacuum it.

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ Jan 26 2012, 07:43 AM)
kalau mintak you tolong buat to my laptop also can ah? my laptop is dell studio 15..
its a very long and banyak kerja kene buat. plus I'm not that expert yet to buat laptop orang.
TSdan137
post Jan 26 2012, 01:29 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Jan 26 2012, 12:02 PM)
serious no problem to was the mobo using soap n water? i wanna try to wash my old amd754 mobo which is very sticky and dusty due to no casing n enviroment is very oily cause near to kitchen.
so far no problem for me. I washed my keyboard, motherboard. just make sure it is 100% dry before u power it on. If not dry enuf, kaboom.
Try at ur own risk. I'm not responsible if any damage happened smile.gif
TSdan137
post Jan 26 2012, 11:30 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Jan 26 2012, 06:06 PM)
so how u gonna dry it? hair dryer + put under sun light ?
as i mentioned in the 1st post

Let it dry on my exhaust fan

QUOTE(Jinster @ Jan 26 2012, 06:20 PM)
true but need to make sure it is totally dry...
Thats the key to success.

tomorrow I will update the spraying process.

This post has been edited by dan137: Jan 26 2012, 11:30 PM
TSdan137
post Jan 27 2012, 09:03 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Jan 27 2012, 03:33 AM)
sorry my bad, i didnt notice it. and u r creative !! will love to see ur final work. good luck bro !!
No problem bro. Thanks..

Added on January 27, 2012, 9:13 pmAs promise, update for painting job.

It starts with:

hanging all the case. rclxm9.gif hahaha..its very windy at that time. cannot get the perfect angle.

an individual shot

The base.

the "wild" top case. I've to hold it in order to take the shot. If not its like spinning gasing.

the keyboard holder.

Undercoat time rolleyes.gif

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

After that. We have an annoying orange in the house.

This post has been edited by dan137: Jan 27 2012, 09:13 PM
TSdan137
post Jan 28 2012, 12:07 AM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(XFX 5770 @ Jan 27 2012, 10:02 PM)
wah....realy amazing.... rclxms.gif ..fazter2 la update bro..hahaha...
thanks. haha..will update with more pic soon.

QUOTE(WWWYKI @ Jan 27 2012, 11:45 PM)

wow looks brutal
supersport maa..have to be brutal.

QUOTE(fridel @ Jan 27 2012, 11:53 PM)
Wohh..orange color..very rare item laugh.gif
Nice job man rclxms.gif
user posted image tongue.gif
TSdan137
post Feb 1 2012, 01:01 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(muhiann @ Jan 31 2012, 01:40 AM)
the paint not dry yet??..fast2 i want to see the final result.

hope will be look like this.
http://www.carztune.com/wp-content/uploads...per-Sport_4.jpg
how about the inside part?..any mod or add more core? brows.gif
Paint dry already. but have to do final touch up. I'm nit feeling well this few days, hence, delay in this project.

Yes...I follow that Bugatti Veyron Super Sport colour scheme.
Inside part no mod. upgrading CPU for laptop is such a waste for me tongue.gif . I just upgrade it to SuperSport Disk (SSD) only

QUOTE(farizul @ Feb 1 2012, 02:38 AM)
i actually bookmarked this topic to follow the progress..
thanks bro. I will update ASAP after this. notworthy.gif

Added on February 2, 2012, 1:21 amhere are some update after finish painting process

The keyboard holder

top cover. this part need touch up. the paint look so ugly. I need to wet sand this part.

top cover with keyboard holder

the orange base

look like orange peel. this is what happened when u do the painting process outside in windy weather.

look at that cry.gif I'm able to fix the clicking thing but the paint cry.gif

pre-assembled picture in different angle

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

Added on February 2, 2012, 3:44 pmuser posted image
3M SCOCTCHPRINT CARBON FIBER Vinyl has arrived. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by dan137: Feb 2 2012, 03:44 PM
TSdan137
post Feb 4 2012, 01:18 AM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Feb 3 2012, 10:50 PM)
The carbon sticker u want to cover the black paint area?
nope. I'll use that to cover the monitor casing. all will be wrap with that CF Vinyl.

earlier this evening..
My SuperSport Disk (SSD) has arrived rclxm9.gif
TSdan137
post Feb 6 2012, 04:15 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Feb 4 2012, 11:38 AM)
walao..how much ur bugattisuper sport??  thumbup.gif
hahaha...priceless tongue.gif

QUOTE(Jinster @ Feb 5 2012, 11:28 AM)
luckily no leaf or what dropped on ur painted stuff
who say luckily..i've to resand everything, the top case got so many dust.

QUOTE(hamswat @ Feb 5 2012, 11:34 AM)
This is AWESOME man ! Wish my MBP came in this color !  tongue.gif
can always custom paint icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Feb 6 2012, 01:59 AM)
If spray open space possibilities to some thing melekat.. exprience before.. mosquito stick.. need to paper sand back  smile.gif

finish already to put the CF Vinyl ?
yup..very possible. I've to respray it in my bathroom.

finish painting already. CF not yet done.

just get back from hometown. damn tired now. will update later.

This post has been edited by dan137: Feb 6 2012, 04:54 PM
TSdan137
post Feb 6 2012, 04:58 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Feb 6 2012, 04:21 PM)
good luck bro. looks like a splendid job you did on the orange hue. very nice.
yeah the black part you can make it look nicer hopefully.
Thanks bro. got an idea to repaint it that colour after looking at veyron supersport colour.
I'm working on that part. hope everything can be done accordingly.
TSdan137
post Feb 6 2012, 11:58 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Feb 6 2012, 10:27 PM)
haha~
part n parcel of hard work xD
nevertheless...good job^^
ya man..at first i am very frustrated with the result. have to redo.
btw, thanks

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Feb 6 2012, 10:37 PM)
Bro u try cut a piece of  CF sticker.. then try to spray clear coat.. is it look like real Carbon fiber ?
ahaa..thats a good idea. will try tomorrow. nod.gif i got clear coat left over..hehe

QUOTE(ariffmokhtar @ Feb 6 2012, 10:51 PM)
Ahhhhh , this is super awesomee ! *bookmarked* :B
thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdan137
post Feb 8 2012, 03:14 AM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

Update: repaired paint and wrapping LCD case

top case paint has been repaired.

from different angle

LCD case outer part

LCD case inner part

different angle
TSdan137
post Feb 9 2012, 10:26 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(WWWYKI @ Feb 9 2012, 03:00 PM)
wow awesome!  thumbup.gif
Thank you

QUOTE(Langiler @ Feb 9 2012, 09:24 PM)
Pergh,
DIY
rclxms.gif
Of course la DIY.

QUOTE(WWWYKI @ Feb 9 2012, 10:08 PM)
@dan137 where you buy 3M SCOCTCHPRINT CARBON FIBER Vinyl?
hehe..i believe u already found it. tongue.gif
TSdan137
post Feb 10 2012, 11:04 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Feb 10 2012, 05:54 PM)
ur mouse touchpad won't get affected by that much spray paint?
I think it will. That's why I sanded that part before I apply another layer. smile.gif
TSdan137
post Feb 16 2012, 02:31 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

QUOTE(JuzForTrue @ Feb 12 2012, 12:28 PM)
Nice work bro =)
looks forward when it's done =)
Its already done. uploading the pic later.

QUOTE(stille nacht @ Feb 13 2012, 11:17 AM)
wow.. nice job biggrin.gif

QUOTE(rc2x @ Feb 13 2012, 12:20 PM)
Good job with the cutting of cf on the lid.  rclxms.gif
its not easy u know. practice make it perfect tongue.gif

QUOTE(de|phantom @ Feb 16 2012, 12:20 AM)
well done.. u should take a photo "before" and "after"..
"before" picture taken after i disassemble the laptop. doh.gif

QUOTE(IvanTLY @ Feb 16 2012, 10:43 AM)
im following this wei o.o~!!
thanks. will upload finish pic later on. thumbup.gif

0.0283sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:54 PM