Help Apple TV Users in Malaysia -Official Thread, Guides, FAQS, Jailbreaking, XBMC, etc.
en_mizi
Feb 15 2012, 09:08 PM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 10 2012, 03:59 PM) Nice! An AppleTV thread at last. I have: 1. AppleTV 160GB 2. AppleTV Black Both jailbroken and installed with Firecore's ATVFlash. and 2 more AppleTV Black still in boxes, waiting for TVs to connect to. Xmau jual ke boss?
iSean
Feb 15 2012, 09:12 PM
Hmm... Apple has released a AppleTV? A first to me. Or it's just a Set Up Box like Astro/UniFi.
Added on February 15, 2012, 9:20 pmHow nice, A TV remote from your iDevice. I wonder why Apple don't call it iTV
This post has been edited by iSean: Feb 15 2012, 09:20 PM
wiraone
Feb 15 2012, 09:59 PM
Apple can't call it iTV since it has been trademarked in many countries. It is actually a media player and not a set top box.
soonwai
Feb 15 2012, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 15 2012, 09:12 PM) Hmm... Apple has released a AppleTV? A first to me. Or it's just a Set Up Box like Astro/UniFi. Added on February 15, 2012, 9:20 pmHow nice, A TV remote from your iDevice. I wonder why Apple don't call it iTV iTV belongs to the BBC. I don't think Queen Elizabeth will be too happy if Apple took the name. Jony Ive will have his knighthood stripped. :-)
wiraone
Feb 16 2012, 09:07 AM
Didn't know iTV is trademarked by BBC, but I know there is a broadcasting company in UK, private entity called ITV. In fact, they're competitors in UK
soonwai
Feb 16 2012, 12:49 PM
Sorry, my mistake, ITV, BBC = 2 separate broadcasters in the UK. Not sure why I typed "iTV belongs to the BBC".
thanks wiraone for pointing that out.
jepunnye
Feb 20 2012, 10:41 AM
Hi, anyone know where can i send my Atv2 for jailbreak? tried jailbreak it myself and now at2 is not working  Thanks
SUSnatzakaria
Feb 20 2012, 10:48 AM
Mine:
2 units ATV2 JB untetherd and working very well. Ditched Ashthrow long time ago.
wiraone
Feb 20 2012, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(jepunnye @ Feb 20 2012, 10:41 AM) Hi, anyone know where can i send my Atv2 for jailbreak? tried jailbreak it myself and now at2 is not working  Thanks Where is you location? Probably someone nearby can help you.
loveyourenemy
Feb 21 2012, 10:02 AM

Hi All, anyone selling? Please let me know and PM me the details....Thanks
wiraone
Feb 21 2012, 10:27 AM
Do check mudah.my, there are few for sales there, but insist on COD ..
loveyourenemy
Feb 21 2012, 10:31 AM

k cool...Thanks
nihc75
Feb 21 2012, 12:48 PM
Hi. I am getting a new Apple TV as a gift and been told about this wonderful things I can do once it is jailbreak. I am not a techie in anyway and am hoping I can get someone help to do it.
wiraone
Feb 22 2012, 07:44 AM
Easiest is to follow the step-by-step found in youtube.
tancth
Feb 23 2012, 02:49 PM

what is the most effective way to subscribe to Netflix beside buying Itunes gift cards?
Or is there a way to use Netflix for free? I remember reading something about it on this thread but it didnt say how.
wiraone
Feb 23 2012, 04:06 PM
Don't think you can subscribe netflix using itunes gift card. You need to have a debit/credit card issued in the US or online. I'm using an online debit card which I reload quarterly with the value of US$50.
Netflix for free? Nope, not that I know off.
tancth
Feb 23 2012, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 23 2012, 04:06 PM) Don't think you can subscribe netflix using itunes gift card. You need to have a debit/credit card issued in the US or online. I'm using an online debit card which I reload quarterly with the value of US$50. Netflix for free? Nope, not that I know off. can you give me the link to the online debit card? i wanna check it out. thanks
wiraone
Feb 23 2012, 05:51 PM
I'm using entropay .. www.entropay.com
latias93
Feb 24 2012, 11:44 PM
Not an AppleTV related question, but if I remember correctly, I saw a post on another AppleTV thread before on how this member managed to access Netflix from Malaysia. I'm studying in USA and now in Malaysia to balik kampung. I have Netflix subscription and I wanna watch it from here. How?
wiraone
Feb 25 2012, 01:15 AM
You need to subscribe to vpn service or unblock.us. If you're going for vpn, look for one with us server and not local. Am using astrill right now and quite happy with it.