○ Galaxy Nexus V4 ○, latest Google flagship

cruxidex
post Jan 18 2012, 10:04 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(gurpreetsingh @ Jan 18 2012, 09:36 AM)
I was trying franco kernel only...will multiple time flashing or wiping data harm the phone?
it did not boot so then I put google yagbu rom..again did not boot.

so what are the steps actually....? pls confirm if I did right

Backup followed by option bootloader, then unlock option...then I run CWM recovery stuff from where i installed the .zip of kernel.... I did not rename something ..there was an option for rename file..

is this right...if someone has used gnex toolkit pls letme know do I need to follow all the steps or individual. Just letme know brief steps(order) I will search more on their details.

Added on January 18, 2012, 9:38 amI was thinking to put bigxie rom...so good combination?
also when we need to update the rom released by the developers ...all my data will be gone? how can I restore my data from old rom to new rom?
I have taken backup from gnex tookit..so can I put it back on my phone after I flash new rom?
franco kernel is only for android 4.0.3
so if you wanna use it.. you need to use it with a 4.0.3 based custom rom

steps?
- wipe data/factory reset (if you are coming from a diff rom)
- wipe cache
- advanced>wipe dalvik cache
- flash custom rom
- immediately flash kernel
- reboot the phone

what is the best custom rom is subjective to user... so give it a try on a few roms until you find which suits you most

we need to update our rom when there is a new release/update
check xda-developers forum
check rootzwiki forum

some roms release their update at rootzwiki 1st.. after a few days then they update at xda forum
backup and restoring your data = Titanium Backup is your friend whistling.gif

Added on January 18, 2012, 10:05 amDirectD new price for AP = RM1888
18 months.. AP warranty~
http://www.lelong.com.my/samsung-galaxy-ne...2-02-Sale-P.htm

This post has been edited by cruxidex: Jan 18 2012, 10:05 AM
cruxidex
post Jan 18 2012, 12:34 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Jan 18 2012, 12:27 PM)
I reverted to Franco kernel guys..I find much better than apex and the color enhancement is superb as well
true.. just tried again franco #12 this morning but revert back to Apex V5 because.. papago cannot use on franco while all other kernel can

This post has been edited by cruxidex: Jan 18 2012, 12:35 PM
cruxidex
post Jan 18 2012, 07:09 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jan 18 2012, 05:59 PM)
Maxis. But I reckon is 4.0.3 not playing nice with KK1.
as recommended by Google themselves..
read up this web http://source.android.com/source/building-devices.html
go all the way down... you will see

Galaxy Nexus (GSM/HSPA+):
Android Version
Preferred Bootloader
Preferred Radio
Also possible (Radio) cool2.gif

Added on January 18, 2012, 7:14 pmlol... at least dont la carbon skin the front screen...

This post has been edited by cruxidex: Jan 18 2012, 07:14 PM
cruxidex
post Jan 20 2012, 09:14 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 20 2012, 08:22 PM)
Anyone know how to force the phone to 3G only?
i use an app called Network
in market search = mangelow
by default its GSM/CDMA auto (PRL)
you can switch to WCDMA only to force 3G
this setting will revert back to default when reboot

this app is actually a shortcut to Android's Phone Info
you can manually see this by dialling
*#*#4636#*#*
then select phone info
you will see the same thing

just change the network only.. i also afraid to touch anything else... in this phone info thingy
cruxidex
post Jan 22 2012, 01:28 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(cheeloong1985 @ Jan 22 2012, 03:23 AM)
Hi.. count me in.. used it for 2 days..

Will try to flash rom later.. which rom recommended??
For starters.. try ARHD..it is based on 4.0.2 stock rom no visual changes just batt life n peformance tweaks. At elast guarenteed all stock features are working without any bugs...

When u ready for more.. try AOKP.. feel the smoothness n tons of mods in his rom

If batt life you still wanna improve.. use franco kernel or leankernel or apexV5 kernel

QUOTE(hapa @ Jan 22 2012, 12:49 PM)
thx for the suggestion. im thinking to flash franco kernel is bcoz of poor battery life. almost 1 week and i still cant achieve a 2 hours screen on time..

any good combi for kernel + rom?
I recommend AOKP + ApexV5 kernel

This post has been edited by cruxidex: Jan 22 2012, 01:29 PM
cruxidex
post Jan 22 2012, 01:52 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Jan 22 2012, 01:26 PM)
my experience on NFC, only manage to share youtube, website. tested on photo but dunno why failed.

quote from android.com:

Android Beam for NFC-based sharing

Android Beam is an innovative, convenient feature for sharing across two NFC-enabled devices, It lets people instantly exchange favorite apps, contacts, music, videos — almost anything. It’s incredibly simple and convenient to use — there’s no menu to open, application to launch, or pairing needed. Just touch one Android-powered phone to another, then tap to send.

For sharing apps, Android Beam pushes a link to the app's details page in Android Market. On the other device, the Market app launches and loads the details page, for easy downloading of the app. Individual apps can build on Android Beam to add other types of interactions, such as passing game scores, initiating a multiplayer game or chat, and more.

not much details on the file types support, anyone know what format of music & video can support on NFC?
When i tested with Zeal.. i beam a contact from my phone to his.. it works.. we r both on ARHD at the time

N all GNex user should note... not all custom rom has NFC working

cruxidex
post Jan 22 2012, 04:14 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(soonsian @ Jan 22 2012, 03:49 PM)
Where do u find the APEX kernel in xDA? I could not find it.
Inside cdma dev
He only creates one topic in cdma
Butbhis kernel is compatible for both cdma n our cdma
cruxidex
post Jan 22 2012, 04:49 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(im_not_stupid @ Jan 22 2012, 04:23 PM)
1st android phone in my life n got headache understanding so many information at once...

maybe anyone can share any useful apps and TS put it in 1st page? tongue.gif
Go youtube.. search : coolosertech
Twice a week he will recommend apps n games for android
cruxidex
post Jan 26 2012, 11:12 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(t3n @ Jan 26 2012, 09:19 PM)
ok!!! Flashing Franco 14.1 ^^

Oh ya... Btw can i know how to change the boot screen to stock? I dont like the Unicorn boot screen in AOKP  vmad.gif
in build20 AOKP... you can disable the unicorn bootscreen with just 1 tick
explore inside ROM control
cruxidex
post Jan 28 2012, 07:31 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(SillJexster @ Jan 28 2012, 06:00 PM)
Yay! Just got my nexus today
1st time smartphone user
any good apps or games to recommend?
go youtube... find COOLOSERTECH
confirm twice a week.. a good review on new apps n games
cruxidex
post Jan 30 2012, 03:10 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(andy8274 @ Jan 30 2012, 02:39 PM)
hi, found that with wifi connect...the battery drain even faster than using 3g...
i'm now with AOPK rom, flash kernel will help?
i beg to differ... im using AOKP since build 10.. never once feel WiFi drain faster than 3G
if i didnt touch my phone... 1 hour will drain average of 4% on WiFi
if i didnt touch my phone... 1 hour will drain average of 6% on WiFi

if i surf the net kaw kaw... 1 hour will drain average 22% on WiFi
if i surf the net kaw kaw... 1 hour will drain average 28% on 3G

all with stock kernel
but yes.. getting a custom kernel will help your battery life.. but using WiFi is alwiz consume less batt than 3G
cruxidex
post Feb 2 2012, 04:32 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 1 2012, 10:32 PM)
anyone? or any x5 user's advise?
i can use it...
no need to do spare parts.. just use the galaxy tab apk http://www.papago.com.tw/andsea/
the respective folders to 720x1184

the only thing that X5 cannot work is franco kernel
cruxidex
post Feb 2 2012, 10:40 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Feb 2 2012, 09:15 AM)
why i download for tab and intall in gnex it failed to run? rclxub.gif
do you have all the 600++MB papago program folders in your SD card?
if no.. of course cannot run.. ask Google.. he will answer you
cruxidex
post Feb 3 2012, 03:16 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(sia1990 @ Feb 2 2012, 11:24 PM)
anyone?
dont count the signal bars...
check the dBm instead

settings>about phone>status
read the signal strength...
if u have +- more then 5dBm means there is some reception issue either on your phone or your telco tower the phone is connected

with so many towers around us... althou you sit at one place.. any device you put side by side also can be connected with different towers

0.1508sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:45 PM