125 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

--+-- PROTON SAVVY LYN club V4 --+--, New thread after 2 years,2 months,27 day

davidke20
post Sep 15 2012, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(hypermount @ Sep 15 2012, 10:49 AM)
Don't go to RS Auto - bad service di - go to renautech instead.

There a cheap solution in savoc.net for the power steerting fluid solution,some how I haven't experience this problem yet lol
Oh... so they NOT ONLY service Renault lar, mean they're still savvy in Savvy lar laugh.gif Dunno why I kinda have the kinda impression they only do the ignition coil and or anything related to the Renault engine/transmission blush.gif
hypermount
post Sep 15 2012, 10:59 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

power steering switch.
http://savoc.net/v2/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=11324

Added on September 15, 2012, 11:04 am
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Sep 8 2012, 05:06 PM)
brows.gif Savvy is very poisonous brows.gif So, now you're running on KNN ar? Got drop in mou? I no planning for open pod. Besides, do I need special tools to maintain Renault engine ar? I was trying to open the filter box also couldn't find sweat.gif
Wow! Your car sounded damn garang wei brows.gif

Can't wait to collect my Savvy and start doing awesome things with it drool.gif
the star screw driver for the airbox is quite common to get from hardware shops - forgot the correct term.. it's the square recess nut (for the oil pan and gearbx) that is harder to find but still can get - jsut change them to ore common hex nut...

already ditched the apexi open pod filter last year, got hole after 4++ years...not using air filter box, looking at knn filter also lol.

This post has been edited by hypermount: Sep 15 2012, 11:04 AM
davidke20
post Sep 15 2012, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(hypermount @ Sep 15 2012, 10:59 AM)
power steering switch.
http://savoc.net/v2/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=11324

Added on September 15, 2012, 11:04 am
the star screw driver for the airbox  is  quite common to get from hardware shops - forgot the correct term.. it's the square recess nut (for the oil pan and gearbx) that is harder to find but still can get - jsut change them to ore common hex nut...

already ditched the apexi open pod filter last year, got hole after 4++ years...not using air filter box, looking at knn filter also lol.
Izit TORX? I think I got 1 set but aint remember where I stuff it doh.gif

This post has been edited by davidke20: Sep 15 2012, 05:25 PM
davidke20
post Sep 15 2012, 05:26 PM

My unofficial review posted at Saga thread as below. Correct me if I'm wrong.

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Sep 15 2012, 04:58 PM)
Unofficial review and comparison between SAGA BLM vs SAVVY. As usual, 1st paragraph was rubbish, you may skip.

Here is a detail write up to compare both cars. We all know the all new PROTON SAGA was developed from SAVVY chassis. Basically the entire undercarriage of both cars are 95% identical. On paper, their handling should not differ from each other much. Technically, wheelbase and chassis height will define the driveability/characteristic of the car. Before I own a Proton Saga BLM, Proton Savvy is like the arsenic of my head. Whenever I thought about it I feel shivering. Whenever I see it on the road, I feels like gonna get a torch and burn it. I just couldn't help myself from hating it so much until I refused to know it more, understand it more. After months(half a year of ownership of BLM to be exact) of consideration, I've decided to own another car since my Iswara is getting old. Not to mentioned maintenance(I have no issue with that), the insurance terms & condition is getting not worthy. If I go for comprehensive, the minimum sum insured is RM10,000. If I lost my car, I can only claim market value, which is RM2,500. By paying RM500 every year to protect 4/5 of the car price seems unwise. Moreover, the performance parts and sound system alone would worth more than the price an insurance would pay for the compensation of the car itself. I was suggested to get 3rd party insurance to continue to use that car, but its just simply not worthy. What if accident, who's gonna repair my car? What if stolen, I'm not getting a single penny of compensation. And the journey of having another Proton begun. So, I'll begin with my Proton Saga BLM.

I had a great opportunity to own a quite cheap Saga BLM 2010 second hand due to previous user not able to serve his loan repayment anymore. The time I got the car, mileage was 14000km++ only, but maintenance record is not provided. According to previous owner, he never serviced his car from Proton at all. Presume the warranty is void. I sent the agent to help me collect my car, ask them to service the car before I collect it. It was done with MOBIL engine oil(don't know what it type it was), battery already changed to something else from other car. Drained the petrol tank and filled up with fresh ESSO. The moment I got into the car, I was like holy mother bucker! This is a real deal! Plotong improved their production car's quality by 10 folds of their previous stuff. I was grateful for that little amount of money(3 years installment) to own such a high quality car is something really mind blowing. The car is very comfortable. Road feedback is "sufficient", steering is slightly heavier if compare to most power steering car. Hydraulic clutch makes it easier to disengage clutch. Foot work is marvelous, I mean it. This is the only car I owned so far with such comfortable footwork(besides of a BMW 328 I owned for a short while). The car already premoded with TRD V3 spoiler, I took the car up to 190kmh on NS Way, surprisingly there are still room to stretch further. A Kancil with turbo was trying to catch me whilst I was 120kph, I haven't even got chance to say hi, as I slam on the gas pedal, the car sprint right away and rev up to 6krpm in split second(on 5th gear). I can no longer see the Kancil from my rear view mirror anymore. High speed corner is very soft, kinda had the feeling of the car is not responsible for this kinda action. I took 80kmh uphill corner from S'ban hiway connect to MRR2, the car felt like going to flip anytime despite the rubbish M3 tyre still can stretch further. On my way home is a series of speed breaker, I can drive through 40kmh without braking at all. The feedback in cabin is relatively soft, can only heard of "tub, tub, tub" as I went through speed bumps. Rear window wasn't able to fully wind down on both side. So I dismantle the panel and check, found the windshield holder arm already fully retracted, so I wonder why Plotong designed the rear window such a silly way(was informed that was for child safety purposes later, but its not true, I will cover this part later). The round shaped LOTUS trademarked aircond vent is very efficient, can twist 360' blowing up/down/left/right/centre without issue. Aircond blower was marvelously powerful, even I switch to blower speed #1, rear passenger can still enjoy the cooling of the powerful SANDEN aircond. Also learnt that BLM stands for Base Line Model, which means don't expect much from it. I was impressed with such BLM can deliver such high quality vehicle for our pupils. There are rooms for improvement, such as when I'm searching for an ash tray to store coins, but there isn't. In exchange is a paper tray underneath the steering column. Tried to put coins there, but it was noisy and rattling coins sound very obvious. I also missed my Wira 1.6XL's storage compartment behind handbrake lever. There is only a cup holder there, so I had to find after market storage box and drilled it in. Other than these minor things, I'm quite satisfied with such a nice/powerful/comfortable car for so little price I pay. Many more improvement/upgrades I did to the car later on, but am not cover under this session.

As I switch on Youtube, I search for Proton Savvy review from Top Gear, and this is what I got

Ewwww! My eyes!!!! It was hideous! Nasty! Fugly to be exact! I still hate it, but as I scan through among all the reasonable price with newer(less aged) vehicle, besides of SAGA LMST a Savvy is the only car that I can afford. I wore my sunglasses, browse through a few of my usual used car dealers and look for suggestion. Not surprisingly, all of them gave me a piece of advice, which is stay the f*** away from that vinka! As I search through few other Savvy owners, some of the crying out loud saying how good their car is, but willing to let go at ultra cheap price. The worst is, 1 of the seller offered me a ride, as we got out from Connaught hiway, it seems the AMT having a huge trouble. The car slowly rolled down to road side, I can hear the engine revving speed goes up, but the car aint movin at all. As the seller shouting wanted to call me back for 2nd test drive, I quickly ran through the busy traffic and vanished. Never wanna look back. Until 1 day I saw this ugly car going for RM8000. Out of curiosity, I phone the seller and arranged a meetup for test drive. As I seen the car, I ALMOST did not vomited. The hood is faded, the headlamps are fogged, side seal already deformed, bits and dents everywhere. An inch thick of dirt on the car(interior as well), without even had a piece of floor mat. According to seller, previous owner's kid spill milk everywhere, those mat were thrown away for good. I took out the pollen filter, it was totally blocked. I had to dust it before I pur it back, otherwise I'll have to breathe dirth in the car later. As I start the engine, it sounded like the age old yellow black diesel taxi.
I didn't bother much about it, since its only RM8000. The moment I declutched, miracle happened. God the clutch is very-very heavy. It feels like driving an MITS EVO all wheel drive. The moment I release it, the car start to move slowly creeping forward. As I slam on the pedal.... O M F G! There isn't any throttle lag at all(if you compare with a bloody Campro engine). Engine revving speed is smooth but not as powerful as Campro. As I smack the gear lever to 2nd gear, I flick the clutch pedal and full throttle. We made some smoke on the street and launched all the way from Gombak exited Duke hi-way. On 3rd I squeeze it up to 120kph, but the engine noise is very loud. You'll probably think you got stuck inside a race car or something. As I slow down to 60kps, getting out from Duke, the steering action is so nice compare to my BLM. Its slightly heavier, but the road feedback is exactly like no hydraulic assistance. Don't get me wrong, the steering is still very comfortable in terms of turning force, it just that its very easy to negotiate turn, every inch of the tire contacted road surface has the feeling on your palm. As I negotiating a left turn, the right wheel being pressed, whereas inner wheel being release tension are all channel to the back of my hand. I know exactly how it the car will move as you go. As we get into residential area, I ran through a speed bump. The car was jumped up at 40kmh. It wasn't as comfortable as my BLM, but understandable since this is a hatchback car. As I twist and turning the car in the residential area, the steering had feedback almost everything to me. When we reached a slightly opened road with no traffic, I rev up the car and attack the last corner at 80kmh. It was marvelous as bodyroll is much less compare to my BLM. I did a heel an toe, no shiftshock at all back to 1st gear stuck at 5krpm, I continue slam on the gas pedal and make a full right turn. The front tyres squeel and emitting white smoke. The whole car being drag into a donut spin as counter steered and pull hand brake, the car produced a counter clockwise half moon spin and parked at the middle of the carpark(slightly senget already blush.gif). It was damn beautiful! Negotiation went smooth, and successfully bring the price down to RM7000. I bought the car and I'm a happy camper now laugh.gif Basically this is the review of rides and handling of Savvy. Below are the comparison and differences between a BLM and a SAVVY:

1) Aircond duct are different designed
2) There's small vent above the aircond duct on SAGA were not in use, can store tweeter, but you can't do that in Savvy. Those are the vent for external air circulation.
3) Savvy has feet vent and windshield anti fog vent, SAGA doesn't.
4) Savvy got a huge ash tray under the CD player, SAGA doesn't
5) Savvy got a stylish hand brake lever, SAGA doesn't. A magician told me it was to prevent during emergency grab wrong thing, such as those who put cell phone/wallet there might have this kinda problem.
6) Manual shift stick on Savvy is engaged in an H gate. You'll feel like driving a Ferrari.
7) The rear window couldn't fully wind down was original designed of Savvy. The rear door is was designed to be higher than the front, due to the wheel arch taken up some space. Therefore, the window arm was only designed to retract until that level, couldn't go down further or it will punch through the door locks. It's not designed for child safety reason, its laziness of redesigning.
8) Generally, my opinion for handling of Savvy is atleast 2 folds better than a BLM. The suspension was tuned to not as hard as FLX(SE), but performance was not compromise.
9) Wheel well is shallow, it has a problem to accommodate 195/55R15 just like any other BLM/FL SAGA. FLX(SE) overcame this by having stiff springs.
10) D4F engine in Savvy was reversed positioned. Intake infront, exhaust at firewall, hense the bad sound insulation comment on Savvy is worst than SAGA. The actual fact is, they're the same. D4F engine situated extremely close to firewall compare to Campro engine. As a result, centre of gravity in Savvy is much greater than a Saga. Take a look at below:

Currently, I'm still very new to Savvy, and many things waiting for me to fix before I can further compare between the 2 cars. I'm no particular bias since I own them both. If you ask me going for a family dinner, which car I prefer? Definitely my BLM. Gosh, I love that car so much wub.gif On the other hand, if you ask me to be a bad ass... definitely my red devil, the devilish red Savvy I just bought.

On the side note, I just realized both of my Savvy rear absorber is leaking hydraulic fluid rclxub.gif But it performed so well during my test drive, I didn't even notice it shocking.gif Could have asked for another few hundred bucks discount if I notice this earlier shakehead.gif
davidke20
post Sep 15 2012, 07:14 PM

Wohoo!!! wub.gif I lub Sabby wub.gif

New steering cover from Tesco - RM4.90

Street racer wannabe - FREE from r3apers

New exhaust tip - FREE from Steven Sri Damansara exhaust guy

Polish my console with plastic wax bought from Tesco - RM17.90

Can anybody explain to me what these things for? blink.gif

Appreciate for feedbacks notworthy.gif
hypermount
post Sep 15 2012, 09:19 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Another car that has extractor near the firewall is Inspira, reverse postion? I think this this is better design, less bend at exhaust piping and less heat.
davidke20
post Sep 16 2012, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(hypermount @ Sep 15 2012, 09:19 PM)
Another car that has extractor near the firewall is Inspira, reverse postion? I think this this is better design, less bend at exhaust piping and less heat.
Uih.... dun be sensitib bro. I understand the feature and I'm not saying its not good. I'm actually telling GaGa citizens our Savvy designed is better because the center of gravity being distributed right as the engine was laid back to the firewall, majority of the weight being channel back to the cabin center. Which is also why the braking in Savvy feels nicer than GaGa laugh.gif Correct me if I'm wrong.
DaBestOne
post Sep 17 2012, 09:46 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Sep 15 2012, 10:52 AM)
Oh... so they NOT ONLY service Renault lar, mean they're still savvy in Savvy lar laugh.gif Dunno why I kinda have the kinda impression they only do the ignition coil and or anything related to the Renault engine/transmission blush.gif
Haha.. I'm also felt the same with u.. I tot it is related to the Renault engine.. rclxub.gif
hcgui
post Sep 19 2012, 09:24 AM

what i love about Savvy more than my Saga is the steering feedback and the driving position. they're just perfect!!

one thing not so good abt Savvy is it's a tyre eater. the 1st set of OEM Goodyear NCT5 lasted less than 25k km with my wife's driving! then i switch to Kumho Solus KH17 and 15k km later, they wear much better than the Goodyears. hehe.

This post has been edited by hcgui: Sep 19 2012, 09:25 AM
davidke20
post Sep 19 2012, 04:54 PM

Back from Renau Tech. The bill is, RM1020 cry.gif
SUSMatrix
post Sep 19 2012, 05:16 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Sep 19 2012, 04:54 PM)
Back from Renau Tech. The bill is, RM1020 cry.gif
Can tell me what you replaced? My Savvy now got eek eek sound when braking, could be brake pad or need disc trimming??
hmm.gif

Added on September 19, 2012, 5:22 pm
QUOTE(hypermount @ Sep 15 2012, 10:49 AM)
Don't go to RS Auto - bad service di - go to renautech instead.

There a cheap solution in savoc.net for the power steerting fluid solution,some how I haven't experience this problem yet lol
Both also sucks ler...because simply too many Savvies at these two places...wait like shit unless you go on weekdays...need to work...how to go on weekday....Better leave car there and leave...or therwise, wait like whole day...waste time only. But Renautech gave me some freebies discount after i complained wait too long...haha.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 19 2012, 05:22 PM
fixgd
post Sep 19 2012, 06:13 PM

3,880 posts

now my savvy started jerking back after 2 months. walauweh 50 for 2 months is quite expensive.
davidke20
post Sep 19 2012, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 19 2012, 05:16 PM)
Can tell me what you replaced? My Savvy now got eek eek sound when braking, could be brake pad or need disc trimming??
hmm.gif

Added on September 19, 2012, 5:22 pm
Both also sucks ler...because simply too many Savvies at these two places...wait like shit unless you go on weekdays...need to work...how to go on weekday....Better leave car there and leave...or therwise, wait like whole day...waste time only. But Renautech gave me some freebies discount after i complained wait too long...haha.
Engine mounting Plotong original full set
Crankshaft oil seal
Camshaft oil seal
Timing belt + tensioner + ac belt full set

Other pelik palak didn't count, consider FOC

Total: RM1020 cry.gif

Checked the powersteering, its worst than I imagine, it was the pump itself leaking. No more cash, ask them dont give a damn for the time being. Let it continue leak. Later only do.
SUSMatrix
post Sep 20 2012, 09:26 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Sep 19 2012, 09:10 PM)
Engine mounting Plotong original full set
Crankshaft oil seal
Camshaft oil seal
Timing belt + tensioner + ac belt full set

Other pelik palak didn't count, consider FOC

Total: RM1020 cry.gif

Checked the powersteering, its worst than I imagine, it was the pump itself leaking. No more cash, ask them dont give a damn for the time being. Let it continue leak. Later only do.
Wah lau...pump leaking....i suggest you keep a bottle of power steering fluid in the car and top up when it gets low....i did this while sourcing for that stupid expensive switch/nut.
NOX
post Sep 20 2012, 02:30 PM

278 posts

power steering fluid?

just use atf oil can already.. cost u rm18 per bottle of 1 liter..
davidke20
post Sep 20 2012, 04:22 PM

Wonder why Plotong put battery on engine mounting, already grow mushroom

New mounting

William ask: You come and see your mounting
Me: Where is the rubber?
William: errr....

William: Nah! This 1 got rubber

Power steering fluid pissing all over my undercarriage

Again, why put ECU there?!

Before

After

This post has been edited by davidke20: Sep 20 2012, 04:24 PM
cOMMANDER pRASNTH
post Sep 20 2012, 04:33 PM

Luxury & Lifestyle Enthusiast
308 posts

btw, anyone looking to buy a single-owner, fully serviced and good drivable Savvy AMT H-Line - please click on my signature.

NOX
post Sep 20 2012, 08:07 PM

278 posts

nice headlamp restoration? use what bro?

mine already dark yellow.. kinda thinking of buying new set of lamp.. cost rm460 for a pair..
davidke20
post Sep 20 2012, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(NOX @ Sep 20 2012, 08:07 PM)
nice headlamp restoration? use what bro?

mine already dark yellow.. kinda thinking of buying new set of lamp.. cost rm460 for a pair..
1) Colgate classic(white cloride, darlie classic also can) + old jeans polish
2) Turtle Wax + sponge polish
3) Dry clothe wipe away rubbing compound
4) Tadaa laugh.gif

<10 minutes work icon_idea.gif My paint ady died, I don't mind. If your paint still in tip top, you better use tape to seal off your hood, grill, fender and bumper before you start work. wink.gif
pakku_azrie
post Sep 22 2012, 02:57 PM

160 posts

hi there...would like to ask about my savvy..mine is manual version..i noticed that my gear knob kinda moves at all of the gear position....and one more...sometime when im using first gear to accelerate a "tak" sound came out of nowhere...can someone explain? is it because of d gear mounting

125 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:13 AM