12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V25.5, Noobs... go read page 1

TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 03:14 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Jan 29 2012, 06:09 PM)
Technical Question: Lightest 5-inch Frame/Bike

Guys anyone can share their 2 cents on this? No carbons please ...just good ol Alus...
Just wanna see which 5inch Travel Bike is the lightest

5 inch light bike will be giant trance, blur or yeti and Scott. Hehehee! Their diff only like 100-200gr

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 29 2012, 06:42 PM)
Intense Tracer 2!
i dunno la if its the lightest...but it's quite light...
trance super heavy la. And only u ride a trance

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 29 2012, 07:26 PM)
Wow! Very informative. Btw I'm still stuck with Yeti-SB66.. Can't resist the beauty although some peoples are complaining the durability of the eccentric pivot.
LoL! This week I go window shopping.  brows.gif
Don't wait. Better go buy since ur Scott still got value

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 29 2012, 07:53 PM)
once u see tracer 2....
SB66 is like ayam d!  whistling.gif
I prefer ayam than that trance

Major... Don't talk about weight. Just early morning before ride, go for a dump.
Heavier bike will give u better control. Climbing is depending on the geometry rather than the weight.
Of course, at the end, whether u carry 111kg or 115kg does make a slight diff. All u need is a bit of diet and a dump.

Light bikes on kiara trails not as fun as heavier bikes in kiara.
This is true story.

I'd go for 5 incher not because of weight but geometry.
U can ask reza too. We both were on trance 5 incher. Both r on am/enduro bike now.
So... Dig deep and know what u want.

TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 04:09 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 30 2012, 03:56 PM)
Well said. Expert is always Sifu  whistling.gif

Got 1 noob question here  sweat.gif : That is a lots of AM bike in the market.. For instance,
1) Yeti 575, AS-R, SB66
2) Giant Trance
3) Intense Tracer-2
4) Spec Enduro
5) SC Blur LT
6) Ibis Mojo
7) Trek Fuel EX, Trek Scratch
8) Commencal Meta AM
9) Others.... You name it....

I know that brand and setting are solely depends on personal preferences.
But is anyone here mind to comment on the bikes I listed above?
I just wants to know more on the personal review, experiences, price worthiness???
(Hopes to hear Tim, Xandman or Reza's comment)  brows.gif
If we know or experienced all... There r few things about us.

Either we r a bike reviewer or we have nothing else better to do.

All brands have their own pros and cons. No brand dares to say their bike is the best as at the end, it is always falls back to the rider.

As mentioned... Design, look and color always play the biggest criteria to me.

Keep in mind, some makers make sole purpose bike and some try to make multi purpose bike.
At the end, u gain some, u lose some.

TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 04:53 PM

4,504 posts

Oh... And I forgot...
The best is get a bike others can't get.
Hehehehehe!
TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 06:13 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 30 2012, 05:27 PM)
i just buy what looks good!
rclxms.gif

among all my bike...all look good except one...the banned shit!

so from this list...just get what looks the best to u!
performance wise all is almost at par...albeit some pros and cons of coz!

better still...
since u have UNLIMITED budget...
get something u dun see ppl riding or less ppl riding... brows.gif
Eh? How come I feel like I read this somewhere...
rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Jan 30 2012, 05:32 PM)
Just make sure you get a bike which is future proof. Like get one with 142 rear thru axle. Don't go with models which use too much propriety stuffs. Will make you cry when you need to change that one propriety thing. For example, Giant Over Drive 2. And for the rear suspension, make sure Fox or RockShox has the length (eye-to-eye * stroke length) of that shock just in case you want to change or replace it later.
142mm treaxle is future proof? I thought that is proprietary thingy?
Thing like 30mm seatpost... ? unsure.gif
TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 09:41 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(mabaw @ Jan 30 2012, 09:10 PM)
any body got experienced with specialized pitch pro? my LBS asking 5k for 2010 model.worth it?
If previously this bike is rm10k, now 5k then worth lo
TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 10:45 PM

4,504 posts

Go do some read up on bikes like scratch air, spec enduro... And know what they say about climbing and downhilling.
Regardless, with 150mm, ur bike will do better but if your current RS already able to change to 160, having a fox talas will not show any major diff.

I'd say... Check the geometry. And color... whistling.gif

Added on January 30, 2012, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(Calvin789 @ Jan 30 2012, 10:36 PM)
hi..  noob here... wanna ask.. getting a mountain bike or a cross country bike is better for me ?? i ride inside hutan paya wan.. alot of mud etc
Get a road bike better

This post has been edited by timothyy: Jan 30 2012, 10:46 PM
TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 11:43 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(maxguy @ Jan 30 2012, 10:50 PM)
get this sure gaya! trek slash 9

Added on January 30, 2012, 10:53 pmthis is look cool too!

Carbine looks good.

Anthony... Those 3 bikes listed... Rm20k if u get the top one. If not, rm10-12k to get it moving
TStimothyy
post Jan 31 2012, 01:20 AM

4,504 posts

Got question? Read this long term ride review...
Olin chao funn
TStimothyy
post Jan 31 2012, 09:09 AM

4,504 posts

Which bike review that even chain stay broke they still say good one?
TStimothyy
post Jan 31 2012, 10:12 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(joncy @ Jan 31 2012, 09:29 AM)
Ohhhhhhhhhhhh! Issit? Wow...
TStimothyy
post Feb 1 2012, 12:37 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 31 2012, 06:30 PM)

Unker. just wondering la.
why would u want a FR bike?

hmm.gif
Wow... u actually really belip this....
notworthy.gif

QUOTE(kengkhim @ Feb 1 2012, 12:19 AM)
Rock Machine 2011 xc performance el nino 90
Frame Performance Custom Alu 6061
Sizes 16.5", 18", 19.5", 21"
Speed 30
Fork SR Suntour Epicon RLD, 100 mm
Rear shock -
Crankset Shimano FC-M552 224
Rear Derailleur Shimano XT RD-M773 SGS
Front Deraileur Shimano SLX FD-M661 10
Shifters Shimano SLX SL-M660 10
Brakes Hayes Stroker Ryde, 160mm hydraulic disc brake
Freewheel Shimano HG81-10 11-34T
Chain Shimano HG74
B.B. set Shimano SM-BB51
Head set Ritchey Logic Zero OE Intgr.
Pedals Feiming FP-971 Alloy
Hubs Quando Parallax / RM
Rims Rigida Taurus 2000 Disc double wall
Tires/Tubes Schwalbe Smart Sam Performance 26x2.10
Spokes Sapim stainless
Grips Ritchey PRO TG6
Saddle WTB Silverado PRO
H/Bar Rock Machine Alloy
Stem Ritchey OE

RM2.8k is it worth it?
Go V25, see which bike brand we put....
Any other brand that u never heard before... throw it in rubbish bin.
TStimothyy
post Feb 1 2012, 12:05 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Feb 1 2012, 10:24 AM)
Hellooooo people in Selangor ...heheheh
U donno us la...
First day of work = for show only.
We are not supposed to work hard because it will signify what going to happen for the rest of the year.

QUOTE(kengkhim @ Feb 1 2012, 10:38 AM)
oh, ok thank you. I thought branding wise is not important, but parts is more important?
Branding is not important if u are buying the few common brands. Not a brand that u never heard of.
e.g. Cherry car from China.
Yeah... it still run and cheap but you just don't want to be the first on the road to test it out how good or bad it is....

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Feb 1 2012, 11:34 AM)
Any bike is in my list. But subject to further review and study. Now I found that Downhill/Freeride bike have no resale value, though.

Second. I want to hear the comment from Expert. (our Mr.Xand)  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  hehehehe~
Slash 9 la.
Then, u will the first one. Can climb, can downhill, kak Shima all the way.... And u no need upgrade since already SRAM X0... He! He! He!
One time pain, whole year enjoy... worth the go...
TStimothyy
post Feb 1 2012, 09:27 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Feb 1 2012, 02:24 PM)
Haha! Golden words from Sifu. Thx.. Let's see how much do my piggy bank got...  thumbup.gif
Words from the seniors are always worthier. I don't have much exposure and experience.

LoL! You really HATE Banshee..  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
LoL! If kena the 'Change Bike Virus".. The Bike gotta be sale off.. So.. I must get ready..  doh.gif
Not golden, nor sifu.
Doesn't matter whether it is piggy bank or not...
Poor man pays twice... so, one time pain better than 2 times and more pain to come...
Get it and forget about upgrading.
Ever heard snapshot upgrading his X0? Ever heard I upgrade my bike?
Heck...

QUOTE(xandman @ Feb 1 2012, 07:29 PM)
After having almost all kinds of bikes....
given the chance...
i'll get a Tracer once again...and fit it with Talas 160...
so there u go...my advice... rclxms.gif

Reason being...
Tracer is light...very agile... adjustable rear travel...VPP2...Plush...can go up...can go down...
It's an awesome allrounder...!
Given the chance for Trace 2... u will still stick with ur Scratch...
This is true story.

QUOTE(vince316 @ Feb 1 2012, 09:05 PM)
Hi all,

Just got a used MTB from relative.
Wandering how much is it to get the chain and the tubes in the tires replaced.
Just need basic ones.

Aiyo. Go shop ask la. U think we ur kadam meh?
TStimothyy
post Feb 1 2012, 10:26 PM

4,504 posts

http://video.mpora.com/watch/SzOEjCJiT/hd/

Added on February 1, 2012, 11:21 pmI got one question.

Why downhillers like to wear pajamas

Why XC bikers wanna wear pants that make their manhood disappear?

This post has been edited by timothyy: Feb 1 2012, 11:21 PM
TStimothyy
post Feb 2 2012, 10:07 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(tareh @ Feb 2 2012, 09:04 AM)
1. gaya
2. if you're slow kana look good while goin slow
3. if jatuh koyak habis bro, i got koyak nipple as proof
4. gaya
5. refer to number 1
Why u refer pajamas as gaya?

TStimothyy
post Feb 2 2012, 11:31 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Feb 2 2012, 10:36 AM)
This is pajamas?

Yes.... correct!

QUOTE(tareh @ Feb 2 2012, 10:37 AM)
because pajamas can be gaya without jatuh koyak kulit peha. if end of ride, got mud on pants ppl will say "waah so fast today eh" then you will say "ohh its nothing" cool2.gif
I know about the material. I also have a belang belang zebra DH pants.
What I am trying to say is... why the bright color pants with lotsa pattern and such.

You don't see in other sports.
Only Motocross and DHer.

TStimothyy
post Feb 2 2012, 05:15 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(kaizer @ Feb 2 2012, 04:14 PM)
Wondering if anybody bought a frame from online and get it shipped in before? Any issue faced?

Thanks in advance!
Ask Garyfatty.
He super happy right now as he has just completed his lecture with the custom dept.
TStimothyy
post Feb 3 2012, 08:05 AM

4,504 posts

Giant
TStimothyy
post Feb 3 2012, 05:36 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(ahchat @ Feb 3 2012, 04:53 PM)
hello, r these dis frames ok??
xds 3.30
xds six six zero
hmm.gif
Don't waste your time.

If wan do the sport... spend ur money.
Especially for full suspension bike.
Hardtail can go for cheapo ones as long as can stop the bike.

Full sus, it will be just frustration one after another.
TStimothyy
post Feb 3 2012, 07:09 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Feb 3 2012, 05:39 PM)
Ok Trivia who knows ...what does the brand RMB stands for??

Siapa dapat I belanja sky juice hehehe..ok la ok la...Auntie Jenny's Soyabeans  drool.gif
RMB = Firdaus Zulkifli

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0501sec    0.50    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:04 PM