100 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V14, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

rattan
post Feb 17 2012, 02:24 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Guys anyone tried a load balancer on 2 unifi connections? What was the outcome? Assuming I have 2x 20mbps connection... with a load balancer can the both connection combine and give me 40mbps during peak ie. torrenting/streaming?
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 02:37 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 17 2012, 01:46 AM)
47ronin's requirements are simply and that he wants to run wireless n and b/g together and without any speed problems. So you're saying the 1043ND is able to run 2.4GHz and 5GHz dual band?  wink.gif  The 1043ND would not solve his problem.
No, I'm not saying that.

But the 1043ND will solve his prob. Btw that's not the solution I offered. My solution to him doesn't require a 1043ND nor a new router.

Go read 47ronin's ori question. (the one with the nice diagram)

You can wink.gif again after you get your facts right.
jchue73
post Feb 17 2012, 03:05 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 17 2012, 02:37 AM)
No, I'm not saying that.

But the 1043ND will solve his prob. Btw that's not the solution I offered. My solution to him doesn't require a 1043ND nor a new router.

Go read 47ronin's ori question. (the one with the nice diagram)

You can wink.gif again after you get your facts right.
Let me get this...

You offered a solution to use RT-N16 and run G off it to simplify the connections. That means 1 less equipment (WRT54G) from 47ronin's original proposed.

I replied with an alternative solution to just get the RT-N56U that will replace the RT-N16, 8 port Gigabit switch, WRT54G (for wifi G) and WR841ND (for wifi N). That's replacing 4 equipments with 1 equipment. Don't you think the RT-N56U is worth RM 450 in this case?

I think it is you that requires better reading...
tech3910
post Feb 17 2012, 03:39 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

i dunno TM trolling or what....
i made my bill payment like a week ago, then now, 3.30 in the morning, send sms to me saying "thank u".

izzat80
post Feb 17 2012, 03:49 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 17 2012, 03:05 AM)
Let me get this...

You offered a solution to use RT-N16 and run G off it to simplify the connections. That means 1 less equipment (WRT54G) from 47ronin's original proposed.

I replied with an alternative solution to just get the RT-N56U that will replace the RT-N16, 8 port Gigabit switch, WRT54G (for wifi G) and WR841ND (for wifi N). That's replacing 4 equipments with 1 equipment. Don't you think the RT-N56U is worth RM 450 in this case?

what about my soluton? ur solution nice but need to buy new hardwares... and is not cheap
if @47ronin want solution and no spending money then my solution... he already got the wrt54g and others.. (except giga switc i think... which i already suggest him no need buy) rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by izzat80: Feb 17 2012, 03:51 AM
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 04:00 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 17 2012, 03:05 AM)
Let me get this...

The answer is no, the n56u is not worth RM450 in any case.

But I surrender, OK, you win. I offered a solution and you did too. It seems that your solution is better.

Sorry, 47ronin, looks like you will have to spend the money for the Asus RT-n56u and entirely redo your diagram. Hope you have enough ports to plug things in and no plans for using VPN in the near future.

I'm gonna go read a better book.

ps: jchue, you should really really go read the thread again. I wasn't stepping on you because your solution was not as good as the others.

Added on February 17, 2012, 4:11 am
QUOTE(izzat80 @ Feb 17 2012, 03:49 AM)
what about my soluton? ur solution nice but need to buy new hardwares... and is not cheap
if @47ronin want solution and no spending money then my solution... he already got the wrt54g and others.. (except giga switc i think... which i already suggest him no need buy)  rclxms.gif
Hey bro, mine also no need spend money what? Surely mine is better. :-) I also forgot what your solution was already. I think 47ronin got fed up and went home. He needs to let us know why he needs a switch. Maybe he wants to locate the switch somewhere else. And why 8-port, maybe he got more things to plug into it.

47ronin, when you wake up, please reply. As you can see from the timestamps, we all cannot sleep because of you. If you're a girl, you probably be feeling real good with all this attention. :-)

Added on February 17, 2012, 4:42 am
QUOTE(rattan @ Feb 17 2012, 02:24 AM)
Guys anyone tried a load balancer on 2 unifi connections? What was the outcome? Assuming I have 2x 20mbps connection... with a load balancer can the both connection combine and give me 40mbps during peak ie. torrenting/streaming?
Yeah, that will work. But you have to set your load balancer policy so that it spreads your outgoing BT requests evenly over the 2 WANs. The incoming data will then come back over the same WANs. To the other side, it just looks like 2 separate BT clients from 2 different IPs. Some people load balance based on IPs, so one PC goes WAN1, next one go WAN2, then back to WAN1, etc. If like that, then no speed increase for a single PC.

For streaming, let's say youtube, it's only one connection so it'll only go out and come back in using 1 WAN port. Unless you do aggregation which is beyond the scope of this discussion and my brain.

Disclaimer: I could be totally wrong on this though. :-)

Anyway my company used to have 3 x TPLink RT480+, cheapo dual wan load balancers, to 4 x 1mbps Streamyx but I've never tried BT on it before. Now we're just using one BIZ20.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 17 2012, 04:46 AM
aspire2oo6
post Feb 17 2012, 07:12 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 17 2012, 12:32 AM)
I agree with 47ronin. n56u is overpriced for its feature set. Draytek even worse, 700+ is it? Maybe it's gone down. TP-Link 1043ND is a good economical choice.

You parents must be rich for you to whistle at RM450. That's how much my auntie makes in 2 weeks cleaning houses for people. Some people are lucky.

Added on February 17, 2012, 12:34 am
Did you have to change both settings or just one of them to get it working? Just for my future reference.

Added on February 17, 2012, 12:36 am
No, probs, if you got a spare PC, you can download and install RouterOS on it and try it out in demo mode.
i have used both RT56U and 1043ND not everyone rely on their parents.

i tell you for those keep saying rt56u overprice try to use it at least once then say it. The range of the wifi coverage is awesome and even at low signal the signal is strong unlike 1043ND when low signal line become unstable. The wifi i tested can cover until the opposite site of the road without issue. The place i put the router asus rt56u it handle hell alot of concurrent connnections at least 50 wifi computer connected for network printing, internet browsing and network transfer its so stable no crashes and lost connection. Doesnt mean it doesnt meet your feature means its overpriced its only overpriced if you do not know how to utlize it cheers

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Feb 17 2012, 07:13 AM
darude87
post Feb 17 2012, 09:21 AM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

hi guys, wanna confirm a few things before i upgrade to unfi
currently i'm using WRT54G running dd-wrt(i need the port 1-4 speed control from it)

i believe i'm able to reuse this router rite? if i were to reuse this,i need to follow the custom router guide from the unifi athena guide?
DrBlueBox
post Feb 17 2012, 09:36 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Feb 17 2012, 03:39 AM)
i dunno TM trolling or what....
i made my bill payment like a week ago, then now, 3.30 in the morning, send sms to me saying "thank u".

I paid them 20 days ago and I just got the SMS this morning
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 09:37 AM

11,458 posts

Any UniFi users here using VPN? My friend is looking for a router with good performance for the office for UniFi BIZ20 that works with VPN passthrough. A bonus would be a built-in VPN server. Doesn't have to have WiFi. Must be cheap so looking for home routers. Say budget at RM500.

He has an Asus n56u but VPN from him to his supplier's VPN server doesn't work with this router. The DIR-615 supplied by TM actually is OK but it's hanging or slowing down too often (due to bittorrent :-)

In the future, he may need incoming VPN but prefer not to have a separate box so a built-in VPN server would be a bonus. Only 2 or 3 person needs to use at any one time.

So far on the list: Vigor 2130 $460 and RB750GL $250. Any other recommendations?

He's gonna give me the n56u if I can get something working for him.
47ronin
post Feb 17 2012, 11:08 AM

365 posts

@jchue73, soonwai, izzat80

Thank you guys for the feebacks.
I learn a lot from your valuable output.

I'm highly sorry if I offended any1 of you.

@jchue73 ---
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lanwan/rout.../76-total-simul
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...router-reviewed

RTN56U is indeed a great router with all-in-1 solution.
However, for my need, to spend an extra 450 & to let the existing equipments (WR841ND, WRT54G) laying around for me is not cost effective for the capex.

In term of opex, electrical consumption for single equipment is lower than multiple equipment. Hence further analysis need to be done on total electrical consumption per annum.

If [RTN56U all-in-1 solution + average electrical consumption] <
[(RTN16U + WR841ND + WRT54G + switch) + average electrical consumption],

RTN56U is definitely the choice.

@soonwai ---
N16 only,belum beli lagi bro.same answer as above.

@izzat80 ---
I'm going to use whatever I have rite now.

WR841ND (N only)
!
!
WRT54G (G only)
!
!
TV/BDP

kimyee73
post Feb 17 2012, 11:45 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(faezfahmi618 @ Feb 16 2012, 10:32 PM)
stimix router?
im using Zyxel P-600 series
unifi router = DIR-615
Is this Zyxel given by TM? You'll need to return this ADSL router when you terminate Streamyx within contract period.
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 12:26 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Feb 17 2012, 11:45 AM)
Is this Zyxel given by TM? You'll need to return this ADSL router when you terminate Streamyx within contract period.
Oh ya, very important to return otherwise they keep your account active. Then few months later kena big bill. I read about case like this here or another forum.
IwanAGP
post Feb 17 2012, 12:27 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 17 2012, 07:12 AM)
i have used both RT56U and 1043ND  not everyone rely on their parents.

i tell you for those keep saying rt56u overprice try to use it at least once then say it. The range of the wifi coverage is awesome and even at low signal the signal is strong unlike 1043ND when low signal line become unstable. The wifi i tested can cover until the opposite site of the road without issue. The place i put the router asus rt56u it handle hell alot of concurrent connnections at least 50 wifi computer connected for network printing, internet browsing and network transfer its so stable no crashes and lost connection. Doesnt mean it doesnt meet your feature means its overpriced its only overpriced if you do not know how to utlize it cheers
blush.gif You use your RT56U in a big office huh?? 50++ wifi clients blink.gif

Come down to the chipset. It's weird... why all the routers, they chipset they use macam all almost the same. CPU speed also almost the same. Difference normally in RAM and ROM. But two routers with same chipset can perform very very very very differently. Like DIR615 and RT12U(if i din remember wrongly).
soonwai
post Feb 17 2012, 12:33 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(47ronin @ Feb 17 2012, 11:08 AM)
@jchue73, soonwai, izzat80

Thank you guys for the feebacks.
I learn a lot from your valuable output.

I'm highly sorry if I offended any1 of you.
No worries and why in the world would you need to apologize for asking a valid question.

May I ask why you planned to have a 8 port switch?

and what software you used to draw your diagram in your ori post?
MX510
post Feb 17 2012, 12:59 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Biz50 RM 899 :-)
aspire2oo6
post Feb 17 2012, 01:20 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Feb 17 2012, 12:27 PM)
blush.gif You use your RT56U in a big office huh?? 50++ wifi clients  blink.gif

Come down to the chipset. It's weird... why all the routers, they chipset they use macam all almost the same. CPU speed also almost the same. Difference normally in RAM and ROM. But two routers with same chipset can perform very very very very differently. Like DIR615 and RT12U(if i din remember wrongly).
Average desktop is about 20 computers haven't include phones each person average 2 phones connected to wifi x 20 = about 40 connections Some client bring notebook. Running unifi biz 20mand connected to a switch including 5 network printers

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Feb 17 2012, 01:23 PM
IwanAGP
post Feb 17 2012, 01:23 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 17 2012, 01:20 PM)
Average desktop is about 20 computers haven't include phones each person average  2 phones connected to wifi x 20 = about 40 connections Some client bring notebook. Running unifi biz 20.
laugh.gif You use in office. Rm450 small money la. Not pay by you pun. By company mah. laugh.gif Not bad huh... 56U. But I don't need that insane device wink.gif RM79 841ND enough. thumbup.gif

Edit: RM79 841ND also better than rubbish D-Link DIR615 given tongue.gif

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Feb 17 2012, 01:23 PM
MX510
post Feb 17 2012, 01:23 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 17 2012, 01:20 PM)
Average desktop is about 20 computers haven't include phones each person average  2 phones connected to wifi x 20 = about 40 connections Some client bring notebook. Running unifi biz 20.

RTN-56U have 128 RAM capable for 300k sessions :-)

40 to 100 users not an issue
aspire2oo6
post Feb 17 2012, 01:25 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 17 2012, 01:23 PM)
RTN-56U have 128 RAM capable for 300k sessions :-)

40 to 100 users not an issue
I change from linksys wrt54g keep crashing and lose connection.

100 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:03 AM