Renovation for my little humble home

TSPrometric
post Jan 12 2012, 11:43 AM, updated 14y ago

434 posts

Hey guys / girls,

Im about to get the keys to my first newly own home soon. So happy !

I have already assign one of my friend as the interior designer.

I have set a budget for the renovation for my home. Question here is that

im aware certain items i could get cheaper outside if i buy myself (for exp: electrical appliances, furnitures etc).

So is it actually better for me to buy those item myself or should i just let my ID do all the works ?

If i were to buy it myself, othet thn i need to let my ID know the dimension of furniture etc what other

stuff do i need to take note ?

So sorry for my noobie question, this is my first time doing this.. hope you guys can help share some exp with me.

Thank you !
xixiliaycp
post Jan 12 2012, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(Prometric @ Jan 12 2012, 12:43 PM)
Hey guys / girls,

Im about to get the keys to my first newly own home soon. So happy !

I have already assign one of my friend as the interior designer.

I have set a budget for the renovation for my home. Question here is that

im aware certain items i could get cheaper outside if i buy myself (for exp: electrical appliances, furnitures etc).

So is it actually better for me to buy those item myself or should i just let my ID do all the works ?

If i were to buy it myself, othet thn i need to let my ID know the dimension of furniture etc what other

stuff do i need to take note ?

So sorry for my noobie question, this is my first time doing this.. hope you guys can help share some exp with me.

Thank you !
well...since the ID is your friend, y dont u ask ur fren to shop around with you...example lighting....to match with your wall.....and your sofa maybe.....and if you do the wallpaper...maybe u still need ur fren idea on what type of lighting u need to enhance the wallpaper or certain area..... later when u buy already it dun match ur sofa / cushion......so effect not nice....

kitchen cabinet & stuff ....when u buy ur washing machine, oven, u have to know the correct dimension to fit in the cabinet that your ID have design....still u need her to advise you on the size of oven u may buy / may not buy.... later cannot fit in...

anyway, this is just my opinion... good luck in your house renovation then

This post has been edited by xixiliaycp: Jan 12 2012, 11:54 AM
minzy
post Jan 12 2012, 02:56 PM

49 posts

Hi, I got my curtains, blinds, wallpaper and vinyl flooring done by a company that is quite reasonable. They help you to match everything to your furniture and choice too. If I'm not mistaken, they do renovations and kitchen too. PM me if you would like the contact details.....
@Adele
post Jan 12 2012, 03:25 PM

1,042 posts

Survey urself outside price so u roughly know what is the market price. Then work closely with ur friend on the buying of stuff
Kelvin5717
post Jan 12 2012, 05:36 PM

742 posts

ID can buy furniture cheaper kah ? how is that be ? do they only limited to the shop where is having mutual agreement with their company ?

hmm.gif My friend ID also, as i know he can buy some electrical appliance for discount price at the shop their company working with and also paint.. not sure bout furniture.. curious please share more..
TSPrometric
post Jan 12 2012, 10:33 PM

434 posts

Yeah i already told her to shop around with me. The reasons for this is actually i knew alot of people.

For exp, i know friends who owns a furniture shop, selling tvs, selling kitchen cabinets and etc.

Most of them could give me a really good price compare to outside.

Getting really excited for this !!
phoenix69
post Jan 12 2012, 10:37 PM

1,836 posts

You already got ID and you already know shop bosses as friend.
Furthermore already plan ID to shop around with you.
Looks like you already got the answer. thumbup.gif

Whatever budget you set aside, there wil always, alllllwwwwaaayyysss be something you overlooked, so be prepared to get your budget tanked. doh.gif

But, its Fun !! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Jan 12 2012, 10:38 PM
nick210214
post Jan 13 2012, 08:13 AM

53 posts

A good knowledgeable ID would advise your on all steps leading to the completion stage whilst informing you of the best suggested places to purchase everything single thing.

ID and other designers are sometimes given discounts as incentives to bring in potential clients. You may refer that discount as commission to the ID OR just plain further discount which will benefit the client if the ID is kind-hearted and fancies you.
TSPrometric
post Jan 13 2012, 09:56 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 12 2012, 10:37 PM)
You already got ID and you already know shop bosses as friend.
Furthermore already plan ID to shop around with you.
Looks like you already got the answer.  thumbup.gif

Whatever budget you set aside, there wil always, alllllwwwwaaayyysss be something you overlooked, so be prepared to get your budget tanked.  doh.gif

But, its Fun !!  rclxm9.gif
Yeah that's what my ID told me too. She says better to save aside another 10k+ for the budget set. laugh.gif
@Adele
post Jan 13 2012, 11:00 AM

1,042 posts

And tiring too! biggrin.gif
tiensong
post Jan 13 2012, 11:04 AM

2,237 posts

looking forward to your house renovation sharing...
stevie8
post Jan 13 2012, 03:45 PM

1,365 posts

Haiya just get your id to do most of the things. it is only fair to have your id earn some for the service rendered, runing here and there spending time and energy cracking the head for you and hope you like it. nothing is free even a phone call for quotation. Just make sure id is making commission and not markup the price more than market price.

0.0179sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:55 PM