Sony Ericsson Xperia™ Pro and Neo Official Thread, :)

cyanboy
post Feb 22 2012, 04:24 AM

257 posts

Heys...
Was considering Ray or Pro... And came to this thread... Finished this thread, will be running through Ray later...

But just now I checked SE web saying the features or pro includes 3D sweep panaroma also... Which is not mentioned in the flyer...

Anyone can confirm about 3D Sweep panaroma on Pro?

And is 1Ghz Processor ok? Placing Galaxy W at around same price for 1.4Ghz... Some salesmen claimed the difference in 0.4Ghz is much noticable...

He also claimed SE to be quite hang in their OS, but in this thread only happens on isolated cases... So should be okay...

Looking forward on pro... Like it on first look on brochure...
cyanboy
post Feb 22 2012, 09:41 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Snoe II @ Feb 22 2012, 05:54 AM)
yup .
se pro got 3d sweep pnaroma .
1Ghz is still ok 4 me .
my pro run smoothly n just sometme it quite laggy..
but I bet u know SE like 2 focus on the softwre rther than hrdwre .

if u 1 a fster processor u should buy arc s ...
or myb wait 4 xperia s.
When is it laggy? Half way fruit ninja lag ah?
If it's seldom then ok...

If got 3D sweep panorama then it's great! But compass it's a no for Pro but yes for Ray right? Any applications that uses compass?

Since Digi and U mobile 3G can go up to 14.4Mbps... Pro 3G speed is rated at 7.2Mbps... Is surfing speed okay? .

And I think pro more to business style, quite ngam for my studies...

Does pro has ICS update confirmed?

Arc S has great processor and HSDPA speed, but the price a bit high side for me... And retailer say the price cannot go down any lower...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Feb 22 2012, 10:06 AM
cyanboy
post Feb 23 2012, 01:09 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Feb 22 2012, 12:18 PM)
i dont game so i cant comment on the fruit ninja...no lagging for me,but it does take a jolt to start an app but after that everything is fine

compass?!u aint going jungle tracking or anything rite?anyway i did download a compass app to test and it worked

no idea about that...but speaking from a strictly technical point of view,even streamyx 1mbps we can only harness like 10% of the power.....so all those 7.2mbps or 14.4mbps is more than enuf for surfing purpose

yes ics is confirmed

Okay... Hope that it's sufficient then...
QUOTE(puterabemi @ Feb 22 2012, 07:14 PM)
im using go launcher ex. yup, abit slow than original sony ui, but i prefer go launcher ex because of the customization. im not really into rooting yet, so changing the launcher and theme is as far as i can go for customization.
i know im a bit late, but can i still comment? hehe.
imho,
when choosing qwerty phone, it's all about self preference. which one do you prefer? because hater will always hate. if you love android and qwerty phone, SEX pro is the best  thumbup.gif *to me and many SEX pro user here*
i got friends who keep on criticizing my phone. but the more they criticize my phone, the more i love my phone.
my 1st qwerty phone was nokia e75. even that, many of my friend criticize the phone because the phone have keypad, and qwerty keyboard. people said it's redundant to have both keypad and qwerty keyboard. but to me, it's flexibility to have both.

back to SEX pro, which aspect do you look for when choosing qwerty phone?
1. do you like side sliding keyboard? or u prefer BB like qwerty keyboard?
to me, BB qwerty keyboard is cramped.
2. do you need physical qwerty keyboard, or just onscreen keyboard?
if you feel onscreen keyboard is too cramped, you can try using in landscape mode. but to me, even in landscape mode, i prefer physical qwerty keyboard. it's not of size, it's about precision and speed.
3. do you prefer precision and speed, hate typo so much?
i hate typo. some onscreen keyboard is very good, i've try swiftkey, swype and touchpal keyboard. some are very good in predicting word and can remember your typing habits (try swiftkey), but nothing beat physical keyboard for precision and speed.
people sometimes use the corner of their thumb to type, but i hate it. i prefer to use the base of thumb rather than corner of thumb to type. more comfortable. have you try typing using base of thumb on onscreen keyboard? if you do, u'll know how imprecise it can be, which lead to MANY typos.
4. availability and added feature
the most important factor that i choose SEX pro is availability. there are actually many qwerty android phone (http://www.androidauthority.com/the-best-qwerty-android-phones-in-2011-compared-10391/), but only several are sold in malaysia. we have here in malaysia, SEX mini pro, motorola droid 2 global and several others, which is quiet limited choice we have here. to me SEX mini pro is outdated, and motorola droid 2 is overprice. SEX pro suit me more.

but overall, i LOVE  notworthy.gif  my SEX pro. the keyboard never fail me.
ask all SEX pro user here, they all love their phone!  notworthy.gif
Good points on QWERTY layout!
cyanboy
post Feb 24 2012, 01:01 AM

257 posts

Hey... Just wanted to check out before I make my mind...
Does pro fits into pockets well?
Because if I somemore getting the protector will be thicker leh...

Now in crossroads between pro and ray... Both are very attractive...

EDIT: Is silver colour back cover fingerprint-less design? If yes I might opt for that one... Prefering red but black QWERTY keyboard light is more stunning...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Feb 24 2012, 09:20 AM
cyanboy
post Feb 25 2012, 11:49 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(puterabemi @ Feb 24 2012, 09:51 AM)
the phone fits my pocket well. i even go jogging with my phone (i put my phone in the pocket)
mind you that ALL qwerty phone are bulky, including xperia pro. but i think xperia pro is slim enough. but if you compare with non-qwerty phone, of course xperia pro is bulky.

pro vs ray? depend on your preferences.
do you need physical qwerty keyboard or you will just fine with onscreen keyboard?
do you mind if you have to keep your phone in landscape mode to use the keyboard or you prefer to use phone in potrait mode in most of the time?
if you doesn't need physical qwerty, go for ray. slimmer, lighter n abit cheaper. have you consider galaxy w? 1.4ghz, 4gb internal memory, native 3g videocall, similar price but 5mp camera and no ics update.

p/s: hehe, to sony fanboy, please dont bash me for recommend samsung here.  icon_rolleyes.gif
bootloader is for rooting and flashing purpose. rooting is getting admin access to your phone. it mean you can install custom rom, overclock, underclock and uninstall unnecessary apps (especially bloatware). flashing is rom level. if you want to reset you rom, or install new rom, flashing is the tool.
that the idea. mr google can answer you more. hehe.

siuyi and victorkeong are sifus in rooting here.  notworthy.gif
Lol. I had went straight for pro. Got it like in the morning yesterday.
Personally I prefer pro over Samsung due to the irristsistable exmor r camera function and the design and colour. I'm on red.

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Feb 24 2012, 09:59 AM)
size ngam ngam. silver and red less fingerprint. why bother ray when u got NEO? between NEO n PRO is just the difference of the qwerty and as well NEO only got AP set.
jeopardize baru is the sifu. sweat.gif
I prefer pro for keyboard. For RM60 can get a keyboard, hdmi somemore liveview, so ended with pro for worthiness.

[ I was in dilemma like you butah ended up with red cause black is just too mainstream.
cyanboy
post Feb 25 2012, 01:04 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(proff89 @ Feb 25 2012, 12:55 PM)
hahaha it's okay. I have no heart feeling bro, I'm open minded punya orang. But if they come out with Blue color, I'll definitely choose that one over red.
Like arc midnight blue?
Ray gold/silver is also attractive...

I wonder why dun they have white... Looks clean at keyboard...
cyanboy
post Feb 26 2012, 11:56 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Feb 26 2012, 03:15 PM)
anything cost rm9?? biggrin.gif
phone strap etc ><

Added on February 26, 2012, 3:16 pm

qwertz shocking.gif
wow
u must be a pro in typing now hahaa

Added on February 26, 2012, 3:18 pm

buying phones, xkan they jz let u see the box
sure they will open up show u this n that XD
ori SE phones got Thorus sticker
the silver2 shiny one, and a promo sticker saying inside it got hdmi + car adapter thingy
AP dont have tongue.gif
You sure got Thorus sticker behind on all se pro? Mine is red but no sticker behind. Silver one has it, not sure with black though. Bought it from se authorized reseller. Box accessory like charger got thorus sticker. Got warranty card also.
Anyone with red can check the presence of thorus sticker on the back?

Now I using leather casing, made the phone super thick like cake and difficult to type with the qwerty keyboard. Lol.
cyanboy
post Feb 27 2012, 02:33 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Feb 27 2012, 12:09 AM)
all got lar..even the charger socket, usb, sd card also got.
QUOTE(proff89 @ Feb 27 2012, 12:30 AM)
Those pictures already enough for you to make decisions?  rclxms.gif
Mine got.
My charger:

I dun have "thorus" sticker (Sticker 1) on my handset...
SE sticker (Sticker 2) is on my memory card and battery...

Here's my accessories "sticker"

But car charger no sticker at all... Not even thorus (Sticker 1) or SE (Sticker 2).

So does these stickers matches original set?

QUOTE(puterabemi @ Feb 27 2012, 12:42 AM)
leather case? can show some picture? where did you buy it eh?
Casing here:
Closed

Opened

Sad news is only one colour available... Other models had various patterns on the outside other than black... Bought this at times square...

EDIT: Added spoiler...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Feb 27 2012, 02:34 AM
cyanboy
post Feb 27 2012, 12:17 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(waie @ Feb 27 2012, 08:46 AM)
the casing make it look like harder to type yawn.gif

Added on February 27, 2012, 8:50 am
ya ya just need to see backlight for the keyboard whether it is good enough like Black SEX Pro. Thx for the pictures!  flex.gif
Yes... Can't type with keyboard at all...
Now using more screen typing lo...

Here's some keyboard backlight pic for you to compare with the black one... I was interested in black for it's contrast in keyboard lighting, but now I think I love my red more...

Join us fast before liveview runs out! Haha...

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Feb 27 2012, 11:38 AM)
just checked mine. accessories are just like urs, the tag only. and as for wall and car charger socket as img below:

p/s: i mistaken avaxx with thorus. avaxx do have their earphone and usb cable with their stickers on it. sweat.gif
Wah, Avaxx so pro one?
So my wall charger has the same sticker as urs but my car charger dun have SE sticker...
Anyway I had confirmed my set to be original... I called up SE contact centre on warranty card and they confirmed its ori with my IMEI. I guess they ran out of stickers for my batch huh? Lol...

But the dealer has not register my warranty yet... And they claimed my place there is not authorised SE dealer... But somehow I got my liveview... Will probably follow up with SE later...
cyanboy
post Feb 28 2012, 12:49 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(pac1 @ Feb 27 2012, 07:34 PM)
At KK, Sabah here, those perforated casings for Xperia Pro other than black, white and red, also got blue, orange and purple. I'm looking for these kind of flip case, I wonder if there's any for Xperia Pro, http://www.roxfit.mobi/Roxfit/Xperia_Mini_...Euro_sales.html
Blue, orange, purple mesh case is also available at the place where I bought my flip case. But stocks kinda limited and may need to source from more expensive retailer for certain colours.

QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Feb 27 2012, 07:40 PM)
wooo...this case is nicer la.... rclxms.gif

but already bought same casing like cyanboy, for me this case more protective than the mesh case but it made the phone more thicker....  blush.gif
This case looks more ori... At least got a green SE logo behind the case... My case the SE wordings font also use salah one... doh.gif

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Feb 27 2012, 08:42 PM)
waoh....red color looks sexy.....
Red can be an awesome colour if viewed from different perspective. I get red colour because next time I won't really have chance to have such coloured phones anymore, black seemed more elegant and matured for me...

QUOTE(waie @ Feb 27 2012, 10:17 PM)
Try your luck and ask. But I think if no Liveview due to no stocks, you will have Bluetooth headset instead. IF you are lucky la tongue.gif otherwise ask for your car charger. It should be bundled with ori package
One of the shops listed inside the promo leaflet also didn't offer me liveview but offer me BT headset instead at RM1059. After had a long chat, he seemed not wanted to disclose about the liveview promo, although I do saw liveview sets on the rack.

The salesperson goes on and asked me to take xperia arc full set with HDMI cable+car charger all those at RM1300 (Not arc S). While arc S salesperson said 1499 only will get minimal set which is only with standard charger and usb cable (HDMI cable +car charger where?!?!)

After purposely survey another participating shop at outstation, found out that 1499 xperia arc s comes with full set... But I love Pro more... Hehe...

Therefore, some participating shops might also "eat" you... Gotta triple check before purchase.

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Feb 27 2012, 11:15 PM)
bros...strange thing happen to my pro earlier....

so there is like 15% batt left so i tot of charging it at 10%

so i was playing around(quite sometime) and i check 12%....so i continue playing around less than 2 mins...suddenly it says 1% batt remaining, force shutdown...

fyi,batt did not fell hot,just normal lukewarm water feeling....

hope this is an isolated insident sad.gif
Btw, on first use my back cover seemed quite hot... Before that I was with k550... Compared with this one it's really warm...
cyanboy
post Feb 28 2012, 12:15 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Farlz_89 @ Feb 28 2012, 07:45 AM)
Oic..so instead of Liveview u got BT headset right? ..Your phone package include with car charger? Mine dont have  shakehead.gif
Nope, I purposely went and pay toll to out station to get the liveview promo. Lol.

If I had bought it on my nearby participating outlet then will only give me the january promo bluetooth headset.

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Feb 28 2012, 09:27 AM)
Pro users - 16
Neo Users - 11
Neo V users - 5

growing quite fast biggrin.gif

Added on February 28, 2012, 9:34 am

what do u meant by terbalik? XD

Added on February 28, 2012, 9:37 am

i wan ask
SEX pro got not the screen protector the type that when the screen backlight is off, it becomes reflective like a mirror biggrin.gif
Haha, I also dun get the terbalik. But I think its about the contrast?
Try searching at se shops for this, they have higher chances of having it then normal phone shops.
cyanboy
post Feb 28 2012, 12:39 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Feb 28 2012, 12:26 PM)
good lor. dowan buy from me...  cry.gif
Lol... Forgotten some one here is from SE shop... You have?
cyanboy
post Feb 29 2012, 12:14 AM

257 posts

Good and comprehensive reviews made!

Btw few pages back there's users mentioning about OTG cable supported in Xperia Pro... I had bought myself one but seemed not working...

Need to install any 3rd party app or possibly ROOT? doh.gif If not I would need to return the cable with something else soon... sad.gif
cyanboy
post Feb 29 2012, 12:33 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(puterabemi @ Feb 29 2012, 12:20 AM)
which brand do you buy? izit chap ayam, or other brand than sony?
I'm using Nokia's micro USB to USB male cable, then add a female USB to female USB converter... Then only connect to a device...

Selling outside are Samsung OTG cable... More expensive... But if it works i'll definately get that instead...
cyanboy
post Feb 29 2012, 01:59 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(puterabemi @ Feb 29 2012, 01:10 AM)
you mean this one right?

wah double connection  sweat.gif
jeopardise use cheap one can, why nokia one kenot? he use xperia neo tho, but should work on xperia pro too.
im thinking to buy one too, maybe next time i need to test first at the shop.
I'm using some sort like that. Did saw some shops selling the same thing double the pricing...

The OTG cable on the shop is something like this: (And only few shops selling though)

Now i'm using this:

And connect with this:

So now probably better to wait for jeopardise response... He even connected his thumbdrive! If it works definately worth it...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Feb 29 2012, 02:01 AM
cyanboy
post Mar 1 2012, 12:28 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(puterabemi @ Feb 29 2012, 01:10 AM)
you mean this one right?

wah double connection  sweat.gif
jeopardise use cheap one can, why nokia one kenot? he use xperia neo tho, but should work on xperia pro too.
im thinking to buy one too, maybe next time i need to test first at the shop.
Went to another shop today for the samsung galaxy tab OTG cable...
Dun let me test at all, pay first then test... The cable is like RM30?! Borrow a mouse also cannot...
I just exchanged my cable and converter to new keyboard... I dun want to stock up my room with unwanted stuffs dy... Scare if buy cable can't use then need to change dunno what again... RM30...

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Feb 29 2012, 09:42 AM)
it doesnt work, i duno why XD
but it will work with the LiveDock, but stil, mass memory still not supported
damn
tested out with Nokia N8's USB OTG
and the cheap USB OTG cable
not even the mouse detected  sweat.gif
nvm, ill wait for ICS and see what happen next

btw....
if u have the male to female connector, y never jz use Sony Ericsson's USB cable LOL
never know, it may work tongue.gif

Added on February 29, 2012, 9:43 am

noted that : HE ROOTED HIS PHONE tongue.gif

btw
where find the male to female converter?? XD
Male to female converter at A.L.L. IT hyper market, digital mall, RM9 for one...
Lol, I dunno why I so dumb go and buy the usb cable. I tried with SE cable and converter, won't work with anything also.

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Feb 29 2012, 12:45 PM)
Anyone Interested in this? PDair .

This looks better than mine... Haha...

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Feb 29 2012, 12:57 PM)
I am using the simple cable like the above.

Hmmm ... I am not sure about you guys but mine's working very well, although USB mass storage needs 3rd party apps to mount it.

I think without official SE docking, you'll need root to make other cable to work.

I've tried a simple experiment (my phone is rooted) but I can disable root within application setting such as ES File Explorer. I can't access USB drive if ES File Explorer not enabled with root (empty directories). Once enabled, USB files appears.

If you need the app to mount USB storage, you can PM me with your e-mail. I think this app need root and busybox.

For FAT/FAT 32 it will work easily. For NTFS, you gonna need custom kernel.
PM sent...
cyanboy
post Mar 1 2012, 01:04 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Mar 1 2012, 12:53 AM)
regarding usb otg, if u test with mouse with usb cable it might not work because the mouse suck power too much and ur phone unable to power it. that's why SE docking comes with extra power input.

i connect mine with wireless usb mouse/keyboard. Works with my Microsoft Wireless Desktop 5000, Rapoo wireless touch keyboard and mouse. only the receiver connect to the usb otg. it detects exactly the model.
pendrive works with limitation, external hdd wont work.

Bluetooth module not working, detected as unknown device.

Bluetooth mouse/kboard not working because pairing needed password key.

what esle u want me to test?
So means it's possible to use keyboard or mouse without rooting? Just that'll require a wireless one?
Acutally more interested in plugging in pendrive... Is it confirmed working for major of FAT/FAT32 pendrive if i root?
cyanboy
post Mar 4 2012, 01:27 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(waie @ Mar 4 2012, 12:55 AM)
Personally, I really think that Xperia Pro might has the most comfortable keyboard. Sliding out the phone really feels so exclusive. Wow Sex Pro is really worth it
Lol... Slide is slide, but i'm quite worry about the so called "ribbon" with pro... Btw, mine I think I slide like less than 20 times but my pro registered 246 times dy... SE slide 200 times when go through QC? Lol...
Btw, can check slider counter at *#*#7378423#*#*. It's also SE Xperia's hardware testing mode...

Btw I got my OTG cable dy... It's for samsung galaxy s2... Working well... I can connect wired mouse and wired keyboard through USB hub also... No problem, just that need more expensive USB hubs, cheapo hubs won't work...
It's totally the same as this, even the design!

EDIT: The OTG cable is also called as micro B USB OTG cable... Normal micro USB cable is A cable... Which wiring is different and won't work over here...

I figured out my case where I used female USB to female USB converter... Like this:

Went through forums and found out that OTG cable is wired such a way that pin 1 of USB is shorted to pin 4 of USB... Meaning both side pins of the USB is shorted together to enable the OTG cable to work. For a normal USB cable, they aren't shorted together, one of the pins are +5V and another as ground... In other application such as car charger, both pins are connected with resistor before going into circuit... And that's why my female USB to female USB converter somehow didn't work for my mouse and keyboard.

Btw if wanna change the kernel version need to do everything as in first page?
Does the first page stock kernel supports USB hosting mode for thumbdrive?

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Mar 4 2012, 07:06 PM
cyanboy
post Mar 5 2012, 05:12 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Mar 4 2012, 08:17 AM)
it supports, but limited to fat/32 file system. if ur phone can detect it but cant see the files, u need to make it properly mount the drive.

nice discovery there bro.
I'm trying to get fat32 to work. Drive is detected correctly, need to find some software to mount it.

So the nightelf kernel will work with ntfs instead of the stock kernel in first page?

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Mar 4 2012, 12:14 PM)
Speaking about kernel,u fastboot ur unit,connect to the pc,blue led comes out.then u use commandprompt,key in the script for boot.img.refer step #10 onwards.however,u need stuff from step 1 to run everything in freexperia.understand what im saying? Why change kernel?
Good explanation, but I think will on hold first. Dun really understand yet, will do more read up.

QUOTE(puterabemi @ Mar 4 2012, 12:46 PM)
anybody here ever tried class 6 or class 10 memory card? for general purpose, does the higher class make any different?
QUOTE(jeopardise @ Mar 5 2012, 03:27 PM)
Yes! Class 10 is faster. You can feel it when transferring files from PC to phone, or browsing album with many images, or loading heavy apps.

I never tried class 6 before .. only class 4 and 10. Won't go back  biggrin.gif
How to differentiate and our stock memory card is what class?

Btw, just sent my sister spiro sliding phone to see service centre, RM66 for ribbon.. hope its that cheap for our xperia pro..
cyanboy
post Mar 17 2012, 02:13 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(puterabemi @ Mar 16 2012, 10:35 PM)
yup can just change the kernel. as long as the kernel support oc.
but yes, it hard to find kernel for xperia pro. there are one custom kernel with cwm at XDA forum, but according to author, not support oc
maybe can ask jeopardise. he already oc his phone, but not sure he use custom kernel or not.
OC and custom kernel if combined will be totally awesome...
Just tried playing full HD1080P video on pro... Lag on video, sound ok... I tried Rock Player and Mobo video player pro...

Any HD player recommended? Although it'll be laggy...

0.0463sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:57 AM