Walkman Z series, First Walkman line powered by Android

TSlonglongzai
post Jan 11 2012, 03:31 AM, updated 14y ago

156 posts

Last month we saw the Sony Walkman Z1000 Android-powered medial player cross the FCC. Sony has gone official with the new line of players at CES. The Z1000 has several model numbers in it that are differentiated by their storage capacity. The Z1040 is 8GB, the Z1050 is 16GB, and the Z1060 is a 32GB player.

All of them share the same features like integrated WiFi, Android operating system, xLOUD speakers, and the ability to connect with DLNA devices. The players have HDMI outputs to connect directly to your TV. The screens on the player are 4.3-inches and use low reflectivity tech. Powering the players is the NVIDIA Tegra 2 chipset.

The players are set to launch in late February. Pricing is unannounced at this time. The line also features Bluetooth, the Android OS version is 2.3, and the battery life for music is rated at 20 hours and video playback is five hours. The devices support major audio and video formats.

Like many smartphones, the Walkman NWZ-1000 series PMPs offer a 4.3″ display that pushes 480×800 pixels, a 1GHz Nvidia Tegra 2 processor, 512MB RAM, 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 2.1, FM tuner, and a micro-HDMI port for video output. Full 1080P HD video is supported and plays back smoothly at bitrates as high as 10Mbps. Unlike the Samsung Galaxy Player range, Sony has decided to omit a camera on the NWZ-1000 — but this is a mediaplayer, so it’s easy enough for Sony to claim it doesn’t need to capture media as well.

Unlike some Android PMPs, Sony’s Walkman Z features access to the official Android Market for downloading additional apps and games. It’s also running Gingerbread, and Sony estimates about 20 hours of music playback or 5 hours for video.

This post has been edited by longlongzai: Jan 11 2012, 12:05 PM
ogiveyakuza
post Jan 11 2012, 07:08 AM

huh..????
2,946 posts

cool
shark7
post Jan 11 2012, 07:21 AM

1,378 posts

This looks perfect until i hear there no camera .
Hope it cheaps without camera
Sib
post Jan 11 2012, 07:25 AM

#PasukanPenyelamatMalaysia
1,945 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 11 2012, 07:21 AM)
This looks perfect until i hear there no camera .
Hope it cheaps without camera
8GB starts at $250, still quite expensive for smartphones without a camera doh.gif

even nokia low ends normal phones oso have camera
phantomash
post Jan 11 2012, 07:28 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Sib @ Jan 11 2012, 07:25 AM)
8GB starts at $250, still quite expensive for smartphones without a camera  doh.gif

even nokia low ends normal phones oso have camera
its a media player, not a smartphone.
singa89
post Jan 11 2012, 07:51 AM

long live play
1,204 posts

sony high end walkmans are not cheap.. superb audio quality though

shark7
post Jan 11 2012, 08:08 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Jan 11 2012, 07:28 AM)
its a media player, not a smartphone.
there no phone capabilities and camera
then why its expnsive doh.gif

ppl might just get htc sensation xe for audio. it got the dr beats some more
phantomash
post Jan 11 2012, 09:25 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 11 2012, 08:08 AM)
there no phone capabilities and camera
then why its expnsive doh.gif

ppl might just get htc sensation xe for audio. it got the dr beats some more
beats is lame. More overpriced than Sony's audio stuff, and quality is below par compared to Sony's.

This walkman is only priced similarly to iPod Touch, look at it as Android's version of iPod except with superior audio quality, its not THAT expensive.

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 11 2012, 09:27 AM
x132755
post Jan 11 2012, 09:59 AM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

Wow! seem nice.. btw, this is not a fon rite?
shark7
post Jan 11 2012, 10:16 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Jan 11 2012, 09:25 AM)
beats is lame. More overpriced than Sony's audio stuff, and quality is below par compared to Sony's.

This walkman is only priced similarly to iPod Touch, look at it as Android's version of iPod except with superior audio quality, its not THAT expensive.
really? than dr beats is just overated then . it seems so popular in fb n in lowyat evry shop selling dr beats

u sure? 8gb ipod cost rm600+ . i dunno how to convert but iinm $250 is aroubd rm1200?
kenjixx
post Jan 11 2012, 10:23 AM

my home hero
741 posts

QUOTE(CLF @ Nov 21 2011, 07:15 AM)
price quote from Sony Store Japan for reference. (http://www1.jp.sonystyle.com/Qnavi/Main/p_audio_000000_070/)

16GB 27,800 yen (~RM 1,144)
32GB 32,800 yen (~RM 1,350)
64 GB 42,800 yen (~RM 1,761)

the higher JPY rate doesn't help much here....  sweat.gif
blackchides
post Jan 11 2012, 10:39 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 11 2012, 10:16 AM)
really? than dr beats is just overated then . it seems so popular in fb n in lowyat evry shop selling dr beats

u sure? 8gb ipod cost rm600+ . i dunno how to convert but iinm $250 is aroubd rm1200?
Yes, beats is more about headset design than audio quality. People who buy them are more concerned about style than sound. Which I guess, is fair enough; they do look great after all.

phantomash
post Jan 11 2012, 10:46 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 11 2012, 10:16 AM)

Beats is overrated. Just check out the comments from audiophiles, even our own audiophiles at LYN Audiophile section. Some like it, most don't.

it is more slightly more expensive than iPod Touch, but then again, its a new product, and its really not overly expensive.

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jan 11 2012, 10:39 AM)
Yes, beats is more about headset design than audio quality. People who buy them are more concerned about style than sound. Which I guess, is fair enough; they do look great after all.
Yes, this.

we call this kind of people... hipsters tongue.gif

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 11 2012, 10:50 AM
fridel
post Jan 11 2012, 10:51 AM

kuran ka? ok e oi?
1,659 posts

Lol..its look cool but price also cool..too expensive la.better just buy a smartphone doh.gif still can watch vid,mp3 etc
phantomash
post Jan 11 2012, 10:59 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(fridel @ Jan 11 2012, 10:51 AM)
Lol..its look cool but price also cool..too expensive la.better just buy a smartphone doh.gif still can watch vid,mp3 etc
true, its like iPod and iPhone, you might as well get an iPhone right?

Also, very few people actually care about the audio quality that a Walkman offers.
fridel
post Jan 11 2012, 11:09 AM

kuran ka? ok e oi?
1,659 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Jan 11 2012, 11:59 AM)
true, its like iPod and iPhone, you might as well get an iPhone right?

Also, very few people actually care about the audio quality that a Walkman offers.
even my chepo arc already provide good quality audio.. whistling.gif
This product is for music enthusiast only whistling.gif
cracksys
post Jan 11 2012, 11:13 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

i lol @ people who equates sound quality with Beats product.

all kena scam by dr. dre
singa89
post Jan 11 2012, 11:15 AM

long live play
1,204 posts

im not sure bout some guys but i dont listen to music with my phone

i use my walkman. mainly bcz of the nice bass, treble and nc feature

love quiet environment. long lasting playback time too
phantomash
post Jan 11 2012, 11:48 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(fridel @ Jan 11 2012, 11:09 AM)
even my chepo arc already provide good quality audio.. whistling.gif
This product is for music enthusiast only whistling.gif
That's what I said.

This product for those who are looking for a dedicated media player, that offers great audio quality, and longer hours of battery life. That's essentially what media players are for. smile.gif As a media player, this thing is as good as it gets.

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 11 2012, 11:51 AM
leoyew
post Jan 11 2012, 11:58 AM

Don't suffer your limited life ; Enjoy every moment!
2,021 posts

As great as iPod

0.0214sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:05 PM