Nokia Lumia 900

^pomen_GTR^
post Jan 23 2013, 05:40 PM

1,077 posts

hello....new register here...

me got twin lumia900...one mine and another one my other half.....black and white colour...

like the smoothness of this phone...the speed and responds can match even higher spec. android phone....

things i like:
-easy fb interface (eventough not full function but make quick fb usage easier)
-very fast gps capture,detailed map and responsive gps navigation....even drive fast also didn't worry about missing a junction/direction
-ms outlook, hotmail and ms office interface very nice

but things i didn't like:
-no screen capture function
-browser didn't support flash
-slow camera capture/lense focus very slow and picture quality losing to other 8mp camera
-standard handsfree unit have poor sound quality
-apps limited to msn/hotmail country account setting (but now got app to get apps from other country as well)
-can't access root folder/memory/no folder manager....music/video downloaded was stored in the app's own folder...so kind of messy to find music/video from several few apps that have been used to download...
-during in-call/out call got echo sound when talk normally..have to use handsfree/loudspeaker to avoid that echo

but nevertheless we still love this phone.....

only downside is....my screen cracked...been asking around....at nokia costs around rm548++ to get it done....is there any other option to get the lcd assembly unit?because i can change it myself if i can source the replacement lcd....pomen maaa..mesti boleh punya... laugh.gif
^pomen_GTR^
post Jan 23 2013, 05:44 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 23 2013, 05:42 PM)
Much respect if you can even open the casing already. biggrin.gif

BUt sadly I don't seem to know where to get the replacement LCD. Good luck! smile.gif
its already on the youtube on opening this lumia900.... thumbup.gif

fairly very easy compared to other phone nod.gif
^pomen_GTR^
post Jan 23 2013, 06:22 PM

1,077 posts

btw...maybe i can share what it looks like the picture all both taken from lumia900 (some with on the phone app editing done and some was raw picture)

*this is my cracked screen...lucky got screen protector so the glass not just splattered everywhere (still can use phone..touch sensor working fine..only proximity sensor detect so everytime call in/out the screen goes black...so have to use handsfree to drop the call..else if call goes into voicemail..then there goes my bill shooting up...
http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/215/c9e...40bda526876.jpg

*this one edit with "tilt shift" function from apps (creative studio/photo studio/photofunia/super camera)
http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/6792/pi...etiltshift2.jpg

*this one raw..only use "auto-fix" function
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/4312/wp000592.jpg

*raw macro shot..also only use "auto-fix" function
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/4015/wp001361.jpg

P/S: i post link direct link because all picture was on full size 8mp from the phone notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ^pomen_GTR^: Jan 23 2013, 06:30 PM
^pomen_GTR^
post Feb 28 2013, 02:04 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(ForeverTorres.c0m @ Feb 28 2013, 01:52 PM)
There are a lot around global ebay site which ship internationally, each costing aroung 90++USD, less than RM350...
That's the chepest i can find on the internet...
thanks...

already replaced the screen which is +-rm350 (screen alone)

and installed myself... icon_rolleyes.gif

^pomen_GTR^
post Mar 2 2013, 03:02 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ Mar 2 2013, 12:13 AM)
hi! add me to the list smile.gif
New user~
huhu    biggrin.gif
fwaaa how come Gorilla glass can crack?  shocking.gif
Gorilla glass is scratch resistant...

Thing when made harder it became more brittle..thus easier to crack than normal glass...
^pomen_GTR^
post Mar 15 2013, 05:42 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ Mar 3 2013, 12:15 AM)
I see..  smile.gif
just want to ask,
did you guys use screen protector even screen is Gorilla Glass?
Screen protector easily got thin scratch = ugly  sad.gif 
And i have prob with my oily finger~  sweat.gif
which mean easily got oily on the screen~
this thread moving really slow or everybody upgrade phone again?

last time the screen broke while i'm using SP

but this time i didn't put SP because the replacement screen got layer of protective cover....so didn't bother to pull out that layer...keep using it...plus screen so much nicer without SP
^pomen_GTR^
post Apr 3 2013, 02:15 PM

1,077 posts

anybody facing problem of phone memory full/almost full by crappy "other memory" ????

how to get rid of that without using master reset???

i've already uninstalled lots of unused apps along with ie/browser cache and history....still doesn't work....

picture and vids only less than 3gig inside.....
^pomen_GTR^
post Apr 5 2013, 05:30 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ Apr 5 2013, 05:24 PM)
em, how about your documents inside Office and Adobe Reader?
no doc. in office..rarely using it....but adobe reader's doc. most of them only 3mb max.....and already cleared

but i wonder how to clear cache on outlook/hotmail app.... could be the culprit because i'm using both email actively..... (daily mail in-out more than 10mail)
^pomen_GTR^
post Apr 6 2013, 02:23 AM

1,077 posts

Not sure..because i already check my downloaded item in tube pro uc browser...not that big...
^pomen_GTR^
post Apr 9 2013, 02:10 PM

1,077 posts

*btw....last night it took around 2full hours for me to update 7.5 mango into 7.8 using the famous seveneighter software....it was pretty straightfoward....simple click and wait.....

enjoying re-arranging multiple size icon...huhuhuhuhu.....

but anybody knew how to enable screen shot function without rooting this phone??? because i really don't want the hassle to install/restore all of the setting and data
^pomen_GTR^
post Apr 18 2013, 12:30 PM

1,077 posts

now i'm quite happy with my seveneighter manual updates tongue.gif
^pomen_GTR^
post May 13 2013, 08:30 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(johnny85xd @ May 12 2013, 05:50 PM)
Hi Pomen,

i just fall my phone Lumia 900 few days ago.

can share where u order the screen ? is that difficult to replace the screen ?

Thanks....

ordering thru a friend's help because supplier wouldn't sell in small number....i think minimum order was around 50pcs or 100pcs i'm not sure.....

its not really that dificult..just need some patience while doing it...and must bought high quality special screw driver (the one with "*" pattern not just "+" pattern)

*here's the step

This post has been edited by ^pomen_GTR^: May 13 2013, 08:31 AM
^pomen_GTR^
post May 17 2013, 12:53 PM

1,077 posts

my 1st screen shot from my phone after sideloading the apps..... rclxms.gif

credit to ashdwoers allowing me to use his acc for unlocking my phone

oh my phone have been updated to wp7.8 earlier tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ^pomen_GTR^: May 17 2013, 12:54 PM
^pomen_GTR^
post May 17 2013, 02:39 PM

1,077 posts

and this...some of my captured screen using screen capturer apps...

and then compiled with photogrid software

thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif to ash
^pomen_GTR^
post May 20 2013, 02:39 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ May 19 2013, 11:42 AM)
Any Case for Nokia Lumia 900 ?  My Lumia 900 dropped and dent the top corner of the phone. Sad....

I not yet update My Lumia 900 , if backup , all favorite in Internet Explorer will lost ??
If not misyaken got some heavy duty waterproof casing...otterbox or what i cant remember...

Nothing in those gone...
^pomen_GTR^
post May 21 2013, 09:08 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ May 21 2013, 02:44 AM)
AFAIK Nokia phone doesn't have any Otterbox / Lifeproof case..

Maybe Nokia didn't need one?  hmm.gif It's Nokia.  whistling.gif
got....this one for lumia920...but i remember saw somebody selling for lumia900 also back then (when i was looking for flip cover when lumia900 was new last year)

http://www.mudah.my/Otterbox+Commuter+Pave...20-20929713.htm

http://www.mudah.my/Otterbox+Nokia+Lumia+9...er-21063753.htm

sadding is i really love holding my lumia900 bare naked without any cover and without any screen protector.....lovely to hold...but scary if dropped sweat.gif
^pomen_GTR^
post May 22 2013, 03:19 PM

1,077 posts

rclxms.gif

btw when i mentioned that my compass didnt working this is it...

*its weird because everywhere in websites mentioned that Lumia900 got compass: http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_lumia_900-4578.php

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nokia_Lumia_900

**even weirder i've been using compass successfully before during lumia was fresh without any official online update...but now my 7.8lumia and stock 7.5lumia also compass didn't working

******the weirdest thing is it was also demo a functioning compass on lumia900
http://mynokiablog.com/2012/08/10/lumiappa...okia-lumia-900/

bonus picture: old-school game played thru emulator

This post has been edited by ^pomen_GTR^: May 22 2013, 03:34 PM
^pomen_GTR^
post Jun 10 2013, 07:22 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 9 2013, 11:16 PM)
[attachmentid=3479783]

SO yeah, had to drop my phone and got it ran through with a car.

Looking at repair costs, I might as well repair this on my own for less than RM 200. laugh.gif
i got my replacement screen at rm350+-

then replaced it on my own
^pomen_GTR^
post Jun 10 2013, 10:12 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 10 2013, 09:21 AM)
Yup. I checked on ebay and the replacement screen is pretty cheap around RM 200. if the repair costs is more than RM 300, i'll definitely do my own. hehe.
repair cost confirmed rm540+- at nokia center...

outside might ask more than that....

yes ebay price was around rm280...but u must remember to include the shipping price also.... icon_idea.gif
^pomen_GTR^
post Jun 10 2013, 05:15 PM

1,077 posts

just got this another small toy to play tongue.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=60951208

icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0205sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:03 AM