SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V6, Thread closed. Please continue to V7.

bestofel
post Jan 17 2012, 08:09 AM

528 posts

Hi peace! (~_^)v

I just want help my friend. He want Arabic for his Samsung Galaxy Note. From my searching, what I need to do is:

1. Flash to deodex rom with root & cwm (deodex, root & cwm are required for Arabic Language Pack).
2. Install Font Shaping RTL Patch - KL7/ KL8 / LA1/ LA3 - http://hotfile.com/dl/126801512/27a7953/Teflanzy.apk.html
3. Install Arabic Keyboard: Arabic Language Pack: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.a...uagepack.arabic

If I don't want flash new rom, just want install font shaping and arabic pack, what I need to do? Can I just deodex the existing firmware and then install root and cwm? Is it easy / straight forward steps?
bestofel
post Jan 17 2012, 11:32 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jan 17 2012, 08:09 AM)
Hi peace! (~_^)v

I just want help my friend. He want Arabic for his Samsung Galaxy Note. From my searching, what I need to do is:

1. Flash to deodex rom with root & cwm (deodex, root & cwm are required for Arabic Language Pack).
2. Install Font Shaping RTL Patch - KL7/ KL8 / LA1/ LA3 - http://hotfile.com/dl/126801512/27a7953/Teflanzy.apk.html
3. Install Arabic Keyboard: Arabic Language Pack: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.a...uagepack.arabic

If I don't want flash new rom, just want install font shaping and arabic pack, what I need to do? Can I just deodex the existing firmware and then install root and cwm? Is it easy / straight forward steps?
Anybody can help me?
bestofel
post Jan 17 2012, 11:51 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 17 2012, 11:34 AM)
Yes you can just install these if your rom is deodexed
Currently is odex, stock firmware from samsung. I found some gude to do deodex manually. Fuff..not so easy. Maybe I just flash custom rom lah. ROCKET v17-LA1 or ROCKET v18-LA3 better?
bestofel
post Jan 17 2012, 12:19 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 17 2012, 11:55 AM)
Rocket V17 is good ; never test V18
If you want a rom close to stock with just deodexed and some tweaks - consider substancer version :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1416192
Thank you bro. No experience with Galaxy Note, always look at my Galaxy S. smile.gif
bestofel
post Jan 17 2012, 05:20 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 17 2012, 11:55 AM)
Rocket V17 is good ; never test V18
If you want a rom close to stock with just deodexed and some tweaks - consider substancer version :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1416192
OK, just now I managed to finished downloding XXLA3_DEodexed_tweaked.zip
So how to flash this rom? Simply put into sd_card and then reboot to recovery and choose this zip file?
Sorry, because I didn't find any guide from 1st page at that thread. I think it maybe same like flashing Galaxy S. I more familiar with Galaxy S.
TQ.

This post has been edited by bestofel: Jan 17 2012, 05:22 PM
bestofel
post Jan 17 2012, 10:28 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jan 17 2012, 05:40 PM)
Yes, use CWM to reboot in recovery mode and select the zip file.
Maybe a clean wipe is advisable (which I did for my Rocket ROM).
Take note - recommended to do a Titanium Backup before flashing.
Error when flashing:

E:Short write of /tmp/sideload/package.zip (No space left on device)

How?

Added on January 17, 2012, 10:36 pmHave any of you try this tutorial to root your Galaxy Note? http://whatareandroidphones.net/root-samsu...alaxy-note.html

This post has been edited by bestofel: Jan 17 2012, 10:36 PM
bestofel
post Jan 18 2012, 06:09 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jan 17 2012, 10:28 PM)
Error when flashing:

E:Short write of /tmp/sideload/package.zip (No space left on device)

How?
My mission failed! After successed rooting, i tried install ROM Manager from market, then flash CWM Recovery. When I flashing the zip file, error message returned about signature verification.

Can I know, how to know if the galaxy note was been locked? I tried go to download mode also cannot.
bestofel
post Jan 18 2012, 08:00 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 18 2012, 07:12 AM)
Rom Manager cannot be used as is incompatible
Refer page 1 post#2 in rooting for link to
Install clockworkmod recovery
Huhuu..I just follow the guide from trusted thread. Suggested to root only, then install CWM by ROM Manager.
OK, from the 2nd post, I think this one is related to me to try:

1.1. If you are already rooted

- Download the attached "InitialRootFlasher.zip" and extract it somewhere
- Download one of the CF-Root kernels, and extract it (repeat) until you end up with a zImage file
- Place the zImage file from the CF-Root kernel in the zImage folder from InitialRootFlasher
- Start "already-rooted.bat" and follow the instructions

For those needing to do this manually (Linux boxes and such), this is the important command. Place the zImage file on your phone (example: /data/local/zImage) and execute this command in a rooted shell:
dd if=/data/local/zImage of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=4096

Source:

5. If you want root plus clockworkmod recovery: - easiest use Chainfire CF Root v5. Make sure you download the right version to match your firmware. Using this will also auto install a CWM app in your phone - quite convenient as you can use app to boot into recovery, download mode, do backup and restore, flash kernels etc
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1331784

This post has been edited by bestofel: Jan 18 2012, 08:00 AM
bestofel
post Jan 18 2012, 09:55 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 18 2012, 08:25 AM)
May i know which trusted source advise you to use rom manager?
Rom manager will only install a partial recovery just to flash kernel only. It cannot backup n restore n flash rom n modem
Actually it is from dr.ketan here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1329360
But i saw he just edit the post yesterday.

This one (in red color) is what i read before: http://www.stuff-review.com/2011-11/how-to...rkmod-recovery/ he said the source is from dr.ketan posting.

Method 1: zengRush Revolutionary (easiest)

To get root access:

• Download the Easy rooting toolkit here.
  • Extract the file to a directory and run ‘RUNME.bat’
  • Follow the instructions on your screen until you have root.

To install ClockworkMod Recovery (optional):

• Launch the Android Market from your Galaxy Note, and search for ‘ROM Manager’, which is a free application, and install it.
  • Once installed open ROM Manager from your apps.
  • In ROM Manager, touch ‘Flash ClockworkMod Recovery’ and follow the on-screen instructions. The process might take a while.
  • To install any custom ROM or to backup your current ROM, press ‘Reboot into Recovery’.
Ok, I'll try this method next time:
1.1. If you are already rooted

- Download the attached "InitialRootFlasher.zip" and extract it somewhere
- Download one of the CF-Root kernels, and extract it (repeat) until you end up with a zImage file
- Place the zImage file from the CF-Root kernel in the zImage folder from InitialRootFlasher
- Start "already-rooted.bat" and follow the instructions

For those needing to do this manually (Linux boxes and such), this is the important command. Place the zImage file on your phone (example: /data/local/zImage) and execute this command in a rooted shell:
dd if=/data/local/zImage of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=4096

bestofel
post Jan 18 2012, 11:27 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(AMDunFreak @ Jan 18 2012, 10:52 AM)
how did you end up root without CWM?
Using this one: http://rom.anshouji.com/root/unlockroot22.exe

New method edit 1jan12
If you fail to Root with aove method, You can try this
Keep you mobile debugging on, connect to PC and use tool mention above

Source: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1331784 (the original post was been edited already)

This post has been edited by bestofel: Jan 18 2012, 11:29 AM

0.0377sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:23 PM