New, yummy electronic products ^___^, Worth waiting for?

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 11:19 AM, updated 14y ago

24,193 posts

*Sorry guys for double posting, but I guess starting a new topic would be a better choice~

Its POISON time of the year!!

I'll add in some of the interesting products (mostly from CES2012) here, and it seems like there are some really yummy stuffs this year~:

Acer Iconia Tab A700- Quad core, Full HD tablet with Android 4.0!
http://blog.laptopmag.com/acer-teases-quad...roid-4-0-at-ces

Acer Aspire C5 Ultrabook- World's thinnest ultrabook
"Dubbed by Acer as the “world’s thinnest Ultrabook”, the S5 was announced ahead of Tuesday’s start of CES 2012 and comes in at only 15mm and 1.35kg (less than 3 lbs). The 13.3” laptop is made from a magnesium-alloy cover and features an unknown Intel processor along with Acer Always Connect which allows users to access data from other devices even when the laptop is sleeping. In addition, the laptop features USB 3.0, HDMI, and Thunderbolt ports that hide behind a unique “MagicFlip” panel."- notebookcheck

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/08/acer-s5...abook-hands-on/

Acer Aspire Timeline Ultra- And you think it just can't get any slimmer
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/08/acer-as...ultra-hands-on/

Asus promises Windows 8 on ARM tablet, 3G Transformer Prime, 7-inch Eee Memo Pad - Yes please!

Asus- Eee Pad MeMO ME171, ME370T and high-end Transformer Prime TF700T

TF700T- "10.1-incher with NVIDIA's Tegra 3 within (1.3GHz quad-core Cortex A9), a Super IPS+ / Gorilla Glass 10.1-inch display with a downright silly 1,920 x 1,200 resolution and 32GB or 64GB of internal storage space. There's also an 8 megapixel rear camera / 2 megapixel front-facing cam, support for 1080p playback, 802.11b/g/n WiFi, Bluetooth 2.1+EDR, a micro-HDMI port, microSD card reader, a 25WHr Lithium-Polymer battery and a chassis that weighs just over a pound. It'll ship with Android 4.0.1 (ICS) onboard, and will be compatible with the exact same keyboard dock as the existing Prime."

ME370T- "7-inch WXGA (1,280 x 800) IPS capacitive touchpanel, a 1.2GHz dual-core Qualcomm 8260 processor, a gigabyte of memory, 16GB / 32GB of storage, 802.11b/g/n WiFi, Bluetooth 2.1+EDR, a 1.2 megapixel front / 5 megapixel rear camera (with 1080p recording), an A-GPS sensor, gyroscope, proximity sensor and a micro-USB port. There's a 4,400mAh Li-polymer battery reportedly good for some 8.5 hours of video playback, and it'll be Android 4.0.1 running the show. The unit checks in with dimensions of 7.8- x 4.6- x 0.50-inches (and a weight of 14.2 ounces)"

http://blog.laptopmag.com/asus-unveils-hig...-zenbook-colors
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/09/asus-ee...former-prime-t/
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/07/asus-wi...ablet-promised/
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/02/7-inch-...core-snapdrago/
Any news on the PadFone? sad.gif

Asus Eee PC Flare 1025C and Eee PC X101CH netbooks- Err.... it looks much better in the advertisements lol

"For $299, the Eee PC Flare 1025C comes with a 1.6- GHz Atom Cedar Trail processor, 2GB RAM, 320GB hard drive and Altec Lansing speakers"
"Eee PC X101CH, which features 2-second instant resume and, in spite of its 3-cell battery, two weeks of standby time. It features the same Intel Atom Cedar Trail processor as the Flare 1025C, 1GB of RAM, and a 320GB hard drive for $269. It’s also 0.4 pounds lighter than the Flare"

http://blog.laptopmag.com/hands-on-new-asu...x101ch-netbooks

Asus ZenBooks with improved touchpads- Finally, so does it make these ultrabooks perfect now? hehe
http://blog.laptopmag.com/asus-unveils-hig...-zenbook-colors

Dell XPS 13 (2010)
"XPS 13, which weighs in at a shade less than three pounds (2.99, to be exact) and has a wedge profile that tapers from .71 inches to .24 (18 to 6mm). With a starting price of $1,000, it sports an aluminum lid and carbon fiber chassis. Comes with core i5 processor, 128GB SSD, 4GB of RAM and backlit keyboard, though you'll also be able to upgrade to a 256SSD and either a Core i5 or i7 CPU (Sandy Bridge at launch, with Ivy Bridge to follow in a refresh later this year). Other specs include a 300-nit, 1366 x 768, Gorilla Glass display; Intel HD 3000 graphics; a 47Wh battery rated for up to eight hours; Bluetooth 3.0; and Intel's Smart Connect and Rapid Start technologies."
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/10/dells-x...book-announced/
http://blog.laptopmag.com/dell-xps-13-ultr...connect-for-999

Lenovo Ideatab S2- A Transformer Prime's competitor
" IdeaTab S2, the Android ICS tablet will succeed the IdeaPad S1 but include a similarly-sized 10.1-inch screen with an optional keyboard and trackpad docking station. The S2 is expected to run on a dual-core Snapdragon CPU based on the Krait architecture with 1GB RAM, 1280x800 resolution display, 16GB to 64GB SSD, front-and-rear cameras and 3G connectivity options. "

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/08/lenovos...mation-gang-pa/
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-reveal...et.68580.0.html

Lenovo ThinkPad T430u- Ultrabook version of the Thinkpad series with discrete GPU!
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/08/lenovos...abook-hands-on/

Lenovo Ideapad U310/ 410- relatively inexpensive ultrabooks up for grabs~
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/08/lenovo-...ooks-announced/

Lenovo New Ideapad Lineups- Z380/480/580, Y480/Y580, G580/780 (designs appeared to be similar to current ones)

"Y480 has a 1366 x 768 panel and NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M graphics, the 15.6-inch Y580 steps up to a 1080p pixel count and a 2GB GTX660M card with DirectX 11"

"Z830/840/850: 13.3-, 14- or 15.6-inch version, the pixel count is fixed at 1366 x 768, though you at least don't have to settle for Intel GMA graphics: NVIDIA's 2GB GeForce GT640M card is also an option"

" G480, G580 and G780 will also be offered with up to 1TB of storage, up to 8GB of RAM and an optional Blu-ray drive, along with a 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GT630M card in tricked-out models"

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/08/lenovo-...ptops-CES-2012/

Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga- Windows 8 tablet/ultrabook?
"Due to ship at the Windows 8 launch, Lenovo’s groundbreaking IdeaPad Yoga notebook gives you the best of both worlds as its 13.3-inch clamshell design has a flexible lid that folds back 360 degrees, allowing you to use its touchscreen as a slate tablet or even a home Internet appliance. The sides of the notebook measure just .67-inches while the entire system weighs just 3.1 pounds, making the Yoga officially an Ultrabook. Inside, the Yoga has the same, comfy faux leather palm rest we’ve seen on the U300 and the same island-style keyboard. Component-wise, the IdeaPad Yoga will sport an Ivy Bridge CPU, up to a 256GB CPU, and up to 8GB of RAM"

http://blog.laptopmag.com/lenovo-ideapad-y...indows-8-tablet

The mysterious HP Spectre- turns out to be HP Envy Spectre (glass notebook), gosh it looks so nice wub.gif
""So what does $1,400 get you, aside from a memorable design? We're told the laptop comes standard with a 14-inch, 1600 x 900 Radiance Display, Core i5-2467M CPU, 4GB of RAM, a nine-hour battery, backlit keyboard, carrying case and -- get this -- an NFC chip built into the palm rest for transferring URLs from your phone's browser. Other bells and whistles include Intel Wireless Display, HP's CoolSense technology, Beats, HP Wireless Audio, full copies of Photoshop and Premiere Elements and a two-year subscription to Norton Internet Security. Got that, guys? Upgrade options include a 256GB SSD and an extra 4GB of RAM, but other than that, what you see is what you get (and to be fair, you get a lot)."

http://blog.laptopmag.com/hp-envy-14-spect...ry-8th-for-1399
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/09/hp-envy...ctre-announced/

Razer- Project Fiona
"The Fiona runs on a third generation Intel Core i7 processor and an undisclosed GPU. The prototype slab has a native 1280 x 800, 10.1-inch display."
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/10/hands-o...ct-fiona-video/

Samsung 9 series- Its back (13"/15"), better than ever!
"This year's 13-inch model is also thinner and lighter than its predecessor, at 2.5 pounds and half an inch thick (down from 2.8 with a 0.64-inch-thick chassis). In addition to whittling the body, though, Samsung managed to shrink the footprint by squeezing a 13-inch display into a chassis whose dimensions more closely match a 12-inch system. What separates them from your garden-variety $900 box, though, is a solid unibody aluminum design and a heartbreakingly beautiful display: a 1600 x 900 panel with a matte finish (!) and 400 nits of brightness"

"Samsung 9 series (15") almost manages to match the 13-inch version in thinness: 0.58 inches thick versus half an inch for its little brother. And because Sammy crammed a 15-inch display into a 14-inch chassis, it doesn't particularly look like a 15-inch laptop."
http://blog.laptopmag.com/samsung-series-9...r-met-its-match
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/09/redesig...ptop-announced/
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/10/spotted...msung-series-9/

Samsung Series 5 (15"/17") laptops- For Students, so they say
"300-nit display; and the resolution is fixed at 1600 x 900 for the 15-incher, and 1080p for the larger model. At the high end, they'll both be available with a Core i7 Ivy Bridge processor, JBL speakers, a 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M card with Optimus, an optional Blu-ray drive and up to 1TB in storage (2TB for the 17-inch version)"
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/10/samsung...o-arrive-durin/

Samsung Series 7 Gamer- Finally a gaming machine from Samsung
"Samsung is currently planning on offering just one configuration, with a Core i7 CPU, 2GB AMD Radeon HD6970M card, a 5,900mAh battery, JBL speakers and a 300-nit, 1080p display. For those who haven't seen this in action yet, it sports a backlit keyboard, with the all-important WASD keys conveniently highlighted in a different color, along with an analog dial for toggling power modes. On the outside, Samsung's logo glows with the help of an LED backlight, but disappears when the lid is shut."
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/10/samsung...o-hands-on-vid/

Toshiba Excite X10- Thinnest 10-inch Tablet Yet
"The Excite is just 0.3 inches thick, and weighs just 1.2 pounds. That’s about 0.4 pounds lighter and about half an inch thinner than the Thrive. The Thrive will start at $499 and Toshiba says it will go on sale early this year. Read on more more details and check out the full gallery below.This seriously sleek tablet has a 10.1-inch Gorilla Glass display with a resolution of 1280 x 800, and will have an anti-smudge coating to resist fingerprints. The brightness of the display will also automatically adjust depending on lighting conditions."

http://blog.laptopmag.com/toshiba-excite-x...inch-tablet-yet

Toshiba 13 and 7.7-inch tablet prototypes
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/10/toshiba...types-hands-on/

Toshiba's 14" ultrabook
Attached Image *Just love the keyboard btw, damn cool drool.gif

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/08/toshiba...ltrabook-tease/
http://blog.laptopmag.com/toshiba-shows-of...ne-for-just-699

Yummy? laugh.gif

Feel free to share any latest news here yo guys as I won't be constantly checking out on CES2012 laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 11 2012, 10:45 AM
SUSngkhanmein
post Jan 9 2012, 11:23 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

not reserved some post? suddenly ur posted 10k+ when u will b'come mod.

i'm lookin' forward for acer timelinex ultra. drool.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 11:24 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jan 9 2012, 11:23 AM)
not reserved some post? suddenly ur posted 10k+ when u will b'come mod.

i'm lookin' forward for acer timelinex ultra. drool.gif
You've used up my "reserved" post laugh.gif
Anyway, noneed one I guess, there's not that much to post anyway laugh.gif

And hell yeah, the Timelinex Ultra is so slim wub.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 9 2012, 11:25 AM
AwaN87
post Jan 9 2012, 11:42 AM

272 posts

Should i say 2012 is the Ultrabook Market Year?? thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 11:46 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AwaN87 @ Jan 9 2012, 11:42 AM)
Should i say 2012 is the Ultrabook Market Year?? thumbup.gif
Yeap~ It is definitely a year of the ultrabooks... spoilt for choice thumbup.gif
Lil Kiasu
post Jan 9 2012, 11:49 AM

Ok
723 posts

I'm still in love with the Zenbook~ sad.gif
viruz019
post Jan 9 2012, 11:50 AM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

Asus transformer prime wub.gif

and this thread is dangerous! Too much poison material..it's this kind of thread that make our wallet/bank account go on a diet sad.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 11:51 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Jan 9 2012, 11:49 AM)
I'm still in love with the Zenbook~ sad.gif
Its time to move on haha, better and sexier ones are coming wub.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 11:52 am
QUOTE(viruz019 @ Jan 9 2012, 11:50 AM)

and this thread is dangerous! Too much poison material..it's this kind of thread that make our wallet/bank account go on a diet sad.gif
Asus Transformer Prime will be available in Malaysia either before of after CNY...
Demo units are already seen in warehouse according to devour~

Haha, can start saving yo laugh.gif It'll take some time for these new lineups to come~ $$$$$

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 9 2012, 11:52 AM
lee_what2004
post Jan 9 2012, 11:53 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Jan 9 2012, 11:50 AM)

Prepare antidote laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 11:54 AM

24,193 posts

Anyway, lee_what2004 sifu specifcally pointed out the Nvidia GTX660M GPU in the Lenovo Ideapad Y580 (with FullHD Summore wub.gif )... any idea how's the performance of this new GPU? Or is it just another rebadged version from the previous 5xx series? hmm.gif
kelvin_hata
post Jan 9 2012, 12:00 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

lenovo is a good buy... price so nice smile.gif
AwaN87
post Jan 9 2012, 12:01 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 9 2012, 11:54 AM)
Anyway, lee_what2004 sifu specifcally pointed out the Nvidia GTX660M GPU in the Lenovo Ideapad Y580 (with FullHD Summore  wub.gif )...
ohwaiiii... shocking.gif the price starting at $899

must ignore this thread bcoz every post made in here is different poison doh.gif #LOL
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 12:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AwaN87 @ Jan 9 2012, 12:01 PM)
ohwaiiii...  shocking.gif the price starting at $899

must ignore this thread bcoz every post made in here is different poison doh.gif #LOL
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 9 2012, 11:53 AM)
Prepare antidote laugh.gif
Happens every year laugh.gif

Personally I'm quite interested in the Asus Memo-Pad--> cute version of the Transformer Prime, and probably a direct competitor to Samsung's Galaxy Tab 7.7 wub.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 9 2012, 12:05 PM
astria
post Jan 9 2012, 12:33 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

GeForce 600 not DX11.1?

good to hear that... laugh.gif
ayil
post Jan 9 2012, 12:45 PM

Price Police Sux My Dix
2,377 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 9 2012, 12:33 PM)
GeForce 600 not DX11.1?

if its DX11.1, why?
leoyew
post Jan 9 2012, 12:47 PM

Don't suffer your limited life ; Enjoy every moment!
2,021 posts

ultrabook pricy & almost same price with MACbook, why don't you buy macbook?
astria
post Jan 9 2012, 01:44 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ayil @ Jan 9 2012, 12:45 PM)
if its DX11.1, why?
juz got a laptop with GTX 570M...

at least i can stay relevant for slightly longer... laugh.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jan 9 2012, 02:20 PM

2,735 posts

okay, gimme that Transformer Prime with GPS fixed. uh, how much? brows.gif
astria
post Jan 9 2012, 02:26 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jan 9 2012, 02:20 PM)
okay, gimme that Transformer Prime with GPS fixed. uh, how much?  brows.gif
officially TF Prime do not come with GPS... Asus has removed it from the list of features...

the antenna is there, but signal is too weak to lock on...
Pistacio
post Jan 9 2012, 02:27 PM

458 posts

the battle of ultrabook O.o

they all look so nice to me ><
astria
post Jan 9 2012, 02:28 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(leoyew @ Jan 9 2012, 12:47 PM)
i hate Apple, how does that sound? laugh.gif

jokes aside, not everybody is suited for Mac OS X, or vice versa...
Keenxlimit
post Jan 9 2012, 02:41 PM

78 posts

Well said. I myself have problems when people tell me to use their Mac for whatever reason
I feel like a computer illiterate person because I'm not familiar with it a single bit. No idea how to even turn it off..
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 02:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 9 2012, 02:26 PM)
officially TF Prime do not come with GPS... Asus has removed it from the list of features...

Yeah, the 3G-capable Transformer Prime would be able to make up for the lack of GPS perhaps? sweat.gif
I guess not having a GPS is still okay la since most ppl already have a Garmin/Papago GPS nowadays laugh.gif
Which brings to the question, how to people use a 10" tablet as a GPS anyway... hmm.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(Keenxlimit @ Jan 9 2012, 02:41 PM)
Well said. I myself have problems when people tell me to use their Mac for whatever reason
I feel like a computer illiterate person because I'm not familiar with it a single bit. No idea how to even turn it off..
I feel you bro! laugh.gif
I couldn't even find the HDD last time, and don't even know how to copy and paste doh.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(leoyew @ Jan 9 2012, 12:47 PM)
For my case, I want to buy Macbook also cannot... most of the programs I used now can't be used on Macs sad.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 9 2012, 02:49 PM
emy_xvidia
post Jan 9 2012, 03:06 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 9 2012, 02:26 PM)

it did initially right? ya due to the fact that their engineers couldnt make things right, so there's the usual SOP, remove the feature officially. That's the easiest escape route for them. that's why i'm hoping for a replacement model with fixed GPS.

Added on January 9, 2012, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 9 2012, 02:47 PM)
Yeah, the 3G-capable Transformer Prime would be able to make up for the lack of GPS perhaps?  sweat.gif
I guess not having a GPS is still okay la since most ppl already have a Garmin/Papago GPS nowadays laugh.gif
Which brings to the question, how to people use a 10" tablet as a GPS anyway...  hmm.gif

it should be there despite whether we need to use it or not. It will come in handy when you least expect to use it. Furthermore, it was stated initially in the spec, but due to the fact that it'd be a an expensive things for them to recall all those shipped-out-Primes, they decided to remove it officially from the spec. Just a simple word, 'officially' and it's solved. this where that fanboyism takes part. Asus is putting hopes on those fanboys to make up some excuses for their failure to make everything's right in the retail unit. and guess what, no price deduction with removed GPS. Oh, i see Asus is starting to pave a way to become just like Apple. no, i wont be tricked by this marketing shit. I wont hate them, because they produce wonderful products, but be a smart user, they still ask you to pay the price even with lowered spec. No no no, not for me at least.

This post has been edited by emy_xvidia: Jan 9 2012, 03:16 PM
astria
post Jan 9 2012, 03:29 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jan 9 2012, 03:06 PM)
it did initially right? ya due to the fact that their engineers couldnt make things right, so there's the usual SOP, remove the feature officially. That's the easiest escape route for them. that's why i'm hoping for a replacement model with fixed GPS.
replacement? that will be TF301 already... laugh.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 9 2012, 02:47 PM)
Yeah, the 3G-capable Transformer Prime would be able to make up for the lack of GPS perhaps?  sweat.gif
Which brings to the question, how to people use a 10" tablet as a GPS anyway...  hmm.gif
no can't do... A-GPS is different from GPS...

This post has been edited by astria: Jan 9 2012, 03:30 PM
emy_xvidia
post Jan 9 2012, 03:34 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 9 2012, 03:29 PM)
what i meant was, a better model of the same Prime with a slight modification to the all-aluminum chassis that the current Prime has for better GPS reception. I believe Asus ain't that stupid, right? tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 03:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 9 2012, 03:29 PM)

Added on January 9, 2012, 3:30 pm

no can't do... A-GPS is different from GPS...
Can we just poke a hole at the back to improve signal quality? hehe laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jan 9 2012, 03:06 PM)

Added on January 9, 2012, 3:16 pm

it should be there despite whether we need to use it or not. It will come in handy when you least expect to use it. Furthermore, it was stated initially in the spec, but due to the fact that it'd be a an expensive things for them to recall all those shipped-out-Primes, they decided to remove it officially from the spec. Just a simple word, 'officially' and it's solved. this where that fanboyism takes part. Asus is putting hopes on those fanboys to make up some excuses for their failure to make everything's right in the retail unit. and guess what, no price deduction with removed GPS. Oh, i see Asus is starting to pave a way to become just like Apple. no, i wont be tricked by this marketing shit. I wont hate them, because they produce wonderful products, but be a smart user, they still ask you to pay the price even with lowered spec. No no no, not for me at least.
I have to admit I was a bit surprised that the GPS problem has been overlooked during QC... its kind of weird since it's no small problem laugh.gif
But its still so damn good to resist haha

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 9 2012, 03:42 PM
emy_xvidia
post Jan 9 2012, 03:48 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 9 2012, 03:41 PM)
Can we just poke a hole at the back to improve signal quality? hehe  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 3:42 pm

I have to admit I was a bit surprised that the GPS problem has been overlooked during QC... its kind of weird since it's no small problem laugh.gif
But its still so damn good to resist haha
ya, that one i cant deny. for the current markets of the tablets, Prime is really a real-world Transformer, a beast, a king, a sultan of all tablets lollll. only cacat a bit but still powerfool. laugh.gif tongue.gif

in b4 wacomouse suggests Alienware-made tablets somewhere in the near future. tongue.gif tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 03:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jan 9 2012, 03:48 PM)
ya, that one i cant deny. for the current markets of the tablets, Prime is really a real-world Transformer, a beast, a king, a sultan of all tablets lollll. only cacat a bit but still powerfool.  laugh.gif  tongue.gif

in b4 wacomouse suggests Alienware-made tablets somewhere in the near future.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Eh, I remembered there was an article saying a manufacturer was actually looking at designing tablets for gaming, was it Razer? hmm.gif

Update: wait, I think it was Crytek saying they're planning games for tablets haha wub.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 9 2012, 03:53 PM
astria
post Jan 9 2012, 03:58 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 9 2012, 03:52 PM)
Eh, I remembered there was an article saying a manufacturer was actually looking at designing tablets for gaming, was it Razer?  hmm.gif

Update: wait, I think it was Crytek saying they're planning games for tablets haha  wub.gif
honestly i think Nvidia and Qualcomm are already working on that... especially NV who already have the know-how to attract game developers to work with them...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 05:10 PM

24,193 posts

Acer Iconia A700 added... Quad-core, 1080p tablet shocking.gif

Toshiba Excite X10 added... Thinnest 10" tablet so far ~

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 9 2012, 05:12 PM
emy_xvidia
post Jan 9 2012, 05:16 PM

2,735 posts

this year will definitely be a year full of attractive choices. gotta get myself a quad-core tab, hope we will be spoilt with lots of choices. When there's a choice, there's a competition and I hope we'll get some pretty good spec tab with attractive prices. drool.gif

My wish now is, to get Asus TP with Win8 or a better spec Xiaomi Win8, if any. tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 05:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jan 9 2012, 05:16 PM)
this year will definitely be a year full of attractive choices. gotta get myself a quad-core tab, hope we will be spoilt with lots of choices. When there's a choice, there's a competition and I hope we'll get some pretty good spec tab with attractive prices.  drool.gif

My wish now is, to get Asus TP with Win8 or a better spec Xiaomi Win8, if any.  tongue.gif
Wow, I'm also looking for something like the TF Prime running on W8~ hehe, and good news is that Asus is looking into it: http://blog.laptopmag.com/asus-2012-tablet...sed-this-year-2
wkkm007
post Jan 9 2012, 07:26 PM

3,123 posts

wow damn nice
Lil Kiasu
post Jan 9 2012, 11:13 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 9 2012, 11:51 AM)
Its time to move on haha, better and sexier ones are coming  wub.gif
But but... I prefer sheer power over mobility lor~ tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 11:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Jan 9 2012, 11:13 PM)
But but... I prefer sheer power over mobility lor~ tongue.gif
MSI GT783 with Nvidia GTX580M, gooding? brows.gif
http://blog.laptopmag.com/msi-announces-co...e-580m-graphics
lee_what2004
post Jan 9 2012, 11:27 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Still no new 13'' powerhouse? sleep.gif
KVReninem
post Jan 9 2012, 11:30 PM

IX
5,369 posts

Why no something cool like Real steel phone -__-
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 11:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 9 2012, 11:27 PM)
Still no new 13'' powerhouse?  sleep.gif
Yalo, its sad.... its something I'll be very interested in as well sad.gif
Lil Kiasu
post Jan 9 2012, 11:43 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 9 2012, 11:19 PM)
MSI GT783 with Nvidia GTX580M, gooding?  brows.gif
http://blog.laptopmag.com/msi-announces-co...e-580m-graphics
Gimme a 15" lappy that's slim and light enough and yet able to contain the goodies with it~ tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 9 2012, 11:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Jan 9 2012, 11:43 PM)
Gimme a 15" lappy that's slim and light enough and yet able to contain the goodies with it~ tongue.gif
Well, the new 15" ultrabooks are coming bro, can look forward to those thumbup.gif
Lil Kiasu
post Jan 9 2012, 11:58 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 9 2012, 11:44 PM)
Well, the new 15" ultrabooks are coming bro, can look forward to those  thumbup.gif
Wait liao~ tongue.gif
chew3344
post Jan 10 2012, 12:02 AM

282 posts

ASpire timeline ultra drool.gif
lee_what2004
post Jan 10 2012, 07:56 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Samsung Series 9, 13''/15''
1.13KG for 13'', 1.58KG for 15'', 1600x900 matte 400 nit screen, unibody aluminium..

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Jan 10 2012, 07:57 AM
riku2replica
post Jan 10 2012, 08:17 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 9 2012, 12:33 PM)
GeForce 600 not DX11.1?

Apparently Not, I suspect GTX 660M would most likely GTX 570M performance.

Apparently Asus TP still have Wifi and GPS issue. sweat.gif
astria
post Jan 10 2012, 08:48 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jan 10 2012, 08:17 AM)
well, at least WiFi is semi fixed with an extra antenna...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 10 2012, 09:45 AM

24,193 posts

HP Envy Spectre 14 added... Oh my God it looks so nice *_________*

""So what does $1,400 get you, aside from a memorable design? We're told the laptop comes standard with a 14-inch, 1600 x 900 Radiance Display, Core i5-2467M CPU, 4GB of RAM, a nine-hour battery, backlit keyboard, carrying case and -- get this -- an NFC chip built into the palm rest for transferring URLs from your phone's browser. Other bells and whistles include Intel Wireless Display, HP's CoolSense technology, Beats, HP Wireless Audio, full copies of Photoshop and Premiere Elements and a two-year subscription to Norton Internet Security. Got that, guys? Upgrade options include a 256GB SSD and an extra 4GB of RAM, but other than that, what you see is what you get (and to be fair, you get a lot)."

Added on January 10, 2012, 9:52 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 10 2012, 07:56 AM)
1.13KG for 13'', 1.58KG for 15'', 1600x900 matte 400 nit screen, unibody aluminium..
Added onto the front page~
Thanks for sharing sifu!
The screen is crazy wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 10 2012, 09:52 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 10 2012, 09:57 AM

24,193 posts

Asus Eee Pad MeMO ME171, ME370T and high-end Transformer Prime TF700T (its crazy!) added thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 10 2012, 11:12 AM

24,193 posts

Asus Eee PC Flare 1025C and Eee PC X101CH netbook and upgraded Zenbooks added thumbup.gif

Pretty dissapointed with the Flares... they turned out to be a whole lot hideous than advertised sad.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 10 2012, 11:12 AM
SUSsoundsyst64
post Jan 10 2012, 11:17 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Sorry. I'm sticking with heavy notebook with future upgrade flexibility.
A good way to exercise your shoulder biggrin.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 10 2012, 11:19 AM

24,193 posts

Lenovo Ideapad Yoga added- A Windows8 powered, tablet/ultrabook wub.gif
sifekangel
post Jan 10 2012, 12:33 PM

413 posts

Lenovo's IdeaPad U310 and U410 Ultrabooks start at an inexpensive $699, weigh a little more than the competition
http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/08/lenovo-...ooks-announced/
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 10 2012, 12:39 PM

24,193 posts

Updated, thanks bro!
Wow, the pricing is getting more and more competitive!
Riddhy
post Jan 10 2012, 12:49 PM

1,956 posts

1.13 kg for samsung series 9 wow!!!

Added on January 10, 2012, 12:52 pmthe ultrabooks of ces looks cheaper or with a cheaper build thats why they can cut the cost and sell to usd 699 meanwhile asus released a u36sg laptop successor to u36sd at 799 with core i5 2450m+ gt 520m

This post has been edited by Riddhy: Jan 10 2012, 12:52 PM
fJok3R
post Jan 10 2012, 01:40 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 10 2012, 07:56 AM)
this one i like thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 10 2012, 03:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jan 10 2012, 01:40 PM)
this one i like  thumbup.gif
Same here, dislike the price though haha sad.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jan 10 2012, 03:43 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jan 10 2012, 08:17 AM)
heard it will be fixed in the newer and improved model of Prime with the 1080P IPS screen by changing the back case to something that will improve the signal reception of Wifi, BT and GPS as well. rclxms.gif The drawback is, you gotta wait again. rclxms.gif
astria
post Jan 10 2012, 04:17 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jan 10 2012, 03:43 PM)
heard it will be fixed in the newer and improved model of Prime with the 1080P IPS screen by changing the back case to something that will improve the signal reception of Wifi, BT and GPS as well.  rclxms.gif The drawback is, you gotta wait again.  rclxms.gif
now Asus has 4 models of Android Tabs under it's belt...

TF201 aka Prime
TF700T aka Prime (also)... 10" 1920x1200, 8MP rear + 2MP front shooter, material fix, 32GB US$599, rest same as TF201
ME171 aka MeMo... 7" 1280x800, Qualcomm MSM8260 1.2GHz, stylus input, US$299
ME307T aka MeMo (also... 7" 1280x800, "full blown Tegra 3" quad core, US$249 <--- ME GUSTA!

TF700T and ME171:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/01/09/ce...s-7-memo-me171/

ME171:
http://androidandme.com/2012/01/devices/as...s-eee-pad-memo/

ME307T:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/01/09/ce...tablet-for-250/
http://androidandme.com/2012/01/devices/as...egra-3-for-250/

Kindle Fire anyone still? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Jan 10 2012, 04:34 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 10 2012, 04:34 PM

24,193 posts

I'm very poisoned!!! laugh.gif
The ME171 seems pretty decent~
astria
post Jan 10 2012, 09:54 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 10 2012, 04:34 PM)
I'm very poisoned!!! laugh.gif
The ME171 seems pretty decent~
ME307T is my cup of tea instead... laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 10 2012, 10:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 10 2012, 09:54 PM)
ME307T is my cup of tea instead... laugh.gif
Yeah it is quite cheap shocking.gif
Can't wait to see it haha~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 11 2012, 10:06 AM

24,193 posts

Added (details at 1st page): thumbup.gif

Razer- Project Fiona

Samsung 9 series (15")

Samsung 5 series (15/17")

Toshiba's 7"/ 13" prototype

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 11 2012, 10:06 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 11 2012, 10:28 AM

24,193 posts

Added (details in 1st page):
Dell XPS 13 (13")

Samsung Series 7 Gamer (17")

fJok3R
post Jan 11 2012, 10:28 AM

1,419 posts

no news on alienware? who know they might produce m13x, lol
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 11 2012, 10:43 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jan 11 2012, 10:28 AM)
no news on alienware? who know they might produce m13x, lol
Hmm... seems quite unlikely I guess laugh.gif
Alienware doesn't update their models that often sad.gif
DoubleU
post Jan 11 2012, 07:33 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

samsung gaming laptop... its like confuse leh... want to be shiny like alienware then paiseh want become sager...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 11 2012, 07:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 11 2012, 07:33 PM)
samsung gaming laptop... its like confuse leh... want to be shiny like alienware then paiseh want become sager...
Wah, now that you've mentioned it, it does look that way haha laugh.gif
good point!
The insides are Alienware-like, but the outside is too glossy I guess for a gaming laptop...

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 11 2012, 07:56 PM
DoubleU
post Jan 11 2012, 10:33 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

actually, just went through some of the photos of the samsung series 7 gamer laptop. Looks quite good on the outside, the front abit like alienware, the back abit like the asus G74, the photos i see the paint job on the lid looks abit like car metallic paint. But once you reach inside, brushed aluminum . No gaming feel about that man... that's the biggest turn off. The brushed aluminum combine with that circle 'turbo' button... looks damn weird.

still a messed up gaming laptop imo
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 12 2012, 09:50 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 11 2012, 10:33 PM)
actually, just went through some of the photos of the samsung series 7 gamer laptop. Looks quite good on the outside, the front abit like alienware, the back abit like the asus G74, the photos i see the paint job on the lid looks abit like car metallic paint. But once you reach inside, brushed aluminum . No gaming feel about that man... that's the biggest turn off. The brushed aluminum combine with that circle 'turbo' button... looks damn weird.

still a messed up gaming laptop imo
Give them time, they're still new haha, the more competition, the better it is for us consumers anyway haha laugh.gif
I'm more worried about their driver updates sweat.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 12 2012, 09:51 AM

24,193 posts

As pointed out by lee_what2004 and cowithgun sifu, there seems to be no powerful (GPU) 13" this year in CES... i has a sad sad.gif
DoubleU
post Jan 12 2012, 10:37 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

13" > ultrabook domination

SUSsoundsyst64
post Jan 12 2012, 10:41 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 11 2012, 07:33 PM)
not look like sager meh. the power plug on the left side, not at the back laugh.gif
sifekangel
post Jan 12 2012, 10:51 AM

413 posts

LG's brand new Super Ultrabook™ Series, the Z330 and the Z430, offer powerful performance and sleek design unseen in ordinary Ultrabooks.

Not to be confused with the bulkier P330 13.3-incher we saw last month, the new X-Note Z330 looks to have toned up to gain membership to the mwah-mwah Ultrabook clique.

It's a mere 14.7mm (0.58-inches) in thickness, 1.21kg (2.67 pounds) in weight and sports a solid state drive to help it boot up in under ten seconds.

What's not so Ultrabookish, however, is the price: the Z330 has been announced in Korea starting at ₩1,700,000 ($1,500) for the Core i5 variant with 4GB RAM, a 120GB SSD and a fairly usual range of connectivity, including HDMI, USB 3.0 and Intel WiDi for streaming content wirelessly to your HDTV. Opting for a Core i7 and a 256GB SSD will add a hefty ₩900,000 ($800) on top of that. We've duly prepared a rant about value for money, but we're going to save it until there's an official US price tag instead.

#Source#

Riddhy
post Jan 12 2012, 01:18 PM

1,956 posts

asus ROG G75 series with ivy quad+ gtx 670m WOW OOOT

coming in april they say

http://www.computerbase.de/news/2012-01/as...epler-ab-april/
ALeUNe
post Jan 12 2012, 01:44 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

We've seen couple of working Ivy Bridge Ultrabook at CES12.
I think Ivy Bridge will be here soon.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 12 2012, 02:19 PM

24,193 posts

Wow, many thanks for the update guys notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Damn the magic flip of the Aspire C5 is so cool!!!! I hope it really does come with it when its marketed thumbup.gif
But I'd noticed that the screen wobbles as well apart from the slightly flimsy keyboard... guess we can't ask for too much over here also haha

Can't wait for Ivy Bridge liao haha wub.gif
pandera999
post Jan 12 2012, 02:42 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

tablet oso have SSD T.T
sifekangel
post Jan 12 2012, 03:51 PM

413 posts

Vizio thin-and-light laptops & M-Series tablet

#Source#

#Source#
astria
post Jan 12 2012, 03:54 PM

22,158 posts

still no other tablets grab the attention like Asus... :lol
pandera999
post Jan 12 2012, 07:04 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

wow drool.gif
DoubleU
post Jan 12 2012, 07:40 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

G75 coming out... the G5x series still stuck on G53... zzz asus why u no love 15.6 laptops?
Ivan113
post Jan 12 2012, 08:34 PM

925 posts

WOW! nice thread there OP
AlexLai
post Jan 12 2012, 08:50 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 12 2012, 07:40 PM)
G75 coming out... the G5x series still stuck on G53... zzz asus why u no love 15.6 laptops?
Perhaps they are skipping the G54 to G55 directly? Well, it did take them a while before the G53 was announced after the G73.

Edit: Yes, G55 it is.

computerbase.de/news/2012-01/asus-ivy-bridge-notebooks-mit-nvidias-kepler-ab-april/

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jan 12 2012, 09:10 PM
ayidafiq
post Jan 12 2012, 08:57 PM

highballers
739 posts

macbook is still the best.
AlexLai
post Jan 12 2012, 09:00 PM

5,531 posts

Not much love for Apple here (un)fortunately.

Added on January 12, 2012, 9:14 pmNew notebooks from Asus:

New K, N and G-series with pictures and product specs revealed.

Sos: computerbase.de/news/2012-01/asus-ivy-bridge-notebooks-mit-nvidias-kepler-ab-april/

Note, site is in German, you have to translate it.

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jan 12 2012, 09:14 PM
baconcheese
post Jan 14 2012, 12:25 AM

The Samsung 9 series (15") is damn sexy, really want to get it but wahlau not cheap USD 1500!
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 14 2012, 12:32 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(baconcheese @ Jan 14 2012, 12:25 AM)
The Samsung 9 series (15") is damn sexy, really want to get it but wahlau not cheap USD 1500!
Samsung's notebooks are never cheap sad.gif

Added on January 14, 2012, 12:33 am
QUOTE(ayidafiq @ Jan 12 2012, 08:57 PM)
macbook is still the best.
No Apple products released in this year's CES2012 unfortunately...

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 14 2012, 12:33 AM
astria
post Jan 14 2012, 12:34 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 14 2012, 12:32 AM)
Samsung's products are never cheap  sad.gif

Added on January 14, 2012, 12:33 am

No Apple products released in this year's CES2012 unfortunately...
corrected... laugh.gif

Apple says that CES is not aligned with their product launch timetable, so they are not participating...

this year is the last time MS will be playing as well...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 14 2012, 12:36 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 14 2012, 12:34 AM)
corrected... laugh.gif

Apple says that CES is not aligned with their product launch timetable, so they are not participating...

this year is the last time MS will be playing as well...
Eh? Samsung's cameras are cheap haha, the phones are not too expensive right? hmm.gif
Tabs are expensive though...

Thanks for the input bro~

MS not joining? Din't see that one.. must've missed it cry.gif
astria
post Jan 14 2012, 12:39 AM

22,158 posts

erm... i won't call Samsung NX family of camera cheap...

well, now comparing with Asus ME370T, my Galaxy S II looks stupidly expensive... sweat.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 14 2012, 12:39 AM

24,193 posts

Anyway, I'm particularly interested in the Dell XPS 13, anyone? brows.gif

Its no gaming machine, but its fast and very well built, looks nice as well wub.gif

http://blog.laptopmag.com/dell-xps-13-ultr...connect-for-999

Added on January 14, 2012, 12:40 am
QUOTE(astria @ Jan 14 2012, 12:39 AM)
erm... i won't call Samsung NX family of camera cheap...

well, now comparing with Asus ME370T, my Galaxy S II looks stupidly expensive... sweat.gif
Aiya, the ME370T isn't out yet, the price may be different when it comes right?
Some more its newer technology yo haha laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 14 2012, 12:40 AM
Ikmal91
post Jan 14 2012, 12:49 AM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

I'm with you on the XPS 13. <3
Maybe I should get it for moving around instead of carrying my DV6. O.O
baconcheese
post Jan 14 2012, 01:23 AM

Samsung Series 9 15" video.

1600×900 resolution, up to 10 hours of battery life, measures 0.58 inches thick and weighs around 3.5 pounds.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=playe...d&v=JWVXY6CIYmE

This post has been edited by baconcheese: Jan 14 2012, 01:25 AM
DoubleU
post Jan 14 2012, 01:45 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

hm, still doesn't look as good as the XPS M1530/1330... also the build quality on that was awesome

Added on January 14, 2012, 1:45 ampity about the 8600gs issue

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jan 14 2012, 01:45 AM
ClassifiedGamer07
post Jan 14 2012, 12:10 PM

106 posts

Razer's Project Fiona

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCN5q7Xo9qI

drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by ClassifiedGamer07: Jan 14 2012, 12:11 PM
astria
post Jan 14 2012, 01:41 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ClassifiedGamer07 @ Jan 14 2012, 12:10 PM)
Razer's Project Fiona

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCN5q7Xo9qI

drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
honestly i dun think it's gonna take off...

u could ve juz connect a Bluetooth controller to ur tab, and then WiDi/DLNA onto a TV... and Razer being Razer, it sure will cost u a limp to get one...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 17 2012, 01:15 PM

24,193 posts

Toshiba Portege M930- Toshiba's Slider? laugh.gif

I'm not exactly very confident with this one laugh.gif
Source: http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/13/toshiba...hands-on-video/

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 17 2012, 01:17 PM
Ikmal91
post Jan 17 2012, 07:08 PM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 17 2012, 01:15 PM)
Toshiba Portege M930- Toshiba's Slider? laugh.gif

I'm not exactly very confident with this one laugh.gif
Source: http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/13/toshiba...hands-on-video/
Seems like it could break easily. doh.gif
ALeUNe
post Jan 31 2012, 12:58 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

Ivy Bridge IGP
AF & AA implementation is still a big ??
sifekangel
post Jan 31 2012, 08:04 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Jan 14 2012, 12:49 AM)
I'm with you on the XPS 13. <3
Maybe I should get it for moving around instead of carrying my DV6. O.O
tried my fren's XPS 15... d cooling system isn't so good... HOT HOT~~

0.0729sec    1.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:36 PM