difficulty doing deadlift after wearing glove

TSqueenc
post Jan 8 2012, 08:45 PM, updated 14y ago

1,853 posts

does any1 having difficulty doing deadlift especially heavy weight

this is my first time using glove during lifting
and i found out, i cant hold the barbell tightly/firmly/nicely after using glove

im using LP support glove 750

http://www.lp-supports.com/products/hand_and_wrist_supports/
SUSPepper
post Jan 8 2012, 09:16 PM

427 posts

then dont use glove, i doesn't use glove
VeeJay
post Jan 8 2012, 10:17 PM

3,854 posts

Normally, if the glove is padded or has thick padding, then its gonna be difficult to fully cuff the bar handle. Is the LP glove thick around the palm?
shankar_dass93
post Jan 9 2012, 12:11 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 8 2012, 10:17 PM)
Normally, if the glove is padded or has thick padding, then its gonna be difficult to fully cuff the bar handle. Is the LP glove thick around the palm?
What veejay said is absolutely true. I used to use addidas gloves before and was able to deadlift with gloves. After changing it to HArbinger, I can't deadlift with my gloves anymore as it has a very thick palm padding.

This post has been edited by shankar_dass93: Jan 9 2012, 12:13 AM
TSqueenc
post Jan 9 2012, 12:39 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Pepper @ Jan 8 2012, 09:16 PM)
then dont use glove, i doesn't use glove
ur hand dont get bruises?

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 8 2012, 10:17 PM)
yeah, LP kinda thick, any wat to overcome it..(change the way i hold the barbell)???

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jan 9 2012, 12:11 AM)
What veejay said is absolutely true. I used to use addidas gloves before and was able to deadlift with gloves. After changing it to HArbinger, I can't deadlift with my gloves anymore as it has a very thick palm padding.
how much ur adidas glove?
shankar_dass93
post Jan 9 2012, 01:57 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(queenc @ Jan 9 2012, 12:39 AM)

yeah, LP kinda thick, any wat to overcome it..(change the way i hold the barbell)???
I bought it fr rm115 from fitness concept. It lasted fr about 8 months though
SUSPepper
post Jan 9 2012, 07:52 AM

427 posts

with the right technique of holding the bar, you wont get bruise. i thought rippletits for a video about it somewhere
VeeJay
post Jan 9 2012, 10:35 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jan 9 2012, 12:11 AM)
Harbinger is good, but sadly, they dont bring all the models to Malaysia, not sure why?! doh.gif

SO far, I see only egonutritions who carries it, do anyone else carrying the brand? Even them, its out of stock most of time.

The Big grip II is not for us, better go for Classic model Wristwrap or Training Grip Wristwrap.

As for better grip on deadlift, you could try switching your grip, one hand is inner grip, and the other using outer grip.

moe81
post Jan 9 2012, 10:44 AM

265 posts

actually ur palm won't bruise if u dun use gloves. provided u master the technique of holdin the bar in the proper way( firm grip placin the bar in the creases of ur fingers without any movement of the bar in ur palm) in whatever exercise. bruises is caused by the movement and rubbing of the bar in ur palm while workouts. trust me. i've been lifting for almost 8 years. never worn gloves ever(weel maybe first 2 years i have). and my palm are as soft as girls.

gloves won't help in dead lifting. use lifting straps. they're the best.

This post has been edited by moe81: Jan 9 2012, 10:48 AM
mikehuan
post Jan 9 2012, 10:46 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(queenc @ Jan 9 2012, 12:39 AM)

you'll get callouses in your hands, which is pretty normal if deads are part of your programme and you're not using gloves.

a few ways to grip the barbell, you might wanna google them:
double overhand grip, mixed grip and the clean or snatch grip, not very sure of the name (thumb overlaps forefinger)

i use all 3 depending on the weight. lighter sets are double overhand, heavier ones mixed.

of course you can use straps to avoid grip problems, but at this point probably not the best idea.

0.0180sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:06 PM