anyone with Myvi installed stiff rings, any feedbacks? I'm planning to redo my alignment, might as well install the stiff rings first so that 1 time finish do the alignment.
Stiff Rings...Rigid Collars...
Jan 28 2012, 10:15 PM
49 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
anyone with Myvi installed stiff rings, any feedbacks? I'm planning to redo my alignment, might as well install the stiff rings first so that 1 time finish do the alignment.
Jan 29 2012, 02:46 PM
Jan 30 2012, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(zeone @ Jan 29 2012, 08:56 PM) Good4yu, Bro!! i have 1 question..i've noticed some ppl installed 2 sets for top and bottom..is the Stiff Ring set (6pcs) for Myvi considered full set? or do I need to get 2 sets to make it complete?Wish yu all the very best! As long yu do not xpect miracles, yu'd b happy with the improvement... |
Feb 4 2012, 01:23 PM
bad news..today went to get the stiff rings to be installed on my myvi..however, got problem in centering the subframe chassis hole to the main chassis hole while installing the stiff ring.. the whole piece of subframe chassis needs to be moved to correct the centering for all 4 holes..could only install the stiff rings for 2 holes, then the another 2 holes hard to center it for stiff ring installation..in the end, abandoned the stiff ring upgrade, all removed..
anyone experienced such situation in myvi? can the whole piece of subframe chassis be moved in order to correct the centering of hole for all positiion?? This post has been edited by taaron: Feb 4 2012, 01:24 PM |
Feb 4 2012, 05:45 PM
Feb 4 2012, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(zeone @ Feb 4 2012, 09:29 PM) Sorry 2hear re yr subframe so badly misaligned... I think they have tried loosen all bolts with stiff rings on it, but the subframe is too stubborn cant be moved to do the centering..Somehow feel, if all points were properly fitted b4 try install Stiff Rings, mayb NOT tighten ALL points until ALL bolts & Stiff Rings are in place FIRST. Then only...tighten each bolt bit by bit in diagonal sequence while checking proper seating of Stiff Rings. Repeat till ALL bolts done. Wish yu all the very best!! when u meant to tighten each bolt bit by bit in diagonal sequence, do u mean tighten every bolt in Left,Right,Left,Right (X pattern, similar to tightening rims lug nuts method) sequence?? |
Feb 6 2012, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(stiffring @ Feb 6 2012, 12:18 PM) Hi all, Hi Stiff Ring,Kindly contact Chin 012-670 5167 we will help you to solve this issue. You can come over to us and install at our panel installer in Cheras. Fyi, some Myvi subframe is really badly misalign but not to worry, we will help you solve it. Further enquiries, you can contact us via info@stiffring.com Thank you, Stiff Ring My location is in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, therefore I could not visit you and your panel installer in Cheras. There's only 1 authorised dealer (Derek) over here which he had assessed my subframe to be misaligned and unable to progress further on the installation. Anyone able to help out around my location? |
Feb 6 2012, 11:43 PM
Thanks for following up on my problem
Feb 7 2012, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(huakenny @ Feb 7 2012, 09:05 AM) taaron, got bang b4, but hit dog only (bumper area) and also a very slight knock on front bonnet which is not considered significant, both different occasion.. based on the installer, he mentioned that the stiff ring could be installed if the subframe can be moved. Is the subframe movable?ur myvi got bang before o not? othwerwise it should be fine to install. if really misalign, then have to pull it back the chassis in order to install back the subframe with stiff ring This post has been edited by taaron: Feb 7 2012, 07:59 PM |
Feb 13 2012, 12:59 AM
Feb 13 2012, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(huakenny @ Feb 13 2012, 12:31 PM) there's only an authorized dealer for Stiff Ring in KK, so shouldn't be difficult to figure out..hehe..bro, are you up to the task for installing the stiff rings for me? |
Feb 14 2012, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(huakenny @ Feb 14 2012, 09:24 AM) hmm.....i will let u know...coz currently quite bz n got this SKM exam this week.... will let u know no problem with that as i'm not urgent to get it done..takkan kk dealer cant fix? lolz....is there any other myvi fitted yet? as per the KK dealer, he is going to fit the stiff rings on another myvi, after that he will let me know the outcome.. |
Feb 16 2012, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(zeone @ Feb 16 2012, 10:04 AM) If me were Bro Taaron, I'd juz go straight there, not need 2wait anymore!! Added on February 16, 2012, 10:06 am Why not go see Bro huakenny's ppl also in KK? Better difference, rite? If yu kno wat I mean... QUOTE(huakenny @ Feb 16 2012, 07:11 PM) nola.....better sms me before come....later full then i veli paiseh edi cant check d car yea, have visited u last time for sideskirts and door panel.. before i go to ur place for the stiff ring installation, i'll ask the dealer first what's the status as he not yet update me for a long time, the rings still with him now..will sms u for the arrangement at a later time, now quite busy..taaron should met me before wit others if x mistaken |
Mar 27 2012, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(huakenny @ Mar 27 2012, 07:56 PM) Taaron, hey bro, my case no news..lol..i just saw the pics u have posted on FB..this Saturday i'm available, plan to make appointment with you for the stiff rings..are you ok on this Saturday and is stock available?how ur case? i had successfully installed the stiff ring to a myvi.....not an easy job....took an hour with proper equipments to fit it in.... |
Mar 28 2012, 05:42 PM
Apr 4 2012, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(huakenny @ Apr 4 2012, 05:46 PM) comfort wise, i don't see any significant improvements as i'm using low profile tyres..noise wise, driving through rough roads, still got some noise, but those noise are from my interior parts (dashboard and other plastic panels).. handling wise, can't really judge the performance of it as my stock absorbers are too soft even i'm now using stiffer springs from QNC21 spec, therefore cornering feels floaty.. however, there is 1 obvious difference after getting those rings installed..passing over speed bumps makes a difference, not sure how to explain but it is a positive result.. |
Apr 5 2012, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(zeone @ Apr 5 2012, 01:46 PM) Congratz, Bro taaron!! not really many mods done, btw things that i've installed that affect handling are front strut bar, rear anti roll bar, sport springs (Toyota bB specs) and the 17" wheels..the floaty handling feel might be due to the stock absorbers and soft sidewall tyres..See yu finally got yrs done... As for performance & handling, dun feel yu'd get significant diff since yu've modded yr ride so much as is. Mayb on a stock one...? So yr main improvement wld b the feel @ the Steering Wheel...? my main improvement not sure if it is the steering wheel, but a type of different feel when going through speed bumps..much more firm and steady i would say.. |
| Change to: | 0.0303sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:02 AM |