Stiff Rings...Rigid Collars...

TSzeone
post Feb 5 2012, 08:29 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Feb 5 2012, 06:12 PM)
So based on the above, is it safe to say that new cars/cars with good steering response will not need stuff rings?
Nope. Even brand new cars stand to gain from installing Stiff Rings... rclxms.gif

Fyi my car was only abt 8 mths old when I installed mine. And the difference in feel esp @steering wheel was immediate & of significance.
At installation time, the gap in the subframe bolt holes cld be seen! And that gap was filled up by the Stiff Rings!
Juz imagine the forces at play with that kind of gap...when the car is in motion? tongue.gif

To me, it's a small investment...
Not like a bodykit which is yelling at everyone else on the road!
Stiff Rings are small, not seen BUT felt...
No one knows except the car owner... thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on February 5, 2012, 8:36 pmps. A good example of how much the subframe bolts & relative holes in the bodyshell could be so MISaligned is that of Bro Taaron's case.

If the subframe holes are well-aligned to fit the holes in the body, then putting in the Stiff Rings wld hv been a breeze! With even spacing in the holes for the bolts? Kinda centralised? Correct?

However, it's so out of alignment that it was practically impossible to juz directly slot in the Stiff Rings to bolt them together!! The SPACE just wasn't there!! sad.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 5 2012, 08:38 PM
TSzeone
post Feb 6 2012, 09:57 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(stiffring @ Feb 6 2012, 02:49 PM)
Hi, we have contact the mention dealer and they will get back to you again after they try another way to install at their other Myvi.

We also replied you in email, thank you.

Stiff Ring
Hi Stiff Ring....

Tks a meg for yr responses here re Bro Taaron's case! thumbup.gif
Am happy to note that yu guys are keeping an eye to posts here.
It's the way2go to ensure all prospective & current customers feel that yu guys do really care abt their decisions to install yr products... rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
(Like Mr Chin did for me....rber the Alor Star guy?)

That's the main reason this thread was started...to provide a place for users to get other users' views & reviews.
AND to provide a neutral platform for Stiff Ring to respond to users problems. smile.gif

Keep up the good work, guys! thumbup.gif
TSzeone
post Feb 8 2012, 10:54 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Feb 7 2012, 07:58 PM)
got bang b4, but hit dog only (bumper area) and also a very slight knock on front bonnet which is not considered significant, both different occasion.. based on the installer, he mentioned that the stiff ring could be installed if the subframe can be moved. Is the subframe movable?
Since Stiff Ring ppl has oledi responded to yr prob...as below:
QUOTE(stiffring @ Feb 6 2012, 02:49 PM)
Hi, we have contact the mention dealer and they will get back to you again after they try another way to install at their other Myvi.

We also replied you in email, thank you.

Stiff Ring
Best solution 4a good conclusion to yr prob is to go back to the same dealer. Do give them a call first 2confirm they oledi hv the solution tho.

Best wishes! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 8 2012, 10:56 AM
TSzeone
post Feb 12 2012, 06:17 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Feb 6 2012, 11:43 PM)
Thanks for following up on my problem smile.gif
Hi Bro...
Any updates/progress in yr case?
Sincerely hope all well, solved & enjoying installation now... smile.gif
TSzeone
post Feb 15 2012, 04:13 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Feb 14 2012, 07:14 PM)
find me next week should be ok....if they still cant fix it for you..... my man should be able to fix it without any problems brows.gif
Wow! Bro huakenny...yu provide "overseas" service? Or got KK rep? thumbup.gif
TSzeone
post Feb 16 2012, 10:04 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Feb 15 2012, 10:44 PM)
I got workshop at kk
thumbup.gif
If me were Bro Taaron, I'd juz go straight there, not need 2wait anymore!! smile.gif

Added on February 16, 2012, 10:06 am
QUOTE(taaron @ Feb 14 2012, 07:01 PM)
no problem with that as i'm not urgent to get it done..

as per the KK dealer, he is going to fit the stiff rings on another myvi, after that he will let me know the outcome..
Why not go see Bro huakenny's ppl also in KK? Better difference, rite?
If yu kno wat I mean... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 16 2012, 10:06 AM
TSzeone
post Feb 17 2012, 08:00 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Feb 16 2012, 08:54 PM)
hehe, sure i'll go visit him as he has assured me installation no problem..
yea, have visited u last time for sideskirts and door panel.. before i go to ur place for the stiff ring installation, i'll ask the dealer first what's the status as he not yet update me for a long time, the rings still with him now..will sms u for the arrangement at a later time, now quite busy..
Understood, Bro!
And yup, YOU are the PAYMASTER...must nvr 4get that! Haha! thumbup.gif
TSzeone
post Feb 17 2012, 04:29 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(moon* @ Feb 17 2012, 10:25 AM)
hey stiffring / madman / shinjite

been eyeing here for awhile tongue.gif

i m seeing most of the rings is only implementation is only 1 sided n not 2 sided.
...get wat i mean one side only? even for the ring which connect inbetween the crossmember n the subframe??

i think its best fit double sided between the crossmember n subframe like below

not sure if the TS shared this video; but wanna help promote this collar too smile.gif

for those who have installed tis, TS, madman n shinjite; pls share with me on the collar ring which connects inbetween the crossmember n subframe is one sided or 2 sided?? smile.gif tq biggrin.gif

Hi...
Firstly tks a meg 4yr contributions/info re this mod...

Juz2share...feel the collar ring which connects inbetween the crossmember n subframe is one sided or 2-sided wld depend on how the bolt is bolted onto the chassis.

AFAIK, for Saga BLM/FL, that upper collar ring kenot b 2-sided cos the bolt is bolted DIRECTLY onto the Chassis body ie NO gap 2b filled up. tongue.gif

Dunno abt other makes/models tho.

Over to yu, Stiff Ring... smile.gif

TSzeone
post Feb 25 2012, 08:51 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Feb 24 2012, 07:10 PM)
any updates TS?
Bro Taaron probably has yet 2try re-fitting to his ride...

However, Stiff Rings ppl are coming out with more support for more car makes/models.

Maybe with more cars being fitted with Stiff Rings soon, there wld be more to discuss... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 25 2012, 08:53 PM
TSzeone
post Feb 27 2012, 11:17 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Feb 27 2012, 08:08 PM)
how crossmember alignment using stiff ring can improve handling??.. crossmember does not link/interfere with any suspension part of the car...
Hi...

For more info & clarification, it's easier 4yu 2get from their sites :

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=387...&type=1&theater

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stiff-Ring/275332785827140

http://www.stiffring.com

Sincerely hope yu can find the answers there... thumbup.gif
TSzeone
post Feb 28 2012, 12:06 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 28 2012, 01:11 AM)
your links explain nothing.
Oh? doh.gif
If not wrong, there is even an animation vid on how Stiff Rings help...in mass production vehicles.
Or similarly, pls Google for Rigid Collars by Spoon for videos of similar nature.

For a more direct approach, perhaps yu can try email yr queries to : info@stiffring.com

Or even call Chin @ 012-670 5167 for a more personal communication? thumbup.gif

Best wishes & Good Luck! icon_rolleyes.gif

ps. Juz wanna make it very clear that me hv nothing to do with Stiff Rings except as a satisfied customer... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 28 2012, 12:08 PM
TSzeone
post Feb 28 2012, 03:03 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Feb 28 2012, 12:31 PM)
Hi the_catacombs was enquiring about how stiff rings in crossmember can improve handling , we all know stiff rings are fitted in subframe ... but crossmember is different ... hope this help u understand whats going on smile.gif
OIC...ok... sweat.gif
Me not know/realise the diff there...paiseh... blush.gif
Sincere apologies, Bro... notworthy.gif

Added on February 28, 2012, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 28 2012, 12:34 PM)
yes i would like to know too smile.gif

stiff ring/mr chin any comments just to clear our doubts?
Sincerely hope Mr Chin/Stiff Ring ppl do come in here, read yr posts soon & can kindly clarify.... rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 28 2012, 03:06 PM
TSzeone
post Mar 3 2012, 09:08 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 1 2012, 12:50 PM)
thanks bro

Added on March 1, 2012, 6:03 pm
LOL i just called chin from stiff rings and he said 3-4 weeks.

so confirmed that we wont be seeing stiff rings in action at dato sagor lo  cry.gif
3-4 weeks for...custom production?
Or...? tongue.gif
TSzeone
post Mar 30 2012, 08:10 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(jaymansion @ Mar 29 2012, 04:25 PM)
good stuff....now waiting them to install the rear ring to my mitsubishi colt....
Good4yu & yr ride, Bro!! thumbup.gif

Yup, an affordable, yet simple mod but with significant benefits... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSzeone
post Apr 5 2012, 01:46 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Apr 4 2012, 06:44 PM)
comfort wise, i don't see any significant improvements as i'm using low profile tyres..

noise wise, driving through rough roads, still got some noise, but those noise are from my interior parts (dashboard and other plastic panels)..

handling wise, can't really judge the performance of it as my stock absorbers are too soft even i'm now using stiffer springs from QNC21 spec, therefore cornering feels floaty..

however, there is 1 obvious difference after getting those rings installed..passing over speed bumps makes a difference, not sure how to explain but it is a positive result..
Congratz, Bro taaron!! rclxms.gif
See yu finally got yrs done...

As for performance & handling, dun feel yu'd get significant diff since yu've modded yr ride so much as is. Mayb on a stock one...?

So yr main improvement wld b the feel @ the Steering Wheel...? tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0219sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:22 AM