Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

Hapeng
post Dec 7 2012, 09:31 AM

1,031 posts

im signing up for FSM, anyone needs a referral? dont know what good it does but give me your ref no and name pls
Hapeng
post Dec 8 2012, 11:13 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 8 2012, 09:25 AM)
Cannot do like that, referral is like this

- Referror send referree e-mail and name to FSM
- FSM send e-mail to referree
- Referree sign up using that e-mail link
roger that, already got the email, will get to it on Monday.
We should all like meet up one day man rclxm9.gif
Hapeng
post Dec 9 2012, 10:54 AM

1,031 posts

guys i tried to create a new account, at the last step after confirming their t&c i get this message that says 'validation error, try filling in again' bla bla.. any ideas?

tried chrome and ie
Hapeng
post Dec 9 2012, 11:06 AM

1,031 posts

Sorry no print screen, but its like another pop up.
Ill try calling them on Monday i guess
Hapeng
post Jan 6 2013, 07:36 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 3 2013, 10:53 PM)
Aoisky, no sifu lar i, just poking around semi-blindly.

Well, FSM said "encouraged to go physically", and said can go off once U register and put in your BUYs in their list.
ie. go there 10am & go off 10:20am  brows.gif

but but... U'll miss the chance at the $10K lucky dip coz if U are selected AND U ain't there physically at around 6pm... NEXT!  sweat.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 10:55 pm
Good idea - i'll lug along my PC & Excels, U guys (Kaka confirmed right? Pink how ar? Who else?) bring along your thumbdrive/Excels and we'll have a geek-investor-semiquant teh tarik session thumbup.gif

er.. please confirm fast else my partner may create different plans tongue.gif
I would very much like to join u guys!!
Better get my FSM account activated lol
Anyone going from Puchong area? I'm not really familiar with KL
Hapeng
post Jan 6 2013, 11:51 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 6 2013, 10:57 AM)
I am going from pj, taking the lrt.. smile.gif
yea i think i might do that as well. looking forward to it man
Hapeng
post Jan 26 2013, 08:42 AM

1,031 posts

who's going!!
what time will u guys be reaching?
Hapeng
post Jan 26 2013, 08:48 AM

1,031 posts

awesome u guys made plans to meet up yet?
takin lrt right?
Hapeng
post Jan 26 2013, 09:10 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 26 2013, 09:03 AM)
I will text Wong seafood there just to say hi...
i thought wong sifu bringing laptop and planned to meet up and all? rclxms.gif
Hapeng
post Jan 26 2013, 09:23 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 26 2013, 09:21 AM)
Can walk in without registration? hmm.gif
can la im sure. register on the spot
Hapeng
post Feb 9 2013, 07:44 PM

1,031 posts

welcome naddie and kates!
Hapeng
post Feb 15 2013, 05:59 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 11 2013, 10:34 PM)
Correct nod.gif

To illustrate further, let's say u have

Fund ABC 3-years average returns: 5% p.a.
Average MER: 1.6%

Fund XYZ 3-years average returns: 5% p.a.
Average MER: 2.2%

It means that XYZ's gross investment returns are actually higher than ABC, but the net returns are dragged down by higher expenses relative to ABC.
guys I have read and re-read the discussion but i still am not sure what to make of it so I'm just gona ask.

In the View Holdings page, lets say I have Kenanga Growth, the cost is 2500, current value 2469.96. Which means a loss of -30.04 right?
With the new member 1% charge, 2500/1.01 = 2475.25,
so have i made a 30.04 loss or a (2475.25-2469.96) 21.71 loss?

So my question is, does the 2469.96 already reflect the 1% sales charge? and does that mean that everytime you buy a fund you the View Holdings page will show a 1% loss?

This post has been edited by Hapeng: Feb 15 2013, 06:00 PM
Hapeng
post Feb 15 2013, 07:31 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 15 2013, 06:44 PM)
Akauntan Buruk mari tongue.gif

Cost: RM2,500.00

Current valuation of your units: RM2,469.96

With FSM, the (profit)/loss is calculated by COST less VALUE, thus
= RM2,500.00 - RM2,469.96
= RM30.04

You are right, the moment u make a purchase, the Sales Charge is considered a "loss"
terima kasih akauntan!
haha thanks a bunch that cleared it right up
Hapeng
post Feb 15 2013, 09:18 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 15 2013, 09:09 PM)
why u invest 2500 but current value only 2469.96? is the current value after minus sales charge?
based on what master accountant says,
it would be the 1% sales charge + a little loss on the fund ba
Hapeng
post Feb 15 2013, 10:40 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 15 2013, 10:39 PM)
For me personally, for ease of performance review, I actually made it a point to purchase units at NAV + SC, e.g. if I wanna top up RM100 on Fund ABC, I would purchase RM101.75 (SC = 1.75%)
ah ic, never thought of that, will do it in the future
Hapeng
post Feb 15 2013, 10:50 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 15 2013, 10:45 PM)
oh nice way biggrin.gif btw, wat is short duration fixed income fund? any example of it?
short term bonds maybe?
preference shares
Hapeng
post Feb 16 2013, 03:01 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Feb 16 2013, 02:42 PM)
actualy which one better, CMF or MBB FD?
coz MBB at least can get 3%p.a

CMF i get the concept, is just like having bank acount with higer interest rate and u can use anytime for topup ur UT.
but how hight is the interst rate?
bcoz if its lower than 3%p.a like MBB FD..i pretty reluctant to use that service
it is lower, by like 0.05% maybe?
CMF is used due to its ease in buying UTs, no need to transfer from Maybank again.

Hapeng
post Feb 17 2013, 09:05 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 17 2013, 08:35 AM)
Back to reality after long CNY holiday... tongue.gif
welcome back! happy cny
Hapeng
post Feb 18 2013, 12:53 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 18 2013, 11:42 AM)
Come on guys, pakai a bit of naughty imagination... rolleyes.gif

There is no lock-in period for RSP contracts with FSM. icon_idea.gif

Start RSP for Fund ABC now e.g. for RM100
15-Mar-2013 will buy in RM100 (date for all RSPs is 15th)
Immediately after that, terminate the RSP
Voila, u have made an Initial Investment for only RM100 brows.gif

Don't tell FSM people about this ph34r.gif
NAIS!! thumbup.gif
Hapeng
post Feb 18 2013, 03:00 PM

1,031 posts

do it quick they may catch on to this quick xD