41 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

SUSPink Spider
post Feb 6 2013, 07:04 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Feb 6 2013, 06:50 PM)
Just a new bie la, don't wanna share since risk is too great. Need guidance from you pros.
u said about 3-6 months timeframe. I'd say more likely than not that u will be disappointed with the returns (if not a loss). UT investing timeframe is AT LEAST 3 years and above. If u just wanna "invest" for 3-6 months, any seasoned UT investors can tell u only Money Market Funds is for u. Then u might as well place short-term FDs. doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 6 2013, 08:05 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 6 2013, 07:55 PM)
Added more units today for Aberdeen Pacific Equity Fund at FSM... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Switch out all my under performing Lion Global Japan Growth fund to Aberdeen Pacific Equity as well.

Lucky escape, only breakeven after 1 year of purchase... sweat.gif

Next target to load more into DWS China Equity fund & Templeton Frontier Markets... laugh.gif
^
FSM Singapore dry.gif grumble.gif

Bullish on Emerging and Frontier Markets? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 6 2013, 08:05 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 9 2013, 06:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ Feb 9 2013, 12:34 AM)
I see FSM allows 2 payment methods. How many of here uses the CMF to pay? I believe it is more convenient, but what about NAV movements of it? Will it devalue, shrinking our RM as the NAV drops. As compared to GIRO transfer.
The fund's functional and reporting currency (accounting term) is Ringgit Malaysia. Thus, Ringgit appreciation/depreciation against other currencies is irrelevant to NAV accounting.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 9 2013, 06:45 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ Feb 7 2013, 07:25 PM)
Can you define "building a portfolio"? I'm curious as to 'don't we have to pick a fund to build a portfolio'? About to enter FSM soon but not sure how to 'build a portfolio' notworthy.gif
By that I mean, don't be overly obsessed with finding the next Lipper Leader/award-winner. Instead, focus on building a well-diversified and well-balanced portfolio with funds that are at least above average performers.

The most basic to do would be:
Region diversification
Asset class diversification
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 9 2013, 06:46 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(naddie @ Feb 9 2013, 10:43 AM)
Hi guys... have been lurking around this thread & the Fund Investment thread for a few weeks now, just reading everything to gain some insights in investments hehe. Must've read 200+ pages already.

Anyway, opened my FSM account based on all the discussion, and hoping to buy my first fund within this month. Right now am looking at these funds:

Bond - AmBon Islam vs. Hwang Aiiman Income PLUS (still trying to decide between both, probably am going to go for Hwang for easy switching with the equity...)
Equity - Kenanga Syariah Growth, Hwang Aiiman Growth and possibly Aberdeen Islamic World a bit later for global exposure

Cannot get all at once since I have limited cash at the moment tongue.gif Have to wait for bonus later. Anyway, am looking forward to joining in the discussion here and learning together, just wanna thank you guys for all the awesome insights you've provided for us  thumbup.gif Pity I didn't start investing earlier, but better start now than never hehe.

And happy CNY hols to everyone as well!
Welcome to the club rclxms.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 10 2013, 01:28 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(izzudrecoba @ Feb 10 2013, 11:46 AM)
As for my asset allocation, I have invested in these two funds:-

Equity - Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund (Slow and steady...less volatile than Hwang Aiiman Growth)
Bond - RHB Islamic Bond Fund (1% ROI in one week...not bad eh  whistling.gif )
Oi, dun mislead ppl...u got 1% up in one week yet many many months ago the fund also experienced a >1% drop in one day laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 10 2013, 03:57 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(izzudrecoba @ Feb 10 2013, 03:21 PM)
Last year, the fund recorded 15%roi. Higher than Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund. But agree that in 2011 the fund nav declined by 6%.

Apologize if I appear to mislead others.
FSM also did a writeup on the fund's "amazing" returns in 2012 and telling investors not to expect it to repeat as its due to writeback of a bondholding previously written down/off.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 10 2013, 11:57 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 10 2013, 11:29 PM)
hi ppl, i wanna know that why FSM sales charge is lower than other ppl? is there any hidden fee? wat does it mean by Annual Expense Ratio? how about Trustee Fee? how they count? Cos i see other website like Hwang Asia Quantum sales charge is 5.5% with 1.5% annual management fee while at FSM is 1% sales charge, 1.5% annual management fee, 0.07% trustee fee.
Management fee is charged by the Fund Manager to the fund, and its the same whether u buy thru FSM, bank or direct thru HwangIM. Trustee fee is charged by the fund's Trustee to the fund, and its the same whoever u buy your units from.

Why lower sales charge?

The following is my answer. Of course, if u want a definitive answer, why not ask FSM direct? icon_rolleyes.gif

The bulk of the SC actually goes to the agent. With FSM, they have NO agents to maintain. And being an online distributor, they do not need to maintain physical offices throughout the country to serve clients' needs (they only have 2 offices, 1 at KL and 1 at Penang). So, the answer is - vast savings in manpower costs and overhead costs as compared to the "traditional" UT distributors like Public Mutual and CIMB Wealth Advisors. wink.gif

Annual Expense Ratio is calculated by = Total expenses / Average fund size
*total expenses = management expenses, auditor's remuneration, tax agent fees, other expenses like statutory filing etc

U can see how it is calculated in the prospectus and annual/interim financial statements

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 11 2013, 12:02 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 11 2013, 12:13 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 11 2013, 12:06 AM)
oh thanks for the info. So they owes show u return % is actually after they deduct everything, or before? I cannot understand that management fee cost is calculated and accrued daily from the NAV of the Fund, trustee fee also like this, mean it offset from the NAV everyday? so u dont have to actually calculate the return then deduct again in the end to calculate net return? Sorry abit blur but i need to know something about how they actually calculate the ROI. Sales charge is quite straight forward but other fee is abit tricky..
It's all accounting.

Let me use a simple example to illustrate.

ABC Berhad
Fixed asset = RM1 mil office building
Current asset = Share investments (let's assume RM1 mil at 01-Feb-2013, RM900K at 10-Feb-2013)
Staff = 2 managing directors with monthly salary of RM10K each
Share capital = 1 mil ordinary shares of RM2 each

NAV of ABC Berhad at 10-Feb-2013
= RM1 mil + RM900K - (RM10K x 2) / 28 x 10
= RM1,892,857

NAV per unit i.e. share
= RM1,892,857 / 1 mil shares
= RM1.89

Even though salary i.e. management expenses is paid once a month, it is accrued on daily basis for accounting of NAV

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 11 2013, 12:15 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 11 2013, 10:34 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 11 2013, 10:28 PM)
oh ok.. so basically wat should we looking for in terms of return %? Normally wat we see is increase in NAV per unit, so tat means if i invest at NAV per unit 1.89, tomorrow become 1.90, so i earn 0.01 per unit? There is an annual management fee and trustee fee, it is already accounted for in the final NAV listed daily right? So i dont have to count for it myself if let say i wan to know how much ROI i got in the end. Correct?
Correct nod.gif

To illustrate further, let's say u have

Fund ABC 3-years average returns: 5% p.a.
Average MER: 1.6%

Fund XYZ 3-years average returns: 5% p.a.
Average MER: 2.2%

It means that XYZ's gross investment returns are actually higher than ABC, but the net returns are dragged down by higher expenses relative to ABC.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 12 2013, 05:34 PM

16,872 posts

Boring day...charted my equity funds using data obtained from latest Fact Sheets, share with u guys tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 12 2013, 05:35 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 12 2013, 07:52 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 12 2013, 06:36 PM)
wat is EM+Apex J? i know APex J is asia pacific excluding japan..
Emerging Markets
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 12 2013, 08:02 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 12 2013, 07:54 PM)
I need help  icon_question.gif . I am searching for historical NAV data for some fund, I try to google around but not able to get it. Anyone hv recommend website to get this data. I did find some from below site:

http://www.myunittrust.info/index.php/funds-nav
can get historical nav up to 10 years from Bloomberg, but dunno accurate or not. Just type the fund mame at the "QUOTE" column at top right of the screen
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 12 2013, 08:27 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 12 2013, 08:14 PM)
Pinky, thanks for ur reply. I try to look around the website, it just provided chart, not "data" can be copy into excel sheet. And the NAV just 2 decimal point.
click to view "interactive chart" for nav up to 4 decimals. yes, chart only, no table.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 12 2013, 08:30 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Feb 12 2013, 08:07 PM)
Why so less in Japan, isn't japan is expected to boom in near future?
What gives u this idea? smile.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 12 2013, 08:36 PM

16,872 posts

yea, i hv already posted previously, Pheim focuses more on small-mid caps, hence the volatility. EI SYARIAH may hv higher expenses, but they consistently delivered. smile.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 12 2013, 09:32 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Feb 12 2013, 08:45 PM)
Thanks Guys. I also thought so, so I'd rather take Phem out. Should I go heavy weight with Eastspring? Is there another one which I should invest in addition to Eastspring
My suggestion is, if you're new to UT investing, better start with a relatively small portfolio, don't start with too many different funds.

I presume that you are starting from zero. As such, why not pick a global equity fund? Leave the region allocation (which region got better growth potential? how much % to allocate to each region?) to the Fund Manager.

One global sukuk/bond fund (I suggest around 30%) -
AmDynamic Sukuk (a new fund, hence not much historical data to do comparison and evaluation)

One pure MYR sukuk/bond fund (I suggest around 40%) -
AmBon Islam (nothing exciting, but it gets the job done. Well, as someone said, let your equity funds deliver the adrenaline rush tongue.gif )

One Malaysian equity fund (I suggest around 10%) -
Kenanga Syariah Growth (keep minimal allocation to this until the General Election risk is resolved)

One global equity fund (I suggest around 20%)

A 70/30 portfolio should be good enough for a newbie. smile.gif

And with that, Pacific Dana Dividen comes to mind.
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...number=MYPMFDDF

The attached chart shows how Pacific DD fared for the past 3 years against EI APSE and MSCI World index:

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 12 2013, 09:37 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 13 2013, 09:57 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 13 2013, 09:45 AM)
Bro, can u give some similar portfolio for newcomer that is non-Muslim based? I would like to know, let say i want to do inter house switching, from bond to equity fund, is it possible?
Inter switching? Then u need to look for funds within the same fund house.

A bit difficult...cos the "star" funds are all from different fund houses doh.gif

Take your pick, do your own mix and match tongue.gif

Global bond
Hwang Select Bond
OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond
RHB Asian Total Return

Pure MYR bond
OSK-UOB Income Fund (up to 30% in Asian bonds)
AmBond
Kenanga Bond

Global equity
Pacific Global Stars
Pacific Dana Dividend (Shariah-compliant, heavy Malaysian focus)
Alliance Global Equities
OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield
RHB Global Fortune

Malaysian equity
Kenanga Growth
Eastspring Investments Equity Income
Hwang Select Opportunity (up to 30% globally, Asian focus)
Hwang Select Dividend (up to 30% globally, Asian focus)

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 13 2013, 09:45 AM)
If i switch from let's say Hwang select bond fund to kenanga growth fund, the sales charge only apply at kenanga side, correct? Is Hwang a good fund house? I plan to go to the same fund house so no much trouble switching and less charges..
Yea, most funds got no exit fee. Like in this case, u will kena charge at the "buy" side, Kenanga.

Yea, HwangIM is a good fund house. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 13 2013, 09:59 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 13 2013, 10:08 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 13 2013, 10:00 AM)
kk thanks for the list.. Is Hwang Asia Quantum considered global equity? performance wise looks interesting..
Don't go too heavy on AQ, cos it's technically an Asia Ex-Japan small-mid cap equity fund. U can have it as a smaller % of your portfolio, though.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 13 2013, 10:21 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 13 2013, 10:16 AM)
oh ok... so for a newcomer, i dont have like 10-20k as a starting, i wanna save money while investing, maybe i just can prepare 1-2k per month for now as a starting, but i wanted to start now becos the earlier u start, the better u start, else i gonna just spend the money on something else lol. So normally which kind of fund should i be looking at first? I saw that u said earlier go for global equity, then diversify later?
Start with a basic portfolio of 1 MYR bond fund, 1 global/Asian bond fund, 1 Malaysian equity fund and 1 global equity fund. U can also include an Emerging Markets equity fund or Asia Ex-Japan equity fund like Hwang AQ if u like.

Start simple, then as u gain more experience and more comfortable juggling your portfolio, u can have more region-specific funds. FSM Recommended Portfolios are a good references to start with.

1-2K a month is A LOT. Start with the minimum initial investment, then slowly build up your portfolio value to even out the entry cost. U don't wanna dump at one go only to find out u entered at a high point. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 13 2013, 10:22 AM

41 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:00 AM