Apple TV, Make the most of Apple TV

mikelanding
post Apr 11 2012, 07:36 PM

2,865 posts

Just got my AppleTV today!
Purchased from US Apple Store on 1st day launch. Using Shipito to ship to me here in Thailand.
Very happy with it..
mikelanding
post Apr 11 2012, 11:31 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Apr 11 2012, 10:33 PM)
can Netflix be used in Thailand?
Yes. Netflix worked and US Itune too..
I used http://unblock-us.com/ set at router side. Work on any US site.
Let me know if U want to share share the cost. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Apr 11 2012, 11:42 PM
mikelanding
post Apr 12 2012, 01:34 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Apr 11 2012, 11:43 PM)
meaning Thailand doesn't have netflix by default?
just like malaysia
Yes. Netflix is only for US, Canada, South America (not sure), UK and some EU country only.
mikelanding
post Apr 12 2012, 08:10 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 12 2012, 07:10 PM)
Amazon Prime that it .. Been using Netflix for more than half a year now and I would say that it is amazing .. at least it keeps my son busy with all the Barneys, Thomas, Power Ranges, and the likes .. and I can still watch the old TopGear releases .. if you're subscribing Netflix for up-to-date TV shows or movies, than you've chosen the wrong content provider.
Yup. Correct. I normally catch up old series once a while.
Also Netflix on itunes can pay using Itunes gift card. Now the rate is very cheap. (around 1USD = RM2.8 or lower).
I terminated by usual Netflix account and use New netflix account on AppleTV.

But 1 thing I found out is that the Netflix video quality on AppleTV is slightly worse than Netflix on Roku2 XS. Somehow it is hard for AppleTV Netflix to stream at HD reso.
Hopefully either Apple or Netflix can fix it.
mikelanding
post Apr 13 2012, 12:12 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(jetkiat @ Apr 12 2012, 11:50 PM)
need some help on how can I continue with Netflix...
now I got the US itunes acc and free trial Netflix for 1 mth
and ofcoz with free trail 1 week for unblock us
b4 i buy unblock us for 5usd per month...just want to make sure I can continue on Netflix as well
- if I buy itunes card and redeem can continue for Netflix..?
- or if I setup my US itune acc with pay pal it will work..?
- which 1 is better or any others work around...?
Top up your Itunes account. Netflix is auto-billing every months. U can stop it at netflix page.

mikelanding
post Apr 13 2012, 01:08 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(jetkiat @ Apr 13 2012, 12:18 AM)
THanks bro...so I guess only use itunes card is the solution for continue Netflix...let me know if tats others work around...Thanks
by the way...unblock us acc can share..? if can then i can poison my fren and share with them...hehe
Yes. I think can share..because I give to my cousin. We both can use at same time

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Apr 13 2012, 04:18 AM)
you're streaming legitimate movie, no time consuming for download (provide that you have good internet speed)
Indeed. They had good range of documentary too.. I mostly watch those channels. They do have wide range of cartoon as well. Keep those kiddo occupied.
mikelanding
post Apr 13 2012, 03:44 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 13 2012, 03:03 PM)
I've two Apple TVs and streaming different movies at the same time on 5Mbps Unifi connection smile.gif

Added on April 13, 2012, 3:06 pmBTW, for those using unblock-us, will I be able to have many devices using single account?
Yes. U set the DNS inside the router. Then ALL device connected to router able to access US/UK only content.
mikelanding
post Apr 23 2012, 12:22 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(azzaim92 @ Apr 23 2012, 04:53 AM)
I'm using paid netflix and looking for a media box to connect to my tv, which apple tv model would be the easiest to configure to bypass ip address? I'm using unblockus so a dns configuration would be needed...
unblockus already got a dedicated setup page for AppleTV
Link: http://support.unblock-us.com/customer/por...articles/291549
mikelanding
post Apr 25 2012, 12:09 AM

2,865 posts

USD7.99 a month for streaming only
mikelanding
post Apr 25 2012, 07:15 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Apr 25 2012, 05:18 PM)
guys compare netflix and hulu plus which is more better ?
Hulu plus? U can practically forget about it if you dont have a US credit/debit card. Those virtual US debit card like Entropy all not accept by hulu strict payment system.
mikelanding
post Apr 25 2012, 09:10 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Apr 25 2012, 08:15 PM)
does that applies to netflix as well?
Nope. I use my Malaysia CC to pay Netflix for almost 1 year.
U can also use your US Itunes Account to pay (Subscribe on Itunes). I found it to be cheaper this way because I can buy Itunes gift card at 2.5-2.8 rate or even lower from seller here.

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Apr 25 2012, 09:12 PM
mikelanding
post Apr 25 2012, 10:14 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Apr 25 2012, 09:13 PM)
i see,
does it require a valid US credit card on the files when you subscribe netflix using gift card credits?
http://www.lifehacker.com.au/2010/09/how-t...itunes-account/
mikelanding
post Apr 26 2012, 11:49 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Apr 26 2012, 08:24 AM)
what i meant was to you still need a valid US credit card on your iTunes if you're paying with gift card credit?
With that method, I dont even need my credit card detail when create Itunes account nor top up the credit. All use gift card credit.
mikelanding
post Jul 27 2012, 04:58 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(fruitler @ Jul 25 2012, 07:47 PM)
[attachmentid=2965924]
To all brothers, where can I buy this cable Toslink optical to toslink 3.5mm optical cable? Wanna output from the ATV audio jack.. for my Airport Express as well.
U can buy at Ebay. I brought 1 for Airport Express to my AVR. Worked perfect
mikelanding
post Aug 1 2012, 02:00 AM

2,865 posts

Yes!! Hulu plus on ATV. Finally can sub Hulu plus without US CC.
You can do it via Itunes (US of course)

Link: http://www.macrumors.com/2012/07/31/hulu-p...le-on-apple-tv/

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Aug 1 2012, 02:02 AM
mikelanding
post Aug 3 2012, 12:08 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(burb @ Aug 3 2012, 12:04 AM)
i go for the extreme.... i cancelled my astro effective this July!!!  rclxms.gif
Nice...I dont watch Astro since few years ago.

Really love Apple manage to pull Hulu plus in. I setup my Hulu plus on ATV and Roku2 XS. tongue.gif
Seem like Hulu plus on Roku have closed caption... ATV dont have such option

mikelanding
post Aug 3 2012, 01:32 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Aug 3 2012, 02:57 AM)
Yeah thanks. Reboot my ATV3 and the icon is there.

But, apparently, MY cannot use Hulu cry.gif

They validate my CC and MY CC can't go through....
QUOTE(sirzedi @ Aug 3 2012, 05:51 AM)

Just got my apple tv yesterday.wanna ask a couple of questions.

1)How can i watch netflix? I cant even register because it says my payment option is not valid.
2) manage to browse through hulu plus but i cant stream the video because it says it can only be play within US region. I'd already setup my apple tv using tunlr DNS though.

What should i do?
U need to use an US Itunes account. Google how to created US itune account. U dont need a CC for this. Just buy gift card (US) will do

AND

U need US VPN to get the stream Netflix or Hulu. There are many sites that provide such service. I am using unblock-us. Do PM me if U need more info.

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Aug 3 2012, 01:34 PM
mikelanding
post Aug 3 2012, 04:31 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(ifmz @ Aug 3 2012, 04:16 PM)
Netflix or Hulu Plus..which one is better?
Depend on your viewing preferences. Netflix is mostly last season TV Series with NO ads.
Hulu plus is slightly newer season with ads.

For me, I would prefer Hulu plus.
mikelanding
post Aug 5 2012, 01:26 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(sirzedi @ Aug 5 2012, 12:18 PM)
Thats why i confused right now..cos i got netflix subscription in my itunes (got auto renewal somemore) but when i checked at netflix website the payment option got only my CC..i suppose it should stated subsribe through itunes there.

Btw i register my netflix through apple tv..but it said something about my payment option is not valid. Thats why i register my Maybank CC in netflix website. After that only i can login into netflix.
It is very easy to check if your nexflix or hulu plus is on your itune or not. Launch your itune app from PC/Mac, the click account, Go down abit U will see "Setting", click Manage at the "Subscriptions".

Then U will see below screen.
If U dont see either one of it, mean your netflix/hulu is not under itunes manage.

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Aug 5 2012, 01:29 PM
mikelanding
post Aug 7 2012, 05:06 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Aug 7 2012, 04:47 PM)
i wonder if i can register a new apple ID (US) after the netflix subscription 1 month trial ended? So i can enjoy another month free usage? u think possible....
need to be this cheapo meh? lol
USD 7.99 a month is not that expensive. Plus, now U can get US itunes gift card much lower rate now.

0.0442sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:04 AM