USB/USB-WiFi/MIFI Modem Owner Club V1, Huawei/ZTE/Option Icon and other...
xelamil
Jul 29 2012, 09:33 PM

QUOTE(coklatua @ Jul 29 2012, 12:52 PM) But edwardomh post it is still available in this month. Still available for now. Supposedly, last day is Jul-31st. Registered yesterday. Available to principal line holder only. And must be on Maxis postpaid before June. Added on July 29, 2012, 9:35 pmQUOTE(ajay67 @ Jul 29 2012, 02:13 PM) how about with build in battery? Cheap cheap 'MIFI' solution: HAME MPR-A1 + USB 3G stick... Not elegant though... This post has been edited by xelamil: Jul 29 2012, 09:35 PM
xelamil
Aug 14 2012, 02:48 AM

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Aug 12 2012, 11:05 PM) Hi, yes, I want a Mifi as I am mobile. That's why I am asking for a recommendation of a Mifi brand and model. Depends on your budget as well. 1. Huawei 58xx series (583x,585,586,587). Elegant but (more) expensive solution. 2. Hame MPR-A1 (or A2) + 3G/HSPA usb modem (speed depends on your modem): Cheaper solution The E355 + powerbank should work as a portable hotspot too.
xelamil
Aug 14 2012, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Aug 14 2012, 09:50 AM) Seems like Huawei is a more established brand choice. I presume 587 is the latest model among the 58xx series? I will check those models out. Not sure if it's the latest. High DL ceiling. 42Mbps. Added on August 14, 2012, 9:00 pmQUOTE(garytey @ Aug 14 2012, 11:59 AM) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2457750/alli suppose this is the one you mentioned? and i assume this can plug in my usb stick got from maxis and get my home desktop connected with maxis 3g via usb stick Yes. You can plug in the 3G usb stick on one side. Or a LAN cable on the other side. The device acts as a wireless router. This post has been edited by xelamil: Aug 14 2012, 09:00 PM
xelamil
Jan 27 2013, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 19 2013, 12:27 PM) I have few options for my data only sim. 1. I use a mini portable 3G wifi router with builtin battery. The router also can be double up as external battery bank for my mobile devices. 2. I also bought a cheap dual sim dual active Ninetology android phone and use the mobile data tethering feature as wifi router. How long would the Ninetology last when tethering? I tried with my older android phone. Lasted under 2 hrs. There isn't any dumb or feature phone with tethering capability is there?
xelamil
Jan 28 2013, 12:57 PM

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 27 2013, 06:03 PM) Pls dun use your Smart Phone to do tethering so often, the 3G chip will get burn off faster Do you feel the heat when tethering ? Yes. It's hot whenever 3G is on. But that's normal isn't it? Same thing for the huawei e585 mifi...
xelamil
Jan 28 2013, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 28 2013, 01:11 PM) MiFi are built that way, if you use it on battery WITHOUT plugging into the mains and charge while you use, it should be fine, BUT if you use it while charging with the battery on, the battery will konk faster, same as some older laptop, try using them while the battery + adaptor is turned on ~ the lappie's mobo & battery will konk faster , unlike newer Mac Books which have a cutoff switch to cut off the current when the battery is fully charged or rather bypass the charged battery Fon is a different story altogether ............. Now you got me worried... How old are these laptops that you are talking about? So... Remove the battery when plug in? Noted about the MIFI. Usually I do use it plugged in when power source available. Especially in a car. After all the battery last 3.5 hrs at most...
xelamil
Aug 30 2013, 12:17 AM

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 9 2013, 11:16 AM) Awful modem  Er... why do you say that? This got my attention as it claims to come with 2000mAh battery.