USB/USB-WiFi/MIFI Modem Owner Club V1, Huawei/ZTE/Option Icon and other...

hellsphinx
post Feb 18 2012, 12:31 AM

64 posts

guys...wanna ask something,
does higher modem capability (3.6 ~ 42Mbps) equates to higher heat production?
if it does, then umobile, yes and other 42Mbps modems are risky to be left overnite is it?
hellsphinx
post Feb 19 2012, 06:16 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Feb 18 2012, 03:42 AM)
higher performances modem = using higher power = generate higher heat,

is normal as long as u place ur modem is good air circulation area, it shouldnt be any problems to used 24/7,... if u worry, u could always get a cooler pad for laptop, and places the modem on top the cooler pad, or places your modem near window, or below ceiling fan,..
QUOTE(nordingh @ Feb 18 2012, 12:54 PM)
Heat also depend on your location. If you use your modem in area where the line is weak, the modem will use more power to transfer the data and produce more heats.

That's always happen to me when I use my modem at kampung. But not much heat if use at KL.

Here is a sample for my modem

Yellow signal (2 bar)
RSSI:  -81.01dBm
CINR:  11.13/8.83(R3/R1)dB
TX power: 6dBm - 9dBm

I move it, Red signal (1 bar)
RSSI:  -85.42dBm
CINR:  6.84/3.77(R3/R1)dB
TX power: 17dBm - 20dBm
many thanks bros,

i did as bro chuah mentioned n place my modem near the notebook fan cooler, the heat is significantly reduced, now really no worries leaving it overnite

---bro nordingh
does the RSSI n TX Power increased value indicate the modem is working extra to capture signals?

Added on February 19, 2012, 6:24 pmand one more thing...

for those who have the ridiculously over 10Mbs download speed on maxis laugh.gif
does that depend mostly on area?
or its because you guys tweaked your modem capabilities in mdma?

i tried the 7.2Mbps n 21Mbps modem, both speedtest yield 4-5Mbps max oni... sweat.gif
checked the band config in mdma n the default setting i found was at -custom -2100

This post has been edited by hellsphinx: Feb 19 2012, 06:24 PM

0.0293sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:52 PM