LYN Kancil's Owner Club a.k.a SLK V3, Our little Kancil got V3 already :p

Johnix
post Apr 26 2012, 06:49 AM

37 posts

im looking for a turbo kancil. But im not sure which to look out for, there are alot of choices, like the l2 and l5. So which do i wanna go for if i were to buy 1?

and this would be my daily ride if i were to buy 1.. Why turbo? because from what i read, kancil turbo are actually quite economical to maintain and use, if u keep it stock. So guys, pls advice me, which engine or specs that suite me.
Johnix
post Apr 26 2012, 09:26 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(JasonB @ Apr 26 2012, 10:33 AM)
Hi Johnix,
I faced the same issue before conversion, not knowing which to choose from.

But now I own a L5 JB-JL Auto and I'm pleased with it. smile.gif It's my daily as well.
I travel for a minimum 10km - 27km max per day in smooth and standstill traffic to and fro from work.
Once in a blue moon I do go outstation as well and I'm happy to report that the engine is smooth!  thumbup.gif

I've kept everything stock except the customary R*SR exhaust upgrade and HKS sponge filter upgrade in the engine bay.
It has served me well so far. Only minor parts which needed to be replaced.
Such as thermostat and radiator hoses & in the next service is the gasket which in all could be found in your local spare parts shop.

Cheers,
Jason
Stock engine ya? whats the max boost? Anyways, just interested to know whats the difference between l2 and l5. And i see some L5 conversion without hood scoop, issit ok? haha.. anyways, will keep on a lookout on those kancils on sale now. What about braking? need to mod l5 disc and rear as well? If rear drum , issit ok?

Is ur auto L5 comfortble to drive daily? will feel underpower? Because i use before kancil 850, feel damn underpower. I cannot tahan. Hope the L5 dont feel like that, thats the only reason im getting a L5 kancil anyways. biggrin.gif
Johnix
post Apr 27 2012, 04:13 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(imranzero @ Apr 26 2012, 09:31 PM)
if u want pickup..get l5 3 piston..im using one..0-100kmh sekejap je. brows.gif
okie, Thanks for the advice

QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 26 2012, 09:48 PM)
better go for l5/l6 engine... 3piston ef-rl more towards pick up.. 4piston jb-jl more to smoothness... right now i'm more interested in ef-det from mira avy model... got dvvt turbo... engine can put in kancil but dashboard i'm not quite sure.. might need to use l5/l6 dashboard...
What is the meaning of 4piston jb-jl? sweat.gif

QUOTE(mc_dollah @ Apr 27 2012, 02:06 AM)
without air scoop the engine bay is pretty much hot.. the other setback is the temperature will spike like crazy..
this is because the circulated hot air in the engine bay. abt the braking power, rear drum brake is enaf.
wht u need to do is change the front disc to a bigger size.

hahaha, okok. Btw, guys. if i buy 1 second hand kancil L5, what to look out for when i test drive? how i know if the engine in good condition?

0.0439sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:30 AM