Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc & Arc S ~~Version 3~~, a smashingly fabulous phone

rayzrblade
post Jan 5 2012, 03:34 PM

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

The more you guys argue bout how great your phone is the more i think theres a 10yo kid behind the computer screen. haha.

oh ya. was here to say i finally remove that stupid casing and use my arc s as it is.

was thinking i took care of all my previous phone so much that when i sold them its like brand new buy i still need to sell it like market 2nd hand price..well..might as well, use it the way i like it. a normal wear and tear would cut my price much..hehe..

feels gooood...cant stop holding. im sure my palm sweat will corrode the chrome in no time..wahahah

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jan 5 2012, 03:41 PM
rayzrblade
post Jan 5 2012, 06:17 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 5 2012, 04:14 PM)
could this will be next arc successor?
http://www.slashgear.com/sony-ericsson-xpe...-2012-03205679/  drool.gif

Added on January 5, 2012, 4:20 pm

extra care needed bro...
haha..
even coin in ur pocket can scratch the screen or body  cry.gif
its always in the pouch. in my history of using mobile phones i never ever put my babies together with coin or keys in my pocket...dust maybe..

the problem is sometimes even when u take extra good care of it, and suddenly one day..u see a scratch out of no where..and u will be asking WHY..HOW..WHEN..??? haha. .

checking out the teaser. u can see Android is holding a 3D glasses.

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jan 5 2012, 06:19 PM
rayzrblade
post Jan 5 2012, 06:33 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 5 2012, 06:19 PM)
yeah... nozomi's design seems like lost arc shape identity... but still called Sony Arc HD... kind of boxy lah

Added on January 5, 2012, 6:24 pm
maybe 3d photographic like htc evo 3d..
i'm thinking to let go my baby arc s when that arc successor arrive at market but the price sure like a rocket.
hurmmm  hmm.gif
QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 5 2012, 06:28 PM)
For me my arc is the best phone i had, most stunning design n sexy, it is quite fast..

My only wishes r if only this phone a dual core, larger internal memory, more ram, thus it wil b a perfect phone..regarding the exterior, i wish it hav more solid material so it looks expensive like its price..
3D camera is a bit overrated. maybe they wanna go with they SOny 3D tvs.
i still think 3D photos still need to take some time to be accepted by end users.

hopefully they use better material, no more chrome parts, dual core, no lag in UI, sexy design. then i would consider.hehe.

for sure starting price will be a BOOM...
rayzrblade
post Jan 6 2012, 11:34 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 6 2012, 02:35 AM)
i just accidentally dropped my arc, now got calar and dent.. sad.gif  luckily the screen didnt crack.. im sad, last tym my aino felt and the screen crack lyk hell, immediate go get a replacement screen, cost me rm300(kena kencing i gues) then a month later got stolen.. wat a bad luck..
so sorry to hear that.

the most common ways to drop your phone (that ive heard of)

1. getting out of a car and u forgot that you put ur phone on ur lap.
2. getting out of the car, it just falls out from your side pocket
3. falls out from a pouch
4. texting while walking..

rayzrblade
post Jan 6 2012, 11:36 AM

5,040 posts

just now my arc s just went blank screen with lights on.
need to remove battery.
and sometimes i just restarts itself.

i think i tweak with it too much?

i installed auto task killer and left the Empty App to 100MB. is it too much?

and my phone always left around 105-110. So when it reaches 99, i think thats when it starts killing anything..
rayzrblade
post Jan 6 2012, 07:25 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(infinityjc @ Jan 6 2012, 03:51 PM)
I must say Arc battery is sooo bad...standard usage can last for 1 3/4 day only. If you switch ON just WIFI for whole day, the battery gone very fast...I need to charge every nite when reach home from work. If forgot to charge, tomorrow morning, si liao loh...
QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 6 2012, 05:04 PM)
Now ur phone ok or can't boot?

Added on January 6, 2012, 5:09 pm

Arc battery is good... Not so bad... The one that drain ur battery is the firmware... I hope SE can release ICS that hav better battery management...  my gf's sgs2 hav short battery life even it got 1650mah battery
@infinity

i believe battery issues are very common for all the smart phone these days.
I think most of us here also have that kind of battery life?
I use juice defender with wifi on whole day also last me till night bout 20-30%.
You gonna charge phone like you brush teeth everynight before sleep. hehe

@skyevo91

phone is ok now. can restart after remove batter.
just now i receive a call within 10 seconds it freakin reboot again. haha.
till now i think it reboot 4 times iianm within few months.
donno whether its because of the juice defender,autokiller,setcpu..or whatever problem it is.
any ideas?

autokiller set on aggresive hidden app 82 content provider 89 emptyapp 98
set cpu 1401 max 806 min

are those stressin my phone?
thanks.
rayzrblade
post Jan 6 2012, 08:38 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 6 2012, 08:23 PM)
maybe the aggressive setting make ur arc going crazy..
also maybe ur ram usage is too high..
i heard that when ram usage exceed certain limit, phone will automatic reboot
alright. i set a bit lower and see how it goes.
thanks for replying.
maybe im asking too much from my arc ass. haha
rayzrblade
post Jan 6 2012, 10:43 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 6 2012, 08:46 PM)
it's ok dude...
btw, the one that u set in autokiller is called min free..
setting min free to aggresive mod can cause android system to imbalance..
btw, the setcpu @ 8xx min should be ok right?

Added on January 6, 2012, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 6 2012, 08:46 PM)
it's ok dude...
btw, the one that u set in autokiller is called min free..
setting min free to aggresive mod can cause android system to imbalance..
btw, the setcpu @ 8xx min should be ok right?

Added on January 6, 2012, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 6 2012, 01:04 PM)
Its no 1..damm... I always very becareful be4 i exit the car, makesure my phone isnt on my lap, hav many years of experience wit this scenario, however last nite somehow it just happen... It is fate i think.. doh.gif  sad.gif
Wow. i was right.
so NO.1 is the No.1 killer. hehe.
remember its a handphone not Lapphone.

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jan 6 2012, 10:47 PM
rayzrblade
post Jan 8 2012, 01:26 PM

5,040 posts

argh.. my arc s so lag.
whenever i pressed home button, the 5 widgets pops up 2 by 2.
i even move some widget to other screen so that i wont see it pop up slowly. haha.
or whenever i unlock, i need to wait ...1...2...3...4..5... seconds only start swiping if not i will get pissed if it hangs a little. haha .

the flashing arconium looks promising. but i guess i just wait for ICS to come, if ICS still sucks on arc s..then time to flash.

but by right my arc should be fast what..
im using

rooted.
GO launcher. 4 screens. 9 widgets in total.
no folders on desktop.
set cpu min 806
autokiller 60 70 80
phone memory available 166mb
Free RAM approx 9xMB

whats wrong?
rayzrblade
post Jan 8 2012, 02:05 PM

5,040 posts

Apple iPhone 4. Very sharp pictures for a phone comparable with point and shoot cameras – pictures have a lot of details. And even when there is little light you can still get decent pictures. However, the white balance auto settings are awful and even under natural light in cloudy conditions all pictures are bluish and indoors it makes all pictures yellowish.

Apple iPhone 4s. It is a lot better under lamplight when its predecessor: fluorescent or incandescent, cloudy conditions – nothing embarrasses it. And if there is enough light it provides a rather high level of details. Low light condition photos don’t suffer from too much noise thanks to its noise reduction system but it loses the smallest details as a result. All in all, it’s a very decent camera.

HTC Sensation. Very sharp pictures regardless of lighting levels for a phone. Amount of noise in low light conditions is minimal and barely visible. It does well when it comes to colors too, naturally, it is not nearly as good as regular point and shoot cameras but for a phone its quality is impressive. There is an issue of uneven sharpness on the edges of photos but it is probably a defect of this specific unit.

HTC Titan. Pictures are very sharp in the center but edges are a lot more blurred – this is a frequent flaw of compact lenses. White balance is set correctly most of the times even under lamplight. Color rendition is accurate and natural. However, in cloudy conditions pictures it makes are too cold. in low light conditions noise reduction works correctly – there is very little noise and pictures remain sharp.

Nokia N8. Sharpness of pictures is on a par with regular cameras. It preserves small details in the center and on the edges equally even in low light and it’s the strongest side of this camera. But color rendition is not that good – it demonstrates one of the poorest white balance stability. It often sets white balance incorrectly in lamplight thus altering hues in the picture. However, it does well in sunlight.

Nokia N9. It is better than N8 in terms of sharpness and white balance auto settings (it still makes mistakes but not very often). However, it makes all pictures slightly colder but it is almost an upside as there is no yellow hue on indoor pictures. But outdoor pictures might sometimes be too cold.

Samsung Galaxy Note. Pictures are very sharp even with insufficient light. This camera is very close to low range point and shoot cameras in terms of quality. There are some issues with color rendition: in lamplight it often adds yellow and pink hues to your pictures. White balance is not always accurate but outdoors this camera is good.

Samsung Galaxy S II. The picture pattern is very similar to Samsung Galaxy Note and it has got same white balance issues in lamplight and it also makes near perfect images outdoors. But as well as HTC Titan images are less sharp at the edges as a result of cheap lenses.

Sony Ericsson Ray. Very stable auto white balance even in difficult lamplight conditions. There are not that many details. Image sharpness is a bit lower than point and shoot cameras provide but it is very good for mobile cameras and it is even across the picture.

http://mobile-review.com/review/camera-test-en.shtml
rayzrblade
post Jan 9 2012, 06:10 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 9 2012, 03:15 AM)
surely worth..
can save power...
and other improvement like more internal space n ram...
around march or april, there will be new ICS for us  rclxms.gif
more space and ram? aarrgghh.. tempted.
but lazy to go tru the rooting process.

actually how do i restore with titanium back up?
after flashing..all will be gone right.
so i install back titanium and restore...all my stuff will be there?

rayzrblade
post Jan 9 2012, 06:24 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(longlongzai @ Jan 9 2012, 06:16 PM)
Arc and arc s is very powerful android smartphone woww I love them
did SE ask u to promote here? haha

its sexy for sure. very powerful after some tweaks...
if this is powerful then what is Sgs2.? haha

Added on January 9, 2012, 6:32 pmoh. so lame. wanted to upgrade fw then it says mine already latest.
then only remember mine is AP from donno what country... lame

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jan 9 2012, 06:32 PM
rayzrblade
post Jan 9 2012, 07:40 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 9 2012, 07:38 PM)
yeah exactly.. to use titanium backup, u must root first..
in that app, there is option to backup..
it backup all app u choose including data...
thanks for replying. cant do anything yet. my ap set no fw update yet..haih..
i manage to speed things up a lil but freezing a few apps ..haha.
rayzrblade
post Jan 9 2012, 09:13 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 9 2012, 07:40 PM)
i juz flash manually from generic latest rom available...
not through pc companion  biggrin.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 7:45 pm

As long as ur arc s not lag like hell, then its ok...  laugh.gif
oh. which means the official one is not here yet?
im very excited with the extra 100MB..it will make my arc s fly a bit..hehe

Added on January 9, 2012, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 9 2012, 07:40 PM)
i juz flash manually from generic latest rom available...
not through pc companion  biggrin.gif

Added on January 9, 2012, 7:45 pm

As long as ur arc s not lag like hell, then its ok...  laugh.gif
hey man..

i can use this way to flash .62 and use zergrush to root like what u did right?

http://www.theandroidsoul.com/tutorial-how...-on-xperia-arc/

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jan 9 2012, 09:26 PM
rayzrblade
post Jan 9 2012, 09:31 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Jan 9 2012, 09:27 PM)
I'm not kidding. For that 5 days I sent around 5-10smses , voice call 15-20mins daily & sometimes on bluetooth device while driving. I never expected to last this long because everyone complaining 1-2 days max. I checked my battery status and the highest percentage usage is cell phone and not the display. I didn't use wifi and screen brightness at 30% only. If you keep on playing around with your phone sure cannot hold that long. You can try to minimize the display usage and I think you can get 5 days too.

If using wifi and other multimedia task only can hold 1-2 days only, same like you all.
no data plan?
dont play with ur phone unnecessarily?
5 days u get 15-20mins call and 10 sms?

is it ur 2nd line?
rayzrblade
post Jan 10 2012, 11:58 AM

5,040 posts

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

easytoolkit v4 CANNOT root my .62 fw...

aarrgghh!!!! sh*t
rayzrblade
post Jan 10 2012, 10:29 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jan 10 2012, 06:04 PM)
yeah. i saw that too. thanks
but the link is not working. the link to the file.
and i dont think my bootload is unlocked or what..i dont understand this part.
thanks anywa..
rayzrblade
post Jan 10 2012, 11:34 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jan 10 2012, 10:39 PM)
thanks for replying man.
appreaciate it. but i sucked at anything more than 5 steps.
18 steps to unlock bootloader..hehe..
will test it out when im really pissed with the current state of my phone.
thanks a lot.
rayzrblade
post Jan 10 2012, 11:48 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 10 2012, 11:47 PM)
iinm there is a way to root without unlockin bootloader right?  hmm.gif
which one which one?
i so freakin regret kepo kepo go flash .62
haha.
rayzrblade
post Jan 11 2012, 12:07 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jan 11 2012, 12:04 AM)
read this, here is the step:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1320350

but at the moment, it is not working for the .62 firmware  laugh.gif
it not supporting .62 and u show me to chi kek me is it? haha.
thanks..all this rooting..bootload..xcovery thing..really need time to learn all.

0.0459sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:58 PM