Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc & Arc S ~~Version 3~~, a smashingly fabulous phone

rayzrblade
post Jan 11 2012, 08:45 AM

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 11 2012, 06:28 AM)
but i guess no point we buy smartphone if we keep our phone in as minimal as possible usage juz to save battery...
better buy nokia phone that last up to 5 day  biggrin.gif
hope that SE will do something bout this battery draining issue

Added on January 11, 2012, 6:37 ambtw, i found this unique n one of its kind apps in the market...
not same with juice defender, 2x battery saver etc.
main function is to repair ur battery driver so that ur battery can hold more capacity and can last up to 8 hours more.
give it a try  thumbup.gif

Battery Repair (Doctor Boost): https://market.android.com/details?id=air.y...cnlyZXBhaXIiXQ..
hey man..u mentioned u can root .62 with doomlord v4 zergrush?
skyevo91
post Jan 11 2012, 03:20 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 11 2012, 08:45 AM)
hey man..u mentioned u can root .62 with doomlord v4 zergrush?
owh..
sorry..
my bad...
can't root yet .62 with doomlord v4 zergrush

This post has been edited by skyevo91: Jan 11 2012, 03:48 PM
jtdc
post Jan 11 2012, 05:50 PM

245 posts

"drain of 1% in 2 hours", yes this is true. the reason of the slow drain is as I had mentioned, I barely use the phone (except if I am outside the house). in the house, its only use is to rarely send out SMS and receive calls. why? i have tablets and a laptop always on wifi where i spend most of the time which you guys may have been spending on your arc.

but i guess no point we buy smartphone if we keep our phone in as minimal as possible usage juz to save battery... better buy nokia phone that last up to 5 day. hope that SE will do something bout this battery draining issue

my having a smartphone like arc (in my case) is more for use OUTSIDE the HOUSE. of course when going out casually, i will not prefer to bring my tablets and laptop out, they are inconvenient to use.

just study your phone well. what is the most consumer of battery? usually its display right? then tailor your phone to use the least display.

here are my suggestions to limit the display drain.

1. use lowest brightness, put a widget trigger on homescreen to brighten it and remember where it was so you can use phone in sunlight. the lowest brightness is useful on all environment except sunlight!
2. install "screen filter" from market to further dim it, useful at dark or at night, and eliminates bright light shock.
3. ensure all the stuff you use are in the home screen. the widget(s) that should be there should be readily informative, ie. displays info for you to read so you don't have to open the app. pretend you only have 1 homescreen. you can squeeze in more icons by using more customizable launcher (i use ADWLauncher EX).
4. widgets like toggles for brightess, 3G/WIFI, sound, flashlight, those are what I call useful widgets. what is the purpose of a weather widget when you can just look at the window and see the real weather? what is the purpose of a time/date display widget when time is already displayed at the top left corner, and the date/time is glaringly large on the lock screen? if u wanna get fancy like the htc sense or whatever equivalent of raining cloud wiper effects, heck... just look outside the window and feel the weather on your face! that is the real sense!
5. think carefully what do you use multiple homescreens for? just to enjoy the scrolling swipe effect? do you really use all those apps? then cram them on the main homescreen for 1 click access w/o swiping!
6. do you notice how many seconds you spend to draw a security pattern, type PIN or password to unlock the phone, totalling in a day? keep it secure in a physical way like bringing it all the time so nobody tinkers with its always ready for action! at the best case with one unlock swipe you should be at the homescreen and what u want should be there! best case, take out the swipe to unlock, and once display on, homescreen immediately.
7. i don't even run juicedefender, autokillers or similar stuff, cos i sync only when i want to, and that is when i turn on the phone and click the app. background data traffic is ON, but activate auto sync is OFF. i do run v6 supercharger script to have multitasking management more efficient.
8. i am studying results of betterbatterystats app, which reports more in-depth usage of battery by apps. perhaps i can improve my runtime more.

you get the drift... its not don't use the phone or just move to a dumbphone. Rather, use it EFFICIENTLY, AND use your other gadgets for redundant stuff!

Example, watch movie, why punish yourself on the 4.2" screen? use the 10.1 tablet, or connect the thing to HDMI on your big screen! Web browsing? use your laptop! do you notice how long you fiddle the on-screen keyboard when you need to type password on forums and stuff? use the laptop! Browsing on bed? Use the tablet!

BELOW is my screenshot of usage, and I still have 18% remaining when I took that, good for at least 30 more hours (1 day and 6 hours more) before battery run out. From here I guess the thing would last for 5 days and 10 hours at least from a full charge!

This post has been edited by jtdc: Jan 12 2012, 12:31 AM
skyevo91
post Jan 11 2012, 06:20 PM

138 posts

i follow all ur advice but no luck to save battery up to 5 day or at least 1 day...
i'm not superheavy user that browsing internet, watch movie, n gaming all day...
i've try to test my arc s in the idle mood means no 3g, no sms, no call at all but only can last 1 day... cry.gif

jtdc
post Jan 11 2012, 06:22 PM

245 posts

@skyevo91 ... like i said, study your phone battery usage and use the apps that consume the most efficiently.

Settings, About Phone, Battery Use.

then go from there.
skyevo91
post Jan 11 2012, 06:31 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Jan 11 2012, 06:22 PM)
@skyevo91 ... like i said, study your phone battery usage and use the apps that consume the most efficiently.

Settings, About Phone, Battery Use.

then go from there.
thanks bro...
i will study my phone battery usage.. nod.gif
lotiman2003
post Jan 11 2012, 07:54 PM

1,367 posts

Looks like got other ppl that can get 5 days of battery too.

Added on January 11, 2012, 7:56 pm
QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 11 2012, 06:20 PM)

i follow all ur advice but no luck to save battery up to 5 day or at least 1 day...
i'm not superheavy user that browsing internet, watch movie, n gaming all day... 
i've try to test my arc s in the idle mood means no 3g, no sms, no call at all but only can last 1 day...  cry.gif
Just Idle mode? How come can last 1 day only?

This post has been edited by lotiman2003: Jan 11 2012, 07:56 PM
skyevo91
post Jan 11 2012, 08:24 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Jan 11 2012, 07:54 PM)
Looks like got other ppl that can get 5 days of battery too.

Added on January 11, 2012, 7:56 pm

Just Idle mode? How come can last 1 day only?
haha...
i donno y...
but it suppose to last more than 1 day right with idle mode?
xtreme_paranoid
post Jan 12 2012, 12:47 AM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

i now using .42 firmware, but wanna try .62 firmware
ROM Manager Premium can use to backup my current firmware state right?
still blurr about ROM Manager Premium function
hope someone can help. tqs smile.gif
fridel
post Jan 12 2012, 01:07 AM

kuran ka? ok e oi?
1,659 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jan 12 2012, 01:47 AM)
i now using .42 firmware, but wanna try .62 firmware
ROM Manager Premium can use to backup my current firmware state right?
still blurr about ROM Manager Premium function
hope someone can help. tqs smile.gif
I dun even root my arc yet..using custom rom,u be able to oc yr arc?
xtreme_paranoid
post Jan 12 2012, 01:15 AM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

sorry..i also dunno about it
maybe doomkernel can oc ur arc

skyevo91
post Jan 12 2012, 01:37 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(fridel @ Jan 12 2012, 01:07 AM)
oc is job of custom kernel actually...
doomkernel is the best for arc right now...
like mine, i can oc to 2.0ghz but it is not for normal use lah bcause can effect stability..
and to be noted, it is not necessarily flashing a custom rom + custom kernel...
juz flash custom kernel is more than enough...

longlongzai
post Jan 12 2012, 01:43 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(fridel @ Jan 12 2012, 01:07 AM)
got try 2.3.4 update?
zaxaxis
post Jan 12 2012, 08:29 AM

hello, anyone having problem with arc internal battery? my arc clock always reset to 1980 whenever i cabut the battery, or when my battery drain to 0%. and i observed the battery drained really fast even when idle. before this i can get 24 hour usage, but now to hold for 24 hour per charge with no data usage and auto update off also can't.. :-(
pc-ox
post Jan 12 2012, 09:52 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(zaxaxis @ Jan 12 2012, 08:29 AM)
hello, anyone having problem with arc internal battery? my arc clock always reset to 1980 whenever i cabut the battery, or when my battery drain to 0%. and i observed the battery drained really fast even when idle. before this i can get 24 hour usage, but now to hold for 24 hour per charge with no data usage and auto update off also can't.. :-(
Phone clock will reset when battery took out for long time (I not sure how long, maybe 5-15 minutes??). Same thing happen to battery drained until 0% and not immediate charge it. This is normal phenomenon.

How old your battery now? Almost 1 year? Charge and discharge process will deteriorate your battery performance from time to time. If your battery still new, there are many factors can cause battery drain fast depends on your usage, apps install and many more. Try study your battery usage first, look which process drain your battery more.
TSOM
post Jan 12 2012, 11:14 AM

2,145 posts

do you think the price will drop soon given that they're announced Xperia S?
lotiman2003
post Jan 12 2012, 06:14 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(pc-ox @ Jan 12 2012, 09:52 AM)
Phone clock will reset when battery took out for long time (I not sure how long, maybe 5-15 minutes??). Same thing happen to battery drained until 0% and not immediate charge it. This is normal phenomenon.

How old your battery now? Almost 1 year? Charge and discharge process will deteriorate your battery performance from time to time. If your battery still new, there are many factors can cause battery drain fast depends on your usage, apps install and many more. Try study your battery usage first, look which process drain your battery more.
You using 2.3.3 or 2.3.4?

Added on January 12, 2012, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Jan 11 2012, 08:24 PM)
haha...
i donno y...
but it suppose to last more than 1 day right with idle mode?
You using latest FW?

This post has been edited by lotiman2003: Jan 12 2012, 06:34 PM
fridel
post Jan 12 2012, 07:47 PM

kuran ka? ok e oi?
1,659 posts

Eh i want ask,while im playing game like frontline commander,suddenly it return to home screen,what happen to my arc? unsure.gif
But if game like hot pursuit it run smoothly rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by fridel: Jan 12 2012, 07:48 PM
Swordsmen
post Jan 12 2012, 08:27 PM

Motion Effects Designer & Video Editor
643 posts

this phone would be perfect if it had dual core and aluminum casing especially at the back - battery cover

This post has been edited by Swordsmen: Jan 12 2012, 08:28 PM
simplybored
post Jan 12 2012, 09:52 PM

129 posts

hey guys. any of you all tried out the sms pop up like iphone? there are several but i'm not sure which one to use. anyone experience and favor any? this are the 3 i found on the market.
GO SMS PRO
or
Handcent SMS
or
SMS popup

109 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1934sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:40 PM