2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

MeToo
post Jan 6 2012, 08:56 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ Jan 6 2012, 08:51 PM)
means the more expensive the car the more developed the country is? Then I'd rather stay in a less developed country
Well to each their own i suppose.

If you see Thailand as a good example of a forward/developed country and woudl liek to mimic them then pls go ahead.

I'll rather our country strive to be as developed as SG (despite whether I actually LIKE singapores/singapore or not).

oh.. using my Z4 example...

a Z4 (3.5l) is 8.5M Baht in Thailand. So.. its cheaper then Msia/Singapore?
MeToo
post Jan 8 2012, 02:03 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 8 2012, 12:29 AM)
Colour choice might still change, but different region has different preference for colour.

I am actually surprised that red made the cut, red was impossible to sell on the Sonata and Tucson.
Er.. what is wrong with red... every car in my house used to be silver.. it got so bland and boring... I'm slowly migrating to red now smile.gif
MeToo
post Jan 16 2012, 02:28 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 16 2012, 02:27 PM)
1.8L now RM118K+???  shocking.gif

HSDM must be really out of their mind if they think they can hope to sell it at that price unless they wanna push ppl to get the 1.6L standard or run back to the Kia Forte. Madness!  vmad.gif
LOL... 1.8 @ 118k++?! doh.gif
MeToo
post Jan 16 2012, 05:39 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 16 2012, 05:36 PM)
One of the salesman walk past me and mentioned in Cantonese "This guy only came in a Myvi, waste our time only"... but he though I dun understand...

Incidently I drove my wife's Myvi to the showroom...they wanna treat their potential customers like this, why should I give them my money?? shakehead.gif

Btw, I got treated really really well when i followed my fren to Glenmarie BMW showroom...somemore I'm looking only.
This shows their sales peopel is BADLY TRAINED!

I went to the Nissan Infinity showroom in KL.. a bunch of us rush in during a heavy rain.. drippign water all over their floor... summore they were so helpful and professional... some of us sat in their cars with slightly wet shirt also they never bat an eyelid.
MeToo
post Jan 17 2012, 01:20 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(spchew79 @ Jan 16 2012, 06:56 PM)
Seems like Hyundai is bullying Malaysia car buyer...this car sell much cheaper than Civic and Altis in other market, it is even cheaper than Chev Cruze. Something is seriously wrong if they sell at RM118k here.

At this price I can foresee the car will worth only RM75k+ in resale value after just 2 years, and that is RM40k loss (should be more if add in interest).

Scaryyyy...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Hahaha.. then buy 2nd hand lor... Hyundai cars worth buy second hand cause value drop like nonsense tongue.gif
MeToo
post Jan 17 2012, 01:21 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 17 2012, 12:53 PM)
Honda Civic get official launching yesterday in Singapore.
Most probably Msian Honda Civic will hav same look. See link:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/events_features.php?AID=2514

If Elantra price too high, better get civic rite.
The radio control panel is LOL inspiring
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 11:16 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 26 2012, 11:43 PM)
my take, for the elantra or any others, buy if you can afford to pay the price (max 5 years installment), else look for a cheaper car. whining will get you no where.
Its not about affording or not, sure RM120k is not much for a car... but its whether you are getting value for your $, and with the bigger then average drop in 2nd hand value of korean cars, its not looking too attractive currently
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 11:34 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 27 2012, 11:21 AM)
you think of resale value if you cannot afford the drop, the parts prices and service cost.

you think of value for $ when you think of its long spec sheet (if it has one), awards won & good reviews.
The way I look at it.

Buying a car u have a value lost over the years, cant be help.

Buying THIS car u have a Bigger then average loss over the year. If over 3 years I lost an extra 30k compared to say buying an accord.

I might as well put in the extra 30k initially and buy a different car, and at RM120k, I can just buy a Rm150k jap, and I doubt the specs would be much less compared to elantra.

As for korean cars, I have 2 at home now, their drop is bigger then what i woudl like, my proton/nissan depreciation is still acceptable.

As for being able to "afford" it or not, that is a different thing all together, just cause I can afford it doesnt mean I should make a bad buying decision which will end up costing me more $$ then it should have.
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 11:46 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 27 2012, 11:44 AM)
How U know Elantra have a Bigger then average loss over the year than accord, proton & nissan?
How does anyone know? Its new, no one will know for SURE.

But, come on, are you trying to convince people that Elantra will have a SMALLER average loss over the years then an accord?! doh.gif
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 12:35 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 27 2012, 12:24 PM)
its simple, if cannot afford the price over a 5 years loan, look for cheaper car. if can afford and willing to accept whatever loss that will arise, buy it. its better than to whine about what prices SD place over the car and how it compares with other marques.
So you basically saying, "If wan to buy then buy"? That pretty much doesnt add anything to the discussion.

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 27 2012, 12:24 PM)
am i willing to plonk 120k on this car? done much higher  doh.gif  however SC service is way better than H & T.  rclxms.gif
The question is not whether u will pay RM120k for a car, so what if you paid higher? I bougth a RM200k car, doesnt mean I wanna buy this car, the question is will you pay RM120k for THIS car.
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 02:35 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 27 2012, 02:10 PM)
comparing Teana with Elantra, where's your logic?  rclxms.gif
Then your "Buy if you can afford" argument very logical? ssshhhh doh.gif
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 02:40 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jan 27 2012, 02:38 PM)
Seems like argument over the price is what tat kept this thread alive. Anyway the price is fix.... SD wont be adjusting the price for this year. So guess everyone should just give up.
I think the current discussion is not over the price, its whether at the current price of RM~120K, is it still worth buying.

And the conclusion for the majority here (including a few fanbois) seems to be "No".
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 02:51 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 27 2012, 02:44 PM)

forummers here present a small sample of the population and not everyone thinks alike. expensive or otherwise is relative to your income.
Wrong. Expensive or not is not relative to our income, its a comparison of similar products.

If A = B,
and A is $50,
while B is $500, then B is expensive.

Our income have nothing to do with it.
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 04:06 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 27 2012, 04:04 PM)
Bro, you'd be surprised at how much depreciation you will experience with a D-segment smile.gif

I did this comparison in another thread:

2003 Camry 2.0 (the big backside model) New price = RM140k
2003 Sonata 2.0 New price = RM110K

2003 Camry 2.0 now = RM55k
2003 Sonata 2.0 now = RM25k

Camry's depreciation = RM85k
Sonata's depreciation = RM85k

So at the end of the day, what does it tell you? Both cars lost RM85k over a span of 9 yrs, or a flatline depreciation of RM9,444 per annum.

If you're comparing the C-segment Elantra vs the C-segment Civic then yes, the Civic will retain more value over the years.
Hmm... u have any numbers for say 3~5 yrs? Cause, in my case, I dont forsee keeping a car for more then 5 years.

Cause if you keep a car for 10 years... there is a rock bottom of how much the price will go I reckon.
MeToo
post Jan 27 2012, 07:22 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 27 2012, 07:05 PM)
last time when i purchased my car, i took 9 years and the interest rate i got was 2.7%....
Rate about ~2.8 now.....

So whoever say "use cash pay more upfront (or entire car) to save interest" should be SHOT and then chopped into pieces.
MeToo
post Jan 28 2012, 02:23 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 27 2012, 07:50 PM)
depends on what car and brand they would like to purchase and how long they intend to use it  smile.gif
No.... all should be SHOT cause ..... Current FD rate for 60 months is 3.8%... why pay more upfront for the car when you get BETTER returns putting your money in FD./... geeez
MeToo
post Jan 28 2012, 01:05 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(sochaiapk @ Jan 28 2012, 08:07 AM)
You are wrong. There is something called effective interest rate when it comes to interest calculated up front for hire purchase type of loan.
Assuming you have cash to pay for a car and you put the money in FD earning 3.8% for 6 years and borrow at 2.7% for the same period, you will be paying more interest rate than you earn from FD. The reason is you need to pay instalment for the car loan every month and you need to take out money from FD to service your car loan which reduces your FD ineterst earned in the end. As a result, your FD interest will reduce every month but your car loan ineterst remain the same throughout your loan tenure. Not to forget your 3.8% FD is locked for 6 years and you cannot take out money from it every month to service your car loan.

If one thinks this way, both the FD and car loan are products of the same bank and how can there be paying (FD) more they earn (car loan). The simple reason is it does not work as simple as you see it. The effective interest rate is much higher than the FD they pay their client. tongue.gif
Do excuse my inability to catch your point via the long paragraphs. Perhaps you can educate us and show some examples thru simples maths as I would love to learn more.

Lets take a $100,000 car.
Case 1 : Pay $50K cash and loan $50k @ 2.8% for a tenure or 5 yrs.
Case 2 : Pay $0 cash, loan $100k @ 2.8% for a tenure of 5 yrs, AND put in $50k in FD @ 3.0% on a monthly renewable basis for 5 yrs.

So, I'm wondering, which case result in higher savings again?

Also do keep in mind cash in FD is much more versatile, you have an emergency.. out comes the cash, compared to selling your car to get $.

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jan 28 2012, 01:08 PM
MeToo
post Jan 29 2012, 03:44 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 28 2012, 06:00 PM)

Added on January 28, 2012, 6:09 pm(simple illustration for understanding, and it is not correct, as it need monthly payment reduction on principal to have the accurate figure)
100k x 2.8% = 2.8k interest is paid every year with 5 year loan.

1st year, loan 100k, pay 2.8k interest = 2.8% effective interest rate
2nd year, loan left 80k, still pay 2.8k = it is no longer a 2.8%, but 3.5% already
3rd year, loan left 60k, still pay 2.8k = 4.6%
4th year, loan left 40k. still pay 2.8k = 7%.

The FD 3% only save you tiny bit in the first years, but losing big and bigger as the year progress.
Hmm... the way you put it.. seems the I pay more for the HP then what I get in return for my money in FD.

However, doign a quick calculation, the end result doesnt agree with your example strangely.

Lets take a $100,000 car.
Case 1 : Pay $50K cash and loan $50k @ 2.8% for a tenure or 5 yrs.
Case 2 : Pay $0 cash, loan $100k @ 2.8% for a tenure of 5 yrs, AND put in $50k in FD @ 3.0% on a monthly renewable basis for 5 yrs. (FD for 60 months is 3.8%)

Maths :
Case 1 : Total interest paid $7,000
Case 2 : Total interest paid $14,000 - $8000 (FD interest) = $6,000
Case 3 : Using 60 months FD rates $14,000 - $10,000 (FD interest) = $4,000

So.... I'm still confused about the supposed EIR that will make my loan interest more then my FD interest. I think alot of people dont care what is the EIR etc... we care more on what is the actual cost in Ringgit. The EIR could be 500% for all we care as long as we end up saving some $.

Oh and lets not talk about taking $$ out of FD for monthly repayment, the FD $$ will not be touched, I can handle the monthly repayment/maintenance etc for all the above case.

Another guy pointed out the Inflation reducing the "value" of the FD, it doesnt matter cause inflation would have reduced the "value" of yoru RM100k loan as well. So inflation is not a factor in this situation.

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jan 29 2012, 03:52 AM
MeToo
post Feb 3 2012, 10:30 AM

9,333 posts

[quote=Nick-87,Feb 3 2012, 09:39 AM]
[QUOTE]
Benjamin says:
February 2, 2012 at 12:46 pm
Mr Stanley the car will definitely and confirm to be priced around Civic and Altis segment as the build quality and design of the car is a class ahead.

Source

Same saying from bro fluidic, "build quality" + other elements of the elantra make the price tagged equally with japs c seg car.

H. Sonata price is still cheaper than its japs rivals. But if the i. Elantra pricing around civic and altis, meaning the build quality of i > h ? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif

[/quote]

Simple..... price already set sky high... SA how to explain? Sure must say "This car quality/design is on par with BMW.. so we sell Altis price its a BARGAIN yo! thumbup.gif
MeToo
post Feb 5 2012, 11:16 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(yamato @ Feb 5 2012, 08:57 PM)
i went to soeul last year, the locals told me their sonata is just rm60k.

here in msia? top up another 80k to get the same spec. what a world...
Malaysia Boleh!

DOnt compare with Korea lah... Malaysia is higher grade de.. we must compare to Somalia! Sonata in Somalia cost more then Malaysia! So means our country very good le!

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

1.9681sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:00 AM