Multiplayer R.I.P. PC Gamer Malaysia Magazine, took an arrow to the knee

TSfiredauz
post Jan 2 2012, 09:43 PM, updated 14y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

My apology, I search the forum, but nothing came up on the result for the final days of PC Gamer Malaysia magazine.
Do link this thread to the existing ones, thank you.
Even tried to go to their forum, came back with virus warning from Kaspersky.

I remembered the days back with all the community from the forum.
Lots of fun, online and offline.

Oh well.

RIP PCGM, and thanks for everything nod.gif

===================================

Discussion-wise: game magazines can't survive anymore in Malaysia?

This post has been edited by firedauz: Jan 3 2012, 01:05 AM
Eoma
post Jan 2 2012, 09:44 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Jan 2 2012, 09:43 PM)
Discussion-wise: game magazines can't survive anymore in Malaysia?
Not when you have the internet. (i.e. their content can be read elsewhere for free, and probably more updated too).
They should have gone e-mag at least, with interactive content etc.
salimbest83
post Jan 2 2012, 09:45 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,648 posts

i've used to bought almost every month of their mag before the booms on internuts.

rip for them
newuserex
post Jan 2 2012, 09:48 PM

キャッハハ…キャハハッキャッ……キャハハ…
546 posts

Perhaps they go online only, like Max-it do.
Hornet
post Jan 2 2012, 09:55 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jan 2 2012, 09:44 PM)
Not when you have the internet. (i.e. their content can be read elsewhere for free, and probably more updated too).
They should have gone e-mag at least, with interactive content etc.
Exactly

With the widespread use of the internet, these business needs to evolve

There are so many gaming sites out there that we can access for free. So the question they have to ask themself is how can they offer a service that is as easy to access online, but have more content that people would be willing to pay for.

As Eoma mentioned above, interactive content is a good idea, PC Gaming US is already doing that where they have some video based and interactive "e-mag" available on Steam. They still need to improve I think, but its a start.
Currylaksa
post Jan 2 2012, 10:53 PM

1,616 posts

If you can go online, why you need Malaysian online version.
memphiz_zero88
post Jan 2 2012, 11:29 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

i like reading books better, even if I have to pay for it.
feels good mang.....

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Jan 2 2012, 11:29 PM
kianweic
post Jan 3 2012, 07:25 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

RIP PC Gamer Malaysia.

Bought the last issue. Stop buying it forawhile.
lanux128
post Jan 3 2012, 09:29 AM

208 posts

good mag, been buying on and off though..

i like having a dead tree version sometimes, handy when away from the computer..
Savor_Savvy
post Jan 3 2012, 09:42 AM

2,776 posts

you can find tons of skyrim reviews online, for free...

rip to pc gamer malaysia

but maybe re-ignite the forum community?
Edison83
post Jan 3 2012, 10:12 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

I love PCGM few year back but recent local news been boring all i read is
dota dota dota tournament, f2p MMO, so I stop buy it.

Anyway, RIP.
GameSky
post Jan 3 2012, 10:41 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

RIP PCGM...

Quazacolt
post Jan 3 2012, 10:46 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

even though i've never bought a copy myself, i've borrowed from friends and quite enjoyed it a bit.

so yeah RIP PCGM
TiF
post Jan 3 2012, 10:46 AM

1,192 posts

RIP. I bought the mag every month. Sad that it now EOL liao, gonna buy the UK version I guess, triple the price ><
ik3da
post Jan 3 2012, 10:48 AM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

Used to love these type of gamer mags until it begins to look and sound more and more like those copy-pasted information instead of localized information or reviews.

*Still like printed mags than e-mags though. Just can't find a good one to read nowadays.
SpikeTwo
post Jan 3 2012, 11:01 AM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

haha...malaysia version always lagging behind. arrow in the knee indeed.
Lucifer96
post Jan 3 2012, 11:24 AM

257 posts

PCG Uk costs more, but let's be frank here, it's like buying original vs pirates. No offence to anyone.
sayming
post Jan 3 2012, 11:25 AM

"Welcome, to my DEATH MACHINE, interloper!"
3,410 posts

Sad to hear but its quite inevitable. 90% of the content is taken from PCG US and UK. The locally generated content are all very weak and uninteresting. I stopped buying after a year. Gave them a chance but didnt see anything original so no thanks..
Instant_noodle
post Jan 3 2012, 11:47 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

whatever happens, i blame TMNut...
Goliath764
post Jan 3 2012, 01:07 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

The content is indeed 90% copy-pasted but I still love it though, just can't replace the feeling of reading an actual copy of book/mag with anything else so RIP.
sasaug
post Jan 3 2012, 01:18 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

Yes they copy paste alot and sometimes u see UK pound sign in there, not converted to RM. Too bad, I used to buy them when I manage to passby a bookstore.

It's fun reading a book than doing it online sometimes. Max-IT was also my favorite but so sad it had to stop.
atrass
post Jan 3 2012, 01:37 PM

163 posts

i used to buy them when i still using 56k dial up connection, then streamyx shoot an arrow to my knee...
thanks for the info, i'll go and get this final issue from nearby book store.
Infopier
post Jan 3 2012, 01:45 PM

136 posts

RIP Such a pity. Last Issue on Skyrim too.... PC Gamer used to give us the most updates, until Internut shoots an arrow on its knee.
temptation1314
post Jan 3 2012, 03:40 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

PC Gamer got "Fus Ro Dah-ed"

And they took an arrow on their knee. LOL
Axalter
post Jan 3 2012, 03:59 PM

333 posts

PCGM. So nostalgic.

Cheesenium
post Jan 3 2012, 04:38 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

RIP, it was good until crap MMO spam.

Well, i guess i'll try to order PC Powerplay from Australia then. It's still far better than PCGUS.
Roy187
post Jan 3 2012, 05:25 PM

Seriously? No More PCGM?
mcchin
post Jan 3 2012, 05:26 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

I was at popular bookstore and holding gameaxis on my right hand and pcgamer on the left
was thinking which to buy... then i chose gameaxis

I did see the Final Issue stamp, but I thought it meant the final issue of the year
so i was hopping for a Jan 2012 issue... dang.. have to find it later after work

(hopefully not some kind of troll/ pub stunt where a few months later, resurrection!!!)
Roy187
post Jan 3 2012, 05:27 PM

maybe they doing update? new year...new magazine..
golbeza
post Jan 3 2012, 07:35 PM

58 posts

Bottom line is..

.. if the editors are reading the replies from this thread and from Kopitiam..

.. 99% is because of the copy-paste contents & uninteresting local write-ups.

Could've invested in good local writers and it will be fine.

Gaji tinggi sikit, tarak apa maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
GameSky
post Jan 3 2012, 07:37 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 3 2012, 04:38 PM)
RIP, it was good until crap MMO spam.

This, killed my interest to buy..too sad.gif ..last time it used to be "epic"..but with those local mmo things..kinda sad.gif
l337hunter
post Jan 3 2012, 07:47 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Jan 3 2012, 07:35 PM)
Bottom line is..

.. if the editors are reading the replies from this thread and from Kopitiam..

.. 99% is because of the copy-paste contents & uninteresting local write-ups.

Could've invested in good local writers and it will be fine.

Gaji tinggi sikit, tarak apa maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Write? felt the editors didn't even wrote anything almost the whole mag was filled with totally unrelated ads, coffee-pasta from foreign UK and US PC gamer and crappy event announcements like local Dota with barely any descriptions. doh.gif
tech_frix
post Jan 4 2012, 07:48 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

i stop buying PCG when they start emphasising on Dota, some asian mmorpg and boring online games..
anyway, thanks and RIP PCG..
temptation1314
post Jan 4 2012, 07:52 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

I stop buying PCG when I see Copy Pasta and whole lots of MMO craps.

For being a editor and their company, should be able to afford a single or 2 gaming rig to always test on new game.

This way their mag will only filled with more genuine reviews than copy pasta info here and there. doh.gif
tech_frix
post Jan 4 2012, 08:18 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

the editor need to hire ppls from dis forum..yeah!!
Fatimus
post Jan 4 2012, 08:47 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

QUOTE(l337hunter @ Jan 3 2012, 07:47 PM)
Write? felt the editors didn't even wrote anything almost the whole mag was filled with totally unrelated ads, coffee-pasta from foreign UK and US PC gamer and crappy event announcements like local Dota with barely any descriptions. doh.gif
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 4 2012, 07:52 AM)
I stop buying PCG when I see Copy Pasta and whole lots of MMO craps.

For being a editor and their company, should be able to afford a single or 2 gaming rig to always test on new game.

This way their mag will only filled with more genuine reviews than copy pasta info here and there. doh.gif
Very much this. What for I am buying a copy pasta version which filled with free grindcore MMOs. I don't care if their own review is too long or too short, they should write their own genuine reviews.
HumbleCMY
post Jan 4 2012, 09:28 AM

96 posts

Since 2010-2011, when internet getting ridiculously fast, the PCGM magazine seems to lag like 1-2 months. November issue don't even have September game review since they only copy paste from UK/US version.

Gameaxis was my choice of gaming mag eventhough they focused a lot on console.
Grif
post Jan 4 2012, 09:33 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jan 4 2012, 08:47 AM)
Very much this. What for I am buying a copy pasta version which filled with free grindcore MMOs. I don't care if their own review is too long or too short, they should write their own genuine reviews.
I know. What the heck, if I wanted to grind MMO, I've done so. Not by reading it in a PC Gamer magazine. PC games =/= MMO. Especially not Korean Grindfest MMO. Why no coverage of indie games? rolleyes.gif
vh_20
post Jan 4 2012, 09:47 AM

290 posts

i have this issue, when i read final issue i thought final issue for 2011. well, i subscribed to pc gamer US thru kindle and tablet app already. PCGM copied paste from them btw.

its cheap 1.99 usd per month.

This post has been edited by vh_20: Jan 4 2012, 09:50 AM
AwaN87
post Jan 4 2012, 03:03 PM

272 posts

really?? wow, it does take back to time when i dont know what to google for gaming review, tips or etc..

dont have any copy left because i sell it doh.gif
meetxj9
post Jan 4 2012, 04:28 PM

187 posts

Degrading magazine with degraded writers with degraded marketing with degraded expectations.

AKA, Copy_Paste Warriors.
Luftwacko
post Jan 4 2012, 04:58 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(HumbleCMY @ Jan 4 2012, 09:28 AM)
PCGM magazine seems to lag like 1-2 months.  November issue don't even have September game review since they only copy paste from UK/US version.
Pretty much sums up the reasons why I've stopped buying their mags.

RIP PCGM. Loyal patron from 2007 to 2009.
joshuatly
post Jan 4 2012, 05:08 PM

812 posts

i found no reason to buy any tech/gaming magazine IF they are reporting on news, or local events, i can read them online and not after 1 month of the event/news happened.

EXCEPT, they provide really extensive and valuable research result or alternative view to one event/matters, else no point of reading
dazealot
post Jan 4 2012, 05:16 PM

For me I stopped buying PCGM when i realized most of my favorite reviewers were on Rock Paper Shotgun and I can read there free. Too bad Tom Francis is not there and Kieron Gillen left.

....actually maybe I would've stopped buying after I seeing my shelf full of old PCGM anyway.

King Cole
post Jan 4 2012, 06:22 PM

14 posts

Lol people still buying malaysia PC gamer? Even PC gamer US publisher going fully digital.
Vigilant
post Jan 4 2012, 09:26 PM

Be ever vigilant, but never suspicious
1,288 posts

Too bad. I bet gaming fans these days rather watch the gameplay itself on IGN, Youtube or whatever for a better picture of the game instead of reading.

Was an avid reader of PCG back then.
commanderz
post Jan 4 2012, 09:54 PM

676 posts

same here...used to buy the magazine every month in few year back....too bad that Malaysia version get really late update....and TONS of MMO game....bored me... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by commanderz: Jan 4 2012, 09:56 PM
Flare124
post Jan 6 2012, 12:23 AM

RIP PC Gamer Malaysia Magazine. Bought the last mag. Thx PC Gamer.
Vyrnach
post Jan 6 2012, 03:43 PM

168 posts

sometimes borrowed from a friend (or two) and it's somehow good to read it as a book even though it's easy to find it on the net
Cheesenium
post Jan 6 2012, 04:32 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Flare124 @ Jan 6 2012, 12:23 AM)
RIP PC Gamer Malaysia Magazine. Bought the last mag. Thx PC Gamer.
I just got the last copy too, and its pretty surprising that the MMO junk are all gone. The reviews are disappointing though as they only publish the review for Space Marine in December. Really?
sayming
post Jan 6 2012, 04:39 PM

"Welcome, to my DEATH MACHINE, interloper!"
3,410 posts

Honestly everytime I purchase a copy of PCG Malaysia I don't know what the people in the company does other than copy pasting the content and add some of those local MMO introductions (which IMO only includes bare minimum information which can be read from the game box).

I don't want to compare but GameAxis does so so much more. Every article, preview, review is written by a local writer. You get to read some more personal views on games and the way its written feels Malaysian. The effort put in producing both the magazines really differ I feel.

GameAxis usually release pretty late, understandable seeing how they need to compile everyone's content. PCG Malaysia? Probably only need tp arrange, proof read, spellcheck the last 10-20 pages of the magazine.

Sorry, I used to support PCG Malaysia alot when it just released but it just went downhill from there.
ashx
post Jan 6 2012, 06:44 PM

230 posts

f2p mmos junk killed it for me, Used to eagerly wait for monthly issue on the next best game. Then its just silkroad, yada yada, dota crap.

Too bad they didn't adapt. RIP.
skylinelover
post Jan 8 2012, 07:20 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,266 posts

haha i remember i used 2 buy PCGM way back in 04-05...06 onwards i stopped buying bcoz of over reporting the crappy chinese MMOs which i never intend 2 play at all...RIP PCGM
Neosage
post Feb 28 2017, 06:58 PM

Is there no Pure Games Mag/site right now? The gamers here are a plenty, they need their fix of twitch schedules of esports, listings and ranks of players, especially malaysian players as well as casters. Then we have tips from malaysian gamer pros or any other. What about convention promotions, organizing purely gaming and VR conventions, separate reviews as well as reader submissions/uploads that are from malaysia...I could keep going but I see none and I'm thinking big business for investing right about now
Savor_Savvy
post Mar 2 2017, 08:02 PM

2,776 posts

Internet kills the magazine.

0.0380sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:10 AM