Cleaning, After Renovation
@Adele
Jan 4 2012, 11:58 AM
I ask one of the cleaning services advertised in the forum..and it wasn't a job well done. The maids worked really slow, barely cleaning and scrubbing, and complaining about the dust all the time. U gotta sit there and supervise and ask them to do it again n again and I scrub along with them for 4 hours. Anyway it's still dusty. So I had to redo again by myself. So better save ur money, and do it urself bit by bit. I guarantee it'll be cleaner than what u paid for.
This post has been edited by @Adele: Jan 4 2012, 12:06 PM
numbertwo
Jan 4 2012, 12:05 PM
i wonder if you do spray waters inside the house against the wall, floor and every where? i found that to absolutely clean the floor, must spray it with water and some detergent...else there is no way to totally remove the dust by just mopping..
TSlowlowc
Jan 4 2012, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 4 2012, 12:05 PM) i wonder if you do spray waters inside the house against the wall, floor and every where? i found that to absolutely clean the floor, must spray it with water and some detergent...else there is no way to totally remove the dust by just mopping.. At first plan to do that, but neighbour auntie told us she did that and regret. Her walls ended up with unremovable water stains especially near the floor part.
weikee
Jan 4 2012, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 4 2012, 12:05 PM) i wonder if you do spray waters inside the house against the wall, floor and every where? i found that to absolutely clean the floor, must spray it with water and some detergent...else there is no way to totally remove the dust by just mopping.. Floor is ok, but not wall and wooden door. What happen if water slip into plugs? go into wood and expand?
cynthusc
Jan 4 2012, 05:32 PM
This is what I did for dust:
First sweep with a good broom to remove the larger particles. Do the whole house twice and in a systematic manner. The process should be in such a way that you do not track back to the same room again just to get to an un-swept area; i.e it should be in one direction. Next, use a powerful vacuum cleaner to go over the same surfaces to suck up all the smaller particles. Then go over the same surface again with a Japanese wiper sheet which is very effective in picking up the smallest particles. Change the wiper sheet when it gets dirty. Use both sides. When you see that the wiper sheet no longer changes colour easily, it is time to go to the next step. Lastly mop the same surface with a mop that has floor cleaning solution. Make sure that as you mop along, you change the moping solution when the water color changes. When the water is relatively clear, your surfaces is considered really clean. I keep my house in pristine condition using this technique twice a month.
JollySheep
Jan 4 2012, 10:40 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 4 2012, 10:46 AM) Depend on they type of paint. Haha... My wall is painted with Nippon Satin Glo. I'm planning to use a new mop (damp) to wipe the wall first. Then, use it to mop the floor. Lazy me....  Added on January 4, 2012, 10:42 pmQUOTE(cynthusc @ Jan 4 2012, 05:32 PM) This is what I did for dust: First sweep with a good broom to remove the larger particles. Do the whole house twice and in a systematic manner. The process should be in such a way that you do not track back to the same room again just to get to an un-swept area; i.e it should be in one direction. Next, use a powerful vacuum cleaner to go over the same surfaces to suck up all the smaller particles. Then go over the same surface again with a Japanese wiper sheet which is very effective in picking up the smallest particles. Change the wiper sheet when it gets dirty. Use both sides. When you see that the wiper sheet no longer changes colour easily, it is time to go to the next step. Lastly mop the same surface with a mop that has floor cleaning solution. Make sure that as you mop along, you change the moping solution when the water color changes. When the water is relatively clear, your surfaces is considered really clean. I keep my house in pristine condition using this technique twice a month. Wow... Very detail cleaning. I think need whole day to do that. This post has been edited by JollySheep: Jan 4 2012, 10:42 PM
kingkong1
Jan 5 2012, 12:13 AM
I try to clean my self, 6 hour non stop on a small floor area, my arm joint swallon and paint for months, until now.. Visit "tit tak" 3 times also no improvement.
weikee
Jan 5 2012, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:13 AM) I try to clean my self, 6 hour non stop on a small floor area, my arm joint swallon and paint for months, until now.. Visit "tit tak" 3 times also no improvement. Entire house you become real KingKong  It take time and patient.
numbertwo
Jan 5 2012, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 4 2012, 03:52 PM) Floor is ok, but not wall and wooden door. What happen if water slip into plugs? go into wood and expand? yes indeed u don't splash water onto the wood, and don't do that on a new wall too. But for the floor, splashing water and detergent onto it is the most effective way.. On on of my wall, I don't know which type of paint my contractor used, it is very smooth and easy to clean with wet cloth so that's what we do to wipe off the dust from the wall.
ojp
Jan 8 2012, 05:11 PM

guys, how abt those cement powder trapped at windows railtrack ? how u guys clean that area ? my windows railtrack trapped with some small cement stones and powder and i'm thinking to get a vacuum cleaner to get rid of it...but wonder whether the vacuum cleaner can sucks the small cement stone or not...anyone experiences this before ?