126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Steam Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V11, It has been a crazy roller-coaster week!

Grif
post Feb 9 2012, 01:56 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(pekkauwer @ Feb 9 2012, 01:54 PM)
hmm i heard from my cari friend....... well this just rumour that....... steam have free game? o.o is that true? coz i dont believe my friend lol
Team Fortress 2
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Feb 9 2012, 01:59 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(pekkauwer @ Feb 9 2012, 01:54 PM)
hmm i heard from my cari friend....... well this just rumour that....... steam have free game? o.o is that true? coz i dont believe my friend lol
lots of them.

http://store.steampowered.com/genre/Free%20to%20Play/

alien swarm - http://store.steampowered.com/app/630/?snr=1_7_suggest__13
team fortress 2 - http://store.steampowered.com/app/440/?snr=1_7_suggest__13
moonbase alpha - http://store.steampowered.com/app/39000/?snr=1_7_suggest__13
koolzuru
post Feb 9 2012, 02:00 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Feb 9 2012, 02:34 PM)
they get localised version so its cheaper but region locked to them
But there is still english version right. They have additional language at discounted price. Sound like a good deal for them
Cheesenium
post Feb 9 2012, 02:23 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Feb 9 2012, 01:59 PM)
Well, there is a free game tab on Steam for the list of free games. You can browse and download them directly.

RyonanGT
post Feb 9 2012, 02:29 PM

Damn... my 1st ever ori game @ 26
3,384 posts

dont know need to wait for how long b4 Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning will get discount... Russian Steam price is USD30 only... sad sad sad.gif
pekkauwer
post Feb 9 2012, 02:32 PM

273 posts

so tension when dao price still not drop >.>
alex82
post Feb 9 2012, 02:42 PM

^_^
371 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Feb 9 2012, 01:38 PM)
He disable comment section. +1 for suspicious behaviour. Maybe he didn't know what he do is breaching Steam T&C. Read the EULA again, Steam can suspended your account if you breach their T&C, without any notice. But i know plenty member who asked their friend from Europe to gift them games, their account still survive. Maybe because they're not making profit.
yep very obvious he did't know about it

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article...qid=549#revoked

May I sell gift subscriptions?

Steam Gift Purchases can not be sold. Attempting to sell a gift subscription is a violation of the Steam Subscriber Agreement and may result in your account being permanently disabled. You can trade gifts using our new Steam Trading system and can read more about that here.

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Feb 9 2012, 03:03 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(alex82 @ Feb 9 2012, 02:42 PM)
or he knows about it but still does it ?
alex82
post Feb 9 2012, 03:10 PM

^_^
371 posts

if he know it then his just waiting for steam to perm banned he and his friend account sweat.gif
TiF
post Feb 9 2012, 03:14 PM

1,192 posts

go lipot him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! biggrin.gif
alex82
post Feb 9 2012, 03:15 PM

^_^
371 posts

^ haha no need la his just making money for living

kesian dia
kof91
post Feb 9 2012, 03:17 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Feb 9 2012, 12:48 PM)
ooo which one. link link pls.
rps links here
http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2012/02/01...ur-steam-games/
noobfc
post Feb 9 2012, 03:23 PM

Peanuts
753 posts

QUOTE(koolzuru @ Feb 9 2012, 02:00 PM)
But there is still english version right. They have additional language at discounted price. Sound like a good deal for them
honestly even im confused with the russian steam rclxub.gif

as far as i know only some games have the english version but is limited to some games only, thats why people willing to 'trade' from the russian steam market
kof91
post Feb 9 2012, 03:25 PM

82 posts

Its still hard for steam to prove that the the game is sold or gifted to another person, unless people post links in forum like this which is obviously asking for money for tradable gifts, else gifting should be safe. as the payment is done outside. there is no way steam can prove anything

I think steam really pantang those sell their account or using account in other country to get cheaper deal. some of the post comment mentioned that. But I think its handled case by case basis by stema support, also know when to admit mistake and ask for forgiveness seems to work to get back your account to some extend? lol

Added on February 9, 2012, 3:27 pmFor those who sign up for ign prime, dun forget to grab the pet for your avatar to get permamant 15% off any games from gamersgate.

This post has been edited by kof91: Feb 9 2012, 03:27 PM
RyonanGT
post Feb 9 2012, 03:30 PM

Damn... my 1st ever ori game @ 26
3,384 posts

QUOTE(kof91 @ Feb 9 2012, 03:17 PM)
man, after reading the article, it looks like Valve is arrogant... how can u ban someone without giving any reason and the reason the victim unban is because of the hep from RPS author. Man this s.ucks...

now i kind of believe EA's claim on Steam and EA's reason not want their new game to be available on Steam... well the same things could happened to Origins as well... seems like services like Gamersgate and GoG is better after all... smile.gif

if i got banned for no reason, dun blame me if i go jack sparrow forever... tongue.gif

Added on February 9, 2012, 3:32 pm
QUOTE(kof91 @ Feb 9 2012, 03:25 PM)

Added on February 9, 2012, 3:27 pmFor those who sign up for ign prime, dun forget to grab the pet for your avatar to get permamant 15% off any games from gamersgate.
does the perma 15% discount still applies after ur Prime acc expired?

This post has been edited by RyonanGT: Feb 9 2012, 03:32 PM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Feb 9 2012, 03:44 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

well he got banned because he buy from russia and gift too many games.

if we buy from ?cc=my or ?cc=us

i think should be okay.
kof91
post Feb 9 2012, 03:45 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(RyonanGT @ Feb 9 2012, 03:30 PM)
man, after reading the article, it looks like Valve is arrogant... how can u ban someone without giving any reason and the reason the victim unban is because of the hep from RPS author. Man this s.ucks...

now i kind of believe EA's claim on Steam and EA's reason not want their new game to be available on Steam... well the same things could happened to Origins as well... seems like services like Gamersgate and GoG is better after all... smile.gif

if i got banned for no reason, dun blame me if i go jack sparrow forever... tongue.gif

Added on February 9, 2012, 3:32 pm

does the perma 15% discount still applies after ur Prime acc expired?
only if you do something dodgy if not I dun think you will be banned for no reason, I think steam also not right in this regard by banning then ignoring the customer's request for an explanation .

I believe the discount is permanent, I will find out when my prime expires. smile.gif

noobfc
post Feb 9 2012, 03:50 PM

Peanuts
753 posts

4 things you need to keep in mind while using steam

- do not accept gifts from strangers or clicking at phisy links
- try to buy from your region (the risk is there if you buy from other region)
- steam support is slow but more humane in a way
- buying/gifting too much at a time will raise an eyebrow since they might think you're using a stolen CC

This post has been edited by noobfc: Feb 9 2012, 03:50 PM
kof91
post Feb 9 2012, 03:56 PM

82 posts

If the title is drm free, the best is get from gog or gamersgate (why get from steam for drm free titles? to add steam drm?), download and keep on your own computer. That is when you truly owns it. no reason to get from steam for drm free titles, unless you wan the download services. or for cases like humble bundles, you already own the drm free version, steam is just another game manager, even if it is banned you will not be locked out of your own games.

Other drm-ed games if you get from gamersgate I still still same issue, example securom activation from gamersgate, their services is down, you cant install it anymore. but at least you wont be locked out of your own game, you can proly find a securom workaround. but on steam we have less control, you could end up losing the whole account for 1 issue. that is the key discussion on RPS whether we do own our games or not.

This post has been edited by kof91: Feb 9 2012, 03:57 PM
alex82
post Feb 9 2012, 03:58 PM

^_^
371 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Feb 9 2012, 03:44 PM)
well he got banned because he buy from russia and gift too many games.

if we buy from ?cc=my or ?cc=us

i think should be okay.
he did't actually buy it, he ask his russia student friend to buy it for him then he sell it off for slight profit

if u read his steam profile he did mention about how he obtain the game

like for example kingdom of amalur, ru steam store selling at 30usd after conversion rate, he sell it for RM130, that like RM40 profit and maybe he will split the different with his fren rm20/20

This post has been edited by alex82: Feb 9 2012, 04:00 PM

126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:32 AM