Annuity Insurance Product, Tax relief RM 3000

kmarc
post Nov 28 2012, 01:25 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Just found out more info on Great Eastern annuity plan (Great Retirement Plan) for a 35-year old.

1) Pay RM3,000 per year for 10 years (to claim income tax)
2) Guaranteed Income payable every year for 15 years (starting at age 55) - RM 4,365.00 per year
3) It is not an insurance plan. From illustration, "In the event of death, TPD or being diagnosed with any one of the covered events, the cash value (which is equivalent to Surrender value (SV)) will be payable in one lump sum. The cash value payable to you may be less than the total premiums paid."
- From the illustration,it is my understanding that you have to PRAY that nothing happens to you at least for the first 16 years before your surrender value is more than the total premium paid. sweat.gif

Worth it? Any other plans from other insurance companies? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 28 2012, 01:25 PM
kmarc
post Nov 29 2012, 09:17 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(exshige @ Nov 29 2012, 10:16 AM)
i also did a rough calculation on the GE based on the data on the website... in only translate to about 4.x% interest PA.. though is guaranteed, but is quite low for something that i have to freeze my money for 35yrs assuming i buy at age 35.

btw, i don't see GE is part of the approved PRS provider in the PPA website. sure can claim the 3k tax relief?
The GE agent claimed that it is already approved when asked regarding one of the description on the proposal (i.e. This product may qualify for annuity tax relief of up to RM3,0000 yearly for premium paid during year 2012 to 2021, subject to approval of the IRB).

Does your calculation factor in the tax relief per year? If so, which tax bracket did you use for calculation?

For me, the only attractive thing is the tax relief.

BTW, assuming you buy at 35, your money is only "frozen" for 20 years la..... Your money will start "thawing" at age 56.... biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Nov 29 2012, 11:11 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(gtfan @ Nov 29 2012, 10:15 PM)
Looking at this whole PRS funds, the best bet should be those unit trusts fund approved for prs. At least if you couldn't afford to set aside rm3k per year, those savings in unit trust won't be burned as compared to insurance where a lapse in the policy will see almost all your money gone down the drain.

Like some mention here, you better pray nothing happen to you within the 15 years if you invest in those insurance prs fund.
I think I mentioned the "pray" thing leh.... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(zest168 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:30 PM)
So, if a person passes away at the 10th year, does that mean there is no payout at all? Then all the premiums paid gone?
You still get some money back. From their illustration, at the 10th year, you would have paid the final yearly dividend (total of rm3,000 x 10 = RM30,000). If you die on the 10th year, the cash value payable to you is RM25,177. Someone with the policy need to die sweat.gif at year 15 to get back the total premium paid.... sweat.gif

Totally opposite of insurance. Insurance = good to die early. Retirement funds = better to die later.... laugh.gif

That's my crude understanding anyway. Don't quote me on that....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 29 2012, 11:14 PM

0.0182sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:17 PM