Steering loose

TSToshibaM100
post Dec 29 2011, 12:00 PM, updated 14y ago

106 posts

Would like to know what need to change on below?

With engine off, i can move the sterring wheel up and down (there is some freeplay).
While driving high speed (>110km), the sterring start to vibrate a bit.

First suspect would be the steering rod. Anyone experience thi before?

Btw, i'm driving waja year 2002.
mamat
post Dec 29 2011, 12:07 PM

152 posts

steering rack problem? or steering shaft problem?
Jajay Chong Hon Keat
post Dec 29 2011, 01:31 PM

20 posts

Alignment lari ady oso will cause the steering vibrate.
SUSAmeiN
post Dec 29 2011, 01:33 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

ya... Try balancing and alignment 1st...
punkLOL
post Dec 29 2011, 01:37 PM

59 posts

c under the steering got one long metal thingy, push it up and ur steering wont have any free play up and down anymore..

vibrate mayb u need to do wheel balancing..
TSToshibaM100
post Dec 29 2011, 03:06 PM

106 posts

The long metal, is it in the engine compartment or the driver cabin? Sorry, not really sure which one is it?

If need to repair, what would be the cost compare to new unit? I heard, waja is also compatible to lancer, is this true?
vr2turbo
post Dec 29 2011, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(ToshibaM100 @ Dec 29 2011, 12:00 PM)
Would like to know what need to change on below?

With engine off, i can move the sterring wheel up and down (there is some freeplay).
While driving high speed (>110km), the sterring start to vibrate a bit.

First suspect would be the steering rod. Anyone experience thi before?

Btw, i'm driving waja year 2002.
Firstly, I don't understand steering wheel going up and down?
If steering rack got free play, then when turning the steering wheel will be loose, and steering does not response immediately, meaning too much free play.
To me if steering wheel going up and down then the steering height adjustment lock have some problem.....
TSToshibaM100
post Dec 29 2011, 03:41 PM

106 posts

After the steering height adjustment is lock, still can push the steering up and down.
vr2turbo
post Dec 29 2011, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(ToshibaM100 @ Dec 29 2011, 03:41 PM)
After the steering height adjustment is lock, still can push the steering up and down.
Then should be the steering lock problem, nothing to do with the steering rack free play.....
TSToshibaM100
post Dec 29 2011, 11:17 PM

106 posts

How to fix this?
Vervain
post Dec 29 2011, 11:20 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Did you push and tighten the lock?
vr2turbo
post Dec 30 2011, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 29 2011, 11:20 PM)
Did you push and tighten the lock?
Yup, should be something to do with the lock part......
wilsonwc
post Feb 9 2012, 11:17 AM

95 posts

Okay, i got a problem here as well, it seems like everytime im driving 100 or 110, and tends to brake harder bit, my car steering start to moved to the left, and the steering is very loose, even when i drive at speed of 90, the steering is like following the tyre and road surfaces, why is it like that? Steering shaft? Btw im driving wira 1.6 97 year
gastrix
post Feb 9 2012, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(wilsonwc @ Feb 9 2012, 11:17 AM)
Okay, i got a problem here as well, it seems like everytime im driving 100 or 110, and tends to brake harder bit, my car steering start to moved to the left, and the steering is very loose, even when i drive at speed of 90, the steering is like following the tyre and road surfaces, why is it like that? Steering shaft? Btw im driving wira 1.6  97 year
Try having a mechanic check the lower arm. That might be the culprit. 5 year old + car and our road condition, this is very likely. while at it, try checking the link rod as well. If this two item is changed, you will feel the difference.
good luck!
wilsonwc
post Feb 9 2012, 11:35 AM

95 posts

I just changed new steering rod in proton last early year, u mean the lower arm in front or back? But hat i feel is like the tire controlling the steering move to the left... Done balancing and alignment but does nt help much

This post has been edited by wilsonwc: Feb 9 2012, 11:37 AM
Quazacolt
post Feb 9 2012, 11:39 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(wilsonwc @ Feb 9 2012, 11:17 AM)
Okay, i got a problem here as well, it seems like everytime im driving 100 or 110, and tends to brake harder bit, my car steering start to moved to the left, and the steering is very loose, even when i drive at speed of 90, the steering is like following the tyre and road surfaces, why is it like that? Steering shaft? Btw im driving wira 1.6  97 year
have you done proper wheel alignment/balancing?
wilsonwc
post Feb 9 2012, 11:45 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 9 2012, 11:39 AM)
have you done proper wheel alignment/balancing?
Ya, balancing, allignment, n chamber also done, u can feel the force from the steering that steering to the left...The steering itself also very loose, like play initial d those machine steerings
Quazacolt
post Feb 9 2012, 11:51 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(wilsonwc @ Feb 9 2012, 11:45 AM)
Ya, balancing, allignment, n chamber also done, u can feel the force from the steering that steering to the left...The steering itself also very loose, like play initial d those machine steerings
most likely steering rack/bush, since you said just changed, maybe improper/bad installation?

also if you jack/lift your car up, does your front wheels have any free play? (try to shake/move it with your hands on the wheel. it should be rock solid, any free play means got issues and is most likely the root cause of your problems.
wilsonwc
post Feb 9 2012, 11:59 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 9 2012, 11:51 AM)
most likely steering rack/bush, since you said just changed, maybe improper/bad installation?

also if you jack/lift your car up, does your front wheels have any free play? (try to shake/move it with your hands on the wheel. it should be rock solid, any free play means got issues and is most likely the root cause of your problems.
What if got a bit free play? What should i change?
Quazacolt
post Feb 9 2012, 12:54 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(wilsonwc @ Feb 9 2012, 11:59 AM)
What if got a bit free play? What should i change?
check on the steering rack/rod, its bushings, and stabilizer bush

assuming that the wira suspension designs are similar/same as my iswara AB (1999)
wilsonwc
post Feb 9 2012, 02:55 PM

95 posts

Okay, thanks ya, will check on it when free
hilmims
post May 8 2012, 03:42 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(gastrix @ Feb 9 2012, 11:27 AM)
Try having a mechanic check the lower arm. That might be the culprit. 5 year old + car and our road condition, this is very likely. while at it, try checking the link rod as well. If this two item is changed, you will feel the difference.
good luck!
Waaaa.... bought 207 ??
Very kaya lah luu... got citroen, Porsche. BMW and jaguar rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Gooding?
hope to buy 308T biggrin.gif

0.0184sec    1.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:22 PM