TGI Fridays, Halal?

TSuniq
post Dec 29 2011, 12:20 AM, updated 14y ago

50 posts

Guys.

I would like to know. Is TGI Fridays in Malaysia HALAL?

Some of my friend say it is, while some say it isn't.

Any idea?
Ya Rerd
post Dec 29 2011, 12:30 AM

Banzai!
772 posts

http://www.hmetro.com.my/articles/TGIFrida...uaimenu/Article
TSuniq
post Dec 29 2011, 12:43 AM

50 posts

But TGIF website never say anything related to HALAL.

And if I am not wrong, they serve Jack Daniels beef ribs right? Jack Daniels is not Halal right?
C-Note
post Dec 29 2011, 12:57 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

i've seen alot of muslims dining in. So i presume it is?
TSuniq
post Dec 29 2011, 01:14 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 29 2011, 12:57 AM)
i've seen alot of muslims dining in. So i presume it is?
i presume that too. but then like i say, nothing from their website regarding halal. plus if u try google-ing it, some food bloggers like Vkeong are saying it is not halal actually.

maybe because of their jack daniel beef ribs. jack daniels is alcohol right?
mcdamia
post Dec 29 2011, 12:35 PM

Here's my understanding of the situation, hope this helps:

Firstly, IS TGI Fridays CERTIFIED HALAL (by an certification body such as JAKIM, for example) ?
- This is what conscientious (wishing to do what is right) muslims will look out for, Halal certifications at an F&B outlet.
- TGI Fridays (Malaysia) is NOT certified halal and probably will never be as they serve alcohol in their premises.
- They have tried to alter their menu and I believe are no longer serving JD (or other alcohol) infused meals (food). However, this is still not enough to qualify for Halal certification status as both these operations (food kitchen + alcohol beverages) are treated as 1 unit.

Secondly, is TGI Friday's food and operations compliant to Halal principles ?
- This is the more practical question to ask, for the more flexible muslims.
- TGI Friday's food source and preparation has PROBABLY (I can't be sure) been made compliant to Halal principles.
- Their drink/alcohol operation, however, will never be Halal.

On deciding if a muslim will eat at TGI Fridays:
- If the muslim is strict and interpretes the food+alcohol beverage operations as 1 unit with the possibility of cross contamination, no confidence due to there not being a Halal certification or that the business is a sinful one, they will not agree to dine there.
- If a muslim is more practical and flexible, can treat the alcohol operation separate from the food/meals, and that they believe TGI Friday's kitchen operations are Halal compliant then they MAY agree to dine there. They just wont partake in the alcohol.

If you dont want to risk offending a muslim, don't bring them to TGI Fridays or similar places unless they've hinted/told you before that they are fine with it.

This post has been edited by mcdamia: Dec 29 2011, 12:37 PM
momusu
post Dec 29 2011, 08:04 PM

~morning musume fanboy~
812 posts

kalau was was, baik jangan pergi smile.gif
skystrike
post Dec 30 2011, 12:41 AM

back to normal
1,279 posts

tgi friday food is halal but they will never get halal cert becoz they serve alcohol....
dxjb
post Dec 30 2011, 12:56 AM

807 posts

I heard some rumorurs that some of their food is mixed with wine..to make more delicious..but coz its a rumour, have no proof..i was about to try it out but after getting these was2 ru mours, I think there are plenty more outlets that I can dine in..

So to whoever was2, Im sure there are lenty or fother resaurants that u can dine in.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Dec 30 2011, 12:57 AM
mypetridish
post Dec 30 2011, 01:31 AM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Dec 29 2011, 12:41 PM)
tgi friday food is halal but they will never get halal cert becoz they serve alcohol....
this. same like hotels. and MAS

hahahahah
toMochika27
post Jan 3 2012, 01:10 AM

298 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Dec 30 2011, 12:56 AM)
I heard some rumorurs that some of their food is mixed with wine..to make more delicious..but coz its a rumour, have no proof..i was about to try it out but after getting these was2 ru mours, I think there are plenty more outlets that I can dine in..

So to whoever was2, Im sure there are lenty or fother resaurants that u can dine in.. smile.gif
Hi. I'm working at fridays at the gardens. We dun use any alcohol in our food. We even seperate the glasses from the kitchen area and the bar area. The food are comply wif the halal principle. we dun say its halal becoz we serve alcohol.
dxjb
post Jan 3 2012, 11:36 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(toMochika27 @ Jan 3 2012, 01:10 AM)
Hi. I'm working at fridays at the gardens. We dun use any alcohol in our food. We even seperate the glasses from the kitchen area and the bar area. The food are comply wif the halal principle. we dun say its halal becoz we serve alcohol.
Im sorry if what I said was wrong but as I said, it was a rumour..thanks for the info and the clarification smile.gif
Calvin kuek
post Jul 23 2016, 11:52 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(toMochika27 @ Jan 3 2012, 02:10 AM)
still halal 2016 right haha
shinchan^^
post Jul 25 2016, 08:50 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(uniq @ Dec 29 2011, 12:43 AM)
But TGIF website never say anything related to HALAL.

And if I am not wrong, they serve Jack Daniels beef ribs right? Jack Daniels is not Halal right?
I thought they renamed it already
Perbaman
post Jul 25 2016, 03:01 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(uniq @ Dec 29 2011, 01:14 AM)
i presume that too. but then like i say, nothing from their website regarding halal. plus if u try google-ing it, some food bloggers like Vkeong are saying it is not halal actually.

maybe because of their jack daniel beef ribs. jack daniels is alcohol right?
this guy is a lowyat forumer? is he still here? would be nice to meet him. his food blog was the best
cyh03176
post Jul 25 2016, 03:18 PM

476 posts

meanwhile, muslims are eating in TGI Fridays in other countries and enjoying alcohol.

talk so much for what. this halal that halal. if a person is devoted to islam then he will not be submitted to "wrongful" acts.

if not, you lock him in prison also useless as inmates can use rice from meals to make wine.
myasiahobby
post Jul 27 2016, 07:46 AM

693 posts

food is halal my malays friend eat they as long u don't go to the bar order alcohol
UserU
post Jul 27 2016, 01:01 PM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Jul 25 2016, 03:01 PM)
this guy is a lowyat forumer? is he still here? would be nice to meet him. his food blog was the best
Former. He was banned a long time ago if I remembered correctly.
Wassupman
post Jul 27 2016, 01:14 PM

722 posts

why ask.. just dont go if you think it is not... i find it really annoying.. sorry to say...
petirbuas
post Jul 27 2016, 05:48 PM

( 。◕ ‿‿ ◕。)
898 posts

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Jul 27 2016, 01:14 PM)
why ask.. just dont go if you think it is not... i find it really annoying.. sorry to say...
lol now ask also kenot
Wassupman
post Jul 27 2016, 05:59 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(petirbuas @ Jul 27 2016, 05:48 PM)
lol now ask also kenot
isn't that the teachings of islam? if you query the restaurant then just dont go in...people can tell you its not haram but would muslim go in?
waste of time asking right?
just how i feel... no offense...
petirbuas
post Jul 27 2016, 06:04 PM

( 。◕ ‿‿ ◕。)
898 posts

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Jul 27 2016, 05:59 PM)
isn't that the teachings of islam? if you query the restaurant then just dont go in...people can tell you its not haram but would muslim go in?
waste of time asking right?
just how i feel... no offense...
No, I mean why feel annoyed here? Its free forum isn't it?
Plus this is serious /k, if its /k I'll probaby post the same too.
Calvin kuek
post Jul 27 2016, 06:44 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(petirbuas @ Jul 27 2016, 07:04 PM)
No, I mean why feel annoyed here? Its free forum isn't it?
Plus this is serious /k, if its /k I'll probaby post the same too.
Agreed

0.0261sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:32 PM