848 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Ipoh Perak Malaysia |
lolx...
no lah... wat makes u tink its btx?? |
Dec 16 2007, 10:17 PM
4,810 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(amd_hardcore @ Dec 16 2007, 10:08 PM) psu's position. Added on December 16, 2007, 10:21 pm QUOTE(boyz @ Dec 15 2007, 04:06 PM) Here's my new baby..PSU is a very important issue when it comes to buying a CM690. dude, why don't you change the cpu heatsink position towards the rear?[attachmentid=360363][attachmentid=360365] [attachmentid=360366] the fan sucks all the hot air from your gc and make your processor hotter. This post has been edited by sukhoi37: Dec 16 2007, 10:21 PM |
Dec 16 2007, 10:33 PM
8,788 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Yeah, your PSU's fan orientation is the other way round
The CM690 is a pretty good casing - value for money. |
Dec 16 2007, 10:37 PM
4,496 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
nope it isn't .... it's just standard atx with PSU at the bottom only ...
Dec 16 2007, 10:59 PM
13,199 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
690 is not a BTX
BTX side panel is open from right ( when facing the front ) BTX power supply is not necessary placed at bottom ( eg. Dell BTX case ) |
Dec 17 2007, 12:03 AM
1,523 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Penrissen Camp |
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Dec 16 2007, 10:17 PM) psu's position. I wish i could do that but the "feet" does not lock that way.. Added on December 16, 2007, 10:21 pm dude, why don't you change the cpu heatsink position towards the rear? the fan sucks all the hot air from your gc and make your processor hotter. I, reverse the side intake as outlet so the air from the gc will move out before hitting my cpu, theoretically. |
Dec 17 2007, 02:14 AM
1,051 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Somewhere Out There |
hmm... is it just me or is there anyone else that think that the front panel on CM690 is super fugly?
Id rather sacrifice the front I/O than using it... really destroyed the look |
Dec 17 2007, 10:22 AM
744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
^ I second that
The I/O face plate is a lil too erm...how to put it...bare naked, does not have the looks to complement the overall agressive black aesthetics and somewhat out of place. On another note, the casing is worth the money and it is solid too...by solid, I mean super heavy I would like to extend my gratitude to AoiNatsume for recommending the casing eventhough it was made under a special circumstance |
Dec 17 2007, 10:58 AM
7,338 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cybercity of Cyberjaya |
QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 16 2007, 10:59 PM) 690 is not a BTX act btx is not necessarily a casing with side panel open from the right.. when Intel announced ATX, one of their main intention is to offers a new ventilation system inside the case.. with BTX, processor is having a direct fresh air from the front of the casing.. and act btx casing can only used BTX mainboard..BTX side panel is open from right ( when facing the front ) BTX power supply is not necessary placed at bottom ( eg. Dell BTX case ) casings that open from the right is actually a reversed atx.. correct me if wrong though.. |
Dec 17 2007, 12:51 PM
1,802 posts Joined: May 2006 |
yea since i see many worklog stating btx as upside down casing
Dec 17 2007, 12:54 PM
1,995 posts Joined: May 2005 |
irenic is rite on the 1st part, BTX does not mean that the casing must be open on the right..... there some early design u can google from the web......
but most of the current casing open from the right are meant for reverse ATX...... so far i only notice that dell have been few of those who are sticking to BTX configuration for mobo design, may be thats why there desktop model are so quiet in office environment.... |
Dec 17 2007, 03:20 PM
I second the frant panel..I/O..haih..
Btw mine weights around 15kg +/- |
Dec 19 2007, 06:49 AM
5,511 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: On Earth. |
wah all nice nice casing nowadays.... might take 2-3 years until i change to other casing....
Dec 20 2007, 12:35 AM
Dec 20 2007, 08:36 PM
53 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: L2 Lagrange Point |
My bro bought a CM690, first impression, it's a very nice case when compared to my CM Centurion 534 in terms of functionality. Personally, its look wasn't very appealing to me. My preference is more towards a nice, simple and clean look vs a grilled monster. The odd angled sides & silver outline running on the side of the CM690 looked a little tacky to me. Nevertheless, all in all, it was a good purchase. Functionally, it was a lot better than the older Centurion 534 - improved layout of the PSU and more options for exhaust fans.
So they we were, disassembling the front & top bezels, moving 2 of the default 120mm fans to top and added a 38mmx120mm SanAce for the rear exhaust. No mobo yet. At the stage where my bro was trying to close up the side panels ... he spent several minutes trying to close the left panel (which has a 120mm fan exhaust). I was getting annoyed. How long does it take to close a panel? Turns out that the left panel wasn't quite flush with the side and it felt like it was loosely attached with 1mm-2mm play. Some careful bending will be involved in order to fix this. To cut this short, when comparing the side panels of CM690 vs Centurion 534, one thing is obvious. The Centurion 534 panels are made from more rigid steel (possibly a little thicker) with better designed "hooks" on all sides. Action to put back and remove the panel is a lot smoother and more convincing when both were compared. So, moral of the story, you win some .. you lose some This post has been edited by stormcloud: Dec 20 2007, 08:51 PM |
Dec 20 2007, 09:13 PM
165 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(stormcloud @ Dec 20 2007, 08:36 PM) My bro bought a CM690, first impression, it's a very nice case when compared to my CM Centurion 534 in terms of functionality. Personally, its look wasn't very appealing to me. My preference is more towards a nice, simple and clean look vs a grilled monster. The odd angled sides & silver outline running on the side of the CM690 looked a little tacky to me. Nevertheless, all in all, it was a good purchase. Functionally, it was a lot better than the older Centurion 534 - improved layout of the PSU and more options for exhaust fans. great description... will consider tat when choosing CM690.. So they we were, disassembling the front & top bezels, moving 2 of the default 120mm fans to top and added a 38mmx120mm SanAce for the rear exhaust. No mobo yet. At the stage where my bro was trying to close up the side panels ... he spent several minutes trying to close the left panel (which has a 120mm fan exhaust). I was getting annoyed. How long does it take to close a panel? Turns out that the left panel wasn't quite flush with the side and it felt like it was loosely attached with 1mm-2mm play. Some careful bending will be involved in order to fix this. To cut this short, when comparing the side panels of CM690 vs Centurion 534, one thing is obvious. The Centurion 534 panels are made from more rigid steel (possibly a little thicker) with better designed "hooks" on all sides. Action to put back and remove the panel is a lot smoother and more convincing when both were compared. So, moral of the story, you win some .. you lose some will be great if can show some pic on hooks & panel. |
Dec 20 2007, 10:47 PM
1,051 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Somewhere Out There |
yea, that is one of the CM690 downside, the sidepanel are PITA, but once you get used to it or once seasoned.. it slides in well =)
Dec 20 2007, 11:13 PM
636 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: One puppy a day... yum |
Just got my CM690. Thats an extremely huge improvement for someones that's been using cheapo sub 100 casing for some time. After slapping everything on, you can notice the improvement. Cooler, silent run.
Just a few note for would be buyers: a) Make sure your 4pin 12v cable can extend beyond the length of the mobo, if not its gonna be a tight fit (my CM650w is just perfectly taut when slotted in) b) That 3.5" bay is perfect for a PATA drive....I mean, who the hell uses a FDD nowdays? As I only have a IDE slot, it works great being up there with my dvdrom. |
Dec 22 2007, 01:16 AM
53 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: L2 Lagrange Point |
See atttachment.
- CM690 panel's top & bottom "hooks" (in red) are too soft and too easily bendable especially if you have a 120mm fan attached to it and you're not careful when removing the panel. The 3 long side ribs (in green) doesn't hold the panel rigid enough. - Centurion 534 panel is a far cry in terms of good design and solidness from CM690. You won't be able to flex the whole panel easily. CM690 Side Panel Centurion 534 Side Panel This post has been edited by stormcloud: Dec 22 2007, 01:18 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0341sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:31 PM |