Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V14, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 08:56 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(SKY233 @ Apr 10 2012, 08:39 PM)
roughly how much  biggrin.gif
Around 3k plus one.

Coz he's recommending something in similar price range to the Dv6 anyways.

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Apr 10 2012, 08:42 PM)
Ic, seem like I will proceed with SB.
Was thinking if all ivy laptop will be bundled with SSD, seems its not the way. laugh.gif
From the list you provided, which is the best spec amongst? smile.gif
No toshiba/Sony around the range?
Nah, SSD is too pricey. 1 SSD could whack its price up to 5k++

chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 09:05 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(SKY233 @ Apr 10 2012, 08:58 PM)
if <3600 i can consider
i noob in hardware part especially GPU..
Should be around that range. I shall wait for his reply before i go any further

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html

So read this and compare, so you wont be noob already.

Everyone is noob.

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Apr 10 2012, 08:58 PM)
2 years should be alright. Are you using SSD? Is it swapping HDD with SSD as easy as unplug & plug? Mind share your laptop model?laugh.gif
Err, depending on the laptop and etc.

Some are easier, some are not..

Some even comes with 2 HDD bays so you can easily add it on ( HP Envy n etc )

Owner of Dv6, Mx 15 ( Dead ) and more.

chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 09:17 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 10 2012, 09:13 PM)
rm 2999 RSP for the y480 =)
No intro early, if not sure tapao another 1 from you jor~~!

WTT Dv6 for Y480 XD
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 09:18 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Apr 10 2012, 09:17 PM)
wow!!! cool! should go and check that out
Nah, above you got 1 good seller jor. You know where to buy..

About testing part, Lowyat sure got demo set.

So, 2morrow off day, can prepare go shopping jor laugh.gif
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 09:20 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 10 2012, 09:18 PM)
ha~ just receive news+ spec  today only, stock not yet in, coming in short while notworthy.gif
Haha sure sure..

Later I intro my fren come find you,

He needs to get a laptop anyways. I go blow some wind to him 1st tongue.gif
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 09:30 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(SKY233 @ Apr 10 2012, 09:23 PM)
i still wondering y the gt640m better than the hd7690m XT
because of 28nm tech?
because the core speed, pixel shaders and shader speed oso slightly lower than 7690m
rclxub.gif
Yeap.

The 28nm tech reduces size, heat and power consumption and increase efficiency. OR at least, that what they say on the papers la.

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 10 2012, 09:26 PM)
should wait for review first for this new y480 laugh.gif
Should wait your customer buy, then I go see see tongue.gif

But the specs looked good, even better than Dv6 laugh.gif

Design wise, not really bad..
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 10:36 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 10 2012, 09:49 PM)

biggrin.gif lol, maybe the this is the graphic card  ??? LE edition only ohmy.gif lol.
Limited Edition?

Good la smile.gif

Added on April 10, 2012, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(BlueBaby @ Apr 10 2012, 10:26 PM)
yo sifus,what's the best laptop below 2.7k with good audio and overall performance?currently stuck with Lenovo Y570,470 and Toshiba P745
Also,anybody got news about new upcoming laptops within my stated category?
The new lenovo Y480 RRP at 2999.

Abit more than your 2,7k but should be better overall XD

That's if the unit is what it is expected la.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Apr 10 2012, 10:37 PM
chiahau
post Apr 11 2012, 01:20 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Amal @ Apr 11 2012, 01:11 AM)
Hmmm, that's quite a turn off.

Should perform in-between a GT540M(96 shaders) and a GT555M(144 shaders) I guess?  hmm.gif
Serious turnoff already laugh.gif

I was banking on it to be on the Kepler, at least..

Oh well, MSI is still the way to go now.

Wait for Asus or Dell or any other makers to go Ivy + Kepler soon.
chiahau
post Apr 11 2012, 01:31 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(soyusa @ Apr 11 2012, 01:28 AM)
Mind to share when will be the new model release that replaced u36sd?
I already checked with Asus Malaysia that this model no longer available...
Alternatively I might get following model during PC fair.

N45SL (Jay-Chou edition), i5-2450M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2899[Bang & Olufsen], 750GB (7200rpm), Color: White
If you need it, then just get it. No need to play the waiting game right?

chiahau
post Apr 11 2012, 06:23 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 11 2012, 06:21 PM)
If you ask me, its definitely NOT worth it, unless you MUST have one laptop only laugh.gif
For that price, you could easily get an Asus G53 (Which is way better than the Vaio Z in terms of performance) + any ultrabook (which is slimmer and nicer looking than the Vaio Z) yo  brows.gif
9k can get 1 Msi gaming Ivy series around 6k + another ultrabook / A tablet + a new phone LOL
chiahau
post Apr 11 2012, 08:40 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(MI2404 @ Apr 11 2012, 08:11 PM)
Haha. That's why I'm in a dilemma. I'll give it a thought first.  doh.gif
Listen to us.. laugh.gif

9k for a laptop is too much la.

Even my Mx15 reach 6k+ and that's the most expensive ones I will ever get again..

With 9k, might as well you give me the money, i go invest it and return back the 9k to you after 1 year laugh.gif

QUOTE(leehong @ Apr 11 2012, 08:36 PM)
sad.gif do you guys know how much if a laptop with gt650 / ssd / ivy i7 ? cost ? budget? or maybe with gt630 also can , cause my budget is around 3k. if really expensive i thk i shuld buy sandy bridge right now sleep.gif . going to buy a dv6/
ivy i7 + Gt650m + SSD = At least 4k+

Ivy i7 + Gt630m + SSD = At least 3k+

Depending on what size is the SSD summore.

My advise, Get a Dv6, softmod it by removing the ODD drive and slap a after market SSD onto it tongue.gif

Never try it yet since I got not spare SSD btw whistling.gif
chiahau
post Apr 11 2012, 09:00 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 11 2012, 08:51 PM)
If you plan to throw in an SSD yourself, better check with the manufacturer to see whether it will void the warranty or not 1st, just to be safe nod.gif

@chiahau bro, there is only one laptop which I think would be worth spending RM9k or more - M18x!!!  wub.gif  wub.gif
Usually okay. Since I am removing the ODD slot instead of the HDD slot, it should be no problem.

Modded a few before this actually. Nowadays just lazy to do such tedious work since busy with studies.

But yea, do check it out whether it voids warranty or not.

And oh, I rather spend the 9k on custom rig + Sony 42" 3D TV as my main monitor tongue.gif

QUOTE(xproc @ Apr 11 2012, 08:53 PM)
recommend a laptop for student use, foundation this year, later study BA... budget 2.5 to 3k...
What usage 1st?

If you don't even game, but we recommend you a powerful laptop to game, useless right?

So, please follow the template at 1st page is possible.
chiahau
post Apr 11 2012, 09:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 11 2012, 09:04 PM)
Replied same time bro, great minds think alike  laugh.gif

Added on April 11, 2012, 9:05 pm

Afaik, MSI doesn't allow self modifications doh.gif
As for Dell, some say will void, some say won't, not exactly very sure hmm.gif
Swt.. I done it for few Mx series before la. Need time and patience to do such modding laugh.gif

QUOTE(xproc @ Apr 11 2012, 09:10 PM)
normal usage for assignments, study, multimedia... not really to games, but i think need durable and should need to sustain quite some years...

i think not need ultrabook, not need gaming laptop, on paper dell xps 14z is quite ok, but after i see it i no like it, dunno why, so is there any asus, hp, lenovo, toshiba, dell is ok
Any screen preference size?

I still have no idea what to recommend as there is like 50+ laptop that fits your description =,=

chiahau
post Apr 12 2012, 03:45 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(arankaru_0 @ Apr 12 2012, 02:54 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: anything reliable
2. Budget: 3k
3. Usage: online, assignments, gaming(i would really love to try skyrim  drool.gif )
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14

i have been stuck with aspire 4315 for a couple of years  sad.gif  and would love to find something powerful now that i have a chance. i have n45sl in mind.. is it any good?.. i am open for suggestion
14 inch -
Asus -

A43Sm-VX037v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

Lenovo -
Y470, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT550M (2GB)@RM2799[JBL], W7HP, 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm), Lenovo P350 headset OR 2 years warranty

15'6 inch -

Acer -
M3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899, 4GB, 1TB

HP -
Dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

Msi -
GE620DX, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT555M (2GB)@RM3099, 8GB, 640GB, 2 years warranty

The Acer has the most powerful GPU and the HP comes in 2nd.

Both can handle skyrim well.

QUOTE(haizamlee @ Apr 12 2012, 03:32 AM)
but i think amd hd6470 performance poor..right?
gt630m rebatch to what siries..gt540?

Ownself see benchmarks.

And Gt 630 is indeed the rebrand of Gt540 if i am not mistaken
chiahau
post Apr 12 2012, 11:39 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Apr 12 2012, 11:09 AM)
paiseh

User: a dad buying for his son who going to uni, so is student
Brand: not acer, prefer lenovo, hp, toshiba, asus
Usage: assignment, online, multimedia, future proof, no heavy gaming
Budget: 2.5-3k
Preferred screen size: 14", can consider other
General req: need normal harddisk and dvdrom
14 inch -
Asus -
Asus N45SL (Jay-Chou edition), i5-2450M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2899[Bang & Olufsen], 750GB (7200rpm), Color: White
A43Sm-VX037v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

Lenovo -
Y470, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT550M (2GB)@RM2799[JBL], W7HP, 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm), Lenovo P350 headset OR 2 years warranty

15'6 inch -

Acer -
M3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899, 4GB, 1TB

HP -
Dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

Msi -
GE620DX, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT555M (2GB)@RM3099, 8GB, 640GB, 2 years warranty

All this comes with a normal hdd and Dvd rom.

@wadthehellz - Specs wise, the Acer not really that bad.. But.. Personally, I dislike Acer
chiahau
post Apr 12 2012, 10:28 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Apr 12 2012, 10:24 PM)
Right, thanks bro. Are there any good/bad getting in pc fair rather than in lyp?
PC Fair maybe got more freebies/amoi to see tongue.gif

Lowyat maybe can get lower price.

See your luck in negotiating.
chiahau
post Apr 12 2012, 11:40 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(cherylwong @ Apr 12 2012, 11:17 PM)
You are reli informative and helpful. biggrin.gif
rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif
just out of curiousity, what is Bang & Olufsen. lol! = =

and if I sacrifice on 7200 rpm? getting a 5400 instead.
Google test before asking laugh.gif

http://www.bang-olufsen.com/

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0505sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:29 AM