Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V14, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

chiahau
post Apr 7 2012, 02:15 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(awkward:)fun21 @ Apr 7 2012, 01:50 AM)
lol u also getting dv6?! i thought u already have it. aw so nice to hear that. and congrats for ur dv6 on sunday smile.gif
Lol yea.

Best bang for bucks for 3k+ range.

QUOTE(annas473 @ Apr 7 2012, 02:05 AM)
TS [PF] T.J.,

is it possible to share all the laptop list that u have with me? I might need to do some research about the laptop i gonna buy.. RM4k can buy anything biggrin.gif

previous laptop of mine was Acer and HP, ending up selling it back.. this time hope can last longer biggrin.gif

thanks in advance biggrin.gif
You do know, the guideline for laptop is already at the 2nd thread, the price list guide there.

That roughly gives you the expected price and how much you can nego.

And 4k can't buy everything tongue.gif

There are more expensive laptop than 4k

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2026498

This post has been edited by chiahau: Apr 7 2012, 02:16 AM
chiahau
post Apr 7 2012, 02:55 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(awkward:)fun21 @ Apr 7 2012, 02:21 AM)
chiahau, since you're taking the pre installed window without opening the sealed. that's means the window is less of bloatware right? install anything u like smile.gif ? and what's the important thing to do if straight get the pre installed win. i heard ppl said need to install driver by self right ? and some more else? IMPORTANT !! haha please teach me cause im not gona to add ram and take the unseal box and do the same things with u smile.gif im DV6 too!
I think it has more. I usually prefer empty laptop without OS since I got original keys for Windows 7 mostly.

Drivers are installed by default, you can choose to update them if there is any newer version.

Nothing much to do one. Once you unseal it, follow the on screen display and use your laptop like a boss.

Don't need to think so much, once got it, you know what to do smile.gif
chiahau
post Apr 7 2012, 01:26 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(awkward:)fun21 @ Apr 7 2012, 12:27 PM)
http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get-tec...heat-issue.html
http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index...25182911AAPlLqw
http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Hard...ing/td-p/304505
http://forums.opensuse.org/forums/english/...ing-issues.html . . .

I just want to confirm from u Acid admin . if u think dv6,6c19tx have no probs! i will go order later , since i got a very bad experience bout my compaq, dv6 my brother 1 but very old model 30xx, and my hp 430. . omg.  but duno why sleep.gif i still want to believe hp one more time since those are low price lappy, and this time is the 1st 3k laptop for myself.. wuu T_T
Memang no problem one la..

Even my Alienware and Sager gets hot when i game alot..

It's normal. The older Dv6 version however, might roast your hands laugh.gif

I think that was like 1 years ago punya issues.

You want something that does not get hot when you game? Get a Mac tongue.gif

And as i keep telling you, MAKE SURE THE BOX IS SEALED BEFORE YOU PAY smile.gif

I don't accept open boxes for what reason whatsoever.
chiahau
post Apr 7 2012, 03:12 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jstndng @ Apr 7 2012, 03:01 PM)
1. Preferred Brand (asus dell or acer)
2. Budget (3000-5000)
3. Usage (diablo 3 only, mkv full hd movies, online surfing n entertainment)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15.6 and above

i heard asus is going to release a new model coming this few month..shud i wait?
If not urgent, do wait.

Ivy coming really close jor.

chiahau
post Apr 7 2012, 03:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jstndng @ Apr 7 2012, 03:34 PM)
but i gotta ask u la...asus g-series? tat good? or wait for gt 600m series>?
Asus G-series not bad ar.. Wont really mind spending for a G-series.

Wait for the newer Gt640m ++ series lo..

Since your budget is good and you can wait....
chiahau
post Apr 8 2012, 07:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Apr 8 2012, 02:53 PM)
Need help !
1. Preferred Brand
Any, best value
2. Budget
RM2000
3. Usage
Graphic designing, animation creation
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
not too small.
Err, graphic designing usually requires alot of power.. So does animation creation.

Suggest you top up to a 2,5k range and get something like Asus..
Or maybe add abit more and get an i7 since you will be using Raw processor power.

A43Sm-VX102v, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm)
A43Sm-VX002v, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2499[2.4kg]v, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

Acer -
V3-471G-52452G60g/s/k, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB
V3-471G-52454G75g, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB

Dell -
Vostro 1450, i5-2450M + AMD HD6470M@RM2083, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB

QUOTE(akupunye @ Apr 8 2012, 02:58 PM)
Can reccommend a notebook for my friend? I recommend him N55SL - S2064VV. Okay or not? i5 sufficient?

1. Preferred Brand: Asus
2. Budget: not more than 2700
3. Usage: more to editing since Im a graphics and multimedia student.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:  15'
Editing such as? Photoshop or??

Well, if you budget can squeeze another 200 more, try getting this -

Asus -
A43Sm-VX037v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

Lenovo -
Y470, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT550M (2GB)@RM2799[JBL], W7HP, 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm), Lenovo P350 headset OR 2 years warranty

QUOTE(wingster @ Apr 8 2012, 03:40 PM)
Need recommendation for hardcore laptop for better lasting

Budget RM5k ~ RM5.5k

Usage : 3D Motion Graphic (Cinema4D), After Effect, Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash, Premire Pro, Sony Vegas ...

Screen: 16~17inch

Type : Heavy Multitasking, Relying NVIDIA CUDA for Video preview and processor for rendering
How hardcore?

Asus G-series or Mx15 series enough for you? Alot of option for you since your budget is not really a problem..

Asus -
G53Sx-IX199v [3D], i7-2670QM + Nvidia GTX560M (2GB) + Bluray@RM4999, 640GB +640GB, backlit keyboard, 3D glasses, gaming backpack & mouse

Msi -
GE60, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650M (2GB) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399, 8GB, 750(7200rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty, gaming mouse & backpack, Free SteelSeries QCK Mass mousepad
GT60, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX670M (1.5GB) + (1920x1080;anti-glare)@RM5599[Dyaudio], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty, gaming mouse & backpack, Free SteelSeries Siberia V2 headset; backlit keyboard

Sager -
NP8150, i7-2670QM + AMD HD6990M + (1920x1080)@RM5499, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-2630M - i7-2960XM]

In fact, there is more out there lol.

QUOTE(faidh123 @ Apr 8 2012, 04:03 PM)
brand-MSI,Asus,Hp
budget-3k (not higher and i cannot upgrade my budget either)
usage-High resolution gaming..battlefield 3,skyrim
screen size-15 inches or smaller
How about this?

HP
dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

Quite worth the price at 3k slightly.

QUOTE(toshio14 @ Apr 8 2012, 04:34 PM)
not really a recommendation request, but thought that better to put the question here rather than create new topic just for 1 single query

what is the cheapest laptop with i7? so far i saw Inspiron 15r with rm2799 IINM. any other models that I should be looking at as well?
Asus -
A43Sm-VX037v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

Acer -
M3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899, 4GB, 1TB

QUOTE(xproc @ Apr 8 2012, 06:24 PM)
find a decent business laptop about 2.5k - 3k

currently using first gen core i5 thinkpad, need buy another similar...
Maybe something like Vostro?

Dell -
Vostro 3450, i5-2450M + AMD HD6630M@RM2517, W7HB,backlit keyboard colors: silver/ brown/red
Vostro 3450, i7-2640M + AMD HD6630M@RM2983, W7HB,backlit keyboard colors: silver/ brown/red

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Apr 8 2012, 07:17 PM)
HP used to be "the premium" brand when it comes to laptop. But nowadays, why i see many people prefer not to choose hewlett packard already?
Not really. HP once had a bad reputation for RMA.. I am using one HP now and I think its pretty okay except for it does not have a backlit keyboard =,=
chiahau
post Apr 8 2012, 07:57 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Apr 8 2012, 07:53 PM)
Need some help in choosing:
1. Preferred Brand: I had bad experience with acer, so preferably lenovo or asus as i heard good things about them or any other brand.
2. Budget: 2000 - 3000
3. Usage: surfing, some homework, gaming, watching series or movies mostly
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:  14'

thanks!
Asus -

Lenovo -
Y470, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT550M (2GB)@RM2799[JBL], W7HP, 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm), Lenovo P350 headset OR 2 years warranty

This one can last pretty much normal gaming, unless you abuse it kaw kaw.
chiahau
post Apr 8 2012, 10:03 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Apr 8 2012, 08:46 PM)
hmm thanks! but isn't i7 abit too much? i mean compared to i5. newbie here  tongue.gif
Nothing is too much.

Since your budget can fit it, might as well get it smile.gif
chiahau
post Apr 9 2012, 11:50 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(MI2404 @ Apr 9 2012, 11:32 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: I'm not into Acer, Asus and Alienware

2. Budget: RM5-6k

3. Usage: MS Office, multitasking, web browsing, movies, no gaming and etc.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15i

I don't mind waiting for the new models with Ivy Bridge processors. I'm actually waiting for the refreshed MacBook Pro, but I might consider Windows-based laptops too. Sifus, please advise. Thanks. ( happy.gif)
Wait for your MBP.

5-6k can get you some pretty decent ultrabook if you are somewhat interested.
chiahau
post Apr 9 2012, 12:05 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(MI2404 @ Apr 9 2012, 12:00 PM)
Ultrabooks like? Of course I'm interested. If not, why did I bother posting in this thread lol. Thanks again.
Because Apple is a religion and people usually don't bother taking advices once they are determined to get an Apple tongue.gif

Anyways -

How bout

Hp Spectre
Asus Zenbook
Dell xps 13 ultrabook.
Lenovo u300e
chiahau
post Apr 9 2012, 12:29 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(MI2404 @ Apr 9 2012, 12:13 PM)
Alright. I'll have a look at these.

And no worries. I'm not a typical die hard fan of Apple haha.
Good smile.gif

Around June, there would be more options once ivy Bridge goes all out.

So, maybe you should wait to June, then make your decision then.

I love MBP alot due to the aluminium brushed body wub.gif

Too bad, the 15" version too much for me to purchase laugh.gif
chiahau
post Apr 9 2012, 11:27 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 9 2012, 10:43 PM)
VRAM is not a good indicator of GPU performance..
And yes, the AMD HD7690M XT in the Dv6 is currently unbeatable (excluding Acer's M3 of course; as you requested tongue.gif) at the moment... laugh.gif

Not all Asus laptops are good in cooling, and not all HP laptops are bad in cooling.
So far there are no complains of heat issues in the Dv6...
Dv6 can get abit toasty but not to an extend of roasting your palm.. laugh.gif

chiahau
post Apr 9 2012, 11:37 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 9 2012, 11:33 PM)
Sames goes to the m14x laugh.gif
How's your temperatures under load bro?  hmm.gif
Can reach 90+ if hardcore.

Normally around 60~70 if not really hardcore.

If idle to normal usage, 40+ liddat only lol.

chiahau
post Apr 9 2012, 11:44 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(SKY233 @ Apr 9 2012, 11:42 PM)
HP dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

forgot to ask.. this notebook gt integrated graphic? (graphic switching)
Simple google can tell you smile.gif

It has Intel built in GPU for switching when under low usage/battery powered.

chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 12:00 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Apr 10 2012, 08:32 AM)
Ic, so ivy would be priced above 3K? Assuming all ivy will have SSD bundled?
PF T.J, Can recommend laptop around 2K then?
IT, daily computing and need to be able to run VMware/virtual pc and no lag..:lol
Nope.

The only way you can get a laptop bundle with SSD is paying a premium price for it XD

And its cheaper to get a SSD on your own and slap it onto your laptop.

Most likely, the 1st batch of Ivy would be slightly pricier compared to current pricing before it stabilizes and replaces the current price.

But Ivy only offers roughly 10% performance increase with almost 50% lower power usage when idle.

Peak load and etc, should be the same. If you don't really mind the figures and numbers. the SB is still good for another 2 years XD

Which is why I decided not to wait for a Ivy laugh.gif

QUOTE(MI2404 @ Apr 10 2012, 11:49 AM)
Among all, Sony's design still tempt me the most lol. What's the difference between Sony S and Z series besides the better specs on Z?
The S- and Z-series systems are similar in terms of their capabilities. The S series has a 13.3-inch screen, 500 GB hard drive and a 2.66 GHz processor. The Z series's screen is a bit smaller at 13.1 inches, but the processor clocks in at 2.80 GHz and the computer is lighter at 3.04 (compared to the S-series's 4.4 pounds).

Something I googled outta my free time laugh.gif

There is no diff much except for one is lighter, another slightly more powerful?
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 12:16 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(MI2404 @ Apr 10 2012, 12:14 PM)
I see lol. Thanks. I remembered hearing from people that Vaio Z series is imported directly from Japan unlike other series. Is this true?
Imported from Japan?

More like made in China laugh.gif Don't worry about where the laptop comes from.

I have no idea with Sony's laptop though my house is full of Sony products..
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 01:25 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(holybreaker @ Apr 10 2012, 01:11 PM)
hi bro, im trying to get asus u36sd but i notice that it is quite hard to find in the market nowadays. some seller even told me that this model had been phase out. do u guys know why this unit is phase out ? mayb like hardware defect or etc?

and which model of laptop shud i get instead of this unit?

my requirements are :

i5 proc
gpu ~1gb
budget < rm3k
lightweight

do u think the gpu HD3000 can play dota or counter strike CSO ?
if can then i might getting a ultrabook below 3k as well.

thx in advanced everyone
RM2,000- RM3,000

13"
Acer [Ultrabook] Aspire S3, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000@RM2599[1.35kg], 320GB HDD

HP [Ultrabook] Pavilion dm3-1001TU (Folio 13), i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.49kg], W7HP

Lenovo [Ultrabook] U300e, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + (500GB HDD + 32GB SSD)@RM2899 *upcoming

Samsung [Ultrabook] 5 series 530U3B, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + (16GB SSD + 500GB [5400rpm])@RM2699[1.45kg], 4GB

14"
Samsung [Ultrabook] 5 series 530U4B, i5-2467M + AMD HD7550M + (16GB SSD + 1TB [5400rpm])@RM2999[1.84kg], 6GB

Should b able to handle mild gaming to moderate gaming.
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 04:07 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Apr 10 2012, 01:32 PM)
jz discover that ACER m3 price and spec very tempting
M3-581TG-52466G52, i5-2467M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2599, 6GB, 500GB
M3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899, 4GB, 1TB
is it worth buy against asus
N43SL (Jay-Chou edition), i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M (2GB)@RM2799[Bang & Olufsen], *USB3.0, Colors: Gold/Red
N45SL (Jay-Chou edition), i5-2450M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2899[Bang & Olufsen], 750GB (7200rpm), Color: White
N55Sf-S2356v [black], i5-2450M + Nvidia GT555m (2GB) + 1600x900@RM2799[Bang & Olufsen]; 750GB, USB3.0, Sonic Master subwoofer
or HP
dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

previously acer laptop cannot last long and have many problems, how about now?
Benchmark wise, the new 640m beats the crap outta my HD7690XT

So, for that price, I would say its epicly tempting.

Same problem, most cheap Acers can't last really long. Tbh, you pay for what you get. You want powerful and cheap, dun expect too much outta it~
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 06:32 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(holybreaker @ Apr 10 2012, 05:13 PM)
thx very much bro.
is the samsung series 5 530u4B good?
i mean in terms of hardware and software. like heating issue, keyboard issue etc....
http://www.engadget.com/2012/03/20/14-inch...-np530u4b-a01u/

Review is here, read it yourself and decide.

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Apr 10 2012, 05:48 PM)
i c...that why i a bit scared of Acer's quality..
all my frn's acer dead in 3 years.
but normally after 3 year, ppl will change pc as well...
need to consider again.. thanks.
urs dv6 @ rm3099 model? nice to use?
Lolz, all my fren's Acer did not pass the 2 year mark. So, as i said, depends.

Not bad for the Dv6. Just lack backlit keyboard nia.

If not, perfect dy.
chiahau
post Apr 10 2012, 08:34 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(amal_kaybee @ Apr 10 2012, 06:38 PM)
the DV6, is the 5.4k rpm hdd dont show significant difference wif 7.2krpm? n usually, how long the battery can last?
Slightly slower but doubt you will notice.

Unless you are using SSD anyways.

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Apr 10 2012, 08:06 PM)
i c..how bout dv6 in gaming? nice?
all game i think can play at least medium setting right?
i myself like to play racing game, if pc lag, feel very bad..
Nah, got Lenovo below as a comparison.

Newer CPU and GPU.

Price you go ask him but should be nearly the same with the Dv6 tongue.gif

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 10 2012, 08:18 PM)
try this
lenovo Y480 New

Intel® Core™ i7 Processor i7- 3610QM (2.3GHz up to 3.3GHz/1333Mhz/6MB Cache)
4GB (1 x 4GB) DDR3
750GB SATA
DVD Super MultiBurner
14" WXGA LED
Win7 HP 64 EE (C&L)
Nvidia GeForce GT640M 2G
This is good!

Price pls XD

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top