SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V3, Be a WISE user - Please read 1st page
Joelles
Dec 25 2011, 02:04 AM
Just bought a SGW (white) for my wife as a Christmas present, it's the first Android device I bought as I mainly with iOS. The phone performance is not bad, screen resolution is surprisingly nice but don't compare with Amoled. Stock with Gingerbread 2.3.5 and with the price tag of RM900+-, it's a steal. I bought it at RM830 since a forumer here who need a registered plan but not the phone, we went to the telco and he sign up the plan and I pay for the phone...lol
Joelles
Dec 25 2011, 02:38 AM
QUOTE(Kenzany @ Dec 25 2011, 02:27 AM) not a bad deal at all.. umobile? Nope, digi 68 for 2 years contract and the phone was package with the price of RM399 (black color). I exchange it to a phone trader coz his customer was looking for a black and I opt for a white and no black color can be found at the moment except digi. The trader promise to sell me the sd card cheaper then All win-win situation....
Joelles
Dec 25 2011, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(dexmonata @ Dec 25 2011, 05:54 PM) i'm not sure...but most shop i go have no stock for black color..luckily i got one with reasonable price.... I think most of the black went to the telcos sign-up plans as I bought 1 last few days at Digi centre(contract) and swap it with a trader as I want a white and he wants a black. IMHO, the black is not really that nice as its matte dark gray instead of solid glossy black, since it's a Christmas present for my wife then I choose white.
Joelles
Dec 27 2011, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(pubmut @ Dec 27 2011, 09:29 AM) Hi and Happy Holidays. I've been using the Wonder since it was launched and there appears to be a problem with the homepage icons disappearing after being turned off and charged. If I leave the phone on all the time there's no problem, but when I do switch it off to charge and switch it on, all icons POOF!! This is the third time I've experienced this in the last month plus. This time the smartphone is way too smart it implodes! Has anyone experienced this yet? I have downloaded the latest firmware for this and updated (via the phone itself). regards I may be wrong but do you have something that kill your TW Launcher wheneer you off your device?
Joelles
Jan 1 2012, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(mr-2 @ Jan 1 2012, 11:38 PM) Dear SGW sifu, I tested it at the shop and was quite impress with the fast response, camera and interestingly is within my budget for a sub 1k phone. So far any problem I should know? Hang issue? Weak gps? Battery can last one day if normal use? Any lag playing 1080p HD video directly? Bought a white color SGW for my wife as Christmas present, quite impress with the performance so far. Never encounter any "Hang" issue so far as I often quit all the apps and tasks, I believe those who encounter the lag and hang issue is normmally cause by too many multitasking Apps runnning at the background since Android are real multitasking. Therefore always keeping the phone running with less task and apps will have less issues since the phone only have less than 400 ram(I assumed), never tried 1080p movies before. Camera are acceptable with decent pictures which good enough to view the much details on my iPad's Facebook app. For normal usage the phone can actually last for 2 days without much network connections such as Wifi, 3G and Bluetooth. Overall it's a recommended device with an affordable price tag, an Adroid Gingerbread 2.3.5 and a nice spec so far in the market.
Joelles
Jan 3 2012, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(bobtiang @ Jan 3 2012, 02:07 PM) quick question, is there any way galaxy W can support wiFi hotspot? Yes, Samsung W can perform Wifi Hotspot tethering.
Joelles
Jan 4 2012, 11:01 PM
Hi, I noticed that there's a glossy film sticking on the home button and it started to peel off by itself, I lift up the film and found out that the button seems to be a matte surface. Is the button suppose to have the film attached so it looks glossy or it was suppose to be matte surface while the film is just a protector?
Joelles
Jan 4 2012, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 4 2012, 11:04 PM) it just protect ur home button .. u can remove if u like .. I see, thanks for clarifying about the home button protector, I thought the home button is suppose to be in glossy surface.
Joelles
Jan 7 2012, 09:42 PM
Wow, the price hike up all of sudden. I recalled when I bought 1 for my wife as a Christmas present last month it was still around RM930 but I got it for RM830 for coz of special situation.
This post has been edited by Joelles: Jan 7 2012, 09:42 PM
Joelles
Jan 7 2012, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(Cliffrison @ Jan 7 2012, 09:44 PM) What's the special situation? Rm830 is very cheap liao  Coz of a forumer in here wants a Telco plan but don't want the phone and I want a the Phone but don't want a plan, then we trade the price since the phone is just RM399 if comes with the plan. Which telco? hmm...the yellow one lah
Joelles
Jan 7 2012, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(Cliffrison @ Jan 7 2012, 09:59 PM) warranty 1 year or 2 years?  Hmm...actually my case not yet end, the one and only SGW that left at the Telco we trade comes with a black color but I wants a white set. Then I swap the phone to my Bro in Law (who's a HP seller) which at the same time one of his customer was looking for a black color and my bro in law can only manage to find a white instead of black..Didn't ask my bro-in-law yet but I guess it's a 2 years warranty.
Joelles
Jan 8 2012, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(ahchun92 @ Jan 8 2012, 10:38 AM) mind to share where to get 830? I've been wanting this phone for ages  was back in my hometown when this phone released. came back KL & hunt manatau all the price increase like mad :/ I got it at that price coz I traded with a forumer who registered a plan but don't want the phone, even if you manage to find the stock but you unable to find the price is lower than RM930 now.
Joelles
Jan 8 2012, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(ahchun92 @ Jan 8 2012, 01:53 PM) Ya! not sure what's wrong :/ Coz of high demand since SGW is affordable with it's spec and low of stock, the sellers are taking advantage of the situations and hike up the price now.
Joelles
Jan 18 2012, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jan 18 2012, 06:57 PM) Please ?  can help to test? Tried b4 and it's accurate, it shows the position where I am facing and turns whenever I turn in a circular directions.