SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V3, Be a WISE user - Please read 1st page

Dannyl
post Dec 24 2011, 04:09 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(kalandra @ Dec 24 2011, 02:19 PM)
I'm will be using the phone for internet banking, and I might not wanna risk it using a ROM. But if anyone else got experience of using an Android Phone for personal banking, please share.  smile.gif
Actually, a popular custom ROM may be safer than the stock ROM.
Dannyl
post Dec 25 2011, 03:28 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(dexmonata @ Dec 24 2011, 09:45 PM)
plan to get this phone soon...can u guyz tell me major problem that probably will happen aftr using this phone..

thanxx
1. Phone charge till 99% only
2. Phone calls cannot hear the other side
3. Receive SMS vibrate non-stop

Depending on ur luck, u may experience none, one, or all of the above.
Dannyl
post Dec 27 2011, 08:28 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Dec 27 2011, 05:57 AM)
can anyone teach me how to change ringtone( for msg and call ) in SGW ? lol it seems that i cant choose the ringtone from my sound folder ( mp3 folder )
Place them here:
/sdcard/media/audio/notifications
/sdcard/media/audio/ringtones
Dannyl
post Dec 27 2011, 02:21 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 27 2011, 01:04 PM)
no need. my previous Ace, rooted, go to Samsung to update to Gingerbread, they even tell me, if you update, your root will be gone... i say it's ok.
Which SC is this? Plaza Berjaya ah?
Dannyl
post Dec 27 2011, 05:45 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Lightsaber @ Dec 27 2011, 05:12 PM)
Guys, i have been following this thread and I am most likely going to buy this phone. When i follow this thread , it seems like the Galaxy W is full of problems ?

I hope this is not the case. Anymore satisfied users of Galaxy W here ? Put your hands up ! smile.gif
For the price, this phone is ok lah... not bad icon_rolleyes.gif better grab it fast before the next king-of-mid-range comes out.
Dannyl
post Dec 28 2011, 10:41 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 28 2011, 01:39 AM)
Not all game save to /sdcard. By design, all App has 2 folders:

/data/app/app_package - this store the main apk
/data/data/app_package - this store all the game files, save game, etc

both of this are on the Device memory. however, most big game knows there is limited space in the device memory, they will use "getExternalFilesDir()" API to get the external storage. This actually resolved into "/sdcard/Android/data/app_package".

All these 3 folders will be removed when you uninstalled the game.

However, some lazy programmers (including all gameloft game) actually just hard coded "/sdcard/gameloft" into the code. These type of game may have function to remove the downloaded file, but if not, you may need to manually delete them.
Excellent info! I find myself coming back to this thread just to read your snippets of Android knowledge smile.gif

QUOTE(Besanth @ Dec 27 2011, 10:06 PM)
I've had problems with Galaxy W but when I post in this thread, sure got people help me solve it. I'm a very satisfied Galaxy W user smile.gif
Actually, that applies to any smartphone with a bigger than average community. SGS, SGS2, DHD, IP4S, etc.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Dec 28 2011, 10:43 AM
Dannyl
post Dec 28 2011, 10:58 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Dec 28 2011, 10:21 PM)
use other keyboard, for example smart keyboard pro
Oh yeah, I love Smart Keyboard Pro. Can control how strong the vibration is. And got alternate symbols above each key, like HTC keyboards. Makes you wonder how Apple ever got away with their keyboard design.
Dannyl
post Dec 29 2011, 01:55 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(dcon @ Dec 29 2011, 10:26 AM)
Hello guys,
I'm new here, just a dummy questions where i can't figure how to do it - if would anyone can help.
I can't forward my message using the default messaging in SGW, anyone know how to do this?
Is there anyway i can backup my SMS and notes in my old hp Sony Ericsson to SGW?
Appreciate of any suggestion given.
Thanks & best regards.
To forward messages, just press and hold on the message balloon. There will be a popup menu.
Dannyl
post Dec 30 2011, 09:41 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(qamarzam @ Dec 30 2011, 07:04 AM)
whistling.gif  no need for screenshot. It's as simpe as superonelick.

just follow the on screen instruction only..no need to worry.

the system will do it for you  notworthy.gif

less than 5 mins, you're rooted my friend

cool2.gif  rclxm9.gif
The next question they will ask is, "What can I do now that I'm rooted?"

QUOTE(mooney @ Dec 30 2011, 08:38 AM)
Bought this phone at last. But phone feels.a  bit lag. can anyone tell me why? and why should i root it?
If you have to ask why you should root it, then you shouldn't. Only root if you know that you need it.
Dannyl
post Dec 31 2011, 12:36 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Rolland @ Dec 30 2011, 06:28 PM)
hey guys.. i suspect what is causing the papago hang and need to reboots when open with voice, i notice there is one file OR_SIDE.gmv inside VoiceEn folder is unable to be copy to phone memory no matter what you do...did u guys experience it ?
I had no problem copying all files to internal SD yet FC occurs. It also occurs with Galaxy SL but not with SE X10 and HTC IS (all running Gingerbread), so I think it's a Samsung issue.

QUOTE(Aaiyaa-its-me-lah @ Dec 30 2011, 06:47 PM)
hi..

anyone experienced using samsung galaxy ace before going galaxy w?

just want to ask.. how's the battery performance of SGW compared to SGA? if you had been using SGA for quite a time u'll be noticed tht d phone ran out of juice quite fast.. im planning to upgrade to SGW if only d battery lasts longer
Ace on Froyo is very bad on battery. But I heard Gingerbread does wonders for the battery, almost double life. Are you on Froyo or Gingerbread?
Dannyl
post Jan 3 2012, 09:11 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Besanth @ Jan 3 2012, 01:04 AM)
Btw, the Juice Defender really useful? And, what's that Android icon at your statusbar?
I think it's JuiceDefender and Advanced Task Killer.
Dannyl
post Jan 3 2012, 09:23 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ Jan 3 2012, 06:07 PM)
wanna buy 1 for my 2nd phone. i notice all SME warranty now is 1 year only instead of 2 years. did SME change the warranty policy?
2 years warranty no longer offered after 31/12/2011.
Dannyl
post Jan 4 2012, 07:47 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jan 3 2012, 11:15 PM)
anyone have any ideas what is MIUI and how to install MIUI theme and icon??

been searching @ XDA..but couldnt find any...
MIUI is an Android firmware developed by the Chinese. It has been translated to other languages. It's used as the stock firmware in the Meizu phone series. http://www.miuiandroid.com/ is the UK version, there is more info there. MIUI popularity is only second to CM7.

SL and S Plus have been around much longer but they don't have MIUI either.
Dannyl
post Jan 4 2012, 01:56 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(llJasell @ Jan 4 2012, 01:18 PM)
I have both in my SGW too. But the Papago will FC occasionally. I've already re-download and re-install it, but the problem still persist. Swt.....
It's a problem with Samsung phones.
Dannyl
post Jan 8 2012, 04:06 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jan 8 2012, 02:04 PM)
So good time if anyone wants to sell their W, demand very high and market don't hv stock
So what's a reasonable price for a 2nd-hand W with maybe 9-10 month SME warranty left? RM750 ah?
Dannyl
post Jan 11 2012, 09:57 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(m-andy @ Jan 11 2012, 09:16 AM)
europe rom also can use in malaysia, unless you want bahasa, chinese in your text msg.

My problem:-
I want to change my google accont from abc@gmail.com to 123@gmail.com, both have different contacts.

I have deleted all my abc@gmail.com contacts (but did not sync online).

Then I have added 123@gmail.com and sync, so downloaded all my new contacts. But now I cannot remove my abc@gmail.com. The phone is asking me to do a factory reset. Can I avoid this? I still want all the Go launcher settings, sms, wallpapers, plus other detail settings. Help.
AFAIK, you cannot remove the 1st original main Gmail account. Time for factory reset biggrin.gif

GO Launcher settings can be exported, and so can SMS. Wallpapers should be on your external SD card. Get used to resetting becos it's the same thing when you flash ROM.
Dannyl
post Jan 13 2012, 11:28 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jan 13 2012, 11:08 AM)
I spoiler-ed all none antutu pic. My question is on antutu. If spoiler everything then how ppl know i'm asking o...
[attachmentid=2638331]
Why won't they know? They just click on the spoiler then they will see it lor smile.gif
Dannyl
post Jan 15 2012, 09:04 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mezzi-quan @ Jan 14 2012, 11:43 PM)
...............u own a optimus 2x n u roam around galaxy w thread?? whrs optimus 2x thread?
Some people own more than 1 phone. And some people read threads of phones not owned by them. Anything wrong?

0.0509sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:07 AM