AMD X2 Overclock, will this help?

Lemon
post Nov 12 2005, 05:08 PM

donno lol..
1,443 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Nov 11 2005, 11:56 PM)
My X2 is HOT! sweat.gif

Looks like I need to watercool it before I can do some serious overclocking.

Wow! that is really hot. Prime test with stock heatsink?
pizzaboy
post Nov 12 2005, 05:12 PM

9,495 posts

suddenly I feel stoopid for buying the 3800+
Maybe, I shud've went for the Opetron 165.

Can anybody make me feel better by tellin me my choice is a good one?
kianwee
post Nov 12 2005, 05:17 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 12 2005, 05:12 PM)

You can always sell it and buy your Opty, what's the big deal? Worst come to worst, buy the Opty, put your X2 inside your storeroom and pretend it never existed.
Lemon
post Nov 12 2005, 05:29 PM

donno lol..
1,443 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 12 2005, 05:12 PM)

Damn vmad.gif vmad.gif I feel the same way too sad.gif sad.gif . should get K8n Master2-FAR http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/ser...ail.php?UID=613 with 2 dual core opteron instead flex.gif flex.gif .

This post has been edited by Lemon: Nov 12 2005, 05:30 PM
pizzaboy
post Nov 12 2005, 06:09 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Nov 12 2005, 05:17 PM)
You can always sell it and buy your Opty, what's the big deal? Worst come to worst, buy the Opty, put your X2 inside your storeroom and pretend it never existed.
In that case, i better quickly sell off this X2 before it reaches 2 weeks old.
Anywhere else I can get myself an Opty? Prefer to buy from shops, if anything senang mau claim.
songhan89
post Nov 12 2005, 06:49 PM

-Hankerchizf-
1,104 posts

cry.gif Wanted to order opteron but no stock d .... Hope dinster will carry in ASAP

except the cache, is the overclockability that makes you guys wanna get Opteron 165?

This post has been edited by songhan89: Nov 12 2005, 06:57 PM
ah_khoo
post Nov 13 2005, 02:38 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Nov 11 2005, 11:56 PM)
My X2 is HOT! sweat.gif

Looks like I need to watercool it before I can do some serious overclocking.

is this done usin d tt heatsink? gosh... 69'C is xtremely hot... sweat.gif
pizzaboy
post Nov 13 2005, 03:35 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(songhan89 @ Nov 12 2005, 06:49 PM)
cry.gif  Wanted to order opteron but no stock d .... Hope dinster will carry in ASAP

except the cache, is the overclockability that makes you guys wanna get Opteron 165?
165 can do 2.5 @ ~1.4v 2.6 @ ~1.45.
What's there not to like?

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=77857

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/attach...achmentid=39479

I really like!
Never mind, here got!!
Here's cheaper though.

Man, i just LOVE christmas! *Prays somebody buys 3800+ before end of Nov*

I'm hopin any of my rich sucker friends picks this 3800+ quickly, or I'll have to sell at garage sale (ughh...!!)

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Nov 13 2005, 03:43 PM
arj
post Nov 13 2005, 04:17 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 13 2005, 02:38 AM)
is this done usin d tt heatsink? gosh... 69'C is xtremely hot...  sweat.gif
Yeah, that's with the TT Golden Orb II. Gonna try to reinstall it now just in case it wasn't properly installed.

**EDITED**

Reinstalled the heatsink and reapplied AS5, same temps. It might go down a wee bit more in a few days time though once the AS5 settled in.

This post has been edited by arj: Nov 13 2005, 07:15 PM
sukhoi37
post Nov 13 2005, 04:31 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

some info for opty 165...drool.gif

click me
ah_khoo
post Nov 14 2005, 12:08 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Nov 13 2005, 04:17 PM)
Yeah, that's with the TT Golden Orb II. Gonna try to reinstall it now just in case it wasn't properly installed.

**EDITED**

Reinstalled the heatsink and reapplied AS5, same temps. It might go down a wee bit more in a few days time though once the AS5 settled in.
i think it wun do much betta even after as5 settle in... tongue.gif

wonder watz d power consumption (W) w/ d oc'ed voltage... muzb 100 over... sweat.gif
Lemon
post Nov 17 2005, 01:34 AM

donno lol..
1,443 posts

My X2 capable to do 2.7Ghz but the problem is, I need to pump 1.52V in order to make it stable, my question are:
1. will it dramatically shorten the life of the processor if I continuously feed it with such a high voltage?
2. If the proc is dead because of overvolt, am i able to RMA it?
arj
post Nov 17 2005, 09:24 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 14 2005, 12:08 AM)
i think it wun do much betta even after as5 settle in...  tongue.gif

wonder watz d power consumption (W) w/ d oc'ed voltage... muzb 100 over...  sweat.gif
You're right! Tak turun pon tongue.gif

QUOTE(Lemon @ Nov 17 2005, 01:34 AM)
My X2 capable to do 2.7Ghz but the problem is, I need to pump 1.52V in order to make it stable, my question are:
1. will it dramatically shorten the life of the processor if I continuously feed it with such a high voltage?
1. Nope, 1.52v is perfectly reasonable.
2. Ethically, no whistling.gif
ikanayam
post Nov 17 2005, 09:27 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(Lemon @ Nov 16 2005, 12:34 PM)
If you screw up your chip, then you pay for it. It's not fair to make the manufacturer pay for your own mistakes.
gengstapo
post Nov 17 2005, 09:28 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Lemon @ Nov 17 2005, 01:34 AM)
nope if u tell em', so no need to tell em' liao
juz say its dead & if no burn mark, sure can RMA thumbup.gif
ikanayam
post Nov 17 2005, 09:29 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo2 @ Nov 16 2005, 08:28 PM)
nope if u tell em', so no need to tell em' liao
juz say its dead & if no burn mark, sure can RMA  thumbup.gif
This is just selfish thinking. You're increasing costs for everyone. Oh well, in the future CPUs will probably have on die voltage regulators so it will not be a problem anymore.

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Nov 17 2005, 09:30 AM
arj
post Nov 17 2005, 08:04 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Managed to reduce the vcore for 2.5Ghz thumbup.gif

songhan89
post Nov 17 2005, 10:03 PM

-Hankerchizf-
1,104 posts

Nice arj. What HSF now? Still that TT Golden Orb arh?
arj
post Nov 18 2005, 01:29 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(songhan89 @ Nov 17 2005, 10:03 PM)
Nice arj. What HSF now? Still that TT Golden Orb arh?
Yup, still using the Thermaltake Golden Orb II. I have an XP120 as well but a friend is using it right now. Guess I have to ask for it back whistling.gif
wild_card_my
post Nov 18 2005, 03:28 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 13 2005, 03:35 PM)
What's there not to like?
I really like!
Never mind,  here got!!
Here's cheaper though.

Man, i just LOVE christmas! *Prays somebody buys 3800+ before end of Nov*

I'm hopin any of my rich sucker friends picks this 3800+ quickly, or I'll have to sell at garage sale (ughh...!!)

What's so expensive about the X2?

X2 3800 $320

You linked the 165 from zipzoomfly, so it's okay for newegg to come up

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Nov 18 2005, 03:28 AM

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:35 PM