Powder coated aluminium glass folding door, price & type

TSfinestq
post Dec 21 2011, 05:44 AM, updated 14y ago

158 posts

hi all, i was being quoted RM5,000 for a 7'x7' powder coated aluminium folding glass door. is this price reasonable? normally how do they calculate? by sqft?
Fatman
post Dec 21 2011, 06:56 AM

20 posts

yes, they calculate by sqft. depends on which frame/glass/imprint/tint that you choose.
cyberp
post Dec 21 2011, 09:28 AM

30 posts

the previous rate i know from homedec by honglee is 75/sf that was in oct-nov.
weikee
post Dec 21 2011, 09:39 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(finestq @ Dec 21 2011, 05:44 AM)
hi all, i was being quoted RM5,000 for a 7'x7' powder coated aluminium folding glass door. is this price reasonable? normally how do they calculate? by sqft?
You need to know what is the quality, thickness of glass, thickness of aluminum, Lock, hinge.. All this make price so much difference. From RM 30++ to RM 100++ / square feet.
ozak
post Dec 21 2011, 09:42 AM

17,018 posts

How about the quality and the strenghten? Since the frame is aluminium holding the glass and always sliding moving, the toughness and strengthen need to be strong. And the locking device too.
ride00
post Dec 21 2011, 01:27 PM

80 posts

Well if quality is your priority then go for the brand Fujisash.
Solid construction with cleverly concealed hinges, exceptional
sound proofing, minimal air/odour transfer and water sealed.
Its Japanese technology with a factory in Butterworth and a sales/
marketing office in SS23 Tmn SEA PJ.

I nearly opted for Fascina which is Upvc construction but decided to
go for Fujisash due to the savings. Nearly 65k was spent on folding/
sliding doors & windows for my hse reno.....no regrets.

Karim2
post Dec 21 2011, 01:38 PM

Is it including installation?
ozak
post Dec 21 2011, 02:22 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ride00 @ Dec 21 2011, 01:27 PM)
Well if quality is your priority then go for the brand Fujisash.
Solid construction with cleverly concealed hinges, exceptional
sound proofing, minimal air/odour transfer and water sealed.
Its Japanese technology with a factory in Butterworth and a sales/
marketing office in SS23 Tmn SEA PJ.

I nearly opted for Fascina which is Upvc construction but decided to
go for Fujisash due to the savings. Nearly 65k was spent on folding/
sliding doors & windows for my hse reno.....no regrets.
RM65k ! I will regret. sad.gif

I intruduce by a Japanese salesman about their YKK folding doors and windows. Famous and common in Japan. The windows and door look tough and the parts look different from ordinary folding door.

Eh... I thaught YKK is famous of their zip. hmm.gif
Becabal
post Dec 22 2011, 05:29 PM

Validating
194 posts

Many type of folding spread malaysia market which alot of it is self modified just to save costing.(try modified a kancil become BMW 5 series then u know what i mean)Aluminium brand name like Fujisash and LB are most practical all time and the most important is free maintenance.While installer with superb quality finishing is like Premium window, Le diament i saw before their job is like this thumbup.gif thumbup.gif( but aint cheap) So choose wisely ask from your installer what kind of aluminium they using and what kind of roller,lockset,hinges and flush butt.Good luck
Price range 30 to 80 per sqft might get you modified thing while 100 to 180 per sqft will get you nice quality folding door.

This post has been edited by Becabal: Dec 22 2011, 05:34 PM
kh8668
post Jan 3 2012, 09:30 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

42/sf to get this door, worth or not?

skng03
post Jan 4 2012, 02:21 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Jan 3 2012, 09:30 PM)
market rate is about there..

me paid rm50+/sqft for this door 2500x 3100mm, powder coat on 90mm(w) x 2.0mm thick alum frame

kh8668
post Jan 4 2012, 03:59 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Jan 4 2012, 02:21 AM)

me paid rm50+/sqft for this door 2500x 3100mm, powder coat on 90mm(w) x 2.0mm thick alum frame

How the powder coat look like? mine alike spray paint only. blink.gif

between can you share the lock at the other side of the door?

This post has been edited by kh8668: Jan 4 2012, 04:05 PM
Jarod
post Jan 11 2012, 07:54 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Jan 3 2012, 09:30 PM)
what's the actual size? thinking of doing something similar.
ykl
post Apr 13 2012, 05:06 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Jan 4 2012, 02:21 AM)

can share where you get this? currently looking for sliding door to replace the current one, any website for your door supplier?
Spritzz
post Jun 20 2012, 02:05 PM

142 posts

I was quoted Onitek sliding door for my Kitchen Base Aluminium Sliding Door 2 x 4 fts RM450
Bathroom folding door RM330
And a dark tinted Aluminium sliding window RM450 with hole for ventilation fan.
expensive?

Tjolynn82
post May 8 2014, 07:45 AM

28 posts

I saw the aluminium glass door at homedec - reliance home and sun way aluminium. Definitely sun way was better, very solid. The price from sun way is rm100 per sqft, and rm120 per sqft if painted like wood grain. I was quoted by my contractor for rm160 per sqft for LB aluminium. Not sure what is the difference.
animator2ds
post Jul 17 2015, 04:45 PM

Hello
We are door supplier in Malaysia,
You can visit our website for different type of door:
For Sliding Door, Folding Door, Aluminium Door and Glass Door
Thank you.
mentalmuz
post Jul 17 2015, 05:32 PM

78 posts

Guys i like the big folding door like some poster above have shown. It give a lot of natural lighting and when open up can give spacious kind of feeling. However my concern is on security. It will be ugly to grill the big door and it beats the purpose of having unobstructed view to my garden. Any suggestions how do you guys overcome the security issues?
cwtien
post Jul 27 2015, 08:09 AM

477 posts

Does anybody have a security comparison between Fujisash and AMAX (316 stainless steel mesh door from Australia). I'm interested in getting a security door to replace my glass aluminium door. I don't want to put in a grille (it'll look very ugly).

I've not been able to get any reliable information on Fujisash at all, but AMAX was in the recent home fair in Sunway and I'm planning to visit their showroom in Kota Damansara soon.
GuyM
post Jul 27 2015, 09:56 PM

1,787 posts

Fujisash, contact SKB Shutters located in Kota Dsara

0.0214sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:56 PM