HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V5, >9000 owners. Like a boss.

spicediablo
post Dec 21 2011, 09:04 AM

114 posts

3rd one reporting....hehe
spicediablo
post Dec 21 2011, 09:18 AM

114 posts

It's already closed.

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Dec 21 2011, 09:10 AM)
closed previous thread?
spicediablo
post Dec 21 2011, 03:06 PM

114 posts

^What's IPS panel?
spicediablo
post Jan 5 2012, 04:00 PM

114 posts

HP site only have 2011. Where did you get yours?
spicediablo
post Jan 9 2012, 06:06 PM

114 posts

My 6 months old dv6 keyboard refused to react. Cant even power up my laptop now. Any kind souls to provide me with HP office address and phone number? will be visiting them tomorrow morning for warranty claims.sad.gif
spicediablo
post Jan 9 2012, 06:50 PM

114 posts

^It started now but the keyboard is screwed up. Typos all over. I think something is wrong with the keyboard. Is it easy to get replaced under warranty? Can I bring it straight to HP towers? I don't want to go through dealers...

This post has been edited by spicediablo: Jan 9 2012, 06:51 PM
spicediablo
post Jan 9 2012, 07:04 PM

114 posts

^Acid, address pls. They are open at 0830am according to the phone number i called(03-23323333).
spicediablo
post Jan 9 2012, 08:00 PM

114 posts

^ No HP tower address there...
spicediablo
post Jan 9 2012, 08:22 PM

114 posts

^Ooops....careless me...smile.gif Got it
spicediablo
post Jan 10 2012, 10:21 AM

114 posts

Kudos to HP centre. Just got my keyboard changed to new one under warranty. It Seems the new keyboard has a rougher matt surface than my old one. It's working well though.
spicediablo
post Jan 10 2012, 02:02 PM

114 posts

^Thanks Sifu Lee smile.gif

Added on January 10, 2012, 2:22 pmActually, careless me spilled some water on the keyboard yesterday. Even though I had quickly wipe dry, it seems some of it seeped into the keyboard circuitry causing the keyboard to malfunction. Initially, unable to startup the laptop at all and motherboard emitted continuous beep sound at startup.After leaving it on for a while, managed to startup but the keyboard was functioning eratically, pressing 'a' sometimes returned other letters. Problem solved with a new keyboard though. I'm not sure if it's just me. I feel the feedback of the new keyboard is better and the texture is more 'matt' compared to my old one...

QUOTE(jerrywan @ Jan 10 2012, 01:50 PM)
btw,wat is ur kibod problem xtually? wub.gif
This post has been edited by spicediablo: Jan 10 2012, 02:22 PM
spicediablo
post Jan 10 2012, 05:04 PM

114 posts

Anybody knows what is the model/manufacturer of dv6 finger print reader?
spicediablo
post Jan 11 2012, 09:21 AM

114 posts

Water spilled day b4 yesterday and brought it in next day...

QUOTE(jerrywan @ Jan 10 2012, 06:03 PM)
u mean u did dat yesterday?and u send to hp for 1 day claimed onli/so fas

Added on January 11, 2012, 9:26 amI couldn't find the driver in validity sensors webpage...

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jan 10 2012, 08:29 PM)
Validity Sensors (WBF) (PID=0018)
Validity Sensors, Inc.
USB\VID_138A&PID_0018
This post has been edited by spicediablo: Jan 11 2012, 09:26 AM
spicediablo
post Jan 11 2012, 02:57 PM

114 posts

Wonder if there are newer version as I just updated my simple pass to 5.3.0.288.smile.gif

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jan 11 2012, 02:26 PM)
spicediablo
post Jan 11 2012, 03:32 PM

114 posts

^Thanks Acid!!
spicediablo
post Jan 12 2012, 10:05 AM

114 posts

Welcome!! Enjoy your dv6!!

QUOTE(storky20 @ Jan 12 2012, 10:03 AM)
It is HERE!

Finally... Now on to setting up recovery discs.
spicediablo
post Jan 12 2012, 05:18 PM

114 posts

I am an owner of dv6-6114tx and I have never regretted purchasing this laptop. Main usage is for work with occasional gaming.smile.gif

QUOTE(razor886 @ Jan 12 2012, 04:21 PM)
Hey guys! New here~ notworthy.gif I've been looking around for a new lappy. First, I went to Dell but left after finding out that their XPS 15 has some major fan problems (looks bulky and ugly too)... Then, I went to Asus at the recommendation of a friend only to find that they don't want to make any money since their website doesn't wanna show me any of their laptops whatsoever... Error this, problem that sweat.gif After that, I found HP and when looking for their laptop's reviews I found this pretty cool thread cool2.gif

Anyways, I'm looking for a laptop that can decently play today's games. I have the Pavilion dv6-6c12TX in my mind right now... What do you think guys? Is it any good? Recommend something else? I saw some of Acid's videos playing Crysis 2 and BF3 with his laptop and they were pretty amazing drool.gif The 6c12TX I believe is newer than his right? So it should play equally or even a little bit better than his? Please advice me masters and sifus notworthy.gif

Also guys, which method would be cheaper? Buying online or at shops? Lets just say I'm kinda new to living in MY but I have heard that Low Yat Plaza is THE place to get electronics? Is that true? Reading through this whole thread last night (I dunno why the hell I did that, guess you guys are awesome) I see that some of you got lappys for the same price as the prices in HP website but got extras like extended warranty? How is that possible? blink.gif Haha the people can make money like that meh?

One last thing guys (sorry for this post being too long blush.gif ). Ummm I'm also looking for a Full HD external monitor around 20" - 25"... Price range preferably RM500 and below. If can below RM400 even better haha~ Any recommendations? Thanks in advance sifus laugh.gif
spicediablo
post Jan 12 2012, 06:00 PM

114 posts

I was dell user b4. My dell served me a good 3 yrs too. I am expecting this dv6 to serve me at least that long as well.
spicediablo
post Mar 1 2012, 11:14 AM

114 posts

Thanks for the detailed instruction bro. Made me wish I had mine done as well...laugh.gif How much did you get the caddy for?

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Mar 1 2012, 02:31 AM)
hi everyone,

Bought the DV6-6168TX last Dec and still very much in love with this unit. I would like to share my experience of installing the 2nd HDD caddy from Casey.
I still need to do some modification to the casing because the face plate latches need very small adjustments. With these mod, you can detach the faceplate again if need to reattach the DVD drive. However, the way I did this may likely void any warranty (if there is any).

Removal and expanding the size of opening enable easier fitting of the face plate and removal for future.

The two inner latch (smaller), can hold the cover in place.

Detection by OS

Cheers thumbup.gif
spicediablo
post Apr 5 2012, 10:39 AM

114 posts

Guys, any stability issues with 12.3 official catalyst driver? Currently I'm on v8.93. I noticed all the old links in first page were deleted..smile.gif

Just saw the post above....so I guess I shouldn't upgrade to 12.3 eh?><

Also I saw the link to WIFI manager in first post but the version if older than what i have now. My current version is 4.0.45.1. Is it compatible with 6114?

This post has been edited by spicediablo: Apr 5 2012, 10:55 AM

0.0516sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:56 PM