HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V5, >9000 owners. Like a boss.

razor886
post Jan 12 2012, 04:21 PM

Hey guys! New here~ notworthy.gif I've been looking around for a new lappy. First, I went to Dell but left after finding out that their XPS 15 has some major fan problems (looks bulky and ugly too)... Then, I went to Asus at the recommendation of a friend only to find that they don't want to make any money since their website doesn't wanna show me any of their laptops whatsoever... Error this, problem that sweat.gif After that, I found HP and when looking for their laptop's reviews I found this pretty cool thread cool2.gif

Anyways, I'm looking for a laptop that can decently play today's games. I have the Pavilion dv6-6c12TX in my mind right now... What do you think guys? Is it any good? Recommend something else? I saw some of Acid's videos playing Crysis 2 and BF3 with his laptop and they were pretty amazing drool.gif The 6c12TX I believe is newer than his right? So it should play equally or even a little bit better than his? Please advice me masters and sifus notworthy.gif

Also guys, which method would be cheaper? Buying online or at shops? Lets just say I'm kinda new to living in MY but I have heard that Low Yat Plaza is THE place to get electronics? Is that true? Reading through this whole thread last night (I dunno why the hell I did that, guess you guys are awesome) I see that some of you got lappys for the same price as the prices in HP website but got extras like extended warranty? How is that possible? blink.gif Haha the people can make money like that meh?

One last thing guys (sorry for this post being too long blush.gif ). Ummm I'm also looking for a Full HD external monitor around 20" - 25"... Price range preferably RM500 and below. If can below RM400 even better haha~ Any recommendations? Thanks in advance sifus laugh.gif
razor886
post Jan 12 2012, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jan 12 2012, 05:08 PM)
Welcome razor886!  cool2.gif
Thanks biggrin.gif

I am an owner of dv6-6114tx and I have never regretted purchasing this laptop. Main usage is for work with occasional gaming.

Haha this may be my first HP laptop and this comment boosts my confidence to get one biggrin.gif
razor886
post Jan 12 2012, 06:35 PM

I say, go for 6c19tx and buy an SSD with the extra money u have save or try to find 6168tx because it has FHD screen. 

Any reason why u aiming for 6c12tx?

The reason I want an external full HD screen is because I wanna use it on both my laptop and Xbox 360 haha so don't think need to find the 6168tx haha.

Hmmm reasons for aiming the 6c12tx over the 6c19tx:
- +1 GB GDDR5 dedicated sounds awesome~
- Already has 8GB RAM which is what I want
- +0.2GHz processing power doesn't hurt

Turnoff:
-I don't need that 1TB HD space. Even 500GB is kinda a lot for me. Rather have a smaller 7200rpm HD or maybe even consider SSD like you said...

So, if you don't think that the extra 1GB dedicated is necessary then I'd happily use the money saved to get a 6c19tx + SSD and 8GB RAM. This a good idea?

BTW, any advice on which buying method is better? Online or stores? And if stores, where? Low Yat? And oh, that external monitor too laugh.gif

Thanks again! blush.gif

razor886
post Jan 12 2012, 06:54 PM

QUOTE(keyzjh @ Jan 12 2012, 06:45 PM)
Since you're not going to game in 1080p with this graphics card, 1GB of VRAM is perfectly sufficient, extra 1GB wouldn't make a difference.

SSD however will be very noticeable in loading times and boot up. 8GB ram is nice too.
You can purchase HP laptops from HP authorized dealers like Mobility Square Sdn Bhd in Digital Mall or Lowyat.
Thanks man biggrin.gif But using an external Full HD monitor to game doesn't count is it?
razor886
post Jan 12 2012, 08:08 PM

It does, but 1GB is sufficient in most cases, especially when this card cannot handle the latest games at the high settings at Full HD. It is unlikely that you need more than 1gb of VRAM.

Thanks for the advice biggrin.gif And thanks to the others too! rclxms.gif Seems like the 6c19tx is the laptop for me~ Imma get it as soon as possible and officially join this cool little band of laptop owners cool2.gif
razor886
post Jan 13 2012, 11:05 PM

@razor886 just go for "6c19tx" if $ is not an issue for u.

trust me.

Will do! biggrin.gif

first HP laptop user here as well.. =D as long it's not HP compaq... we should be on the right track...

Aite! Cool! biggrin.gif
razor886
post Jan 15 2012, 01:31 AM

Wooooo got my 6c19tx biggrin.gif Loving it so far! rclxm9.gif
razor886
post Jan 30 2012, 05:12 PM

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Jan 30 2012, 01:30 PM)
Oh thats about my lappy + monitor + PS3 + speaker connection.. hahaha now i got it all fixed...

ya i still have my XPS with me but old old model, decided to give it away to my nephew & niece since i got this newer HP DV6...

Every monitor, or i should say MOST, is widescreen. Its either 16:9 or 16:10 ratio. i would recommend
- Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM (23" monitor) for RM629 <<< 2nd generation or successor of my Dell Utrasharp U2311H
- Dell Ultrasharp U2412M (24" monitor) for RM899

both of them are IPS panel which have much much better viewing angle than LED and LCD. Im very happy with my monitor. Its cheap and nice seriously.
Sifu Vincent, I want a set up similar to yours (but Xbox 360 instead of PS3). Thanks for the monitor recommendations but they are somewhat pricey especially since I just bought the 6c19TX haha sweat.gif Do you know of any cheaper (but still good) ones? tongue.gif Large viewing angle is not necessary and oh yeah, full HD please. And may I ask what external speakers are you using or what do you recommend?

By the way, without the external speakers, there will still be sound output from the laptop when connected to an external monitor right? Sorry for the noobness blush.gif Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
razor886
post Feb 2 2012, 01:08 AM

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 1 2012, 01:32 AM)
get the 23" version for ~RM630... its really good, at least for me... im very happy with it...

larger viewing angle is good, else u will see dark dark at the site when u are not directly infront of the monitor. IPS screen have nice view angle where u see from side and still have nice unchanged color. Its cheap already. I will suggest u save up money for that. LCD monitor now is around this price nowadays

I connect my PS3, laptop and monitor as below
- Monitor DVI-D port to '3 port HDMI switch' output
- '3 port HDMI switch' HDMI port input #1 to Laptop HDMI port
- '3 port HDMI switch' HDMI port input #2 to PS3

Speaker that im using is as mentioned in my signature, logitech. Yes without external speaker, the sound will come out from your laptop.
Thanks for the advice and info =) Haha well my room is very small (hostel) so that's why I think its not that important tongue.gif But yeah, there's nothing wrong with getting something 'extra' biggrin.gif

just got my dv6 6c19TX .hehe. add me to family

I will add u this weekend.. anyone else? I know i didn't add many new guys into the list yet. 

Welcome to the family man =D Sifu Acid, you can add me whenever you're not busy laugh.gif
razor886
post Feb 21 2012, 07:18 PM

QUOTE(raynaldo @ Feb 21 2012, 09:34 AM)
^
if i'm not wrong, the new version of coolsense only got 2 options:
on and off
because mine is version 2.1 only on and off too
version 2.0 got on/off/auto
Can vouch that too. Was kinda confused when people mentioned other options besides the 'on/off' tongue.gif
razor886
post Mar 29 2012, 01:35 AM

I've yet to get "driver not responding" with this driver.

Same =)

0.0545sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:21 AM