HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V5, >9000 owners. Like a boss.

vincentlaw
post Jan 7 2012, 09:30 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(elco-ph @ Jan 7 2012, 04:37 PM)
The metal bracelet of my watch is scratching the dark umber finish to the left of the trackpad. Has anyone here tried applying protective clear stickers to this area? Like a cellphone screen protector? smile.gif
hmm interested to know the answer too

and i have another question

1. is there any keyboard proctector for this DV6 model?... i can find for other brand/model but not this DV6
vincentlaw
post Jan 7 2012, 10:01 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 7 2012, 09:38 PM)
armourone don't have ?
u got proper link?

vincentlaw
post Jan 7 2012, 11:43 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(fantasyee @ Jan 7 2012, 11:39 PM)
Hi all!

I am thinking bout buying HP Pavillion dv6-6b19tx. how was  it? is the performance good?

From what i read in this forum, it seems like HP dv6 have lots of problems. Is it true?

Thanks!

BTW, does this set comes with Beats headphones or earphones?
every laptop have own problem...

no beats headphone...

Added on January 7, 2012, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(nothingz @ Jan 7 2012, 11:09 PM)
why you need keyboard protector? you will have weird feelings when you are typing your keyboard.  somemore it may lead to those heat cannot dissipate from your keyboard
bcoz after awhile, bottom of ur keyboard will have millions of dust, dirt, food, insects and much more that u can think of.. on top of that millions of bacteria too...... either u dis-assemble and clean it or use a protector and clean ur protector

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Jan 7 2012, 11:46 PM
vincentlaw
post Jan 8 2012, 09:58 PM

1,507 posts

seems like amourone dont have DV6 protector... below is the reply... any other option?

do u have laptop skin + keyboard protector for HP DV6 - 6c19tx ? Pm me the reply pls

hi sorry bro, we don't have protector for this model

thanks for inquiry.

Added on January 8, 2012, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(moniqee @ Jan 8 2012, 01:28 PM)
i bought one from lowyat plaza... =D i posted the picture in the previous thread.. =D look it up yourself...
lol... its not easy to find from 'previous' thread' biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Jan 8 2012, 09:59 PM
vincentlaw
post Jan 9 2012, 12:18 PM

1,507 posts

did u people felt that the wifi card sucks? wat is the best replacement for this half PCI wifi.... intel 5100? anyway DV6 is 2 channel only... wonder possible to make it support 3 channel

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Jan 9 2012, 12:22 PM
vincentlaw
post Jan 10 2012, 12:41 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jan 9 2012, 12:53 PM)
my wireless r working great.. no issue so far..
it has no issue, however the performance is bad... if u were to compare to better wifi card, u will feel it... my old Dell XPS M1530 have better wifi than this DV6...
1. XPS have 4-5 bars of wifi signal and DV6 only have 3-4 bars signal, when both place at the same place. <<<< tested
2. the download speed and game latency of the DV6 wifi card is slower than my XPS M1530... <<<< tested
3. the range of DV6 wifi is shorter, u can connect if u have 1-2 bar but mostly ur data loss/packet drop will be alot, or worse case cant even transfer any data.

that is the reason ppl are complaining, and yet HP block quite alot of wifi card in the market, that why mod needed.

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Jan 10 2012, 12:44 AM
vincentlaw
post Jan 10 2012, 04:29 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jan 10 2012, 09:53 AM)
mine always 4 or 5 bar.. sometimes depend the modem or router u using & place or other stuff like aluminium will tend to block the signal.

u can tweak some setting.. sifu lee can help u. 1st i never trust hp or acer.. but look at timelinex & dv6 i changed. (only this 2 model) the rest i still can't accept.

so u did wat modded stuff?
as i mentioned.. i have my Dell XPS beside my DV6.... and XPS have 4-5 bar and DV6 have 3-4 bar always.... while router at same place, no chance.... by the way im a network engineer

Added on January 10, 2012, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jan 10 2012, 10:08 AM)
improved latency & optimize max performance laugh.gif

@vincentlaw no point change wireless if u still under warranty. u can ask HP change new 1 for u & test it if not ok change it till u satisfied.
complaining wont help as the wifi card work as intentionally and up to its expected performance for this particular card, it is just the card limitation. If u have wireless N then this DV6 card wont able to fully utilise the 5GHz N band performance. Even the 2.4GHz G band, is performance at low performance already

by the way changing Wifi card wont void ur warranty, same as ram and HDD. The only thing is they dont support ur new hardware, which is not in the package bought from them if anythg wrong

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Jan 10 2012, 04:35 PM
vincentlaw
post Jan 30 2012, 02:25 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(choki123 @ Jan 30 2012, 01:22 AM)

I know this is a bit out topic but had searched through the forum and cant locate exact answer to my doubts.
As i just bought my dv6-6c19tx just this month, i wanna expand my entertainment experience  rclxms.gif  i wanna ask :

1) Is it possible that i can buy an external monitor i.e. 21" - 24" to use as the display instead of my 15.6" currently? If i linked them up with HDMI-HDMI cable, what would the best resolutions will be? Coz the current dv6 of mine can display up to 1366x768 on my lappie.
- Yes u can buy any external monitor, at size (recommended with HDMI input so HDMI-HDMI)
- u can dual display with external monitor + ur laptop monitor, OR Duplicate screen, OR only external monitor
- the resolution is confirm support up till your external monitor resolution (my 23" monitor have full HD which is 1920x1080 res)... the reason ur laptop have 1366x768 is because the screen native resolution is that only... Your graphic card confirm can support up to anything which u can afford now tongue.gif

2) The display resolutions is depends on the GPU's output resolutions or the external monitor supported resolutions?
- display resolution is at best at your monitor native(max optimal resolution)
- i dual monitor my 6c19tx with a 23" FHD monitor, so my laptop at 1366x768 (screen 1) & my external monitor is at 1920x1080 (screen 2)

3) Will the GPU be burdened if i play games via this external monitor? Do you guys recommend me doing this?
by design = it should not burn.... however u need to make sure its not overheated. Overheated usually caused by few factor such as (1) dust block the airflow of the fan and causes it not enuf air circulation.... (2) fan of your lappy is spoiled.... (3) u turn of the fan (set passive) via collsense and u play game with it

Wanna get the answer before i proceed to buy a monitor
yes u can proceed to buy external monitor, prefered HDMI compatible, full HD(1920x1080 OR bigger resolution screen)

Thanks all  notworthy.gif
vincentlaw
post Jan 30 2012, 01:30 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(choki123 @ Jan 30 2012, 09:12 AM)
@vincentlaw

Thanks for the answer. In fact i read your thread previously on how to connect the devices. It's useful though. And the drawings was good biggrin.gif I tot u r using Dell XPS?  laugh.gif

I will proceed to look for a new monitor then... any recommendations? Is it better to get a Wide Display Screen anyway?
Oh thats about my lappy + monitor + PS3 + speaker connection.. hahaha now i got it all fixed...

ya i still have my XPS with me but old old model, decided to give it away to my nephew & niece since i got this newer HP DV6...

Every monitor, or i should say MOST, is widescreen. Its either 16:9 or 16:10 ratio. i would recommend
- Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM (23" monitor) for RM629 <<< 2nd generation or successor of my Dell Utrasharp U2311H
- Dell Ultrasharp U2412M (24" monitor) for RM899

both of them are IPS panel which have much much better viewing angle than LED and LCD. Im very happy with my monitor. Its cheap and nice seriously.
vincentlaw
post Feb 1 2012, 01:32 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(razor886 @ Jan 30 2012, 05:12 PM)
Sifu Vincent, I want a set up similar to yours (but Xbox 360 instead of PS3). Thanks for the monitor recommendations but they are somewhat pricey especially since I just bought the 6c19TX haha sweat.gif Do you know of any cheaper (but still good) ones? tongue.gif Large viewing angle is not necessary and oh yeah, full HD please. And may I ask what external speakers are you using or what do you recommend?

By the way, without the external speakers, there will still be sound output from the laptop when connected to an external monitor right? Sorry for the noobness blush.gif Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
get the 23" version for ~RM630... its really good, at least for me... im very happy with it...

larger viewing angle is good, else u will see dark dark at the site when u are not directly infront of the monitor. IPS screen have nice view angle where u see from side and still have nice unchanged color. Its cheap already. I will suggest u save up money for that. LCD monitor now is around this price nowadays

I connect my PS3, laptop and monitor as below
- Monitor DVI-D port to '3 port HDMI switch' output
- '3 port HDMI switch' HDMI port input #1 to Laptop HDMI port
- '3 port HDMI switch' HDMI port input #2 to PS3

Speaker that im using is as mentioned in my signature, logitech. Yes without external speaker, the sound will come out from your laptop.
vincentlaw
post May 8 2012, 06:56 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(LordReaper @ May 8 2012, 05:02 PM)
hp dv6 ivy i7 + gt630m + no fhd = rm3999 ?! dafug??!
cant wait anymore, next week going to study already..
still worth to get the old dv6?
nVidia GT630M can go down to drain.... BAD BAD n BAD card... rank #120...... AMD Radeon HD 7690M XT is at rank #80..... this is not 100% accurate but its for reference

refer http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0371sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:56 PM