Anyone playing Saints Row The Third?
Is it me or is the gameplay REALLY laggy?
Note: I've set my BIOS graphics to Fixed so thats not the problem.
HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V5, >9000 owners. Like a boss.
Feb 11 2012, 10:59 PM
182 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Anyone playing Saints Row The Third?
Is it me or is the gameplay REALLY laggy? Note: I've set my BIOS graphics to Fixed so thats not the problem. |
Feb 13 2012, 12:47 AM
Feb 13 2012, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Feb 13 2012, 01:23 AM) Indeed.. do you have Catalyst Application Profile installed? If no, try install it and test if there is any difference in Saints Row. The DX9 vs DX11 settings are almost the same. They run from the same executable and the only difference it makes is that selecting DX9 will disable the DX11 options in the display settings.Link: Catalyst Application Profile 12.1-Cap2 Also try between DX9 and DX11, which 1 give you more performance. Gonna try that application now. |
Feb 13 2012, 02:40 AM
Runs alot smoother with less stutter with the Catalyst Application Profile in DX11.
Thanks |
Feb 15 2012, 09:34 PM
Feb 16 2012, 02:17 AM
QUOTE(one1zs @ Feb 16 2012, 01:49 AM) Hello, I got few question to ask 1. Use a program called HWMonitor which monitors temperatures for CPU/GPU/Hard Drive/etc. 1. How to check temperature of gpu/cpu ( sorry , to lazy to read the thread) and what is an "ok" temp if the laptop use for gaming especially 2. I read the asus thread and found even they offer 2 year warranty, the quality of the service is so poor. So how about HP? Because I'm planning to extend my warranty for my laptop. For myself on graphically intensive games like The Witcher 2/Metro 2033, my GPU temperature averages around the 80'C-85'C range in the first hour or so of continuous gaming. After that it ranges to 85-90'C. But for games like AC: Revelation/ Kingdoms of Amalur/ Saints Row The Third and etc, my temperatures are around 70-80'C (depending on room temp/time of day/positioning of laptop). And this is without a cooler so it's pretty okay so far. 2. That I'm not so sure since I haven't claimed warranty for anything yet. Laptop working just fine for me up till now EDIT: Temperatures quoted are post-overclocking so if you don't overclock your temps will probably be lower This post has been edited by storky20: Feb 16 2012, 02:21 AM |
Feb 22 2012, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(FameMoon @ Feb 22 2012, 06:15 AM) Acid,how to save game in arkham city?when i quit the game/go to main menu after certain checkpoint and reenter the game,i need to start the game from the beginning?isn't that annoying?i play skidrow download version.. Get ori from Steam *trollface*Nah, actually you have to download and install Games For Windows Live and then create a public profile first. It saves through GFWL so... yeah. |
Feb 28 2012, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Feb 27 2012, 06:16 PM) Played it.Depends on what you mean by better. Graphics: Skyrim has a more realistic look while Amalur is more WoW-ish. Combat: Skyrim has a more 'real' feel but Amalur is more 'fun' and God of War-ish. Class System: Amalur has more freedom in class system so you can mix and match with the systems and STILL have fun and power. In Skyrim, your stats must be really high to benefit from being a hybrid. Overall: Amalur more classic fun while Skyrim is a typical Elder Scrolls game fun. |
Mar 1 2012, 06:47 PM
Help guys!
In most of my videos with the built in TrueVision HD webcam, there's always a white outline at the bottom left part of the video. I suspect that the culprit is a small speck of dust that somehow manage to enter the glass casing. Before this, there wasn't an outline at all and no dust particle as far as I can tell. So anyone know of a way of getting rid of the speck of dust? ![]() |
Mar 2 2012, 07:01 PM
I also don't know how. Maybe it was already there but didn't notice it. Currently at New Zealand lol. After taking a walk along the electronics store here, I highly doubt they're engineers are proficient with this model of laptop.
They're still selling the previous generation DV6 (pre 6001TX) :S Added on March 2, 2012, 7:01 pmOh and anyone know of anyway to get rid of the grid-like effect when video calling? This post has been edited by storky20: Mar 2 2012, 07:01 PM |
Mar 3 2012, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 3 2012, 01:29 PM) what grid-like effect? what software u're using for webcam effect? It happens when I'm using it for skype. Mostly evident when people on the other side maximise their screen la. It's like a transparent grid effect that appears whenever there's a white background. It's mostly just annoying for some people but I guess it should be okay? Added on March 3, 2012, 1:33 pmanyone with 8GB fancy FancyCache? http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/fancy-cache/. Anyways, I'll be bringing my laptop to a service centre once I'm free of uni assignments. Laptop still works like a charm but just got minor issue like the dust in webcam area and the grid like effect. Overall, still okay. |
Mar 4 2012, 06:22 PM
Mar 11 2012, 08:47 PM
Hey guys, got an issue with my WiFi I think.
I've been trying to connect with my uni's WiFi which DOES connect but it doesn't get Internet access according to Win7. Now, before you guys go "Contact ICT Support la", my phone (a modest Nokia X6) and other people's laptops are able to connect AND surf perfectly fine. This issue hasn't happened before since before I left, I used WiFi to surf while at home. The WiFi adapter on the laptop is able to detect other APs too but most are secured so can't really test... Can anyone send me some commands (ipconfig something, i forgot) to try out to identify the problem? Some ping commands would help too. Oh, and my ethernet connection works fine. |
Mar 12 2012, 02:35 PM
Mar 13 2012, 05:01 PM
WiFi at the uni works again!
Ah.. back to uni life then |
Mar 16 2012, 05:21 AM
QUOTE(one1zs @ Mar 16 2012, 01:48 AM) Just think of PhysX as another version of DirectX and it'll be fine.On an unrelated note, anyone feels that their dv6 is more sluggish after the latest windows update? I feel a significant decrease in CPU performance for mine... Chrome is opening ALOT slower now. ME3 used to be silky smooth but now it's... smooth without the silky-ness lol. Ran CCleaner and Disk Defrag to optimize it. Back to normal again. This post has been edited by storky20: Mar 16 2012, 08:02 AM |
Mar 20 2012, 08:18 AM
Anyone got any recommendations for PC performance optimization tools? My PC really slow nowadays... Starting Word also takes a minute at least. It used to be 10 seconds or so :S
Additional info: It's more like my PC hangs halfway, but mouse still working and all, then waits for a minute or 2 before deciding to load everything. Like opening a new web page in a new tab takes a minute for my PC to load all the details. Might be a data hog or something I'm not sure. WinRaR is taking an hour to extract a 60mb file so I'm thinking something's taking the CPU priority or something. Is having 0 free memory normal? This post has been edited by storky20: Mar 20 2012, 09:41 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 20 2012, 04:38 PM
Aiyo I pun tak tau. All I usually do is just Chrome + WMP + Word at most. When gaming also I close most programs. Opening 3 tabs on average in Chrome, used to be speedy, now :S
1. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 2. Yes using AusLogics and the Windows 7 one. Both had little effect. 3. Been running the Registry Cleaner almost everyday to no avail. 4. How? |
Mar 20 2012, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 20 2012, 07:02 PM) I've been filtering my startups so that it boots faster (which it does) but I realized something that really makes my processing speed slow. Whenever I start Chrome, everything starts going slower. Might be some memory hog or something I dunno.How do you disable Pagefile? |
Mar 21 2012, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 20 2012, 07:43 PM) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1847795/+626 Alright, disabled Pagefile and everything seems to be going SLIGHTLY more smoothly. I still run out of RAM though (very evident when Chrome is open even with 1 tab).Only in Chrome? I just removed and did a clean installation of Chrome Canary. Previously it used 1GB RAM even when i only have 2-3 tabs opened. Now it use around 600MB. Try Opera browser? I've tried Opera ages ago. Didn't like the 'feel' of it haha. EDIT: Sticking with Firefox for now. Less lag. This post has been edited by storky20: Mar 21 2012, 05:01 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0555sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:03 AM |